View Full Version : LOI Series 24 & 21
As said before, Croly is a very poor manager. When you sack someone, simple logic, have someone better lined up. This did not happen.
Worse, he clearly cannot manage the second most expensive squad in the league, doesn't know his best team, and appears to stick with dreadful performers. I have a rovers mate who uses the point of Shane Robinson, I only saw him play last friday and he was anonymous in oriel park, then again he wasn't alone.
Anyway back to the title contenders, I would say 70 points would be the target to win it. Obviously key games involving the top 4 will be significant to who gets to 70, we have Sligo at home next week, Pats have both us and Sligo at home, but I noticed Pats game in hand is away to Derry in early Sept.
Sligo Hoops.
10/08/2013, 10:18 AM
I may be in a minority of Rovers supporters, but would be delighted for Kenny were Dundalk to lift title. He had to deal with the 2011 hangover but 2012 was always going to be a write off. It won't be the two fingers to Roche & co, but rather confirmation of his own ability. His MNS interview is testament to that. We don't have a God-given right to win the league every year, but surely we can expect more from this bunch of players ? S
10/08/2013, 11:57 AM
Sullivan seemed on a mission to get sent off - his yellow card was of the mind-numbing stupidity that got him sent off in a crucial match against Sligo a couple of years back. He's not captain material in any shape or form - terrific footballer on his day but another headcase. I was at a match with English cousins and after two had been sent off I said "we're not finished yet, there's still another couple of headers on the field."
To get booked for something as stupid as that moments after your centre half partner gets sent off is pretty unforgivable IMO.
The 10 minutes or so around O'Connor's sending off and the 2nd penalty were the craziest I can remember in a while. There must have been 15 fouls or so from Rovers players. They had completely lost it.
5 sendings off in the last 4 games for Rovers now. 2 of them after the final whistle
10/08/2013, 12:36 PM
Ah come on now!!!! World class??? how do
You better get out more
Care to elaborate? Were both goals scored in EPL they'd be talked about for weeks.
oriel
10/08/2013, 12:50 PM
Nigel, I think Redzer means this is the FD, where poorer defenders and keepers operate, hence more scope for good goals. I saw as much in the 7 awful years we had last time, sometimes a player could go on a mazy run, dribble past 3 or 4 players, then fire into the top corner. Not so easy doing this in PD.
I think we may have kept 2 players from the side that won the 2008 FD. The rest were nowhere near the standard. Most teams winning the FD would do the same, well possibly apart from UCD who seem to just re-energise themselves to get promoted. Possibly Derry were another recent example, then again they wouldn't have expected to be relegated after finishing 4th.
Point is, 'world class' is not a term associated with our FD, wouldn't even say the PD to be honest. Read in one of the papers Cherrie made a 'world class' save v Shels last night, good keeper, but he plays at LOI PD, not a top European league, think another example of an over reaction.
White Horse
10/08/2013, 12:57 PM
Read in one of the papers Cherrie made a 'world class' save v Shels last night, good keeper, but he plays at LOI PD, not a top European league, think another example of an over reaction.
Cherrie is not a "world class" keeper. He plays in the LOI because parts of his game are poor; particularly his decision making when balls played behind the defense. However, his shot stopping ability is very good and the save referred to was as good as I've seen in any league.
Motion passed then. No more mentions of 'world class' in both divisions.
To get booked for something as stupid as that moments after your centre half partner gets sent off is pretty unforgivable IMO.
This is Sullivan who was booked when 4-0 up against Bray for dissent and had to be taken off when captain when 5-0 up against Bray to avoid being sent off for further dissent. It's remarkable how many different ways he can be booked..
Don't forget he was sent off for kiking the ball into the crowd and telling the 4th official to **** off when he questioned him about it...
Redzer
10/08/2013, 2:56 PM
Motion passed then. No more mentions of 'world class' in both divisions.
That, or put it up on Youtube where it will get a million + hits
patrickccfc
10/08/2013, 4:53 PM
Morrisseys goal last night, terrible view of it though
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWW46VfNe30&feature=youtu.be
Fivesilver
10/08/2013, 7:07 PM
Rovers 1-0 Bray
Cretaro 16 min
10/08/2013, 7:16 PM
Longford 0-1 Athlone
Fivesilver
10/08/2013, 8:04 PM
Rovers 2-0 Bray
Djilali 49 min
Strongbow10
10/08/2013, 8:30 PM
Athlone beat Longford 1-0 to go five clear at the top
Fivesilver
10/08/2013, 8:46 PM
Rovers 2-0 Bray - result
Still in touch. Could be a great finish to the season if this four-way struggle holds up for a few more weeks.
jinxy lilywhite
10/08/2013, 9:17 PM
Dundalk v Sligo next weekend is the proverbial 6 pointer
the games just keep getting bigger & bigger :ball:
Fivesilver
10/08/2013, 9:49 PM
Huge alright - I'd be happy enough if we put out the U-19s against Shams on Tuesday night. Sod the League Cup - bigger fish to fry.
Sligo Hoops.
10/08/2013, 9:53 PM
Stephen Kenny an interested spectator in Showgrounds tonight. This weekend last year he was facing another proverbial six pointer against Sligo. Bit O'Red have more pressing business to attend to before Oriel, namely tightening noose on Roche & Co.
gormacha
10/08/2013, 10:03 PM
Athlone beat Longford 1-0 to go five clear at the top
Longford baffle me. Yet again they dominate the opening half of the season and then fall apart.
Athlone will be hard to catch now.
10/08/2013, 10:19 PM
Longford baffle me. Yet again they dominate the opening half of the season and then fall apart.
Athlone will be hard to catch now.
