View Full Version : LTFC in the papers

Keen2win
22/02/2013, 1:28 PM
Might be good to have a thread to let people know when there is something LTFC related in the media?

Anyway, I'll start it off:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2013/0222/1224330368292.html

I assume we are on a few papers today?

Maybe a sticky?

22/02/2013, 2:44 PM
Not a bad idea. There's an article, largely about Gillespie but mentioning the sponsorship deal in The Mirror as mentioned on the other thread.

22/02/2013, 4:45 PM
I glanced at all the papers today. The ones that were excellent were:
The Star,Mirror,Sun,Examiner,Daily Mail
Average piece was:
The Irish times.
There was nothing in the Irish Independent today at all.

22/02/2013, 5:00 PM
Might be something in the Indo tomorrow possibly. Daniel McDonnell seems to have been there, he just may be keeping whatever he's written until tomorrow's edition. Likely to focus on Gillespie I'd say, McDonnell is writing his autobiography with him. Or the paper might not be bothered. Either way the last time we got such coverage was when we signed Keith Gillespie, last time we had a major announcement/press conference I suppose.

Keen2win
22/02/2013, 5:31 PM
Might be something in the Indo tomorrow possibly. Daniel McDonnell seems to have been there, he just may be keeping whatever he's written until tomorrow's edition. Likely to focus on Gillespie I'd say, McDonnell is writing his autobiography with him. Or the paper might not be bothered. Either way the last time we got such coverage was when we signed Keith Gillespie, last time we had a major announcement/press conference I suppose.

He was there alright!

23/02/2013, 3:40 PM
well there was nothin in todays indo on the new sponsorship deal!

23/02/2013, 5:12 PM
Club not happy with the "misinformation" in The Mirror and The Star in respect of the financial aspect of the sponsorship

http://ltfc.ie/index.php/sponsorship-clarification/#more-3360

Keen2win
24/02/2013, 5:41 PM
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/headlines/gillespie-backs-all-ireland-football-team-1-4823464

Gillespie saying it's a load of sh!te basically on his Twitter.
https://twitter.com/KeithGillespie7

24/02/2013, 6:18 PM
Love how this thread has taken off almost as if the media are giving us something to talk about haha

24/02/2013, 6:53 PM
Three of the Sunday papers had the Keith Gillespie interview- The Mail on Sunday,Sunday Mirror & The Sun

04/03/2013, 6:50 PM
I see in the star today in his column that Roddy Collins is tipping us to win the 1st div cos of our budget!

sorbothegreek
04/03/2013, 7:13 PM
I see in the star today in his column that Roddy Collins is tipping us to win the 1st div cos of our budget!

Roddy Collins knows nothing about our budget. He's guessing and he is guessing wrong.

04/03/2013, 8:49 PM
Just trying to take pressure off himself and/or stir it up for us. As usual.

07/03/2013, 6:57 PM
Dermot Keely in the Sun today tips us to win Div one!

08/03/2013, 8:43 AM
Shoddy, and Keely - we're feckin doomed.

Keen2win
08/03/2013, 10:30 AM
Roddy has us first and Waterford second in the Star supplement today.

08/03/2013, 11:21 AM
gota love the Longford obsession - Forever in our shadow :)

15/03/2013, 8:29 AM
Feature on LTFC in The Mirror today apparently. Haven't read it yet but will have a look for it later, might even buy it, maybe.

15/03/2013, 9:05 AM
Can someone do a scan of the Mirror page for us?

15/03/2013, 9:25 AM
I'll try and email it to you Pauro if I get a copy. I can only get on here on my phone at work so it could be later tonight if people want it up on here.

Try this
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dy7p3lkno2s6tj5/%5BUntitled%5D.pdf

15/03/2013, 12:24 PM
For anyone not arsed to click. ;)http://oi49.tinypic.com/2jbpdns.jpg

15/03/2013, 9:22 PM
Great to see us moving on financially. I remember a few years ago how precarious things looked. Fair play to all who have worked so hard to reduce the debts. Legends one and all.

15/03/2013, 9:40 PM
None more so than the man interviewed in that piece. He doesn't shout it from the rooftops but there'd be no Longford Town FC in existence today without him. Thinking about it, it's a bloody miracle that there's a (hopefully) thriving national level club in Longford, it's a testament to those that have often given more than they can afford, financially and otherwise, over the years to keep it going.

L.T.F.C.
15/03/2013, 10:34 PM
Without a doubt. He doesn't get enough praise. The Supporter's Trust.
I remember at the launch of that in PV's. The administrator of the account doesn't go to games, nor has an interest. He is simply doing it for the good of the club and community. Important people.

15/03/2013, 11:03 PM
The Chairman of the Supporters' Trust used to go for a while alright and would be of goodwill as it were. I get what you're saying though in that he's been doing it to lend legitimacy to it. It's very hard to keep hold of everyone paying every month but it has been a tremendous help to the club since it started I know.

16/03/2013, 9:51 AM
Not quite the papers, but some of you might find these vaguely interesting. Some pictures I took at our match V Limerick at the end of last season.. Also pics from Limerick V Wexford on the final day in Jackman. They were for research for another project but some of them aren't too bad!
http://www.behance.net/gallery/Football-Grounds-Photography/7638299

16/03/2013, 3:36 PM
I would have a vested interest in the supporters trust as I am the supporters clubs rep on it. We dont have as many ppl to pay as yrs ago when it was set up. so a lot of headway has being made but there are still some work left but any contributions by our fans finanically is really appreciated as you can see the work made in the debts being reduced. btw anyone interested in joinin the supporters trust send me a pm and I can get in touch with the club to get some paperwork sorted.

L.T.F.C.
16/03/2013, 11:23 PM
What percentage of the debt has been paid?

16/03/2013, 11:39 PM
I don't know the exact figures but from what I've heard I'd say there's probably over 60% of the initial figure gone through negotiating deals with the creditors and paying them off. I think nearly all the remaining debt that the Trust is dealing with is to people who loaned money to the club when there were big tax bills etc to pay about five or six years back.

Keen2win
18/03/2013, 7:14 PM
Pics from the Waterford match are up on Ray Donlon!

http://raydonlon.smugmug.com/2013/March/16-March-2013-League-of/28473141_dhB6Xg#!i=2412370550&k=tjbHGgh&lb=1&s=A

A very interested spectator :)

18/03/2013, 7:20 PM
Roddy's looking sharp as ever.

19/03/2013, 8:30 PM
I must be blind lads but what picture/pict no does Roddy Collins appear in pls?

19/03/2013, 8:45 PM
He's just looking a bit rough.

Keen2win
19/03/2013, 8:55 PM
It's a pawthetic pic of him alright!

19/03/2013, 9:01 PM
That's enough leads.

19/03/2013, 9:02 PM
sorry get the joke now lads!

19/03/2013, 9:08 PM
Sorry I shouldn't really be taking the mick out of someone with Roddy's pedigree, not to mention his chums..

20/03/2013, 9:59 AM
Highlights from Saturdays game here http://bluestid.blogspot.ie/

Keen2win
20/03/2013, 6:26 PM
That is a great little site! Fair play to them!