View Full Version : El Clasico - make or break

03/08/2013, 1:42 PM
Bit early to start talking about the game yet but something I've been thinking all day is Athlone had almost 1000 at their game v Harps last night because they plastered the town in posters and hyped up the game all week in the local press. I was thinking why couldn't we do something similar for the Clasico? Surely if we give this game any sort of promotion at all we could get well over 1000? I for one would happily go around and put up some posters, pass them around to the local shops etc and in sure if a few people did that we would have quite a few new faces in as a result and who knows they might just come back. What do people think of that?

03/08/2013, 3:42 PM
If you want, I can design the posters, put it on the website and blitz the town with posters. Great idea. We could include a hashtag in the posters, #elmidlandsclasico

Battery Rover
03/08/2013, 3:51 PM
While they do help its not just about posters and the hype as you have to offer value for money as well. We pushed the cheapest night out in town part as with an Adult costing €10 and all U14s accompanied by a responsible adult were FREE. People don't have the money for costly nights out any more although being on a winning streak does help. I saw people from Tullamore and Kinnegad posting about the game and I haven't seen people from that far away since the league winning days.

We should hopefully bring 500+. Can we put them all on the guest list :-)

Roddy is hyping it already https://twitter.com/offtheball/status/363654267619377153

03/08/2013, 5:40 PM
If you want, I can design the posters, put it on the website and blitz the town with posters. Great idea. We could include a hashtag in the posters, #elmidlandsclasico

Would we need permission to put posters up around the town? As I said I'd happily do it I really do think we need to push this game on every single platform. We need week long build up on twitter, Facebook, local radio, newspapers etc and as said above we really need to push the fact it's value for money for a top of the table potential title decider

devo
04/08/2013, 1:23 PM
Its the biggest game in a long time. Im sure we would get permission from whoever it is for posters, Its should bring a great crowd for both home and away

04/08/2013, 3:53 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=uMR-5fc8f1Y

There ya go folks. Couldn't work out how to add the soundtrack, but enjoy!

devo
05/08/2013, 4:44 PM
Very well made love it.

Town Legend
06/08/2013, 12:30 PM
I've been told from a reliable source that defeat this weekend will be Cousins last game. Hanley has a replacement lined up and apparently it's not Mathews.

L.T.F.C.
06/08/2013, 1:49 PM
Ah keep that stuff to yourself til after the game. No one needs to be thinking of this.

Town Legend
06/08/2013, 2:26 PM
Well obviously our chairman is thinking of it!! And on past results I along with a lot of Town fans have been thinking it!!

Keen2win
06/08/2013, 2:28 PM
...Interesting

06/08/2013, 5:49 PM
I'd be very surprised if he's not allowed see out the season.

NeverFeltBetter
06/08/2013, 5:57 PM
You're really going to sack your manager in your present position? Chasing automatic promotion and with eight games left?

Darklordsbane
06/08/2013, 6:56 PM
All depends what team selection he puts out,
I would like to see the same back 4 as last week, Gorman in front of them as a sweeper come holding midfielder, Connolly and Quinn in front of Gorman, David and Josh up front, Ebbe left wing and Doyle right wing don't care what keeper, Bennion is a brilliant shot stopper but not great at the rest (mind you he has vastly improved over the last 2 games) please don't just be backs to the wall when we go in front we must at least match them for ever 50/50 ball, I think we have been standing off too far and need to get tight when we loose the ball, bring on the subs 1 after the other 20mins, 15mins and 10mins to go they should be chompping at the bit by then, simple really, I know it doesn't matter what we all think the manager will do his own thing regardless
any thoughts on selections guys

07/08/2013, 9:15 AM
Yes, let's play with 11 men instead of 12. I'd rather win without cheating tbh...

Town Legend
07/08/2013, 9:48 AM
Could be looking at a points deduction if we went with that team!! would that be 4-1-4-2 or 4-1-2-2-2 formation?!!

