View Full Version : LOI Series 13 & 10 & Setanta Cup Final 2013.

Pages : 1 [2]

PartySaint
11/05/2013, 1:48 PM
I've seen that Behan photo pop up all over the place. People are convinced it's photoshopped. It's crazy.

They just can't believe Dennis Behan actually scored.

Eminence Grise
11/05/2013, 2:02 PM
10 April, 2013 - Bohs 1 - 2 Cork City
11 April, 2013 - Bohs adopt 'Soap your Ar5e and Slide Backwards Up a Rainbow' as the new club anthem to alleviate the gloom.

Fester
11/05/2013, 2:17 PM
Shams 1 up 12'

Fester
11/05/2013, 2:19 PM
Shams 2 up 12' Chambers, 14' O'Connor

adamd164
11/05/2013, 2:48 PM
All over before half time, 3-0.

Fester
11/05/2013, 2:49 PM
All over before half time, 3-0.

Should have been 4 nil

11/05/2013, 3:12 PM
Didnt want either to win.

Fester
11/05/2013, 3:17 PM
4 nill Rovers

Pablo Escobar
11/05/2013, 3:18 PM
5-0 now

Fester
11/05/2013, 3:29 PM
5-1 now

Fester
11/05/2013, 4:02 PM
7-1 ft

Ezeikial
11/05/2013, 5:50 PM
Daniel McDonnell makes a bizarre claim in the Indo today when reflecting on the Sligo and Derry results from last night:

Derry's bizarre loss to UCD means they gained another point on the Candystripes, but St Patrick's Athletic and Shamrock Rovers (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Shamrock_Rovers) were the real winners from the night.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/all-hands-on-deck-as-bray-hold-sligo-29258597.html

St Pats maybe, but certainly not Rovers!

St Pats have the potential to go ahead of Derry and go within a point of Sligo if they beat Rovers on Tuesday.

On the other hand Rovers could climb to the dizzy heights of 5th place if they win (and Limerick don't) and put strong pressure on Sligo by narrowing their lead to a slim 11 point margin. WTF?

11/05/2013, 6:13 PM
Just goes to show you can't trust them Dundalk feckers.

placid casual
11/05/2013, 6:25 PM
Rovers were lucky. The ref gave them every decision. sligo would have scored 12.if the game was played in hunky dory park the drogs would have won 8:0.its a dublin conspiracy. Micky d higgins told sellotanta to make sure Rovers won.blah blah blah

All Ireland champions.
read that and fookin weep you ABR hoi polloi

11/05/2013, 6:33 PM
Great day for the minnows in cup finals.

Fester
11/05/2013, 6:53 PM
Finn harps 1 up

bullit
11/05/2013, 7:15 PM
Conor Meade goal machine

Cobh 1 Athlone 1

Another goal machine Kevin McHugh puts Harps 2 up v Longford

bullit
11/05/2013, 7:25 PM
Just goes to show you can't trust them Dundalk feckers.

From Ardee heyyyy ! But Dundalk fan.

Pablo Escobar
11/05/2013, 7:54 PM
Conor Meade goal machine

Cobh 1 Athlone 1

Another goal machine Kevin McHugh puts Harps 2 up v Longford
A lot of people were surprised that we didn't sign him in pre-season.

Fester
11/05/2013, 8:15 PM
Harps 3 up on leader Longford

11/05/2013, 8:20 PM
A great day for Rovers and other than a win for Crusaders, LoI teams continue to dominate. So has the standard improved down here or has it gone down in the North? Personally I think the standard has improved and Southern teams play far more ground football than I remember before. God help me but I remember going to Blaxnit Trophy games as a kid in the 1970s which the Northern teams dominated between the riots. Long may it continue.

adamd164
11/05/2013, 8:23 PM
Jaysus Longford 2-3 Harps now. In injury time.

PartySaint
11/05/2013, 8:50 PM
Rovers were lucky. The ref gave them every decision. sligo would have scored 12.if the game was played in hunky dory park the drogs would have won 8:0.its a dublin conspiracy. Micky d higgins told sellotanta to make sure Rovers won.blah blah blah

All Ireland champions.

