View Full Version : Hotel just shafted us

Cowboy
05/10/2004, 7:59 PM
Hi guys, me and mates were booked into the hotel dacret in montmarte and they have emailed us with a bull**** story about "our" rooms being flooded. Anyone any ideas on other hotels, there are six of us.

Thanks in advance

Jon'o
05/10/2004, 8:04 PM
try www.octopustravel.co.uk / .com fairly good prices and instant confirmation can search by price too

HarpoJoyce
05/10/2004, 8:07 PM
www.hotelguide.com
www.needahotel.com

also travel agents sites or Air Lines but a more discerning customer

www.clubtravel.ie
www.aerlingus.com

beautifulrock
05/10/2004, 8:27 PM
Try Yahoo travel, that way you look at quite a few travel web sites at once. Worked well for us

footielady
05/10/2004, 9:25 PM
try last minute.com loads of hotels in Paris or expedia.co.uk

irwinsalegend
06/10/2004, 7:29 AM
Try here, it's in the latin quarter , i know a few people got booked into it only yesterday so it may still have room.

Comfort Hotel Andre Latin
52, rue Gay Lussac
Paris, 75005 FR

Phone: 1-4354-7660

http://travel.yahoo.com/p-hotel-332218-comfort_hotel_andre_latin-i

only1kilbane
06/10/2004, 8:03 AM
try hotelformule1 in porte de st ouen.. only costs 38 euro a night and the room can take up to 3 .quite handy where it is near all the action in clichy

aidz1
06/10/2004, 8:18 AM
sh1te
we are booked for the same hotel
must get on to the lad who booked it to see have we heard anything...

captkeen
06/10/2004, 8:23 AM
try www.accordhotels.com only 49e a night and they have 2 hotels near the stadium.number 0033148094810,of hotel nearest the ground.im staying there.

Dublin101
06/10/2004, 8:27 AM
Try www.accorhotels.com. Need to search arouond for the right hotel, but they have good bargains for rooms fo 2 people.

Molloy Fan
06/10/2004, 9:28 AM
try ibis hotel on Grand Boulevard 90 euro for a room good location.

Cowboy
06/10/2004, 9:35 AM
Thanks for all the help guys, working away and still trying

06/10/2004, 9:35 AM
Try www.timhotel.com good value there...........

blobbyblob
06/10/2004, 9:49 AM
I reckon you wont be the last to get this story this weekend.

Is there any handy numbers people can store in their phone in case of emergencies?

Closed Account 2
06/10/2004, 12:09 PM
www.hotelformule1.com
or
1st one is 38 euro
2nd one is 49 euro.

book online, but you dont have to pay till you get there they book per room which means three can stay in teh room, cheapest your going to get,

75 rue du docteur babinski
porte de st ouen

15 min walk from place de clichy. Holiday inn is also right beside them.

thats where we are staying in hotel formule1.

Am now staying there too, Sat and Sun nights.

Cowboy
07/10/2004, 4:18 PM
Got sorted at the Ibis hotel "Suitehotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle (owned by IBIS)
1, Impasse Marteau,"

not in montmarte but near the metro so what the hell

Thanks for all the help

11/10/2004, 7:39 AM
Hi guys, me and mates were booked into the hotel dacret in montmarte and they have emailed us with a bull**** story about "our" rooms being flooded.

Count yourself lucky mate, I got to my hotel and when I tried to check in they said my room had been flooded that morning. She rang 8 other hotels in their chain while I was there but no one had rooms.
My mates came down and said I could bunk in with them so she put a camp bed in their room. If that happened in Dublin we'd be called the backward Paddies from a Third World country!
IBIS will be getting a stinker off me today.

Cowboy
11/10/2004, 9:38 AM
hmm seems there was mass flooding in Paris, I think translated flooded means we overbooked got more money or just fooked up

Count yourself lucky mate, I got to my hotel and when I tried to check in they said my room had been flooded that morning. She rang 8 other hotels in their chain while I was there but no one had rooms.
My mates came down and said I could bunk in with them so she put a camp bed in their room. If that happened in Dublin we'd be called the backward Paddies from a Third World country!
IBIS will be getting a stinker off me today.

11/10/2004, 9:51 AM
hmm seems there was mass flooding in Paris, I think translated flooded means we overbooked got more money or just fooked up

Perhaps they meant the room was flooded with guests.
IBIS will be slated by me to everyone I meet and anyone looking for hotel advice for future trips.
1 Star Hotels
5 Star Lángers

Cowboy
11/10/2004, 10:03 AM
Perhaps they meant the room was flooded with guests.
IBIS will be slated by me to everyone I meet and anyone looking for hotel advice for future trips.
1 Star Hotels
5 Star Lángers

To be honest I found service to be very poor in general in Paris, everything moved at snails pace. Went to eat in buffalo grill opposite gare du nord. Got starters an hour after we ordered, ended up walking out in disgust. GReat stadium and great performance by our boys otherwise paris sucks

11/10/2004, 10:08 AM
To be honest I found service to be very poor in general in Paris, everything moved at snails pace.
Early Saturday in O'Sullivan's Bar was a joke!
3 people serving with about 200 people about the place.
Ignorant staff with no method to the way the worked.
Not a manager in sight.

ptegan
11/10/2004, 10:16 AM
To be honest I found service to be very poor in general in Paris, everything moved at snails pace. Went to eat in buffalo grill opposite gare du nord. Got starters an hour after we ordered, ended up walking out in disgust. GReat stadium and great performance by our boys otherwise paris sucks

Sorry to hear that things didn't work out for you.

I went to the Hippopotamus opposite the Gare de Nord after the match and got served starters after about 15 minutes.

Cowboy
11/10/2004, 10:43 AM
Sorry to hear that things didn't work out for you.