Darklordsbane
07/08/2013, 10:09 AM
Well spotted lads I meant to say Davy with Josh as sub but I got too excited thinking about it, hey it's only a bit of fun but I really feel the midfield battle will win or lose the game for De Town, Gillispie is great for about 20mins but we need to fight for the whole game we need pace in the middle to hassle them when they have the ball and to protect the back 4 and obviously to be able to play football when we have the ball

Town Legend
07/08/2013, 11:05 AM
You're right with that though, we need to dominate midfield to have a chance of winning this which we haven't been doing in a while, I'd go back as far as the game in Athlone when we lost Mark Salmon for the season. Since then we haven't had our fair share of dominance in midfield.

Time will tell Saturday night but one thing for sure, I'll be in the stand roaring 'De Town' on and hopefully we'll pull this one out of the bag.

07/08/2013, 12:36 PM
Gillespie should be an impact sub as a right winger he'd turn the game with 1 cross as he did in waterford. Put young Rhys in midfield along with Connolly. Purdy and O'Brien wingers, Shaw and Sully up top, Josh last 20.

Darklordsbane
07/08/2013, 3:17 PM
Jasus I can't wait, I see De town are 13/8 and Athlone are 6/4 with Paddy Power I would have thought Athlone would be skinnier than that, maybe the bookies know something we don't it not like them to be generous

07/08/2013, 3:44 PM
James O'Brien suspended for Athlone thats the main engine of their central midfield gone. If we are going to dominate the possession against them in any game this season then this has to be the one!

Keen2win
07/08/2013, 3:45 PM
Very tough to predict this one, but somehow I don't think it will be close, I think one side will come out and excel. What side that is, I don't know!

Bosco
07/08/2013, 3:58 PM
Big loss for them alright, a player I dont think we should have ever let go.

I'd be a lot more comforable now with him gone and after seeing Connolly play last week. I'd start Connolly and Gillespie and bring on Doyle in the Second half, Doyle looked very eager last week when he came on, despite being out of position.

07/08/2013, 4:00 PM
Big loss for them alright, a player I dont think we should have ever let go.

I'd be a lot more comforable now with him gone and after seeing Connolly play last week. I'd start Connolly and Gillespie and bring on Doyle in the Second half, Doyle looked very eager last week when he came on, despite being out of position.

I'd start Doyle ahead of Gillespie tbh and like I said have Gillespie as an impact sub. Doyle must have the highest passing rate of all our players, perhaps thats why he doesnt play?

07/08/2013, 10:56 PM
As I had feared all week long. Keith Callanan is the man in the middle this weekend. Wonder how much Roddy paid to get him?

Town Legend
08/08/2013, 8:37 AM
We'll just have to try and beat the 12 men. No point complaining about it cos that won't change anything!

devo
08/08/2013, 2:08 PM
Odds like that tell me they don't really have a clue what way the game is gonna go. That doesn't surprise me its very hard to call. Its been a while since we've had a price like that too.

09/08/2013, 6:56 PM
If ever there was a time to **** or burst this is it... nothing less than a win.

if anyone could send me the odd update would be appreciated, have an anniversary mass thingy for a relative I have to attend..

09/08/2013, 7:10 PM
Will De Town twitter page be doing updates 2mrw night?

Darklordsbane
09/08/2013, 7:41 PM
I would imagine extratime.ie will be covering the game since it's the biggest game of the 1st division so far this season

fitzpatrick10
10/08/2013, 12:12 AM
one more sleep...

L.T.F.C.
10/08/2013, 4:51 AM
Please dear God. I need this... we need this!

Town Legend
10/08/2013, 10:59 AM
Looking forward to this game now, am actually confident of a win! Hopefully get things back on track. I'll be out early tonight and take in the atmosphere!!

10/08/2013, 11:34 AM
We're due one! No reason to be afraid of them IF we play like we can.

Strongbow10
10/08/2013, 8:37 PM
what was the attendance like tonight lads? Great win for Athlone, ye missed a good few chances though I believe.

