View Full Version : we better not make a co*k up in cobh
fitzpatrick10
25/03/2013, 8:08 AM
i know its early in the week , but i am really looking forward to travelling down to this one! from what i am hearing as i couldnt travel to finn park we played hoof ball as conditions and pith werent suited to play actual football and were very unlucky not to at least share the spoils...we really need to focus on geting 3 points in cobh next sat as if we have any intentions of going up we need to pick up points even at this early stage and one thing i am very concerned about is the injuries as two more players out is not what we needed, any word on the length of time? and will shaw be back ? and who exactly is injured now and with what ?
also as ye all have heard section o are running a bus to cobh, i noticed in the club notes this morn that there is no supporters club bus due to the fact section o are running one, now i know that in the past when both have run buses that the supporters club struggled for numbers but surely with the section o bus leaving so early it will turn a few off and would of been no harm to atleast advertise a supporters club bus?... thats my thoughts on it any way
L.T.F.C.
25/03/2013, 9:39 AM
I thought Section O and the Supporter's Club have this lovely new partnership...
fitzpatrick10
25/03/2013, 9:49 AM
the supports club noticed der is a lack of young support and wanted to get sec o on board to try and get more support and better atmosphere at games, also to try and raise funds like they have done in the past.
25/03/2013, 10:43 AM
TBH after what I saw Saturday night I'm not looking forward to this one and with Cobh looking strong at home I cant see us winning. I don't know what the pitch is like in Cobh but even when we had a carpet in Galway it took us over an hour to finally decide to use it.
Cobh have lots of quality in O'Neill and Meade and the long trip is sure to drain our lads a bit. If there's any justic in the world Gillespie will be dropped for Saturday night and personally I'd play Colly in the holding role but with so many injuries it looks like wel have to play him RB.
Treacy's injury was a bad one and Havo's looked serious too so thats a major problem. Hope and Shaw should be ready for Saturday and theres no word on Isicheli yet.
Bosco
25/03/2013, 12:52 PM
Can I just point out and make it clear that this trip to Cobh next Saturday is in no way meant to be seen as Section O going against the Supporters club, the trip has been planned since before the start of the season as a once off and a chance for everyone to have a bit of craic down there, particularly people who don't usually go to away matches!
It wasn't organised to take away anyone from going on the Supporters bus as from looking at the list so far, I would hazard a guess that almost none of the people on it would have went if the trip hadn't been planned!
Both the Section O facebook and twitter pages have advertised both buses the Supporters club have organised so far this season and will continue to do. As said before the bus is not intended for people just from Section O and if it is a case that the supporters club aren't organising a bus on Saturday then anyone who still wishes to come is more then welcome to come with us!
Anyone who hasnt booked a place yet and wishes to do so please text 097 7619299..
25/03/2013, 8:21 PM
Just to reiterate Boscos point thanks to the supporters club I got one lad thats a regular on the supporters club bus and told him of the section o bus goin on sat morning. He was delighted there was one goin and gladly put his name down for it.
Yeah well the supporters club said this evening that they had no problem with it!
Lads,we are gona need a few more seats at the moment if the bus wants to go or else its gona be too expensive!Its looking like theres a few people who originally said they were going that aren't able to now so we're gona need at least a few more names before we're able to go!We've 17 names at the moment but Im worried in case one or two more drop put and we're going to need at least 20 names for us to be able to run one so please get onto me if you want to go or if you are already going please try and convince one or two extra people to come.
26/03/2013, 7:26 PM
It would be a pity if this fell by the wayside after the plannin bosco has put into it so spread the word ppl and support the town!if you are thinkin of drivin down you will save urself money by goin on the bus and there would be some banter goin to it.
26/03/2013, 9:09 PM
Ye must be getting an awfully expensive bus company? We ran to Waterford and back, with 19 people in the end, 17 of those paid 25 euro, 2 came from Dublin for a tenner. Need to start shopping around for the cheap bus companies!
26/03/2013, 9:10 PM
Ask the club to be sound and pay 50 quid of it..
27/03/2013, 10:41 AM
Maybe now that the leader is out a few might see the advert in the club notes.
27/03/2013, 10:51 AM
Ask the club to be sound and pay 50 quid of it..
Or Fox's perhaps? They get a bit of business from section O.
Bus is all sorted anyway lads!Leaving across from Lidl at 12.30 on Saturday and it'll cost €20 each!Still room for a few more if people are still interested!
Keen2win
29/03/2013, 2:19 PM
€10 for a 9 yr old Bosco?
fitzpatrick10
29/03/2013, 3:20 PM
€10 for a 9 yr old Bosco?
you babysitting ?
Keen2win
29/03/2013, 5:04 PM
Involving the youth and all that, it's how I grew to love it!
Are you asking can you bring a 9 year old on the bus or are you insinuating that i'm selling children?
Keen2win
29/03/2013, 6:15 PM
Asking can I bring a child at a reduced rate :)
That's grand...be more clear next time,i've only just about put to bed the last rumour about me selling children....