Wins Cup Final and goes on foot.ie to give it socks

'No one like us, we don't care'

dong
11/05/2013, 9:14 PM
Daniel McDonnell makes a bizarre claim in the Indo today when reflecting on the Sligo and Derry results from last night:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/all-hands-on-deck-as-bray-hold-sligo-29258597.html

St Pats maybe, but certainly not Rovers!

St Pats have the potential to go ahead of Derry and go within a point of Sligo if they beat Rovers on Tuesday.

On the other hand Rovers could climb to the dizzy heights of 5th place if they win (and Limerick don't) and put strong pressure on Sligo by narrowing their lead to a slim 11 point margin. WTF?

Not bizarre at all imo.
To be honest Shams have been threatening to humiliate somebody like that and Drogheda totally froze on the day.
They have been playing some cracking football this season.
I'd fancy them to make a dramatic surge up the league table in the next series of games.
11 points certainly isn't insurmountable at this stage.

Fivesilver
11/05/2013, 9:48 PM

All Ireland champions.

Ah will ya look at that - you're awful cute when you're in a righteous fury.

Yourselves and Wigan are well placed to kick on now.

oriel
11/05/2013, 9:52 PM
There was no batons used, typical foot.ie sensationalist guff. There was no aggro between the stewards and Shels fans. The reason they were there was precautionary and to stop Shels fans banging on the railings. I spoke to the head steward on that side during it all.

Shels fans always well received in oriel park, and they are probably one the few away fans that should be allowed into the lilywhite lounge before games, but trust me on this, it was so unusual that's why I was so surprised. I had a view from the top corner of the stand and saw a group of young shels fans in the corner trying to exit the ground via the turnstiles (as opposed to the big gate exit) and cops drew their batons to get them back in line.

Very unusual as i said as this was all within the away end and all directed at Matthews. Just a strange end to the game. I'm sure it was just pure frustrations at their current position but they could have managed their protests a little better.

oriel
11/05/2013, 10:14 PM
Btw is there not even one comment from the drogs side of the game today?

Did you even have a good day out?

Never mind at least easier games to look forward to in Europe........

White Horse
11/05/2013, 10:16 PM
Shels fans always well received in oriel park, and they are probably one the few away fans that should be allowed into the lilywhite lounge before games, but trust me on this, it was so unusual that's why I was so surprised. I had a view from the top corner of the stand and saw a group of young shels fans in the corner trying to exit the ground via the turnstiles (as opposed to the big gate exit) and cops drew their batons to get them back in line.

Very unusual as i said as this was all within the away end and all directed at Mathews. Just a stage end to the game. I'm sure it was just pure frustrations at their current position but they could have managed their protests a little better.

I have to support "oriel" on this.

No issues with the behaviour of the Shels fans towards the club.

12/05/2013, 1:21 AM
An entertaining encounter in City Calling Stadium tonight. Harps playing some decent football and finding a bit of rhythm again. Two Longford goals out of absolutely nothing left the last couple of minutes slightly nervy, but a well deserved three points and only 4 points off the top now with Mervue to play next week at home!
It's looking good. Finally.

Ezeikial
12/05/2013, 3:20 PM
Not bizarre at all imo.
To be honest Shams have been threatening to humiliate somebody like that and Drogheda totally froze on the day.
They have been playing some cracking football this season.
I'd fancy them to make a dramatic surge up the league table in the next series of games.
11 points certainly isn't insurmountable at this stage.

I agree that it would be hard to imagine that Shamrock Rovers will do as poorly in the next series, but then few predicted that they would only manage 13 from 33 points in the first round.

That is not the point at all.

For Daniel McDonnell to highlight the team who are in 6th place and 14 points behind the league leaders as being one of two winners from the weekends results is bizarre in the extreme.

12/05/2013, 11:16 PM
Great day for the minnows in cup finals.

Overlooked.