L.T.F.C.
10/08/2013, 9:06 PM

Town Legend
10/08/2013, 9:29 PM
That's it. Best we can hope for is another trip to Waterford for the play off but even at that I wouldn't be hopeful. Played a lot better in the second half but to be honest I think Athlone were happy with their one goal and didn't need to go play attacking football. Bye bye Tony.

Darklordsbane
10/08/2013, 10:47 PM
I thought Athlone were far better than DE Town in the 1st Half but boy were De Town on top in the 2nd half I don't know about you guys but I thought Gorman made a vast difference when he came on but then he got passed the ball tonight not like the Mervue game,
I'm afraid it has to be said if De Town can play like that, where has that performance been for the past couple of months, man of the match for me was Athlone keeper

10/08/2013, 10:52 PM
Its hard breakin to see the decline in the team.. From what I saw in the second half we were all over them! Skinners save from Sully was world class it was that good.. The lads are blaming me for the decline considering I am a PT fan these days... I was impressed with Ryan Connolly pity we didnt get him when Salmo got injured.. Shaw was poor again for us... heard Gillepsie was shockin bad for us.. I dont even fancy us for the playoffs tbh... I think Mervue will catch up with us! What happens to the team if we dont go up this season?It could be like the 85-86 season when we didnt get promoted and had to break up a topclass squad as we ran out of money the following season! I dread to think of the consequences if we dont go up this yr!

11/08/2013, 1:37 AM
Should have started Gorman and Shaw they made a big difference. I know Shaw missed chances, one bad miss, but he caused a lot of problems. Gorman and Connolly ran the game second half. Gillespie is not up to the pace any more. Gutting that we lost, deserved at least a draw, but where was that second half performance for the past eight weeks and indeed the whole first half tonight? Bennion kicking it straight up in the air towards Sully surrounded by three defenders.

11/08/2013, 9:50 AM
First off I have to say the lads gave their hearts and souls to try and win that match in the 2nd half and all of the supporters were extremely proud of them for it. However, that first half performance was simply inexcusable and it's the same mistakes week after week and the same players out of position time after time, Cousins has to go before our next game.

I hate to say that because Ive just been listening to his post match interview and he said everything you could ask a losing manager to say after a game and I'd love to see him come back stronger and win us the league but that clearly isn't going to happen. We need that fresh voice in the dressing room to give us something to boost us until the end of the season because at this rate we will not make the play offs.

Fans were amazing both sides of the ground last night and its just a shame all the new faces weren't treated to a win. Hopefully we will have encouraged a few to come back with the atmosphere that was created.

Darklordsbane
11/08/2013, 11:39 AM
Just read 2 match reports on the game last night, cant believe neither gave any credit to Connelly and Gorman for the 2nd half maybe I was watching a different match but to my eyes they bossed the midfield for almost all the 2nd half

11/08/2013, 11:42 AM
Just read 2 match reports on the game last night, cant believe neither gave any credit to Connelly and Gorman for the 2nd half maybe I was watching a different match but to my eyes they bossed the midfield for almost all the 2nd half

Yeah they ran the game from the minute Gorman came on really, Gillespie getting injured was a blessing in disguise. They need to be our starting midfield.

11/08/2013, 3:09 PM
Yeah they ran the game from the minute Gorman came on really, Gillespie getting injured was a blessing in disguise. They need to be our starting midfield.

Will this finally open people's eyes that Gillespie is finished! He was nothing short of disgraceful last night. Rhys was superb when he came on and as Connolly wasn't having to do 2 men's work he was able to play higher up and allow Rhys do what he enjoys, sitting deep and defending. Connolly is a superb player and he should have started in the whole behind sully. So many tactical mistakes in cousins lay out!

Speaking of playmakers where has Quinn gone too? Cousins finally lose it with him or was he injured?

11/08/2013, 4:56 PM
Athlone much the better side first half, but I think our set up made them look good - we were set up to narrow and they simply played around us.

2nd half we were much better. I thought Shaw played very well, except for his finishing. We created more chances in that half than in the previous 2 games! More performances like that and it would never have been make or break. Things changed with Gillespie going off, but there was a change in set up too for the second half - it wasn't all down to a change in personnel IMO.