L.T.F.C.
29/03/2013, 11:21 PM
Good results for us tonight.
fitzpatrick10
30/03/2013, 8:42 AM
3 points today and were back on top, hopefully few of the players that have picked up knock in the recent weeks are back such as shaw and michael isichei
fitzpatrick10
31/03/2013, 3:27 AM
Town!
31/03/2013, 11:03 AM
That was without doubt one of our most memorable moments since we dropped into the FD. We were dead and buried at 3-1 but somehow somehow we came back to win 4-3 I'm still in shock to be honest.
Town Legend
31/03/2013, 11:32 AM
Could someone please post up a bit of a report on the game last night as extratime didn't bother sending anyone to report on it and the LOI blog is looking for someone who was at the game to post up a report!! They're getting as bad as RTE and the national papers just writing about the PD!!
31/03/2013, 11:59 AM
Could someone please post up a bit of a report on the game last night as extratime didn't bother sending anyone to report on it and the LOI blog is looking for someone who was at the game to post up a report!! They're getting as bad as RTE and the national papers just writing about the PD!!
Would have been up earlier only for site maintance issues so stuck it up on the old blogger, cheers.
http://theleagueofirelandblog.blogspot.ie/2013/03/cobh-ramblers-3-4-longford-town.html (http://theleagueofirelandblog.blogspot.ie/2013/03/cobh-ramblers-3-4-longford-town.html)
31/03/2013, 12:05 PM
I had an awfuly **** day yesterday, there was a silver lining thankfully, hon town!
Gareth
31/03/2013, 12:39 PM
Hi Town Legend, it wasn't a case of not bothering to send anyone. We have covered all the first division matches to date this season, however for this game things conspired against us. We do have someone doing a report, it just wasn't arriving as fast as our usual reports. In terms of getting as bad as others, we go to all First Division games, often have photographers too and generally have a number of interviews during the week. We don't distinguish a Premier game from a First Division game. We had the scores and the scorers from the game as they happened on the night. The only part of last night we didn't have immediately was a report. We had previews, goal updates etc. We will have interviews from Cobh and Longford this week too. And finally, we are a volunteer site, we sometimes don't have full coverage but we can attest to almost 99%.
`
Town Legend
31/03/2013, 12:47 PM
Fair enough Gareth, just a pity ye seemed to miss out on the most exciting game of the weekend!
Gareth
31/03/2013, 1:00 PM
You're telling me, we don't give up easy, it was just a combination of a series of unfortunate events, but trust me, when we do miss out, we do get emails :) Not that we mind, you take the good with the bad! Just disappointing. Eitherway we will have a report, it's just a little delayed. And we will have interviews as per usual. You are allowed your views 100%. I rarely reply but I think it's important to point out we don't ignore the First Division.
31/03/2013, 1:07 PM
Credit where it's due your coverage is usually top class and a very valuable service for those who can't get to as many games as they'd like. For a voluntary site you're doing a great job.
Keen2win
31/03/2013, 1:16 PM
Photos from the trip are up!
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.588572824488652.1073741827.100000078185630&type=1&l=e36bbd07cd
Feel free to use for website/ program/ whatever! Unreal trip, best day I've had for a very long time! Cheers for organising it lads :)
31/03/2013, 1:23 PM
Section O in fascist salutes shocker ;)
http://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=588575677821700&set=a.588572824488652.1073741827.100000078185630&type=3&l=e36bbd07cd&refsrc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fphoto.php&_rdr
31/03/2013, 3:37 PM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=588574814488453&set=a.588572824488652.1073741827.100000078185630&type=3&l=e36bbd07cd&theater
Longford lads on the p!ss again.
fitzpatrick10
31/03/2013, 4:48 PM
we **** where we want !
31/03/2013, 6:04 PM
That was the best moment for me as a Town fan since Tolka Park in 09 when we beat Shels 5-4. I unfortunately didnt make Fahys Field last season for the 5-4 win but this makes up for it. The atmosphere was unreal Cobh fans on one side and ourselves on the other! I had wrote us off early in the second half but I am glad to say the lads proved us wrong. Salmo had a savage game for us and I was delighted for him when his header from outside the box slowly went in over Cobhs goalie into the net! Sullies and Purdys goals were top drawer too as soon as they left their boots you knew it was goin in. Special mention went to Etanda and Chris Bennion also who were superb also. Benno saved us a few times. Cobh should have equalised near the end but I will take the victory.I dont mean to dampen spirits but I am still concerned about our defence. I reckon 50 town fans travelled!
31/03/2013, 7:00 PM
http://cobhramblers.ie/?p=233
Great picture of Section O on the Cobh Ramblers website! we are famous!
Keen2win
31/03/2013, 7:37 PM
Do Cobh have a forum lads?
padjoe
01/04/2013, 2:46 PM
I have more LTFC group photos from Ramblers game if someone wants me to email or pm me.