View Full Version : Ireland V Sweden(A) 22 March & Austria(H) - 26 March 2013 - World Cup 2014 Qualifiers

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18

rebelmusic
26/03/2013, 7:36 PM
Think they're playing great, dunno what the complaints are about. Not boring to watch, very attacking...but dodgy at the back but it's a very high tempo game. Shaking with the nerves!

26/03/2013, 7:36 PM
That is why you have an inswinger from that side!

Great comeback after a very shaky start. Need another goal so please don't sit back. My nerves won't take it.

Long & McClean playing well. Austria rattled after spooking us by wearing German kits.

Noelys Guitar
26/03/2013, 7:38 PM
I thought the ref had disallowed it for a sec. Brilliant. Fair play to Whelan for stepping up and taking the corner. And what a great header from Walters. Still think we will need to sore more to win but the way Long and McClean are giving their the defense the runaround why not. Worried about O'Shea on a yellow.

Metrostars
26/03/2013, 7:38 PM
FYI lads in the US, this is on GOLTV

26/03/2013, 7:40 PM
sorry...missed that... extratime said...

"Long and Sammon are doing real well winning everyball in the air"

He has won headers, but he has had time or space to do stuff with them.

That murfinator hasnt a clue, these lads are awful at the back seriously. Long is running them all over the shop, with some good incisive passes we could be 2 more up at this stage. They look dangerous through alba and the number 7 but thats partly because we are so awful and nervous at the back.

Im delighted for clark that he wont be judged on that one stupid mistake, because he has been alright apart from that, but he has to stop doing that, he did it against city, sweden and now austria, getting saved once.

Long has been absoutely superb, doing what he has been looking for in a striker for ages, yet he wouldn't pick him. Walter i thought was very slow and was poor enough but he got the pen and the goal so we cant complain. We could and possibly should have had another goal with long coming very close twice. Coleman looks to pull it down all the time, but the pitch isnt great tonight i would clear it more so he doesnt get caught out like Clark did. Wilson doing well and oshea doing very well again. MCcarthy making the huge difference in midfield, whelan getting a bit too far forward for my liking. Sammon is the worst Irish player out there so far, everything is coming through mcclean but id like to see him take on his man more because these guys do not look comfortable at the back, missed tackes, missed clearances, poor organisation(no one back post for goal, would have saved it otherwise) and poor in the air. We could nick another goal to make this easier cos I can see alaba coming into it more if needed.

In my opinion this is the kinda game where we have to finish them off or we could get caught out wth a late goal. ILl say it again though like before the game, we should not be outdone in terms of the better team, this will be down to us making a mistake or inexperience. We need to be solid but we need to try and get another goal cos i can see us concdeing through said stupid mistake.

THats the text commentary for all of ye away!

26/03/2013, 7:43 PM

at work. Its being recorded :)

(im not in US - its also on GOLTV Canada)

26/03/2013, 7:43 PM
thanks for that Paul. Good summary.

26/03/2013, 7:44 PM
I thought the ref had disallowed it for a sec. Brilliant.
Yeah, the 1.5 seconds silence of disbelief with the crowd had me wondering,
it's a reflex action to look for a flag or at the ref.

We grew in confidence especially after Long's back flick hit the post. Without that confidence we are truly shíte.

Fergie's Son
26/03/2013, 7:46 PM

What? it is? Calling the wife now and having her record it!!!

And she is at her Grandmother's.....doh!

26/03/2013, 7:48 PM
thanks for that Paul. Good summary.

Just a little more on Mcclean, he is coming inside too often, not losing it though but i just think that they look very uncomfortable if you go at them, long has goen down the channels a few times and cut them open, if mcclean were to do that i think that we would have a great chance of creating more clear cut chances.

If we can be more solid at the back, we should be ok. Hopefully no stupid mistakes. Given and Quinn reckno we should go for a third.

26/03/2013, 7:51 PM
oh my god.super by mcclean

NeverFeltBetter
26/03/2013, 7:52 PM
Is Sammon really doing much? I see people on Twitter acting like he's the best player on the pitch. I don't see it. Has won a few headers, a few frees.

26/03/2013, 7:55 PM
they are uncomfortable with sammon molesting them.

26/03/2013, 7:56 PM
and then his inexperience shows again.

26/03/2013, 7:58 PM
Feck we are on the back foot again

26/03/2013, 8:01 PM
McCarthy in danger of getting himself sent off. Might as well sub him and bring Green on.

26/03/2013, 8:05 PM
Need to make a change ASAP. Pressure mounting.

NeverFeltBetter
26/03/2013, 8:08 PM
Putting the pressure on in midfield. Great to see. Forcing Austria to play it backwards.

26/03/2013, 8:09 PM
Getting a bit scary

26/03/2013, 8:10 PM
Ha ha ****s it.

26/03/2013, 8:11 PM
we need to change something.....our pkayers who were most effective in the first half are poor. i woupd suggeet two of our players are injured...

what a save

I can just see it, fuuchs... fuuchs... fuchs.... goal!!

NeverFeltBetter
Brilliant reaction save. Austria are really struggling when it comes defending crosses.

Fergie's Son
Still "watching" it via text. Stressed so I'm shouting at anyone who comes near my office.

26/03/2013, 8:12 PM
save!!!!!!!!

26/03/2013, 8:13 PM
wilson had a free header. i think he is injurer.he cant run.

NeverFeltBetter
26/03/2013, 8:14 PM
Wilson can run just fine from what I can see.

Maroon 7
26/03/2013, 8:15 PM
Jaysus trap make a change will ya. Team are getting tired here.

Maroon 7
26/03/2013, 8:19 PM
Trap is asking for it here. Make changes man.

NeverFeltBetter
26/03/2013, 8:19 PM
Huge hole in the defence just there, centre midfield looking very haggard now.

26/03/2013, 8:22 PM
Totally over run

Maroon 7
26/03/2013, 8:23 PM
Players have busted a gut for Trap tonight. He needs to help them out now and introduce some fresh legs. Some of them are out on their feet.

26/03/2013, 8:23 PM
Hard to watch

tommy_c12000
26/03/2013, 8:25 PM
Trap doing his best to throw this away . . .

NeverFeltBetter
Stupid behavior from Long, getting booked like that. Clearly annoyed he didn't get a free, got his own back, only it was right in front of the ref.

We might as well have Green on we need to get hold of the ball

Whelan and McCarthy might as well not be there

26/03/2013, 8:27 PM
Not the change we needed.

sammon still on.he hasnt won anything.in yhe last half hour.

The Saviour!!

tommy_c12000
26/03/2013, 8:29 PM
How in God's name is Sammon still on the pitch??? It's embarrassing

NeverFeltBetter
26/03/2013, 8:30 PM
Austria making mistakes now. We should hold out.

26/03/2013, 8:30 PM
5 mins of agony left

Maroon 7
26/03/2013, 8:33 PM
How in God's name is Sammon still on the pitch??? It's embarrassing

God knows. He can barely run at this stage and his control isn't getting any better the more knackered he gets.

26/03/2013, 8:33 PM
can see it coming

Maroon 7
26/03/2013, 8:36 PM
Well done Trap you complete muppet.

We deserved that.

Bunch of clowns.

NeverFeltBetter
26/03/2013, 8:37 PM
I really thought we had it. That Alaba has been the best Austrian on the field.

jinxy lilywhite
saw it happening a mile off. Ireland threw this away. couldnt finish them off when they had the chance

sweet suffering f*ck.