View Full Version : Wales V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 14th August 2013 - Friendly

19/07/2013, 1:35 PM
Squad announced for the friendly on August 15: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/358195630721609729

Squad v Wales:Forde, Westwood, Randolph, O'Shea, St Ledger, Wilson, Coleman, Kelly, O'Dea, Clark, McShane, Whelan, McCarthy, Green, Hendrick
continued https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/358195922716471296

Squad v Wales contd: McGeady, Pilkington, McClean, Brady, Meyler, Quinn, Hoolahan, Long, Sammon, Walters, Cox #COYBIG (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23COYBIG&src=hash) #WalIrl (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23WalIrl&src=hash)

19/07/2013, 2:16 PM
Forde

Westwood

Randolph,

Coleman
O'Shea
St Ledger
Wilson

McShane
O'Dea
Clark
Kelly

McGeady
Whelan
McCarthy
McClean

Pilkington
Green
Hendrick
Brady

Meyler
Quinn
Hoolahan

Long
Sammon

Walters
Cox

Yard of Pace
19/07/2013, 2:31 PM
I'm assuming it's something to do with the LA Galaxy having a game but home come Robbie isn't in the squad?

19/07/2013, 2:37 PM
I'm assuming it's something to do with the LA Galaxy having a game but home come Robbie isn't in the squad?
Being rested, while Dunne has also been left out due to lack of games: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2013/0719/463462-keane-rested-for-wales-encounter/

19/07/2013, 4:44 PM
probably something to do with it, they're playing FC Dallas on the 11th and Real Salt Lake on the 17th: http://www.lagalaxy.com/schedule

ArdeeBhoy
20/07/2013, 2:49 AM
Tbf, we all know what Robbie can do at this stage...
Time for fresh blood. Even for Trapp.

dr_peepee
20/07/2013, 8:40 AM
What?? No stearman??

20/07/2013, 11:48 AM
Pilkington (Pilko?) handed yet another lifeline, probably his last chance before the 3 strikes out policy kicks in.

Serb
20/07/2013, 1:21 PM
Pilkington (Pilko?) handed yet another lifeline, probably his last chance before the 3 strikes out policy kicks in.

Was thinking the same. Hope he turns up, I think he could end up being a decent midfield option.

20/07/2013, 2:08 PM
What?? No stearman??
Sky Sports' headline yesterday was "Dunne and Stearman left out of Ireland squad".

As if a League One defender who is not even be eligible yet being omitted in favour of Premier League players and Sean St Ledger is some sort of shock.

Serb
20/07/2013, 2:41 PM
Sky Sports' headline yesterday was "Dunne and Stearman left out of Ireland squad".

As if a League One defender who is not even be eligible yet being omitted in favour of Premier League players and Sean St Ledger is some sort of shock.

Ah yeah, there are loads of "Robbie Keane dropped from Ireland squad", when in reality he hasn't featured in most friendly squads since he left for the USA.

20/07/2013, 9:27 PM
Forde

Westwood

Randolph,

Coleman
O'Shea
St Ledger
Wilson

McShane
O'Dea
Clark
Kelly

McGeady
Whelan
McCarthy
McClean

Pilkington
Green
Hendrick
Brady

Meyler
Quinn
Hoolahan

Long
Sammon

Walters
Cox

I like the 11 man midfield gonna be hard to win the ball off them.

Crosby87
21/07/2013, 8:52 PM
Are we going to play 4-3-3?

07/08/2013, 1:31 PM
Welsh squad announced: http://www.faw.org.uk/news/FAW91756.ink

07/08/2013, 1:38 PM
I await Bale's withdrawal from the squad with eager anticipation.

07/08/2013, 9:13 PM
Madden on standby as Quinn joins Pilkington and Cox on the injury list: http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10809/madden-on-standby-as-ireland-hit-another-withdrawal/

08/08/2013, 11:43 AM
McGeady after pulling out with a knee injury: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/365418700557398016

Aiden McGeady has withdrawn from the Irish squad to play Wales next Wednesday in Cardiff with a knee injury #WalIrl (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23WalIrl&src=hash)
Played the full 90 minutes last weekend against Krasnodar, Spartak at home to Rubin Kazan this Sunday

DannyInvincible
08/08/2013, 12:28 PM
Will Madden be called into the squad then?

the doc
10/08/2013, 8:27 PM
Feck Feck Feck Feck to Feck Feck Feck Feck Feck Feck!

That's Fecking unlucky!