13/05/2013, 12:00 AM
You've the wrong photo.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/65656_10201196863942984_6561488_n.jpg
I see Ndo has caught on to the Phil Jones Face craze.

I agree that it would be hard to imagine that Shamrock Rovers will do as poorly in the next series, but then few predicted that they would only manage 13 from 33 points in the first round.

That is not the point at all.

For Daniel McDonnell to highlight the team who are in 6th place and 14 points behind the league leaders as being one of two winners from the weekends results is bizarre in the extreme.
Daniel McDonnell is a Dundalk fan who goes to Bohs games. Safe to say he has no Shamrock Rovers bias. He's calling it as it is, which is that Rovers and Pats, along with Derry, are still the only credible contenders for Sligo's crown. Which absolutely nobody would disagree with.

That might change inexorably if Pats win on Tuesday.

bullit
14/05/2013, 6:53 PM
If yar bored Lims v Drogs commentaty is here >> http://www.live95fm.info/extra/

No comedians this duo :rolleyes: although the main commentator thinks he's fooking hillarious. :(

CrowdedHouse
14/05/2013, 8:46 PM
extratime is a joke of a website

NeverFeltBetter
14/05/2013, 8:47 PM
Drogs beat Limerick 1-0. Gamble sent off.

14/05/2013, 9:00 PM

Lately it's been all over the place. Disappointing altogether for a website that has always been seemingly above all the rest for LOI coverage.

It's been very sub standard this season so far.

bullit
14/05/2013, 9:07 PM

The old answer is the best one imo.If you don't like it run your own.very easy to do it these days.

CrowdedHouse
14/05/2013, 9:23 PM
I know what you mean but you're only making excuses for half-arsedness

NeverFeltBetter
14/05/2013, 9:32 PM
I'd just roll out the standard "Considering the budget they operate on..." argument. Still miles above everyone, even RTE, on LOI coverage.

14/05/2013, 10:37 PM
I know what you mean but you're only making excuses for half-arsedness
Considering none of their writers (as far as I know) get paid and I doubt the owners make much from the advertising, it looks very full-arsed to me. You're not going to get fully-professional content when you're drawing from students and passionate fans as writers. As it stands, they provide a great service to the football community which wouldn't be replicated were they not there.

bullit
15/05/2013, 12:05 AM
Still waiting on that one elusive Galway Utd result.It will still be wrong no matter how long ya wait,

Thar she beee :cool:

http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/sea_captain_1.jpg

15/05/2013, 12:49 AM
Considering none of their writers (as far as I know) get paid and I doubt the owners make much from the advertising, it looks very full-arsed to me. You're not going to get fully-professional content when you're drawing from students and passionate fans as writers. As it stands, they provide a great service to the football community which wouldn't be replicated were they not there.

Extratime don't pay their writers themselves, but I know the lads who write the Harps stuff are professional reporters from local newspapers. The same reports appear online as do in the local papers.

I don't think anyone is knocking the work done by Extratime. They do a superb service that isn't rivalled anywhere, but this season it's just been of a much poorer standard than we've been used to in recent years. A few clubs haven't given any reports whatsoever.

poster
15/05/2013, 10:38 AM
. A few clubs haven't given any reports whatsoever.

Do you mean reports or reporters?

15/05/2013, 3:07 PM
Do you mean reports or reporters?

Reports. I've gone searching for reports on matches a few times only to find nothing there, or only appearing a week or two later.

PartySaint
15/05/2013, 4:51 PM
Not a great game in Richmond last night. Rovers came for a draw and got it, Barry Murphy was even warned for time wasting...in the first half. I found it odd that they set up for a draw as it doesn't really help them at all.

We were the better side and created most of the chances but Rovers could have nicked it in the end as Kilduff missed a sitter.

Good weekend for us with Derry losing and Sligo not winning in Bray.

Ezeikial
15/05/2013, 6:22 PM
Good weekend for us with Derry losing and Sligo not winning in Bray.

For crying out loud don't forget Rovers - now only 13 points behind and frightening the bejasus out of the everyone!