29/09/2004, 8:52 AM
Many come to mind....Based upon a shortlist of five:
Kevin Fitzpatrick
Ray O'Halloran
Johnny Walsh
Tony Meaney
Al Finnucane.
And the winner is................................................ .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. ..............................................
Johnny Walsh......'Jabber' was pure class. There was a saying going round the pubs after every big performance he put in :" Jaysus, he'd be 'cross de water if he were to put on a stone'........
29/09/2004, 1:48 PM
yea id go for Johnny as well as he stayed with the club when they made the move to Rathbane and all the others good as they were werent like last years team, as in the 1980's famous team went on strike for better pay, last years played on when they were getting none. I belive Johnny would have done the latter too. Does the floors now me thinks. Ray O'Halloran would have been a great player if he stoped deluding himself and played in his true position of central midfield and not as "abouy Razor, saved us again" sweeper! He also left us twice when we got religated and didnt stick with Noel when he became manager. But a good player overall
inexile
29/09/2004, 2:14 PM
I personally think there could only be one from these 2 and thats Stephane Jauny or Mick Aherne
29/09/2004, 2:28 PM
yea id go for Johnny as well as he stayed with the club when they made the move to Rathbane and all the others good as they were werent like last years team, as in the 1980's famous team went on strike for better pay, last years played on when they were getting none. I belive Johnny would have done the latter too. Does the floors now me thinks. Ray O'Halloran would have been a great player if he stoped deluding himself and played in his true position of central midfield and not as "abouy Razor, saved us again" sweeper! He also left us twice when we got religated and didnt stick with Noel when he became manager. But a good player overall
Ray was a geat footballer, brilliant sweeper, could be lethal with a deadball ...and a bloody handy 'keeper too as I recall.
Peterc
29/09/2004, 3:36 PM
Tony Ward!!
LFC in Exile
29/09/2004, 6:56 PM
Think there is an interesting fact about Johnny Walsh in that I think he is the only player to win every league trophy available with just one club. League Championship, FAI Cup, League Cup and First Division title. Am I right? :ball:
Gael, are you kidding me? Ray O'Halloran was a class sweeper. Maybe my favourite player. When I was a young fella I thought Gary Hulmes was brilliant. If I'm honest I don't really remember the Al Finucane, Eoin Hand era - I was too young to really judge good players and can't really remember well enough to distinguish between them. I think the Limerick City team under Billy Hamilton etc had some good players - Hanrahan, Coyle, Barry Ryan in his prime, John Power. Of the recent crop O'Flynn, Finucane, Purcell should be up there. I think though Razor has to get it.
30/09/2004, 9:36 AM
Ray was a geat footballer, brilliant sweeper, could be lethal with a deadball ...and a bloody handy 'keeper too as I recall.
I think he played one of his underage international caps in goal. Great pity he'd to retire early
30/09/2004, 9:46 AM
Kevin Fitzpatrick for me. Great keeper for 22 years - never left us down.
Al Finucane would be up there although possibly had his best years in Waterford or before my time late 60's.
Johnny Walsh would also be close. Tommy Gaynor as well or Pat Nolan. Joe O'Mahony also.
Before my time but Andy McEvoy RIP probably was our greatest ever player.
LFC in Exile
30/09/2004, 11:58 AM
Before my time but Andy McEvoy RIP probably was our greatest ever player.
Apparetly so. According to my Da anyway, and he knows his stuff. :ball:
30/09/2004, 1:34 PM
Al Finucane would be up there although possibly had his best years in Waterford or before my time late 60's.
Al Finnucane: Some player...maybe I'll change my mind...
Soccer star Al set all types of records Lim Leader 2001
LIMERICK'S greatest soccer player, Al Finucane, looks as fit to-day as he did 30 years ago which was an unique year for him.
In 1971 Al captained Limerick to win the FAI cup for the first time, that same year he captained the Republic Of Ireland in an away international against Austria and in that year, too, he skippered the League Of Ireland against the English League.
We in Limerick have, for some reason, a tendency not to appreciate the achievements of our own folk whether it be in sport, business or politics.
But nobody in the country can compare with Al Finucane when it comes to soccer.
Having made his debut for Limerick in a 3-3 draw against Shamrock Rovers at Milltown in 1961, when only 17, Al went on to play in the League Of Ireland for 28 years. He made his debut as an inside forward after a man for whom he has the greastest respect, Ewan Fenton, saw him in that role for Limerick B in a Lawson cup game. In that season he scored in every round of the Lawson Cup including the final which Limerick won.
He remained an inside forward until Willie Clinton received an injury and when Des McNamara was switched from half back to fullback and he became a halfback.
The rest, as the saying goes, is history.
Al smashed all types of records as a player and, as important, as a sportsman.
He played more than 1,000 games in the League Of Ireland with Limerick, Waterford and Newcastle West.
That is a record and, so too, is the fact that he played in the League Of Ireland for 28 years.
