View Full Version : Time to stop the rot - Salthill at home
13/08/2013, 12:05 PM
I'm not going to lie I'm very disappointed TC is still in charge as I don't think hes capable of getting us up but fact of the matter is no matter whos on the line we should be beating Salthill at home with ease (I just hope the players arent as cocky as that).
Shaw should start up top with Sully and Gorman holding the middle with Connolly behind Sully in the hole. Need big games from O'Brien and Purdy. I'm happy with the back 4 the way it is.
Darklordsbane
13/08/2013, 12:24 PM
Just because De Town were really good in the 2nd half last week doesn't mean they can be relied upon to reproduce that performance, that was the best they have played for months, I really hope they do especially with the rivals all playing on Friday night
You know the old saying "one swallow a summer does not make"
Got to hope we can build on the second half and kick on from here to the end of the season - to put pressure on athlone but more realistically to carry a bit of momentum into the playoffs. If we don't win we're fecked.
13/08/2013, 6:30 PM
the quality of team we could be playing in the playoff from the top flight could be a lot less than Dundalk imo... ie UCD or Bray I reckon will make the playoffs as I expect Shels to stay up and bohs to go down!
13/08/2013, 7:04 PM
Whichever Premier team ends up in the playoffs would be strong favourites to win it and stay up IMO. They've been playing at a higher level all year and would be quite confident of putting us or Athlone or Waterford away, provided their attitude was right.
Darklordsbane
15/08/2013, 7:05 PM
I heard Gillespie is on Newstalk tonight,
15/08/2013, 7:21 PM
I heard Gillespie is on Newstalk tonight,
no doubt it is non longford town related. if he only concentrates on his football!
Darklordsbane
15/08/2013, 7:44 PM
I missed the very start but he is still on now with Shoddy, sounds like he is finished because of injury
16/08/2013, 7:38 AM
I missed the very start but he is still on now with Shoddy, sounds like he is finished because of injury
Met him at the off the ball roadshow last night, pretty much said his knees are gone.
Darklordsbane
16/08/2013, 8:28 AM
If thats true I wonder who will play instead of him
16/08/2013, 9:56 AM
Not much of a loss to be honest. Time to let the younger guys have a go.
16/08/2013, 12:20 PM
If thats true I wonder who will play instead of him
Connolly and Gorman looked a good pairing last week, I'd stick with them. Shaw up top with Davy.
Darklordsbane
17/08/2013, 5:15 AM
I thought Mervue might have got a result from Athlone last night, 2 players sent off so maybe suspensions will help De Town in their quest for glory
17/08/2013, 12:01 PM
2 sent off for athlone and two missed penalties from Mervue...
Was hoping they would have slipped up but fair play they got their 3 points.
I feel like a broken record at this stage but no more excuses tonight, three points end of.
17/08/2013, 8:47 PM
You can only beat what's put in front of you. A very welcome win and it can't do the team's confidence any harm. Next week is a tough one though.
17/08/2013, 9:09 PM
We got there in the end as they say.
17/08/2013, 10:00 PM
If it means they have a bit more spring in their step going into next week then great.
17/08/2013, 11:13 PM
for what I saw over the 2nd half we were extremely sharp. Thought Josh's 2nd goal was a goal of the month contender!
Darklordsbane
17/08/2013, 11:25 PM
To be honest I thought De Town were flattered by the result while there was some brilliant passes and goals there was some scarey moments but who cares, 4 goals for none against, I would love to see lovely football for 90+ mins but would rather win playing ok than lose playing great, just arrived in Mayo have a drink relaxing dreaming of catching Drogheda on the hop
18/08/2013, 12:27 AM
Actually forgot we've the cup next week until after my last post. Was more worried about Waterford. Drogs have hit a little bit of form so it'll be tough but sure nothing to lose at this stage, have a go at them and see what happens.
Darklordsbane
18/08/2013, 9:55 AM
Having slept on it I remember when we last played Salt hill, it was a hard fought 1 all draw even allowing for Salt hills penalty in the last couple of mins and the ref being totally biased towards them,
last night was a far better performance especially the last 20 mins fair play to Cousins the subs came on at the right time and made a big difference, Cousins doesn't always get it right but he got it mostly right last night, goal difference a lot better this morning than it was yesterday,
18/08/2013, 11:28 AM
With FAI Cup next week, and Waterford in the league afterwards, when's the Finn Harps game being scheduled for?
Darklordsbane
18/08/2013, 12:48 PM
according to Extratime.ie it's on the 8th September which is a Sunday
18/08/2013, 4:51 PM
according to Extratime.ie it's on the 8th September which is a Sunday
That'd be 2 games in the one weekend...
