View Full Version : LoI - April 5th / 6th 2013
adamd164
06/04/2013, 7:13 PM
Elding scored again. Would he ever just give it a rest, he's like a broken record.
Fester
06/04/2013, 7:24 PM
Longford 1 v Mervue 0 O'Sullivan '14 HT
dublinred
06/04/2013, 7:50 PM
Elding scored again. Would he ever just give it a rest, he's like a broken record.
As they said on extratime.ie he has ended his drought.
06/04/2013, 8:56 PM
We won again, obviously. Just the two goals tonight though.
06/04/2013, 9:01 PM
It's looking increasingly like Sligo are going to Bayern Munich this one, with Derry playing the free-scoring but inconsistent Dortmund role. Rovers to go the season unbeaten and finish with a flawless 35 points.
adamd164
06/04/2013, 9:04 PM
No doubt it's a fantastic run, and Sligo will barring a miracle go on to walk the league, but just to point out that the teams they have yet to play are 4 of the teams that were in the top 6 in the league last year - Drogs, Pats, Shamrock, Cork City.
Just a point!
06/04/2013, 9:05 PM
No doubt it's a fantastic run, and Sligo will barring a miracle go on to walk the league, but just to point out that the teams they have yet to play are 4 teams that made up the rest of the top 6 in the league last year - Drogs, Pats, Shamrock, Cork City.
Just a point!
If they can avoid playing those sides for the rest of the season, they'll be in with a real shout for the title.
legendz
06/04/2013, 9:07 PM
Pat's and Shamrock away in the next few weeks will be a good test for them. Magnificent start by them, fair play! I hope they'll be in good form when European football comes about in the summer.
Have that again Matthews you horrible little man.
Shels are in serious trouble, only time they scored this season was against us AFAIK.
They can't sack Mathews and tbh I can't see him resigning.
legendz
06/04/2013, 9:27 PM
I suppose like any team, Shels can only look to win their next game. Their best chance to try and start turning things around is to pick up a home win against Drogheda next before the 3 away games in-a-row they'll be faced with, being a trip to Pat's and two trips to Munster.
06/04/2013, 9:49 PM
Looking at their squad, Shels shouldn't be in much trouble. The manager isn't getting the best out of them. I don't know how Burdon has been in the other games, but he was magnificent against Rovers. With Gartland and Ryan in defence and Cronin in midfield, that should be a decent spine to at least be competitive.
bullit
06/04/2013, 9:58 PM
Only for Burdon,Dundalk would have walloped Shels in the recent LSC match in OP.Finished just 1-0 for us thanks to some great saves from him.Keeper with a bright future it would seem.
adamd164
06/04/2013, 10:05 PM
Who's the Shels keeper? After the game on RTE the other week, his interview was hilarious.. he was saying hi to his mam and dad. He's just a kid. Looked a decent keeper though.
adamd164
06/04/2013, 10:19 PM
Saw this posted on facebook...
http://i.imgflip.com/103cf.jpg
PartySaint
06/04/2013, 10:48 PM
No doubt it's a fantastic run, and Sligo will barring a miracle go on to walk the league, but just to point out that the teams they have yet to play are 4 of the teams that were in the top 6 in the league last year - Drogs, Pats, Shamrock, Cork City.
Just a point!
But they have beaten the 2 teams that lie 2nd and 3rd in the table so far this season.
06/04/2013, 10:49 PM
Feckin Sligo saw me lose out on a few quid tonight. Had them -2 to win. Balls.
bullit
06/04/2013, 11:00 PM
Feckin Sligo saw me lose out on a few quid tonight. Had them -2 to win. Balls.
ExtraTime guy wasn't thinking of you and others like you.
Sligo sitting back on the two goal lead. I'm sure all the -1 backers are currently a tad anxious.
07/04/2013, 2:04 AM
My opening "dundalk are a poor side" line was genuinely mostly thinly veiled wind up.
It was genuinely very disappointing from a Limerick point of view to let a 2 goal lead slip to two set pieces though, particularly when we'd been so poor and dundalk had created so little.