And, perhaps, his greatest achievement.....in more than 1,000 matches he was never sent off and had his name taken on only THREE occasions.
During his great career Al played eleven times for the Republic Of Ireland, having made his debut against Turkey in Ankarra in February 1967.
The highlight of his career was when he captained the Republic in Austria in 1971.
Other highlights of his career included:
1967- Personality Of The Year award winner.
1971-Captained Limerick to win the FAI cup
1980-Captained Waterford to win the FAI cup
1982-Won a third FAI cup medal, this time with Limerick.
Al also won a league cup medal with Waterford and a Shield and Dublin City Cup medal with Limerick.
Having started his career with Limerick in 1961 he transferred to Waterford in 1973 and it was while with them that he teamed up with the best player he ever played alongside, Bobby Charlton.
The best team he ever faced was Argentina who were recent world cup winners at the time. "They were a fantastic team and it was a great experience to play against the greatest side in world football,"he said.
No player in world soccer can boast of playing in European football in 1965 and again 21 years later.
Al played in the cup winners cup for Limerick against CSKA in '65 and 21 years later he played for Waterford in the Cup winners cup against Bordeaux.
On that occasion he became the oldest player ever to play in European football when aged 43. The man who was previously the oldest was Dino Zoff who played until he was aged 42 and was, of course, a goalkeeper.
fc hammer
02/10/2004, 8:28 AM
Not to forget that brilliant center foward Des Kennedy and the magnifisent Brenden Storan who scored the winner and made that breathtaking goal line clearance in the 1982 fai cup final...
02/10/2004, 2:40 PM
I know you don't expect an outside view, but we were tonked 7-0 at home by you lot in our first season as you romped away to the League title.
I have seen many Limerick teams down through the years. I remember you winning the League Cup in 1993 I think in Harolds X Stadium against St. Pat's
I remember the 1982 Cup Final win, and I wanted to go to your European Cup tie with Real Madrid but I couldn't get off work. :(
There are some great players on the list but also some glaring omissions.
What about Des Kennedy?
Anyway give that the list is the rules and Johnny Walsh's accomplishments I will suggest one of two. From the short list and from what I saw and from the point of view of longevity, it would be for me as an outsider a toss up between Kevin Fitzpatrick and Al Finucane.
I would plump for Finucane in that I saw him with Waterford, with ye and also with Newcastlewest, in fact I was there the day he hung up his boots in Ballygowan Park . He was still playing superbly at 46. And he's also a gentleman making time for an opposition supporter, as I spoke with him on a number of occasions down through the years. So another vote for Al....
having said all that all of the suggestions are worthy so maybe it is time for an All Time XI
03/10/2004, 2:27 AM
Im a younger Lims fan and the best players i can remember are Eddie Hickey, Albert Finnan, Ray O'Halloran and Stephen O'flynn just wonderin if any of them would get near an all time eleven????
03/10/2004, 10:19 AM
..............................Kevin Fitzpatrick...................................
Al Finnucane..Ray O'Halloran...Joe O'Mahoney...Johnny Mullane...
Christy Coll........Eoin Hand... Tony Meaney.....Johnny Walsh......
.....................Andy McEvoy....Des Kennedy...........................
That team would kick ass with any side of today....Shelbourne my arse!! :D .
kevincronin2000
03/10/2004, 11:07 AM
Would not know a great deal about Limerick soccer but a few players that played for both Limerick and Cork in recent seasons.
Declan Daly - Legend in his prime down here
Declan Hyde- Would prob not fit into the all time greats catagory
Tommy Gaynor - Stats should state that he should be one of the greats but performances in a cork jersey sujest otherwise
Brendan Sweeney- Still only potentiall
Stephen O'Flynn - Good player, hardly all time legend.
05/10/2004, 9:02 AM
Dont know about the best, been watching Limerick since around 1989, Joe Hanrahan, Johnny Walsh, Ray O Halloran and Declan Hyde are names that I remember from then. Not too many to choose from since, although I had a soft spot for Peter Mumby later on. So how about the worst player that you can remember? Gerry Cheung? Donato Borza? Matthew Carr, who as far as I remember was the only player ever to be released by Limerick? In more recent times, that guy with the red face, cant remember his name.........left back?
05/10/2004, 4:14 PM
Best: 4-4-2
Brian McKenna
John Smith
Albert Finnan
Dave Minahan
Ally Dawson
Johnny Walsh
Marcus Tuite
Ray O'Halloran
Daithi McMahon
Steve O'Flynn
Tony Izzi
Worst:
John Toomey
Julian Lyons
Duckie Lyons
Matt Carr
Gerry Chung
Gareth Ryan
Kevin Flanagan
Paddy Doyle
the rest empty till the end of the season....cos on this years panel there are plenty! :rolleyes:
06/10/2004, 8:53 AM
Forgot about Tony Izzi absolute legend of a little man :D moved on to Queenstown did'nt he......I think the dub who partnered Howie was Paddy Doyle :confused: I'll never forget the cheer that rose from the stand behind the goals when he was subbed on one particularly uninspired night :eek:
06/10/2004, 11:15 AM
Where's Bubbles lads? and Fran Hickey :D
06/10/2004, 11:33 AM
Howie King still playing for Mount Merrion in the 4division of LSL intermediate division.
