View Full Version : MNS tonight

Pages : 1 [2]

mcgonigle
23/08/2013, 10:38 PM
you do remember that there was virtually no spring this year? The news being awash with stories of farmers buying feed for animals due to their being no grass growth? where oil companies ran out of heating oil in March? Any of that ring a bell???

But is all this not a plus for an artificial pitch. While it was near impossible to play on some grass pitches Oriel was consistent. Also nigel-harps point about needing time to prepare a pitch doesn't apply to Oriel. Anyway I didn't particularly want to get into a long discussion on the pros and cons of the Oriel pitch I just wanted to point out that I don't see the "plays poorly" that others do and I see it a lot.

And Sligo fans will be delighted to know that both halves of the pitch were watered tonight!

24/08/2013, 10:41 AM
You must not remember the "winter" seasons then. Pitches were basically awful muck heaps from December to April. I think they're much better now. And as mentioned, it's much easier to water a dry pitch (unless you're Shels obviously:p) then try to rectify a waterlogged one, or a frozen one.

I remember Harps pitch was always in much better condition in those days after a full summer of growing.

wonder88
24/08/2013, 12:13 PM
I see Stephen Bradley was a sub for limerick v Dundalk last night, would he not be considered one of the "top quality players" in the LoI ? He would be another who would fit the journeyman tag and will likely sign for Crolly next season.

bluemovie
03/09/2013, 2:55 PM
Why was the actor in the Lockout piece this week doing an impression of Nidge from Love/Hate?

Hitman
03/09/2013, 2:58 PM
Has Alan Cawley been involved in some disastrous experiment to recreate Cunny Kenninghams' eyebrows?

oriel
03/09/2013, 3:58 PM
Speaking of Alan Cawley, just what on earth was 'she' wearing last night, the state of his jacket/shirt.

Ps for the 2nd or 3rd week, I just loved the point the presenter made, something along the lines of 'And Dundalk REALLY are firmly in the title race, thats for sure' (with the little look to camera)

04/09/2013, 3:25 PM
Speaking of Alan Cawley, just what on earth was 'she' wearing last night, the state of his jacket/shirt.

Maybe they're his favourite so they are!

04/09/2013, 7:25 PM
Amazed at the standard of referring in the LOI, wow. Is their some internal ref competition to see who gets mentioned the most on MNS?

04/09/2013, 7:38 PM
Amazed at the standard of referring in the LOI, wow. Is their some internal ref competition to see who gets mentioned the most on MNS?

The red card in the UCD game really was disgraceful. Didn't even think the second challenge was a yellow, nevermind the crazy decision for the first.

04/09/2013, 8:50 PM
Pah, you should try figure out what goes though the minds of first division refs and get back to me.

04/09/2013, 10:09 PM
Been watching a few I had recorded over the last few days.
There is a lady commenting over some games and she talks like your granny reading you a bedtime story.

What was that ref on at Tolka a few weeks back, that awarded us a pen and then overruled himself?

04/09/2013, 10:54 PM
Siobhan Madigan

The wan in the middle

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0000da1410dr.jpg

Rover'n'out
05/09/2013, 12:03 AM
Jaysus, I don't like the look of your one !!

09/09/2013, 10:37 PM
Siobhan Madigan

It wasn't her. She's quite good to be fair.
Kathryn Davis was her name.

CityRebel
14/10/2013, 6:12 PM
Great entertainment on MNS tonight. Buckley for Ireland!

oriel
14/10/2013, 7:40 PM
Just getting around to watching it shortly, dreading O'Donnell's penalty........

oldfan
14/10/2013, 8:06 PM
Great entertainment on MNS tonight. Buckley for Ireland!

Dolan's something else alright:mad:

jinxy lilywhite
14/10/2013, 8:33 PM
just a thought lads. could MNS better served as a preview show ala football focus and discuss upcoming matches rather than hightlights. most of our matches take place on a Friday night. it is a stretch till Monday. if the programme could be changed to a Thursday night say maybe it could promote football better

just a thought

kksaints
14/10/2013, 8:46 PM
just a thought lads. could MNS better served as a preview show ala football focus and discuss upcoming matches rather than hightlights. most of our matches take place on a Friday night. it is a stretch till Monday. if the programme could be changed to a Thursday night say maybe it could promote football better

just a thought

Im sure Bohs fans would love a programme called TNS.

14/10/2013, 8:49 PM
I'd be slightly disappointed were I an Athlone fan. Didn't show the last game of the season or show them lifting the league trophy. Not even a mention of the last round of First Division fixtures, the final league table, or Mervues fine achievement of reaching the play-offs.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2013, 9:28 PM
Johnny Glynn should be in the reckoning for the Ireland job

gufcfan
15/10/2013, 1:51 AM
it is a stretch till Monday. if the programme could be changed to a Thursday night say maybe it could promote football bettert

Waiting to see highlight for 6 days in most cases is not a good idea imo. Also, they have done highlights, discussion and reports about the real football happening in the Aviva or wherever, but not really much in the way of previews.

citybone
15/10/2013, 3:00 AM
Could to a "Football league show" and play it Saturday very late Friday/Saturday night! or a Irish League highlights show online like the Irish League or both!

PS. staying up till 1am is a bit of a balls. Same story with Eircom League Weekly on TV3 as some/many of yee would remember.

oriel
16/10/2013, 11:59 AM
Finally got to watch MNS shown on 14/10. Incredible O'Brien didnt get booked for Drogs for diving to get a penalty v UCD.

O'Donnell's miss was as bad as I had heard for us.

NeverFeltBetter
16/10/2013, 12:07 PM
I'd be slightly disappointed were I an Athlone fan. Didn't show the last game of the season or show them lifting the league trophy. Not even a mention of the last round of First Division fixtures, the final league table, or Mervues fine achievement of reaching the play-offs.

Same last year.

marinobohs
16/10/2013, 12:12 PM

......what ? we have a first division ? really ? :rolleyes:

mcgonigle
16/10/2013, 12:57 PM
Finally got to watch MNS shown on 14/10. Incredible O'Brien didnt get booked for Drogs for diving to get a penalty v UCD.

O'Donnell's miss was as bad as I had heard for us.

Couldn't believe how easy he went down, very unlike him!

18/10/2013, 3:30 PM

just a thought

Have both !!!

oriel
28/10/2013, 8:12 PM
Dolan's love affair with Croly is still ongoing I see, 'TC' as he calls him, tell you what Dolan can put some spin on it, saying he won 50% of the trophies on offer. Then he got so distracted with his praise on Barraclough who got 'runners up' (really??)

Best laugh of the night though, was the shot of the Derry fans, with their fine selection of cans balanced on top of the crash barrier, could even make them out, smithwicks & bud, hope this isn't giving our shed boys any ideas for next season!

28/10/2013, 9:22 PM
Your one doing the crap voice over for the cork pats game. Cork......blah blah, "but at least they finished above Limerick" WTF :)

gufcfan
28/10/2013, 10:13 PM
Have both !!!

Have neither !!!

- RTÉ press release next March.

28/10/2013, 11:12 PM
Have neither !!!

- RTÉ press release next March.

Done deal? When is/has it been decided?

gufcfan
28/10/2013, 11:44 PM
Done deal? When is/has it been decided?

Haven't heard anything. It was only a smart comment and probably what a lot of us fear is inevitable.

galwayhoop
29/10/2013, 12:00 AM
Dolan was like he was heavily medicated tonight!