View Full Version : Foot.ie Paris meet up

Pages : 1 [2]

29/09/2004, 2:11 PM
LEGAL NOTICE FROM PARISIAN AUTHORITIES:

the only legal way to mount :rolleyes: "the tower" is via the steps or the lift.
any other method that is utilised will be severley dealt with.

SIGNED
PIERRE LE DONTDOIT
PARISIAN GENDARMARIE

(excerpt taken from french website)

Danny
29/09/2004, 2:33 PM
whats the betting on who's the 1st to try a CondorMan off the side of the tower ??

sylvo
29/09/2004, 2:35 PM
You will be needed next week 12th to give the online blessing to all those heading off to Paris, so have yer best green vestment's and Addidas Samba rave runner's at the ready.

Duffer
29/09/2004, 3:19 PM
just thinking,re meeting under the eiffel tower,
i think all the lads/girls off foot.ie should wear a sticker with their foot.ie name on it to make it easy to recognise each other. :D

at last the foot.ie girls are recognised.
Fame at last. :cool:

29/09/2004, 3:36 PM
at last the foot.ie girls are recognised.

There've been girls on foot.ie since the very start, girl!
Anyway, see here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=16391) if you're in a feminist mood...

Then sign-up here (www.feminist.com) and here (www.feminist.org) ;)

Duffer
29/09/2004, 3:54 PM
There've been girls on foot.ie since the very start, girl!
Anyway, see here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=16391) if you're in a feminist mood...

Then sign-up here (www.feminist.com) and here (www.feminist.org) ;)

nah not a feminist just tired explaining i'm actually a ladette not a lad :D
thanks for the link but I'll be dumping foot.ie after paris before I'm sacked for spending all me time on here.
who's he callin a lesbo that's another smack in the gob I've to dish out under the eifel.

29/09/2004, 3:58 PM
all feminists are lesbos!fact!

Mrs PP, a committed feminist btw, says to tell you that it's a good thing she doesn't know you or she'd have your knackers off with a spoon for such a derogatory comment. Fact! ;)

:D PP

29/09/2004, 3:59 PM
thanks for the link but I'll be dumping foot.ie after paris before I'm sacked for spending all me time on here.

Or at least until you need info for the next away trip. ;)
At the rate you're going we'll have half our fans nursing black eyes before they even get to St. Denis.
Your name should be Keano not Duffer :D

Duffer
29/09/2004, 4:08 PM
I need to keep you boys in line show yiz yer place ye know if that means black eyes then so be it. ;)
I'll stick to the Duffer name it leads to the belief of a nice quiet lad apparently.

29/09/2004, 4:12 PM
feminists, lesbianists, all the same, you'd want to watch ur wife pp, she could do an aul catherine nixon on ye. :p

Worry ye not. I've been on Bobbitt-watch for years now, and I'm pleased to report that things are all still where they should be. :D

:D PP

29/09/2004, 4:15 PM
I'll stick to the Duffer name it leads to the belief of a nice quiet lad apparently.

I was thinking more along the lines of Hillary Duff (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=15501&highlight=hillary+duff) :D

29/09/2004, 4:50 PM
, so have yer best green vestment's and Addidas Samba rave runner's at the ready.

everyday garb for the good father :D ,
along with my blessings i will post a list of places of "ill repute" that the good father accidently visited :rolleyes: during his many junkets...........sorry i mean missions to the french capital.

these places must under no condition be visited, as your safety/sanity could not be guarenteed. :p

lopez
29/09/2004, 10:23 PM
Me and Pat O'Banton will be wearing our Pearce and Connolly style Brimmer's which go with us on all away tour's, Lopez will be the Benito Mussilini lookalike with his IL O'Duce look. :eek:Just hope I won't be skagged out following my movie-oke from 'The French Connection' the previous night, with me in a pork pie hat, asking a bewildered barman for a shot of four roses before telling some local lasses to 'kiss my Irish ass.' :D

Jon'o
29/09/2004, 10:27 PM
'kiss my Irish ass.' :D

I can see that being the winner for saying of the weekend :D

sylvo
30/09/2004, 10:55 AM
Just hope I won't be skagged out following my movie-oke from 'The French Connection' the previous night, with me in a pork pie hat, asking a bewildered barman for a shot of four roses before telling some local lasses to 'kiss my Irish ass.' :D

