View Full Version : Paris Website
ptegan
22/09/2004, 10:01 PM
As I said last week I've thrown a site together with some basic info so that you lot won't get too lost across the water :)
Just surf along to...
http://paul.egan.neuf.fr/
Hope it's ok. Still a few things to add, esp. the food bit but it's coming along :)
Jon'o
22/09/2004, 10:10 PM
nice little site... good work
good point about the trafic... trams in switzerland damn near killed a few people :D
oconghc2
22/09/2004, 10:35 PM
fair play ptegan! good work
beautifulrock
23/09/2004, 8:03 AM
top notch P, a great help
23/09/2004, 9:24 AM
cheers for that.
It'll be put to good use :D
Danny
23/09/2004, 11:24 AM
Great site P.
Cant wait, 2 weeks and counting.....
Duffer
23/09/2004, 1:18 PM
Fair play to ye Ptegan we'd be lost (literally) only for ye.
Brenny
23/09/2004, 1:29 PM
Nice one! This is a great help....I was goin mad lookin for a site like this.
Cheers! :)
ptegan
23/09/2004, 10:53 PM
OK....I bought a web address as the neuf.fr thing looked a little lame.
So for those who haven't already seen my post on boards.ie........
http://www.TravellingGreens.com
but give it 36 hours or so for all your local routers to get updated :)
Beanie
28/09/2004, 10:58 AM
good site. melocoton is just next door to the "hurling pub" mentioned for the latin quarter. i am fairly sure though that the hurling bar is now closed. despite the name it was not an irish bar.
the harp bar up in place clichy is where the celtic supporters club watch their matches. it is owned by the same guy as another bigger bar near to it - corcorans - but is very small - like a small shop. corcorans is bigger. there is a road of pubs very near where you're staying - rue mouffetard - it starts 200m past melocoton. it would be a bit temple bar style, with french students going around. cheap restaurants too. have a load of kebab shops too.
the green linnet is a new bar, is in 10min walking distance of your hotels but seems to have custom only when its 17th march... klein holland is cheap enough but wouldnt rate as one of the cheapest bars in town. expect to pay 6.50 - 7.50 for a pint of guinness / kilkenny / murphys in an irish bar. they will often sell a pint of french lager "blonde" kronebourg / 1664 (kronenbourg's fancy lager) / kanterbrau, ... for 5.00-6.50.
a glass of wine in a french bar would be generally be cheaper than beer. wouldnt drink wine in an irish bar as probably tastes muck and expensive.
mcbrides would be the most authentic irish bar near enough to you. melocoton sells pints lager for 3.50 until 10 and 3.90 afterwards.
stollys, rue cloche perce, is a nice small bar run by an irish guy and has either him or other irish / american bar staff. 5 euros a pint for lager
he says in his pub stuff that bars charge the same no matter where you sit - terrace, bar or counter. this isnt correct. if you have a beer at the counter it might cost 40 percent of what you pay on a terrace. the bars and cafes have to show their prices and they put them in 3 categories comptoir (bar), salle (sitting) or terrasse (terrace). irish bars have the same price no matter where you sit / stand as generally you have to go to the bar to buy the stuff.
ptegan
28/09/2004, 12:33 PM
he says in his pub stuff that bars charge the same no matter where you sit - terrace, bar or counter. this isnt correct.
The sentence was in reference to Irish/English speaking bars, not French places. I don't know of any irish bar that offers different prices depending on where you're sitting.
Melocoton is a pretty cool place to get cheap drinks but a tad small. a group of 25 would fill it :)
The Hurling was still open about 2 weeks ago when I passed by. It's not an Irish place but it's got (or had?) great prices for the area, 3 pool tables and darts.
The Green Linnet is packed pretty much every Friday/Sat night but wouldn't hold anymore than 100 anyhow. Tuesday is Ladies night. Wed is quiz night and Thursday is Ex-Pat night. McBrides is my fav lpace to get a Sunday fry or watch an Irish game on the telly.
28/09/2004, 4:15 PM
Ptegan, do you know where Rue de Sebastopol is? We're in the Best Western there for two nights.
Would you recommend anywhere nearby for drinking on the Friday night, or even which general area should we head for?
ptegan
28/09/2004, 4:40 PM
Ptegan, do you know where Rue de Sebastopol is? We're in the Best Western there for two nights.