As a schoolboy saw Andy McAvoy scoring 2 goals against the English League. Unfortunately Jimmy Greaves scored about 4 for them and we lost 8-2.
06/10/2004, 11:40 AM
Where's Bubbles lads? and Fran Hickey :D
Phew....just saw the :D at the end of that message. Bubbles is just what he sounds like.....a monkey someone Michael Jackson can have fun with...
06/10/2004, 2:43 PM
yea thats him oh god was he ****e! and i remember that day too. he came back a year later with st francis and nearly scored i said nearly ha ha :D
LFC in Exile
06/10/2004, 3:17 PM
This thread is making me feel good about the current squad.
07/10/2004, 8:30 AM
Oh yeah....we've had our fair share of puddin's all right, but nothing makes me feel good about the current squad....... :( :(
jimhacker
03/11/2004, 8:25 AM
I remember going to the Markets Field with Thurles Town for a cup match around 1981 and being thrilled to come away with a 2-2 draw.
The replay brought our biggest ever crowd and another draw (if I remember right) with Kevin Fitzpatrick throwing one in for us! But he's still a worthy contender along with Finucane.
Black stripe
01/12/2004, 10:52 AM
Not a chance, Jabber was good but the best Limerick player was Billy Hamilton easy
01/12/2004, 11:02 AM
Apart from him being Northern Irish.....a little outside Limerick, I'd say, and anyway theres no way he'd make the top 5 in my book.Players who gave years of loyal service like Kevin Fitzpatrick, Al Finnucane, Ray O'Halloran, Johnny Walsh, Des Kennedy, Tony Meaney, Joe O'Mahoney, Pat Nolan, Frankie Johnson, need I go on, all gave Limerick much better service and dedication than Hamilton, who came here at the end of his career to earn some handy money.
Black stripe
01/12/2004, 11:35 AM
Oh right you have to be born & inbred into limerick to make your team ???
Hamilton took Lims to the a very high spot in the league & the premier league at that.
Lims are a joke anyhow, just missed out on promotion when Dave Connell was manager & then broke up the side..........usual ****e two steps forward & three back, same with Kerley two years ago, got to the play off final & then lost 10 players, start at board level & gut the lot of em
01/12/2004, 11:52 AM
Oh right you have to be born & inbred into limerick to make your team ???
Hamilton took Lims to the a very high spot in the league & the premier league at that.
Lims are a joke anyhow, just missed out on promotion when Dave Connell was manager & then broke up the side..........usual ****e two steps forward & three back, same with Kerley two years ago, got to the play off final & then lost 10 players, start at board level & gut the lot of em
Inbred...thats a bit harsh, but maybe something you are more in touch with than some of us???
Yes Hamilton did take us to 4th place in the premier league, but did it when there was crowds going up to Rathbane, a bar to generate revenue, and a very good squad of players such as Ray O'Halloran, Johnny Mullane, Christy Coll, Marcus Tuite, John Power, Declan Hyde and others. I'm not disputing that he was very good for the club, but I wouldn't have him in my all-time greats list.
I think it only fair to give the new regime a fair shot, and the chance to prove themselves to be different from those who preceeded them. Judge them on their promises, not on the failings of others.
Black stripe
01/12/2004, 1:42 PM
Give it up Joe inbred is a county clare past time, it's not for me!!
I will not judge the Lims on promises as I have seen too many false dawns for that.
Lets hope Noel O'Connor has dropped some of the vendettas he had against some of the current Lims squad this time round.
01/12/2004, 1:45 PM
Lets hope Noel O'Connor has dropped some of the vendettas he had against some of the current Lims squad this time round.
Which squad members would they be then??
Black stripe
01/12/2004, 2:17 PM
Brendan Hughes for one !!!!
Didn't he strip him of the captaincy before the league cup final a couple of seasons ago !!!
There are others also
01/12/2004, 2:23 PM
This is gone way off topic.....
01/12/2004, 3:11 PM
colin heffernan!
01/12/2004, 3:42 PM
This is gone way off topic..... Which squad members would they be then??
Well you asked the question Joe... if you want I'll put it into a new thread though?
Which squad members would they be then??
Mick Ahearne will naturally be on any list that's compiled though. Heard himself and Derek McCarthy have patched up their differences though so hopefully he'll stay on board.
I don't think you can judge anybody on promises either, anybpdy can do a Michael Knighton and promise the sun, moon and stars. The new board will have to be judged on the progress they make and more importantly whether or not they fulfill their performances. In the meantime the jury is out but off the field things do look better than before.