See ye in Koln!

IsMiseSean
10/08/2013, 8:56 PM

That's Fecking unlucky!

See ye in Koln!

Is the injury that bad doc?

Irish_Praha
11/08/2013, 12:29 AM

That's Fecking unlucky!

See ye in Koln!

Is the Germany game in Köln?

gastric
11/08/2013, 9:41 AM

That's Fecking unlucky!

See ye in Koln!

Sounds like you are in real pain Doc, is that why you have withdrawn from the squad?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/st-ledger-pulls-out-of-ireland-squad-with-injury-1.1490764

DannyInvincible
11/08/2013, 12:16 PM
Andy Keogh and Paddy Madden brought in.

Supreme feet
11/08/2013, 12:32 PM
Clark and O'Shea for Sweden/Austria then. Dunne surely won't be up to speed if he remains on the bench for QPR.

11/08/2013, 7:30 PM
As predicted, Bale set to pull out due to wallet injury: http://www.thescore.ie/gareth-bale-set-miss-ireland-wales-friendly-1032072-Aug2013/

the doc
11/08/2013, 8:24 PM
Clark and O'Shea for Sweden/Austria then. Dunne surely won't be up to speed if he remains on the bench for QPR.

I'm behind whoever plays, we need results from the next set of games.

As Elvis once said "It's now or never"

Lets hope Sweden are all shook up, Austria surrender and the Germans have a woodern Heart.

The Doc has left the building, next performance live in Koln.

Thank you very much!

11/08/2013, 8:28 PM
I have visions of the doc running through the living room now, high-fiving his friends and family WWE-style on the way out.

the doc
11/08/2013, 9:29 PM
I have visions of the doc running through the living room now, high-fiving his friends and family WWE-style on the way out.

😄😄😄😄😄

The Ultimate Warrior, The Rock from the Isle of Shamrock!

I will get my coat........

Crosby87
12/08/2013, 12:15 PM
Seamus!
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTcucjsfbOaEUejGQ6vLJVmqClfOO64r pQm3gO_Wa7lodiz8Hu6Ug

Cymro
12/08/2013, 1:25 PM
As predicted, Bale set to pull out due to wallet injury: http://www.thescore.ie/gareth-bale-set-miss-ireland-wales-friendly-1032072-Aug2013/

What are you talking about, it's a foot injury. Spurs told us so it must be true.

Anyway, we have a secret plan. Bale will join up with the squad and stay in the stands and from there his ears will form a protective covering over our goal, thus ensuring at least a clean sheet.

12/08/2013, 2:09 PM
His wallet fell off the kitchen table onto his foot.

Sullivinho
12/08/2013, 2:19 PM
Just as well such misfortune chose now to strike. In Madrid, this specific injury is associated with career-ending crush syndrome.

Eminence Grise
12/08/2013, 2:46 PM
I'm behind whoever plays, we need results from the next set of games.

As Elvis once said "It's now or never"

Lets hope Sweden are all shook up, Austria surrender and the Germans have a woodern Heart.

The Doc has left the building, next performance live in Koln.

Thank you very much!

I just had visions of Alan Partridge...

Crosby87
12/08/2013, 11:36 PM
Trap is pondering a 4-4-1-1 with Walters outside claims the last sentence of this article.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/trapattoni-offers-hope-to-doyle-603359.html

Serb
13/08/2013, 12:14 PM
Trap is pondering a 4-4-1-1 with Walters outside claims the last sentence of this article.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/trapattoni-offers-hope-to-doyle-603359.html

Trap does this before every game recently: "I think I will play 3-5-1-1 with Roberto Carlos and Pele as wing backs and Gary Lineker in the middle" and then the game starts and it's 4-4-2 and we don't have any Brazilian wing backs :-/

IsMiseSean
13/08/2013, 12:25 PM
I'm guessing Trap will name the team this evening?

13/08/2013, 2:17 PM
I'm guessing Trap will name the team this evening?

at 4:45 according to Three: https://twitter.com/3_News/statuses/367271045532643328

The squad is in Cardiff ahead of tomorrow’s game with Wales – team announced at 16:45. Who are your definite starters? #SupportWorks (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23SupportWorks&src=hash)

13/08/2013, 4:46 PM
From FAI Facebook:

Giovanni Trapattoni has named his team to face Wales tomorrow night in Cardiff City Stadium. KO is at 7.45pm.