Would you recommend anywhere nearby for drinking on the Friday night, or even which general area should we head for?
Best thing to do is go to the site, travellinggreens.com, and click on STUFF link to show you how to bring up a map of your hotel.
You're just down the road from Les Halles, the heart of the city where you'll have very little trouble finding bars and Irish fans. McBrides on Rue St. Denis is your closest 'offical' Irish bar and besides that just check out the places on Rue St. Denis and around.
29/09/2004, 7:44 AM
Fantastic. Can't wait. Thanks.
ptegan
30/09/2004, 12:04 PM
Updating today/tomorrow with the new food section and a shortlist of bars and prices.
Somehow my 8 tickets that I ordered got lost between the post office and my post box so now I need to tell the police to get a letter to fax to Ticketnet so they can ask Stade de France to give me new ones.....
Wouldn't it be funny if I was the only one not to make it to the match? :p
onenilgameover
30/09/2004, 2:00 PM
Great site fair play! Lived in Paris for a year myself just arrived back when the groups were organised thought all my christmas's came at once when France came up! what a trip.......... and now its only a couple of days away!
Anyone stayin in 13th district or anywhere near there might check out Zidane's cousin! Yes Zidanes cousin! he runs a small restaurant called 'Le Bonne Cave' in ''La Butte Aux Cailles'' its a small area of cafes and restaurants thats outside the very centre of Paris. There's a big picture of Zidane and himself behind the bar on the wall and French Jerseys worn in matches and loads of other little football memorabilia. Check out the toilet in the gents its the best toilet seat ever I kid you not! It may not be oepn during the day but you can find out. Its cheap round that little street too. I remember having pints for 3 euro each and they were great too! which is less than half than what they will be charging in the Irish pubs which there is too many of. The area is quite small and there are no tourists what so ever. its the real paris so to speak. Its worth a look if stayin near by. Metro is Corvisart on line 7 goin towards Place d I'talie. Opposite Boulevard Auguste Blanqui!
DonegalDub
01/10/2004, 1:24 PM
trams in switzerland damn near killed a few people :D[/QUOTE]
My friend ended up saying "watch out for the SS" every time we crossed a road. SS= "Sneaky Swiss"!
Fr. Murphy
01/10/2004, 3:56 PM
Ptegan what’s the story with the strip clubs over in Paris? Members of my diocese like to take in a show or two when we head away. I’ve heard bad stories of the prices in the Moulin Rouge and as my parishioners haven’t exactly been generous with the collection plate of late my finances aren’t that great. A member of the parish also asked me to ask you is there a red light area in Paris, if needs be??
Paulie
01/10/2004, 4:21 PM
Ptegan what’s the story with the strip clubs over in Paris? Members of my diocese like to take in a show or two when we head away. I’ve heard bad stories of the prices in the Moulin Rouge and as my parishioners haven’t exactly been generous with the collection plate of late my finances aren’t that great. A member of the parish also asked me to ask you is there a red light area in Paris, if needs be??
Fr. Wishy Washy (of Today FM fame) more like.
01/10/2004, 5:03 PM
A member of the parish also asked me to ask you is there a red light area in Paris, if needs be??
Pigalle Place.
ptegan
01/10/2004, 5:34 PM
Pigalle and the Rue St.Denis are the 2 spots.
Funnily enough you'll find most of the Irish bars in these 2 areas too :)
Strips clubs? Hmmm, don't know too much about these but here's a good site with a list of most of the Paris clubs...
http://www.stripclublist.com/y.asp?s=F1&Sort=1
Some of the best are supposed to be :
The Club 88
88 Rue St.Denis
Loving-Chair
62 bis, Jean-Baptiste Pigalla
Mégane
20 Rue Saulnier
Show Girls
5, rue des Halles
01/10/2004, 10:05 PM
'Ptegan what’s the story with the strip clubs over in Paris?'
Fr Murphy I'm surprised you asking this question!! :eek:
Fr. Murphy
04/10/2004, 4:28 PM
It's a lonely business and im a lonely priest...
ptegan
04/10/2004, 4:49 PM
Ahh, poor Father Murphy !
I just added a few extra bits to the site. New food section. New pubs page and a few questions answered. More to come tomorrow !