View Full Version : The Rod Squad

11/06/2013, 10:40 AM
Surprised there hasn't been a thread about this, first episode aired last night.

Roddy, on form as ever.

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/the-return-of-the-rod-squad-roddy-collins-best-quotes-945552-Jun2013/?utm_source=shortlink

Personally I thought his rant about the "dark forces" that kept him out of Irish football would have made it in there as well.

GCdfc
11/06/2013, 11:13 AM
It did. Number 6.

Spudulika
11/06/2013, 11:16 AM
Roddy's usual lie about "dark forces" are the same as every other excuse the man uses to cover up his problems. Looking forward to this new show though, and the inevitable bankruptcy of Athlone (as per the LTFC fans song last week).

ATFC-1887
11/06/2013, 11:24 AM
Hold on for a second :P Longford are the ones paying Noel McGee the same amount as our highest paid player is on (250). Should be worried about Longford going bust

gufc2000
11/06/2013, 11:28 AM
Is this up online anywhere?

11/06/2013, 11:34 AM
It did. Number 6.

Good spot :o

11/06/2013, 7:01 PM
Spud the Longford song is wrong. He didn't bankrupt us or do us any harm. He worked his balls off for us.

11/06/2013, 7:04 PM
Spud the Longford song is wrong. He didn't bankrupt us or do us any harm. He worked his balls off for us.
His self-righteous rant about how Monaghan will never go bankrupt must have been at least part of the cause, under the murphy's law principle.

11/06/2013, 7:26 PM
Hold on for a second :P Longford are the ones paying Noel McGee the same amount as our highest paid player is on (250). Should be worried about Longford going bust

It's only tongue in cheek in fairness. Is he actually signing or is that just the usual rumour? Anyhow that won't make or break us, we're doing fine at the moment.

KUFCMan
11/06/2013, 7:43 PM

Where is Noel McGee this season?

Cuyahoga
11/06/2013, 7:52 PM
My general feeling watching the show last night was that its just a big shame that Monaghan are gone. I'm sorry for the fans and those behind the scenes, it seems such a waste all the hard work people put in over the years and now no league football anymore.

11/06/2013, 8:11 PM

Where is Noel McGee this season?
He was with Athlone. He gets linked to us every year I'll believe it when I see it.

11/06/2013, 8:27 PM
My general feeling watching the show last night was that its just a big shame that Monaghan are gone. I'm sorry for the fans and those behind the scenes, it seems such a waste all the hard work people put in over the years and now no league football anymore.

About 8 of us who had worked hard for years met in the pub to watch it last night. It really hurt watching it. Roddy did his best, just not able to magic a sponsor. Not that it was up to him.

11/06/2013, 8:34 PM
About 8 of us who had worked hard for years met in the pub to watch it last night. It really hurt watching it. Roddy did his best, just not able to magic a sponsor. Not that it was up to him.
The underage teams are still going, right?

11/06/2013, 8:44 PM

what are you about noel mcgee ? It was said before that hes not signing for us!

11/06/2013, 9:09 PM
Yeah and our women's team. Just kills me not having senior football.

peadar1987
11/06/2013, 9:37 PM

Still got a a ground (with sound walls!), and a club with good people and a decent structure. If football in this country ever gets sorted out, you guys will be back, I'm sure of it.

11/06/2013, 9:46 PM
Could be in worse shape. Any idea what kind of effort it would take to re-launch the senior men's team? There's presumably no legacy debt or anything.

bullit
11/06/2013, 9:49 PM
Still got a a ground (with sound walls!), and a club with good people and a decent structure. If football in this country ever gets sorted out, you guys will be back, I'm sure of it.
And the 8 who watched the Rod squad in the pub last night.Thats Mons.Sentiment means nothing in LOI.

da bishop
11/06/2013, 10:22 PM
loved going to mons,soup was first class as were the diehards.rod has his critics but ffs he is great telly.

Paddyfield
11/06/2013, 10:37 PM

I feel your pain

12/06/2013, 12:21 AM
For anyone interested, this is on freeview Setanta Sports after the Ireland match tonight.

12/06/2013, 7:39 AM
It was a good insight.
Roddy is a showman and plays to the camera.
My wife did comment that there was an awful lot of bad language.

13/06/2013, 8:22 PM
loved going to mons,soup was first class as were the diehards.rod has his critics but ffs he is great telly.

True dat. You can't deny he's entertaining.

ATFC-1887
14/06/2013, 12:16 AM
what are you about noel mcgee ? It was said before that hes not signing for us!

Noel himself said that if he doesnt get his game with us hes not going back to St Peters and is in talks with Longford. As of last week iv been told he has signed.

