View Full Version : balloons

only1kilbane
06/10/2004, 10:59 AM
If we all brough a few green and white ballons for the start of the game would look great in the stadium ! Easy to bring in and cheap seeing as we wont have our green cards to fly as aeroplanes

06/10/2004, 11:12 AM
If we all brough a few green and white ballons for the start of the game would look great in the stadium!

Who's going to blow them all up?
I'd only manage 6 or 7, then I'd faint.
Suppose we could take them down to the Red Light district and ask how much they'd charge for a good blowing job! :eek:

Where's my coat!? :)

Pat O' Banton
06/10/2004, 11:21 AM
Funnily enough I was just discussing this in the pub last night, a pack of balloons costs less than a quid so its not going to break the bank.
Everyone on this site should bring a green and white balloon and tell a mate who is not on the site who is going to the game to bring two balloons and tell them to tell their mates.
Make the teams enterance one that will be talked about for years to come.

blobbyblob
06/10/2004, 11:24 AM
French Balloon manuafacturers are in a frenzy at the prospect

stickyjoe
06/10/2004, 11:32 AM
the balloons is a great idea. spread the word :D

maybe PTEgan knows a decent balloon shop near the tower :confused: ;)

soccerc
06/10/2004, 11:36 AM
the balloons is a great idea. spread the word :D

maybe PTEgan knows a decent balloon shop near the tower :confused: ;)
I'm sure you could make use of coloured French letters :rolleyes:

oconghc2
06/10/2004, 11:42 AM
another idea is the tickertape - was at PSG game last year - bag of newspapers cut up under every seat in stadium- looks animal

we could be the new argentina - kempes and the boys!!

might take some time though ... yeah feck it maybe a balloon or two be easier

loscherland
06/10/2004, 11:54 AM
What about a few beach balls... inflatable sheet etc.

only1kilbane
06/10/2004, 12:02 PM
Ballons seem the easiest to bring in gonna get a few packs now and maybe couple of blow up balls

06/10/2004, 12:05 PM
alright, I'll buy a few bags and use the Green white and orange (yellow otherwise, controversial ;) ) ones....
Then spread the word to others.

if we all do the same there should be a few hundred at least :)

06/10/2004, 12:18 PM
Make the teams enterance one that will be talked about for years to come.
It won't only produce a great atmosphere and raise the profile of the Irish travelling support, it will also spur the players on to win the match. If they saw the place covered in green, white and orange the nerves would be gone in a flash and the likes of Kavanagh will be running around ready to kill. :D

IsMiseSean
06/10/2004, 10:16 PM
Good idea, I've got a blow-up hammer, might bring it along and I'll find some ballons too.

Brian O'Clough
06/10/2004, 11:17 PM
What about a few beach balls... inflatable sheet etc.

Damn..and I better leave the sheep at home. ;)

07/10/2004, 8:35 AM
Right lads, I made a phonecall and I'm getting 1,000 balloons sent over to Paris for me. Don't let that stop all of you from bringing your own though, especially people who are in the French section.
Remember, we need 25 more people to do like me in order to have a balloon for everyone. ;)
BRING IT ON!

liam88
07/10/2004, 8:42 AM
Good luck lads-ya'll do us proud!!
ENJOY PARIS!!!!! :D

07/10/2004, 8:48 AM
Green flares and claxon horns would be great.

only1kilbane
07/10/2004, 9:47 AM
Right lads, I made a phonecall and I'm getting 1,000 balloons sent over to Paris for me. Don't let that stop all of you from bringing your own though, especially people who are in the French section.
Remember, we need 25 more people to do like me in order to have a balloon for everyone. ;)
BRING IT ON!

Fair play boss I thought I was doing well with my bag of 100 ballons .. Will stock up with as much more as i can today

07/10/2004, 10:04 AM
I thought I was doing well with my bag of 100 ballons ..

You are doing welll, fair play to you.
I got onto a place that supplies the balloons for weddings, conferences, events parties etc.
If anyone knows of a similar company, tell them what you want them for and see if they can help you. Even if they want to give you balloons with their logo on it, that's fine too. A plug is the least we can give them in return.
If anyone knows of a good shop for people to buy balloons can they post the info here too? This whole balloons thing is great because it's so simple, easy to organise and should be very effective.

G-Man
07/10/2004, 10:15 AM
I sent an email to all the lads travelling with me, and got them to send it on to whoever they know are travelling and hopefully it will become a chain mail that will get around. Would be some sight if we manage it!

blobbyblob
07/10/2004, 10:23 AM
OUr boys are stocking up from Balloonatics in Waterford so theres more for the supply. They'll be seeing you at the Tower

07/10/2004, 10:38 AM
They'll be seeing you at the Tower

Not if I see them first! :D
Keep the suppliers coming though.

sylvo
07/10/2004, 10:45 AM
The balloon idea is taking hold,
great stuff.

Duffer
07/10/2004, 11:33 AM
well done lads class idea.
I will be doing a balloon dash on me way to the airport this afternoon.
See you at t'other end.

07/10/2004, 11:53 AM
I will be doing a balloon dash on me way to the airport this afternoon.

You're probably gone, but if you know a place to get balloons, let other know. Spread the word.

07/10/2004, 1:52 PM
Have I reminded you all to bring green and white balloons?

07/10/2004, 4:56 PM
Right lads, I made a phonecall and I'm getting 1,000 balloons sent over to Paris for me.