TBC, according to Finn Harps website.
http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=437&Itemid=155
18/08/2013, 8:28 PM
Having slept on it I remember when we last played Salt hill, it was a hard fought 1 all draw even allowing for Salt hills penalty in the last couple of mins and the ref being totally biased towards them,
last night was a far better performance especially the last 20 mins fair play to Cousins the subs came on at the right time and made a big difference, Cousins doesn't always get it right but he got it mostly right last night, goal difference a lot better this morning than it was yesterday,
To be honest I wasn't impressed with us at all last night. We missed 3 or 4 easy chances and as a result we were almost punished when Salthill missed an open goal from about a yard out. We looked weak at the back especially Treacy. We couldn't pass for the life of us. It was just an awful performance, no communication whatsoever. Salthill could have scored 2 or 3 from set pieces alone we let them win every header, this has been a reoccurring thing since Coffey left. Only when we got the 3rd did the lads start to talk and look like a team at the top end of the league. I don't want to sound like I'm being critical for the sake of it but there's no way in hell we will beat any team playing like that especially Drogheda, Waterford or even Harps!
18/08/2013, 8:33 PM
We were lucky to not be 1-0 down before we got the penalty decision, not sure how the salthill player missed it.
Darklordsbane
18/08/2013, 8:40 PM
It's true we rode our luck last night big time, but we have had plenty of bad luck lately, so maybe it's starting to even itself out, I agree very mixed performances all over the pitch, but isn't it better than losing or drawing and the goal difference is now 4 who knows whats going to happen, all we need is Athlone to get beaten and De Town to win and it's game on again, sounds simple eh
Town Legend
18/08/2013, 8:47 PM
Maybe our fortunes could be turning. Injuries and suspensions in our defence didn't help our cause during the bad run. Maybe now with Athlone getting 2 lads sent off it could be there turn to suffer like us!! Especially with Skinner missing at least 2 and maybe more after he apparently struck a Mervue player.
19/08/2013, 12:59 AM
With FAI Cup next week, and Waterford in the league afterwards, when's the Finn Harps game being scheduled for?
I do believe Longford v Finn Harps will be on Saturday 7th September. Open to correction though.
I don't want to sound like I'm being critical for the sake of it but there's no way in hell we will beat any team playing like that especially Drogheda, Waterford or even Harps!
To be honest, that was way OTT for me. They had that chance where they should've scored in the first, but once we were ahead I really didn't see us losing. They were muck, we won 4 nil, job done.
21/08/2013, 10:07 AM
To be honest, that was way OTT for me. They had that chance where they should've scored in the first, but once we were ahead I really didn't see us losing. They were muck, we won 4 nil, job done.
They has quite a few chances from set pieces which was quite worrying as we can't seem to defend set pieces at the moment. All I'm saying is if the was Waterford united we wouldn't have won at all never mind 4-0. We need to play a full 90 minutes down in Waterford which we are yet to do this season bar the 5-1 win against Cobh.
Darklordsbane
21/08/2013, 4:53 PM
Have to agree about not playing for the full 90 as I said a while ago it has to be the training or lack of, De Town seem to hit a flat sport for 20 minutes every game the subs always make a big difference regardless who they are
21/08/2013, 5:37 PM
the subs always make a big difference regardless who they are
That's why I'm thinking will he now see Josh as an impact sub, it's a horrible role that no player wants but his pace against tired defences is invaluable, Gary Shaw wouldnt offer that same pace from the bench.
Its pretty common for much better teams to come down to the level of the opposition and do just enough to win. If 4 nil even counts as "just enough".
There's enough rope been given, no need to be quite so negative at this stage IMO.
21/08/2013, 7:54 PM
Josh has really gone to the fore recently and could be our surprise weapon in the next few games if match fit.. what a signing he turned out to be even though it wasnt TC who spotted him!
Cabs88
23/08/2013, 3:53 PM
Only gettin around to seeing this now, surprised somewhat by the negativity. We havnt been scoring in recent weeks, yet we score 4 and clean sheet and some not happy. Yes, they had chances they should have scored, and yes we were sloppy at times in the first half BUT without doubt I would take results over performances from now til the end of the season
24/08/2013, 9:22 AM
Only gettin around to seeing this now, surprised somewhat by the negativity. We havnt been scoring in recent weeks, yet we score 4 and clean sheet and some not happy. Yes, they had chances they should have scored, and yes we were sloppy at times in the first half BUT without doubt I would take results over performances from now til the end of the season
Results over performances has been the problem the last 2 seasons. We were blinded by results and when things finally turned against us we only realised how poor we had been in games. We need to play a full 90 minutes week in week out between now and the end of the season that's the only way we will win this league.
Cabs88
24/08/2013, 9:50 AM
I think most people realise that we havnt been playing well this year and that Sully's goals have been masking things. no team, athlone included will put in 6 complete 90 minute performances where the other team won't have chances and be on top of the other for spells