Will if yer going to do a movie-oke from the French Connection, just don't do the car chase scene, just stick to the Four Rose's, plus there's a White pork pie hat upstair's with Kildare plastered all over it, you can have that to go with yer Gene Hackman line's. :D

onenilgameover
30/09/2004, 2:17 PM
Just to let you know it may be a nice idea to meet up by the Eifel tower and sure it would look great in the photos but its not in a really comercial area ie for cans and the like also there is no Irish pubs within a walking disatance of about 45 mins either which is unusual because as you'ill find to your taste that there is usually one around each corner. Could still meet up but bring all you need to drink with you or else you'ill be gettin back on the metro. Which is also not too close to the eifel tower either. Anyone want any other info just ask although pteagan seems to be on the case too........Stade de France is reached by the RER line B or D its in the North of the city just outside the road that runs around the whole city. you can get the metro too but its longer cos you gotta stop all the times you can get it from Chatelet or Gare de Nord or any other staion along the line. You will need to pick up a map....... there free at the metro stations. The closest RER stop too the eiffel tower is P'ont de l'ama which is on The yellow line C, B is bue and D is green. Its quite easy to work out when you get there. People are friendly enough too despite what you may hear.............

Pat O' Banton
30/09/2004, 2:28 PM
Just to let you know it may be a nice idea to meet up by the Eifel tower ... there is no Irish pubs within a walking disatance of about 45 mins

Thats just the encouragement that I need to go there then ;)

onenilgameover
30/09/2004, 2:33 PM
There are tons of Irish pubs in Paris and they will all be rammed and we will all have lots of fun. The best english speakin friendly pub in Paris is a scotish pub in the Marais called The Auld Aliance. Its Metro Saint Paul. Come on Ireland!

ptegan
30/09/2004, 2:40 PM
You're all correct !!! :p

2pm at the Eiffel Tower or better, in the grassy part in front of it. Look for the green shirts.

Kitty O'Sheas is a great bar. Always full and anyone in the Opera area will be glad when they find it (print out a map as it's not that easy to come across)

The Auld Aliance is the best Scottish bar in town run by James, a Derry man and old owner of the now-closed Flann O Briens. It's a fine place, a really nice crowd and it makes a change being in a bar not surrounded by Guinness signs. :)

(Great fry on a Sunday morning too!) :p

30/09/2004, 2:41 PM
Threads merged.

30/09/2004, 2:49 PM
I need to keep you boys in line show yiz yer place ye know if that means black eyes then so be it. ;)
A mate of my brother in law once went out with a girl who was the stamp off Damien Duff.

ptegan
30/09/2004, 2:49 PM
Good move onenilgameover. I'll add something to the site to tell people how to get to the tower.

30/09/2004, 3:59 PM
(Great fry on a Sunday morning too!) :p

Now you're talking!!

sylvo
01/10/2004, 9:00 AM
everyday garb for the good father :D ,
along with my blessings i will post a list of places of "ill repute" that the good father accidently visited :rolleyes: during his many junkets...........sorry i mean missions to the french capital.

these places must under no condition be visited, as your safety/sanity could not be guarenteed. :p

Won't have any time for visiting place's of ill repute in Paris now 12th, i'll be to rushed of me feet doing the raffle at the dance that's going on at the Eiffel tower on the saturday. ;)

Duffer
01/10/2004, 9:28 AM
A mate of my brother in law once went out with a girl who was the stamp off Damien Duff.

wasn't me!! :o

01/10/2004, 9:10 PM
Won't have any time for visiting place's of ill repute in Paris ;)

there is one place in particular.
its in a little side st in pigale.i had cause to visit the said place to comfort and console :rolleyes: a "lady of the night".

as everyone knows my favourite tipple is a small glass of "creme de menthe", and i asked the kindly barmaid for one and....................well i d'ont know what happened but i woke up with a crowd around me.

on later inspection of the bottle that the lady served me from, it proved to be .........................abysnthe. :eek: .

maybe you should try and seek out the said tipple when in gay paris as its rocket fuel :D

whats this raffle and dance all about ?...........riverdance under the tower ? :D

lopez
01/10/2004, 10:29 PM
...on later inspection of the bottle that the lady served me from, it proved to be .........................abysnthe. :eek: .Father, as one who is partakes in the devil's buttermilk, I'm intrigued to partake of this absynthe. I have read in the BBC History magazine that it did more damage to the French army in WW1 than General Haig done to the British. Where can I get this drink? The same place I plan to pick up my Charlie? :eek: And what is the going rate?