Just got confirmation of the delivery of my balloons and they're all green so if anyone can only get white then 1,000 white balloons will pair up nicely with them.

stickyjoe
08/10/2004, 10:20 AM
did you get your thousand balloons peader.

it would be class if we could all bring some. it would help create a great atmosphere along with the foot.ie headgear :cool:

08/10/2004, 10:50 AM
did you get your thousand balloons peader.

They're on the plane from Dublin to Paris as we speak. All green.
I'll collect them tomorrow and pass them out at the game.

ptegan
08/10/2004, 11:15 AM
Jesus I can't believe that you got 1,000 of them :)

Peadar was it your friend at l'equipe that I spoke to yesterday?

08/10/2004, 11:25 AM

Fair play Peadar. I'll try and get a few bags too.

08/10/2004, 11:53 AM
Jesus I can't believe that you got 1,000 of them :)

Being the cheeky lad that I am, I said "any chance you could sort me out with a few balloons for the game?" 5 mintues later they were ready for delivery. If you don't ask you don't get.

Peadar was it your friend at l'equipe that I spoke to yesterday?

Greg?
I hadn't mentioned the site to him so I doubt it.

ptegan
08/10/2004, 12:20 PM
Well they found it anyhow and I gave them an interview about the Green Army for Sat's edition. Thought it may have been you :)

ptegan
08/10/2004, 1:08 PM
I just spoke to L'equipe today. The story is going out Sunday instead of Sat so they'll be there with cameras at 2pm, by the tower.

Wear your best underware !!!

OMP Player
08/10/2004, 1:39 PM

Where did you get them Peader? I tried all over my town yesterday but to no avail. Best i could get was a party pack of 20(different colours) for €3 :mad:

08/10/2004, 1:47 PM
Where did you get them Peader? I tried all over my town yesterday but to no avail. Best i could get was a party pack of 20(different colours) for €3 :mad:

I started my search here (http://www.goldenpages.ie/Results.asp?origin=NEW&rubric=select&what=party+balloons&where=Dublin)

08/10/2004, 1:57 PM
Where did you get them Peader?

I got onto a place that supplies the balloons for weddings, conferences, events parties etc.

Going to have a look in Reading this evening before I go to Heathrow to see if I can get more.

11/10/2004, 7:36 AM
Don't think I'll bother with something like this again.
People just burst them or let them go flying off without tying them.
One lánger just threw it on the ground and when I asked him what his point was he had the cheek to say "fúck off, you get paid enough anyway, what do you care." Nice one mate, my trip was paid for by a shop who sells balloons! :rolleyes:

petef
11/10/2004, 7:39 AM
Was wondering where people got them from, think I saw one go by in the distance, nice idea tho.

liam88
11/10/2004, 9:40 AM
Don't think I'll bother with something like this again.
People just burst them or let them go flying off without tying them.
One lánger just threw it on the ground and when I asked him what his point was he had the cheek to say "fúck off, you get paid enough anyway, what do you care." Nice one mate, my trip was paid for by a shop who sells balloons! :rolleyes:

Eejits! Fair play to ya Peadar for trying-it's people like you that make us the best fans in the world-not l*ngers like him who can't even be bothered to blow up their balloon :mad:
For what it's worth I think it was a brilliant idea and am dead proud we've got people like you on-board!
Am looking foward so much to in a couple of years when I can travel with you guys and i'll be proud to buy ya a pint :D

ptegan
11/10/2004, 10:11 AM
Yeah. I have a nie photo of a bunch of lads with a load of green ballons :)

Pat O' Banton
12/10/2004, 10:35 AM
Was having a bit of a gripe about this in general, no balloons (except the ones myself and Lopez had in our section) and in truth as a massive set of fans we could have made it truely spectacular, ticker tape and all that would have worked perfectly. Is there any ways that we can get ideas out of this forum into the outside world?

I don't think there will be many travelling to Israel so how about something organised for the Faroes and Cyprus? Any ideas on this?

12/10/2004, 10:40 AM
I don't think there will be many travelling to Israel so how about something organised for the Faroes and Cyprus? Any ideas on this?

I think fog lamps and fog horns will be the order of the day in the Faroes :D

From past experience, a big green Aran jumper will be the order of the day in Cyprus.

zinedineontour
12/10/2004, 10:58 AM
had about 50ballons myself but most people around me just burst them straight away the little ****es ! beach balls should be given out at the airport to everyone travelling to cyprus or faroe like the carlsberg hats that were at the airport. Maybe 2fm or the like might sponsor it

12/10/2004, 11:47 AM
beach balls should be given out at the airport to everyone travelling to cyprus or faroe like the carlsberg hats that were at the airport. Maybe 2fm or the like might sponsor it

Couldn't Carlsberg sponsor it?
It's a year away, we've bigger fish to fry before then.

Pat O' Banton
12/10/2004, 12:32 PM
Thought the Roman Candles looked great - did the owners get thrown out for this?

Big shirt, like the French and Swiss have is certainly a great idea. Think its worth having another go at the baloon idea however we would need to get in touch with Irish media and ask them to print/announce the idea. Also announcements can be made on other Irish wesites.

(incidently if the corperate Ireland could be persuaded to do anything to promote an atmosphere, tickertape could be launched from the Upper tier of the two stands ala Argentina '78 would always be a great start to a game, tell them its soomething to tell their mates in the golf club afterwards and they'll jump at the idea)

lopez
12/10/2004, 1:22 PM
Better still, just get somone to print them out with Ryder Cup 2006(??Is that right. Don't follow the sport much) Ireland on them and that'll get the f*ckers interested. :mad:

onenilgameover
29/10/2004, 12:34 AM
I was a balloon sceptic but they looked great...fair play to all who brought them!