I reckon Williams is a big loss at left full for us defence has looked a bit iffy since he hobbled off in Sligo.
Having seen everyone bar Derry from the "just below the top teams" group id still be quietly.cpnfident of winning that mini league (reckon Tommy Dunne could be in trouble in Cork if things dont pick up soon?)
We're over a horrible set of fixtures in Sligo, Pats, Shamrock and Dundalk falling together the next three games will tell a tale.
Home to Bohs, away to Bray, home to Shels.
No disrespect to anyone but we should be looking to pick up seven points there anyway which would make the table look prettier.
07/04/2013, 2:07 AM
Oh and for the record there was at least 50 limerick fans there, there was 25 on the kids bus alone! (ages since I had a warm can of Carling :( )
born2bwild
07/04/2013, 9:42 AM
Looking at their squad, Shels shouldn't be in much trouble. The manager isn't getting the best out of them. I don't know how Burdon has been in the other games, but he was magnificent against Rovers. With Gartland and Ryan in defence and Cronin in midfield, that should be a decent spine to at least be competitive.
I agree.
I agree.
He has been excellent in each game (save for the odd dodgy cross and his kick outs)
Gartland is decent.
Ian Ryan is poor - very poor indeed - without any exaggeration I can say he's the worst centre half I have ever seen.
Cronin has been injured since day one this year.
legendz
07/04/2013, 10:00 AM
Home to Bohs, away to Bray, home to Shels.
No disrespect to anyone but we should be looking to pick up seven points there anyway which would make the table look prettier.
I wouldn't write off Limerick's chances of taking 7 points from those games but it's far from certain. Bohs and Shels will be confident enough of picking up needed points from their respective trips to Thomond Park.
07/04/2013, 10:03 AM
On what basis would Bohs (who've only beaten us and Shels) or Shels (on one point from seven games) be "confident enough" of getting something out of a trip to Thomond?
Dalymountrower
07/04/2013, 11:11 AM
Because each of them drew with the mighty Hoops?
oriel
07/04/2013, 11:41 AM
I agree.
I agree.
He has been excellent in each game (save for the odd dodgy cross and his kick outs)
Gartland is decent.
Ian Ryan is poor - very poor indeed - without any exaggeration I can say he's the worst centre half I have ever seen.
Cronin has been injured since day one this year.
The bad news for shels is, at this stage last season, even we had won one game !
Fivesilver
08/04/2013, 6:49 PM
Just saw the highlights of Shams against Drogheda - Agent Quigley is going to have to be a bit more subtle or he'll be rumbled pretty soon.
markc1184
08/04/2013, 9:43 PM
Watching MNS earlier, What was the story with Dillons celebration after his peno vs Pats? Something happen in the game between him and Clarke?
noddy102
08/04/2013, 9:49 PM
Watching MNS earlier, What was the story with Dillons celebration after his peno vs Pats? Something happen in the game between him and Clarke?
I'm going to guess Clarke had tried to put him off, by not giving him the ball, or talking smack before Dillon took the pen. Happens regularly on the pitch, maybe someone at the game knows more.
bullit
08/04/2013, 10:30 PM
I'm going to guess Clarke had tried to put him off, by not giving him the ball, or talking smack before Dillon took the pen. Happens regularly on the pitch, maybe someone at the game knows more.
^^^^This is right.Few mind games and comments made from both before the pen was taken.
08/04/2013, 10:47 PM
^^^^This is right.Few mind games and comments made from both before the pen was taken.
Might be previous from the time they both were with The Real Rovers.
09/04/2013, 10:56 AM
Because each of them drew with the mighty Hoops?
Doesn't everyone?
Dalymountrower
09/04/2013, 2:07 PM
Doesn't everyone?
Other than Pats.
Buckley clearly feels the need to ingratiate himself with the great unwashed in Tallaght to be in pole position when Crolly is shown the revolving door.
PartySaint
09/04/2013, 9:59 PM
Other than Pats.
Buckley clearly feels the need to ingratiate himself with the great unwashed in Tallaght to be in pole position when Crolly is shown the revolving door.
Draws are so last season for us.