14/06/2013, 8:17 AM
I'm sure we've been on to him in the past, to stop him scoring against us if nothing else, but I don't see him getting in our team at the moment and he's not going to come to be a sub. We'll see if it happens but I'd be sceptical tbh.

ATFC-1887
14/06/2013, 9:16 AM
I said the same. Can't see him getting a game at either us or Longford. Handy player to come off the bench though. But from what i hear its a done deal

14/06/2013, 1:30 PM
Cousins said in an interview there that we aren't signing anyone else.. We already have 5 odd lads who play in forward positions, no need to sign him.

14/06/2013, 1:32 PM
You should always trust everything Tony Cousins says.

14/06/2013, 2:52 PM
I still stand by what I said, we have no need for another striker.

JC_GUFC
15/06/2013, 10:18 PM
This has gone a bit off topic - there was a clip on Setanta for the 2nd show of the series - looks pretty good!

If Bohs and Athlone meet in a relegation playoff this season I'd say half the Bohs fans will be supporting Roddy!

White Horse
15/06/2013, 10:23 PM
Next Drogheda boss according rumours down there.

15/06/2013, 10:46 PM
Why would Drogheda sack their manager? Even for them, that would be ridiculous.

bluewhitearmy
15/06/2013, 11:16 PM
Cousins said in an interview there that we aren't signing anyone else.. We already have 5 odd lads who play in forward positions, no need to sign him.

There was talk that we want that lad O'Sullivan so ye may need to replace him if that happens.

ATFC-1887
16/06/2013, 12:28 AM
Next Drogheda boss according rumours down there.

Won't happen. Roddy has guaranteed he will be here for 2 years at least. I know someone will say bla bla this and that buti believe it. Hes gonna be linked with every job because of who he is. Hes going nowhere.

dong
16/06/2013, 10:09 AM
Bla bla this and that.

Managers rarely last two years.
Least of all in the LoI.
And it won't be Roddy bucking that trend at Athlone.

17/06/2013, 10:43 AM
Could be in worse shape. Any idea what kind of effort it would take to re-launch the senior men's team? There's presumably no legacy debt or anything.

There are some debts. Including payment for loan for Astro Pitch. As said elsewhere, with 2 new astro pitches in the locality the revenue on ours is much reduced while the payments still have to be made.

It would take a momentous change of attitude in the town for the team to be brought back and that ain't gonna happen for now.

17/06/2013, 10:55 AM
I also believe Roddy will stay at Athlone. He will want to get them promoted. Then his next mission will be to get them to stay up. That was his plan with us until things went wrong. I believe Roddy feels he has something to prove and that will be an advantage for Athlone as they are now the vehicle for him to prove himself with.

poster
17/06/2013, 4:16 PM
Is this freeview tonight?

17/06/2013, 4:21 PM
Is this freeview tonight?
Yep, 10pm.

17/06/2013, 7:32 PM
There was talk that we want that lad O'Sullivan so ye may need to replace him if that happens.

Aside from us not selling him unless you offer silly money I can't see him moving to Limerick tbh. I think there's more danger of the likes of Pats or Rovers (or Bohs/Shels if they get their act together) taking him eventually.

17/06/2013, 7:36 PM
Is he the lad you got from Wayside or whoever?

17/06/2013, 7:43 PM
Yeah that's him. Excellent player.

ATFC-1887
21/06/2013, 12:55 AM
Anyone know if this is available online anywhere. Missed the 1st 2 episodes.

bluewhitearmy
21/06/2013, 7:37 PM
Anyone know if this is available online anywhere. Missed the 1st 2 episodes.

Would like to know if there is anywhere too seen the 1st missed the next.

The Lilywhites
21/06/2013, 7:57 PM
It's available through Setanta catch up on the eircom website if you have eircom bb.

He wasn't too impressed with Stephen Kenny in the second episode over comments made before Rovers v Monaghan, "who the f**k does he think he is". Wasn't impressed with Dundalk after the first game either, "they're f**king crap"!

Good TV.

bullit
21/06/2013, 8:26 PM
....... Wasn't impressed with Dundalk after the first game either, "they're f**king crap"!

Good TV.

Great insight from the Rod ! Even a turnip could tell you we were shoite last year.

Good show all the same.

ATFC-1887
21/06/2013, 8:43 PM
It's available through Setanta catch up on the eircom website if you have eircom bb.

He wasn't too impressed with Stephen Kenny in the second episode over comments made before Rovers v Monaghan, "who the f**k does he think he is". Wasn't impressed with Dundalk after the first game either, "they're f**king crap"!

Good TV.

Ah your a life saver. Good man thanks

Straightstory
22/06/2013, 10:35 AM
Great character, the Rodmeister. Really well put together show.

24/06/2013, 9:12 PM
My heart is breaking all over again.