View Full Version : Who Covers for Michael Devine?

Counting Crow
11/05/2003, 10:40 AM
It has been pointed out / observed in a number of places recently that we have not had a sub keeper on the bench for several of our games.

It became a real talking point on Friday night, around me, when Devine went down with that head injury in the second half.

What would we have done........?

The thought of one of the outfield players donning the gloves is worrying. This is really the only questionable tactic of Dolan's so far this season ( assuming it is not forced upon him by injury etc ).

It is crazy in this day and age to be walking such a tight rope in a game and could back fire big time on the team.

Anyone got inside info on this?

SSS
11/05/2003, 1:57 PM
I agree that this is too big a risk to take.
Partly because of the risk of injury, but it is even more likely that a keeper will be sent off at least once in a season.

As for inside source, it doesn't tell you anything new, but a squad member has said that it is Dolan's policy.

11/05/2003, 4:03 PM
reckon somebody like dan murray must be a good keeper

no point in having a sub then

12/05/2003, 12:53 PM
And this is based on?????

12/05/2003, 2:38 PM
only guessing biy relax

@ndy
12/05/2003, 3:31 PM
The women down in Riordan's tell me dan is good with his hands...

Badweather Fan
12/05/2003, 4:37 PM
Worth the risk i'd say.
I WOULDN'T expect mickey to be sent off this season.
Gives Dolan more options.

12/05/2003, 5:39 PM
Originally posted by Badweather Fan
Worth the risk i'd say.
I WOULDN'T expect mickey to be sent off this season.
Gives Dolan more options.
It's still abig risk, especially if the pitches get really hard..;)
More worrying is that Dolan seems very slow to use the subs he has.
Bringing on guys with 2 or 3 minutes to go seems totally pointless to me.
What can they realistically do?

Dr.Nightdub
12/05/2003, 9:15 PM
In all the time he was at Pats, the only time I ever remember Dolan listing a keeper among the subs was for Cup / League Cup games where the competition rules require it. On that basis, i'd say it is a policy of his.

shedite
13/05/2003, 9:10 AM
I think it's a grand idea. Goalkeeping isn't that hard. Surely someone who has played football all their lives will have some idea how to do it. Also, a lot of the City players would have played GAA at some stage so will be alright at catching.

Only worry I would have would be a cup match with devine sent off and it going to penalties but if it's in the rules that keepers are necessary then I really can't see a problem

13/05/2003, 9:55 AM
Jesus mate, have you any idea about goalkeeping. Penalties are probably the only thing I'd accept an outfield player in goal as that could be down to luck. Everything else is a specific skill. It's like saying defending is the same as attacking.

And yeah its Dolan's policy but when he was manager of us not once did an outfielder have to go in goal. Didn't stop me worrying about it though

13/05/2003, 10:29 AM
Originally posted by shedite
Goalkeeping isn't that hard.

Are you serious??? :D

No really, tell me you're joking???

It's the most specialised position on the field shedite and if it happens that ye get caught out there'll probably be ructions.

@ndy
13/05/2003, 11:50 AM
If he doesn't have a back up...then it' s a foolish policy. I would assume that one of the players is there as a back up, still, it seems a little unprofessional...

Ali
15/05/2003, 5:51 PM
It is unprofessional and while it is unlikely that Devine is going to get sent off there is also the possibility that he might get injured [touch wood] He has gotten injured the last few matches and while none of them seem very serious one could be whats gonna happen then?

15/05/2003, 6:02 PM
Originally posted by Ali
It is unprofessional and while it is unlikely that Devine is going to get sent off there is also the possibility that he might get injured [touch wood] He has gotten injured the last few matches and while none of them seem very serious one could be whats gonna happen then?
Yeah, it looked dodgy for awhile there last Friday night.
It's a bad idea.

16/05/2003, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by Ali
while it is unlikely that Devine is going to get sent off

There's no way that you can say it's unlikely - all it'd take is one mis-timed dive or a bad refereeing decision surely. Seems like far too much of a risk. We used to do it as well - used to be fairly worried about it all the time.

Fair_play_boy
03/10/2004, 6:12 PM
Looking at the subs bench, when was the last time it included Mark McNulty? So, if Devine gets injured diring a match, who replaces him?

Stadler
03/10/2004, 6:27 PM
oh, fair play to you, boy. 80-odd games later :rolleyes:

Fair_play_boy
03/10/2004, 6:39 PM
oh, fair play to you, boy. 80-odd games later :rolleyes:So, Mr. expert, do you have an answer? If you have been that observant, maybe you can offer an informed reply rather than a smart comment???

Stadler
03/10/2004, 6:44 PM
So, Mr. expert, do you have an answer?

yes i do as a matter of fact, but i'm not telling you :p

jofyisgod
03/10/2004, 6:48 PM
oh, fair play to you, boy. 80-odd games later :rolleyes:

Well, fúck me. Have you got a problem with fairplayboy? You've been on here a day, and you've already started attacking posters. Admin will be on to ya if you're not more polite in future.

TBH, I can't see Devine ever getting injured beyond repair, but it is an interesting point.

Stadler
03/10/2004, 6:51 PM
[QUOTE=jofyisgod]Well, fúck me. Have you got a problem with fairplayboy? QUOTE]

are you starting on me too?

i was merely pointing out the fact that dolan has never named a sub keeper for a league game yet this seems to have only dawned on fairplayboy today, that's all!

jofyisgod
03/10/2004, 6:54 PM

i was merely pointing out the fact that dolan has never named a sub keeper for a league game yet this seems to have only dawned on fairplayboy today, that's all!

Nonce-That you may have been doing, but why in such aggressive and patronising tones? As you are new to the forums, you may not have realised that this has never been discussed before.

Stadler
03/10/2004, 7:20 PM
As you are new to the forums, you may not have realised that this has never been discussed before.

what exactly is this (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=7505) then?

eoinh
03/10/2004, 7:52 PM
[QUOTE=jofyisgod]Well, fúck me. Have you got a problem with fairplayboy? QUOTE]

well actually i had never noticed it either! It does seem like a risky road to go down - not including a sub keeper. Maybe one of the outfield boys have hidden talents with regard to goalkeeping duties!?! :confused:

03/10/2004, 8:18 PM
what exactly is this (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=7505) then?

hes asking which of our outfielders doubles as substitue goalie

i'd guess alan bennet, just purely on physical stature and agility, but ive no idea of their keeping abilities. maybe little danny's a keeper at heart.

Fair_play_boy
03/10/2004, 9:05 PM
The women down in Riordan's tell me dan is good with his hands...
. . . :p :D

03/10/2004, 10:02 PM
he might have to start naming a sub keeper now with colin o brien out injured ;)

Fair_play_boy
03/10/2004, 11:08 PM
. . . maybe little danny's a keeper at heart. . . . . . :D :p :D

04/10/2004, 12:05 PM
Asked McNulty about this before.

He says that Colin T and Behan both were very good GAA players and that one of them would go in goal if required

Eric
04/10/2004, 12:59 PM
Apparently Doyler was a handy GAA player before too so maybe he's another option.

one_bounce
04/10/2004, 1:13 PM
doyler played inter county a few years ago..bit small for goals though?

Fair_play_boy
04/10/2004, 3:33 PM
Well done Mods for merging these two threads.