Could have scored 5 in the 2nf half it just wouldn't go in. Athlone really crumbled in the 2nd half I can see the pressure of leaders getting to them. Waterford to win the league.
bluewhitearmy
10/08/2013, 11:17 PM
Could have scored 5 in the 2nf half it just wouldn't go in. Athlone really crumbled in the 2nd half I can see the pressure of leaders getting to them. Waterford to win the league.
Bottlers, crumbling to a 1-0 win.
wonder88
10/08/2013, 11:58 PM
Could Roddy Collins turn another club who were in the doldrums into title winners? He must be the most under-rated manager in the LOI.
ATFC-1887
11/08/2013, 12:14 AM
Massive massive win. Very big crowd went over. Prob 400 from Athlone. Alot behind the goal and in the main stand. Ours to lose tonight
Keen2win
11/08/2013, 12:19 AM
Now I hear the atmosphere was class in all sections of the ground... From an Athlone perspective, was it?
Imagine if both teams went up, would be unreal, and would only be of benefit to both. Hope it happens, not likely tho.
ATFC-1887
11/08/2013, 12:23 AM
Yeh was an amazing atmosphere. Longford fans in the main stand singing too. Delighted there was no trouble.
Keen2win
11/08/2013, 12:26 AM
Yeah, important that that sh!t doesn't start
Gotta hand it to Roddy alright.
Heard him on newstalk giving large last week. Boy does he set himself up for humble pie!
Fair play to him.
Strongbow10
11/08/2013, 12:59 AM
Longford fans were brilliant tonight, gave it their all. in fairness it was a massive result for us, Longford could easily have at least drawn that game
Sideline
11/08/2013, 1:47 AM
More of this please. Sounds a great occasion in Longford.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/08/2013, 2:00 AM
Stephen Kenny an interested spectator in Showgrounds tonight. This weekend last year he was facing another proverbial six pointer against Sligo. Bit O'Red have more pressing business to attend to before Oriel, namely tightening noose on Roche & Co.
I will be putting a lot of money on Shams on Tuesday
Fivesilver
11/08/2013, 7:33 AM
Strange to be feeling ambivalent about a Rovers-Shams game. But it's only the League Cup, and with the current junta providing so much entertainment, regime change in Tallaght would be a shame. Not to mention that if we're to maintain our outside hope of retaining the title, distractions need to be kept to a minimum - we simply don't have the resources for these kind of multi-pronged assaults.
Town Legend
11/08/2013, 8:15 AM
Great crowd and atmosphere from both sets of fans. Although there were a few Athlone 'fans' behind the goal that were giving some stewards dogs abuse and mad to get a row going. I'd say real Athlone fans didn't recognise any of them. There's a pic doing the rounds of these 5 or 6 fine young individuals! I was in town afterwards and happened to bump into these fine decent chaps and lets just say they got the row they were looking for!! They won't be coming back to Longford in a hurry!!
Faaackin' maaappits!
11/08/2013, 10:36 AM
Fackin claret everywhere mate
marty
11/08/2013, 10:37 AM
Great crowd in Longford but it does seem like Athlone will take the title at this stage.Roddy has been there before and he should have what it takes to bring them up....I wonder will he be linked with Bohs come seasons end though
ATFC-1887
11/08/2013, 11:49 AM
Yh i know who ya are on about. They are not Athlone Town Fans. They came for trouble and trouble only. I hope that picture is sent to ATFC and they are not allowed into any more games
Town Legend
11/08/2013, 12:01 PM
Yeah they definitely weren't there for the football anyways! Great crowd all the same apart from the few that were there for trouble.
bluewhitearmy
11/08/2013, 1:07 PM
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_MsOCN8KvbAE/SwmWMu8sHgI/AAAAAAAAAKU/XtH01VvaUyk/s320/danny-dyer_1482894c+copy.jpg
Kiki Balboa
11/08/2013, 1:12 PM
Pat Fenlon to Shamrock Rovers !!
Battery Rover
11/08/2013, 2:10 PM
Yh i know who ya are on about. They are not Athlone Town Fans. They came for trouble and trouble only. I hope that picture is sent to ATFC and they are not allowed into any more games
Can someone email picture to info@athlonetownfc.ie and I will pass onto management and matchday committee
ATFC-1887
11/08/2013, 2:17 PM
I was just told there was no fight involving the lads in question. They got back to Athlone well before our bus so in no way could they have went into the Town and caused trouble. They were abit rowdy towards stewards and guards though.
Town Legend
11/08/2013, 2:22 PM
Well the boys that I seen giving lip in the ground, there was 3 of them involved in a skirmish in town after the game and were left in a heap on the ground. Well deserved what they got and no I wasn't involved in the beating that was handed out to them!! :D
http://www.ronanlyons.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/helen-lovejoy.jpg
11/08/2013, 3:14 PM
Can someone email picture to info@athlonetownfc.ie and I will pass onto management and matchday committee
Fair play to the genuine Athlone town fans who won't stand for that element in their club. Everything is there for Athlone to be a great addition to the premier division so it's great to see the genuine fans won't let a few idiots ruin it for the rest. That's exactly what all LOI clubs need to do.
11/08/2013, 5:09 PM
Terrible result for Trevor Croly in the Edinburgh derby.
Keen2win
11/08/2013, 5:16 PM
Who bet them, come on man, everyone knows everyone around here, I don't wanna miss the gossip :)
11/08/2013, 8:11 PM
I know a few of the Athlone town lads and a few supported us in our top flight days.. so if we dont go up and athlone go up and they are playing in Dublin I will be happy to give my support for the lads.. its midland football after all!
atfconline
11/08/2013, 8:14 PM
Name and shame them!
poster
11/08/2013, 8:16 PM
Nice of Colin Hawkins to get on his feet twice last night when 'Stand up for the champions' was sang in the main stand.