BTW, check this out! http://www.eabsinthe.com/bus/index.htm

03/10/2004, 10:02 AM
Father, as one who is partakes in the devil's buttermilk, I'm intrigued to partake of this absynthe. I have read in the BBC History magazine that it did more damage to the French army in WW1 than General Haig done to the British. Where can I get this drink? The same place I plan to pick up my Charlie? :eek: And what is the going rate?

great site :cool: ,
i could'nt find it in any of the supers/hypers on my last visit to france.
somebody told me they think it might be banned for "over the counter sales" because of its halucinogenic properties.

d'ont know bout you, but i'm determined to get my mits on a bottle. :D ;)

i'm considering ordering it off the site you included.
maybe ptegan can tell us if its still available to buy in the parisian off licences etc ? :)

sylvo
03/10/2004, 10:24 AM
Father, as one who is partakes in the devil's buttermilk, I'm intrigued to partake of this absynthe. I have read in the BBC History magazine that it did more damage to the French army in WW1 than General Haig done to the British. Where can I get this drink? The same place I plan to pick up my Charlie? :eek: And what is the going rate?

Hey that was the very same bus I used to get to school, it used to have 29 on the front of it and was painted red but it's good to see that they kept the upstair's the same set up as those day's when I was going to school on it, :D Have to take a wonder down to Islington and ask those Franz Ferdinand looking bloke's if they could do a re run up Green Lanes some morning.

sylvo
03/10/2004, 10:34 AM
on later inspection of the bottle that the lady served me from, it proved to be .........................abysnthe. :eek: .

maybe you should try and seek out the said tipple when in gay paris as its rocket fuel :D

whats this raffle and dance all about ?...........riverdance under the tower ? :D

No no 12th i've got a nice vintage bottle of White Lightning, chilling in the fridge waiting to be opened at the Eiffel tower Fleadh.
Mind you I might try and bring a bottle back if I can find the stuff. :eek:

ptegan
03/10/2004, 2:26 PM
Absinthe I'm afraid is still banned in France (as it is in most European countries) and have yet to find a local with a good source for the stuff.

In a way it's just like Poteen which has been legal in Ireland since 1997.
A fine drink but not like the real drop your grandfather used to drink!
Absinthe is available in some pubs and bars but it's missing the wormwood which led to the mild hallucinogenic effect. So you can buy it but it's not quite the real thing.

08/10/2004, 9:49 AM
Now with markings for where to put your piece of elastic.
See here. (http://Peadar.yafro.com/photo/949630)
Never say that I don't look after you. ;)

Has everyone got their "official" foot.ie headgear?
I can print off a few extra if needed. :D

08/10/2004, 9:59 AM
Has everyone got their "official" foot.ie headgear?
I can print off a few extra if needed. :D

would you consider selling them at the tower ?.
i'm sure they would be very popular with the foot.ie guys. :rolleyes:

08/10/2004, 10:07 AM
would you consider selling them at the tower ?

Just like the balloons, I'd give them out for FREE!
I'm all about creating atmosphere, me.

what's the official headgear?

See here. (http://Peadar.yafro.com/photo/949630)

08/10/2004, 10:31 AM
for which the novelty of spending a mere 50 euros to get sloshed,has not yet kicked in! :(

get locked on just the one then dav eh ? :D ;)

Breener
08/10/2004, 2:34 PM
So Lads its 2 o'clock at the front part of the Eiffel Tower. C u's there im off wrk so and then straight to the airport :D

Mite c some of u's in Corcorans 2nite or O'Sullivans at the 2fm thing??
Come on IRELAND

blobbyblob
09/10/2004, 7:58 AM
bit of a crowd gathering under the tower already. Oh what a beautiful day

http://www.abcparislive.com/eiffel_tower_webcams.htm

blobbyblob
09/10/2004, 10:18 AM
It has begun - the green army are congragating under the tower.

Gowan the boys

09/10/2004, 1:14 PM
It has begun - the green army are congragating under the tower.

looks like the guys/gals are getting wet on the outside as well as the inside :D

btw anybody havin trouble getting the left hand picture of the webcam ?