After losing this one, next week is another make or break game for the playoffs. If we can produce that second half performance we could kick on and put pressure on athlone (who knows how they'll handle that) and at least carry some momentum into the playoffs. More of the 1st half, I'd agree we could struggle to make the playoffs.

Cabs88
11/08/2013, 5:17 PM
Will this finally open people's eyes that Gillespie is finished!

I think most people who have seen Gillespie at all know that he was finished ages ago.
Bitterly, bitterly disappointed with last night. I have never witnessed a build up to a game like it. There was a great buzz about the place and with a wonderful pitch, two sets of noisy, passionate fans the stage was set for a great contest.
Then it kicked off, Athlone seemed they were happy not to lose and in truth, they never looked like loosing last night. Collins junior was booked within a minute, yet he was never targeted nor did it look like he was ever in danger. Bar sully's half chance with a header from an O'brien cross we never looked like troubling them. Athlone's goal was fortuitous, but once it came its as if a sinking feeling came over us all, players and fans alike. After conceding is a vital time for the manager to cajole, re-invigorate his charges, however it was noticible Cousins just slumped to his seat almost resigning himself to the inevitable.
We came out the second half with a renewed sense of purpose and for the first ten minutes we were on top, the energetic and industrious pair of Connolly and Gorman dominating the middle. Then a ball found its way over the top to Shaw bearing down on goal. Surely this was our chance, alas he tried to outsmart the keeper who was already committed but still managed to send the ball wide. Unforgivable. Despite two of three half chances and Skinner making one or two stops, athlone looked comfortable. The final whistle blew to jubilant scenes from the away fans. Outwitted, defeated and having not learned his lessons from previous campaigns cousins stormed down the tunnel. After 3 years of building the best squad in the league, it's looks like we have been gazumped by a wily manager who gets the best out of his players, adding shrewd acquisitions.
A bitter pill to swallow, as if we don't end the season promoted, next season we will be back to square one with many of our better players finding premier division clubs. A first division with a new manager a whole new squad and possibly containing teams such as Bohs, Galway united, Finn harps et al.
I reserved my judgement on cousins until after last night in what was his defining game. Mistakes have not been learnt from last year. Why was Coffey let go? Does Gillespie have to play every game? Why have we not pushed on this year? These are the questions that have to be asked. I think his tenure has run it's course.

Very disappointed, yes, all is not lost but I can't see us going on a winning run from now til the end of the season.

A final point, was great to see such a buzz at the game last night, was nearly like old times. Well done to everyone involved in having the place look so well and who were involved in last night, you are a credit to the club. Very proud to be a part if Section O last night, new flags looked really well and it's great to see numbers continue to grow and friendships made through football and The Town. Yes we were beaten and yes it's hard to take but it's why we keep going week in week
Out. Our day will come, you need to have the bad times to appreciate the good times.

Longford 'til I die.
Keep the faith

11/08/2013, 5:30 PM
Brilliant post Cabs have to agree with everything said in it. All I have to say is the fact we've gone from being 9 points clear to talking about hanging on for a play off spot in the worst first division in LOI history says it all. The club have to be brave and make the call today one way or another! These rumours are doing no one any favours so either sack him or come out and say hel stay till the end of the season even if we lose our next 8 games! I think most fans would prefer a fresh face at this stage.

11/08/2013, 8:06 PM
this is goin to be controversial from my part but I wonder what might have happened if Roddy became manager five years ago what would happened to us.. the man is a genius and has the knack for building superb squads...I think Athlone Town will go from strength to strength.. it was too good to be true for us when we made such a great start but played poorly..Gillepsie is finished he should retire early when he has the chance..he focuses more energies on charity footie tournaments across the water..

L.T.F.C.
11/08/2013, 8:12 PM
We wouldn't exist today. That hoor that was behind him had no money.

11/08/2013, 8:16 PM
We wouldn't exist today. That hoor that was behind him had no money.

true point but I bet you if it was Roddy Collins managing us last night we would have won!