I went to the Hippopotamus opposite the Gare de Nord after the match and got served starters after about 15 minutes.

No big deal, hotel that we got was great so the guys who cancelled on us maybe did us a favour. Thanks for all the help from your website

11/10/2004, 10:45 AM
got served starters after about 15 minutes.

I went to hotdog tent and got served in under 3 minutes! :D
You should have seen the stunner that served me!
Tall, fit, of African origin with a smile that would launch a thousand ships.
The majority of the people in Paris were very nice and I always enjoy my visits to there. The hotel thing is unacceptable though.

boc123
11/10/2004, 10:57 AM
[QUOTE=Peadar]I went to hotdog tent and got served in under 3 minutes! :D
QUOTE]

Proper footie food :) :)

captkeen
11/10/2004, 10:57 AM
We had a creaking weekend.Stayed at the ibis near the stadium ,nice hotel but they ran out of beer on saturday night about 12.30 ,so we headed for Paddy Whacks.Le Patron was very accmmodating even letting my younger son in Although he did say he was my responsibility............................he looked after his dad.Had a great meal in the little italian restaurant around the corner before the match and very reasonable it was to.Only 2.50e for a bottle of beer.Every corner i turned on saturday morning all i saw was green.Everybody was so friendly.Had a good meal at Planet Hollywood, arnie wasnt there though........... :D All in all great weekend ,match was great ,only disappointment was Osullivans,really though it was a s...hole and i agree the bar staff were awful.only stayed for one and headed for the Paddy Whack as it was or local,if you ever go to Stade de France again its not a bad place.

Gary Waddock
11/10/2004, 11:22 AM
Sullivans was a dump alright...was there on Friday night for the 2fm thing, good crowd at it but you'd break your heart trying to get a drink. Staff were gobsh*tes as well...and it was a rip off...
Learned from that mistake the next day...
Cans outside all the way...before & after the match..

..anyone see yer man on top of :D the Bus? Peadar has a good pic of it...
or the 2 boys who climbed in the back window of a car that was stopped in traffic....great stuff!!

Rover 2 U
11/10/2004, 12:52 PM
I met a lad at about 6 bells on Sunday morning in an Ibis hotel in Gare de Lyon. He had travelled with 3 other lads from Brussels, arrived at 7 bells Saturday evening, dropped the bags in the hotel and went off to the game.

After the game he got sepperated from his mates and didn't remember which hotel he was staying in. All he knew was that he was staying in an Ibis hotel in Paris. Turns out there are over 50 of them. Anyway, he had no way to contact his mates, as the phones were all out, and he didn't know the surname of the guy who booked the room, so he just wandered from one Ibis to the next all night looking to see if his swipe card worked in it. He didn't even manage a beer cause he was more interested in finding his mates and needed to stay sobber.

If it's you I am talking about and your reading this, I hope you found the hotel and battered your mates for not showing up to meet you after the game, if it's not you and you had a incident regarding your hotel, just think about the poor guy wandering around the city not having a feckin clue where he was going! Makes your incident seem a little more bearable now, doesn't it?

In all honestly though, it really only could only happy to an Irishman! :D

ptegan
11/10/2004, 1:40 PM
Jesus...not only are there more than 50 of them but almost all are on the edge of the city (like St. Denis) it'd take a week to walk around to them all.

Poor lad....hope he's not still walking !

11/10/2004, 2:09 PM
Poor lad....hope he's not still walking !

He wouldn't have had a problem if he'd taken your advice and had the name and address of his hotel on a card before he left the place.
There's no excuse for being thick, like!

22/10/2004, 1:00 PM
when I tried to check in they said my room had been flooded that morning.

I made a formal complaint when I returned from Paris and had to wait until today for a response.
Hardly worth the wait! :rolleyes:

We have well received your e-mail dated October 11th and we thank you for the time spent informing us of your comments.
We have transmitted your comments to Guest Relations for further
treatment and I assure you that they are doing their best to answer you as
soon as possible.

Either they get so many complaints they can't deal with them all or they're just the most ineffecient company in the world!

p_o_r
25/10/2004, 11:56 AM
the poor bus driver didnt know what to do, he was getting awful worried i was reassuring him telling him it would be grand. THe passengers in that bus were getting thick as feck, the thicker they got the longer they were held. was hilarious.

Yea I'm sure it was hilarious, the next time you are on a bus trying to get somewhere on a Sat. afternoon and some drunken ass gets on the roof see how hilarious it is.

19/11/2004, 10:46 AM
I made a formal complaint when I returned from Paris and had to wait until today for a response.

In the interest of fairness, I should report that the hotel have sent me a letter of apology and an invitation for two, offering one night in any Accor hotel in Europe.
They've also credited my account with the total room charge, which I hadn't actually paid.

Crambler
19/11/2004, 12:41 PM
peader,
nice to see u got sorted out by accor,
i travel to france 5/6 times every year and always stay with accor group.
only once ever had i a problem with them.i checked into a novotel in caen with wife /kids headed off out for the evening,when i returned i was asked would i mind moving rooms to another floor on the hotel as they had given me the wrong room.i was a bit p----d at this as it meant moving everything so as i complained they offered me a full credit on my nights stay at the hotel.this convinced me to move room.only when we went to move rooms did we discover reason for moving was the auxerre team had booked to floor we were put on ,so we got the added bonus of meeting cisse/mexes/boumsong etc.got some great photos as well.it was an ironic ended.

Cowboy
19/11/2004, 12:55 PM
In the interest of fairness, I should report that the hotel have sent me a letter of apology and an invitation for two, offering one night in any Accor hotel in Europe.
They've also credited my account with the total room charge, which I hadn't actually paid.

Nice one