Starting XI is as follows: Westwood, Coleman, Clark, O'Shea, Wilson, Walters, McCarthy, Whelan, Brady, Hoolahan, Long

13/08/2013, 4:47 PM
That's probably as close as we'll get to the starting line-up for the double-header next month, with Keane, McGeady and (maybe) Pilkington the only likely replacements. Only one Championship player in the first XI: James McCarthy/

13/08/2013, 5:15 PM
That's probably as close as we'll get to the starting line-up for the double-header next month, with Keane, McGeady and (maybe) Pilkington the only likely replacements. Only one Championship player in the first XI: James McCarthy/
Leaving these lads on the bench

Forde

Randolph

Kelly
O'Dea

McShane

Keogh
Hendrick

Meyler
McClean

Green

Sammon

Madden

Not much strength in depth there.

13/08/2013, 5:18 PM
Pretty decent first 11, the fools who come on and say we are made up of a championship team, can eat their humble pie now. We are an average European team at least, made up of players from the 2nd/3rd best league in the world. Its irrelevant that they dont play in the top 4. We are not a world power house.

I had a feeling that McCarthy would not get a move this year. Its looking increasingly like this. Hopefully a similar team starts in september.

13/08/2013, 5:21 PM
Leaving these lads on the bench

Forde

Randolph

Kelly
O'Dea

McShane

Keogh
Hendrick

Meyler
McClean

Green

Sammon

Madden

Not much strength in depth there.
Forde is injured too - Henderson is in his place. We should have McGeady, Keane and Cox back for the qualifiers, and possibly Pilkington along with fringe players like Joey O'Brien, Kevin Doyle and Keith Andrews.

13/08/2013, 5:32 PM
Forde is injured too - Henderson is in his place. We should have McGeady, Keane and Cox back for the qualifiers, and possibly Pilkington along with fringe players like Joey O'Brien, Kevin Doyle and Keith Andrews.
Yes, I agree, it's not that bad. Average age of Starting XI 26. Would be good if they can cement their places for the Austria Sweden games tomorrow.

13/08/2013, 7:45 PM

Well Brady might still be classed as championship player given he has not played in a Premiership game this season!
But on that basis you could say McCarthy is not really as championship player if he gets a move to a première club
this season, although that now seems unlikely but we shall see, there are almost 3 weeks left. I doubt a bigger club will come in for him, but maybe one of the lesser clubs will make a late bid?

DannyInvincible
13/08/2013, 8:22 PM
a première club

Ha, I like that. I think you've been watching too many ESPN streams! :p

Sullivinho
13/08/2013, 9:02 PM
For a friendly international taking place at this time of year, that's a strong enough looking team. Fair play to Glenn Whelan on his 50th cap and all but tbh, before this time next year, I really hope someone/s will have made enough progress to viably ensure he doesn't collect much more of 'em.

13/08/2013, 9:16 PM
Pretty decent first 11, the fools who come on and say we are made up of a championship team, can eat their humble pie now. We are an average European team at least, made up of players from the 2nd/3rd best league in the world. Its irrelevant that they dont play in the top 4. We are not a world power house.

Why is it irrelevant that they don't play in the Top 4 ? Look at the English squad. Awash with Top 4 players and they have achieved what.? I am not sure where you get the 2nd/3rd best league in the world? You put a bottom half English team against a bottom half Spanish, French, Italian or German team and I'd know where my money would be. Who has disputed that we are an average team ? The point is that we have over achieved in our qualification campaigns to-date as an average European team. Why people thought an average team would beat 3 of the top 8 teams in the World at Euro 2012 still amazes me.

I still think it is too soon to put Robbie Keane out to grass. I just don't see goals without Robbie in the side. Why he would want to change the successful 4-4-2 system away from home I am not sure with our record away? Something else is desperately needed at home ok. Perhaps this formation is the solution.

13/08/2013, 11:52 PM
Why people thought an average team would beat 3 of the top 8 teams in the World at Euro 2012 still amazes me.which posters thought this?

14/08/2013, 12:46 AM
Ha, I like that. I think you've been watching too many ESPN streams! :p

I thought it was spelt with an e at the end but the only one on the spell checker list was the French version
so I used that, despite how pretentious it looked!!

I do not even know how to type an è with that accent (which is a grave accent ;) ) on the keyboard!

Although <Alt Gr>e give you é.

Crosby87
14/08/2013, 1:07 AM
Jazz Richards called up by Wales. Is Dirk Diggler next?
Just sounds like one of those names.