View Full Version : Let The Madness Begin...
21/09/2004, 12:25 PM
Kildare County Councillor Liam Doyle is to propose Dana for a presidential nomination at the council's next meeting.
Nine county councils have already rejected Dana's requests for a nomination.
She needs the backing of four councils or 20 members of the Oireachtas to get her name on the ballot paper.
Fianna Fáil should kick Doyle out of the party.
Dana is nuts!
Why doesn't she feck off back to the US where they understand her.
I know she's a long way off getting nominated and ever further from getting elected but if county councillors entertain her it's worse she'll get.
Metrostars
21/09/2004, 1:39 PM
She should stick to the singing.
Snowdrops and daffodils.
A snowflake or two.
Then again, maybe not.
AHHH Kildare County council, ma old sparring partner's.
Does'nt suprise me one bit that Doyle's backing her, there's proberly a brown envelope on it's way to him.
Some of his stormtrooper's came round me building site back in the home place in their jeep, just before the election's looking for my vote (and i'm not able to vote in Ireland btw). They gave me a load of talk about what a top bloke he is. All I said to them was yea I heard he's the main man to give the brown envelope's to. And with that they were in their jeep and quickly out the gate. One of them got his nice brown shoe's covered in mud I remember. :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 2:37 PM
AHHH Kildare County council, ma old sparring partner's.
Does'nt suprise me one bit that Doyle's backing her, there's proberly a brown envelope on it's way to him.
Some of his stormtrooper's came round me building site back in the home place in their jeep, just before the election's looking for my vote (and i'm not able to vote in Ireland btw). They gave me a load of talk about what a top bloke he is. All I said to them was yea I heard he's the main man to give the brown envelope's to. And with that they were in their jeep and quickly out the gate. One of them got his nice brown shoe's covered in mud I remember. :D
Yeah none of them like being told the truth. If you question their character, they're out the gate in a flash. Democracy isn't their thing. Considering Doyle's party was founded on the grounds of opposing democracy, it's little surprise.
In any regard, I'm surprised anyone has the cheek to oppose Mary McAlesse as president. Only the second proper president we have ever had. Before 1990, all we had was dictators and political hacks.
21/09/2004, 2:52 PM
I'm surprised anyone has the cheek to oppose Mary McAlesse as president. Only the second proper president we have ever had.
I agree, I'd give her one too :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 2:55 PM
Was just talking to a lad about that earlier. If the chance came along you would have to oblige, regardless of age. Jason McAteer used to call her "Lovely Mary". :D
21/09/2004, 2:59 PM
If the chance came along you would have to oblige
It's your duty! ;)
Jason McAteer used to call her "Lovely Mary". :D
Don't mind trigger. He mounted a car on Harcourt St. even though Slapper Face J's was just down the street.
sylvo
21/09/2004, 11:07 PM
Was that the night they all did their Starsky and Hutch impression and then Kennedy and Babb got dragged down town to talk jazz with Captain Dobie.
dortie
22/09/2004, 8:16 AM
Dana is nuts!
Hi boy leave the Derry girl alone :mad:
BTW: Why is she nuts ? Because shes pro-life ???????
22/09/2004, 8:26 AM
Hi boy leave the Derry girl alone :mad:
BTW: Why is she nuts ? Because shes pro-life ???????
If you're sole reason for backing her is that she's from Derry then get lost and don't bother trying to engage me in debate.
Pro life? So are the mojority of voters in Ireland hence the result in the last referendum. Being so doesn't make Dana anything different. It's her religious fanaticism that scares me! Our state (not yours or hers) was nearly destroyed by the church. The last thing we need is some nut bag trying to take us back to those evil days of abuse and persecution.
dortie
22/09/2004, 8:57 AM
[QUOTE=Peadar]Our state (not yours or hers) QUOTE]
Guess what party you belong to or aspire to belong too !!
Paranoia at its best.
lopez
22/09/2004, 10:43 AM
I'm not up for a religious space cadet as President, but at least she'll be elected this time unlike His Disgrace John McQuaid. I just find that with her previously doing the rounds of the American bible belt radio shows, that her association with the Bob Jones boys (the same Bob that handed out a mickey mouse doctorate to Dr. No) should put any Irish person off voting for her. Personally, I think the Irish have had an a*sefull of religious interference in politics. She's got no hope.
22/09/2004, 10:46 AM
M.I.L.F. :) :)
22/09/2004, 12:18 PM
She's got no hope.
I doubt she has either.
There aren't enough voters in Derry to get her in :D
22/09/2004, 1:33 PM
M.I.L.F. :) :)I went to college with her daughter, so that makes me just a little queesy.
TheJamaicanP.M.
22/09/2004, 1:55 PM
I went to college with her daughter, so that makes me just a little queesy.
That yoke just finished electrical engineering. I heard she is one of the nicest looking girls in UCD.
22/09/2004, 2:09 PM
That yoke just finished electrical engineering. Not the best looking thing in UCD I feel.
Not really nice or fair to have a go at someone over their looks.
It's Uachtarain na hÉireann (Lovely Mary) that we're discussing.
dortie
22/09/2004, 2:36 PM
I doubt she has either.
There aren't enough voters in Derry to get her in :D
I thought you would be voting Conservative or Labour looking at your location. Sounds like youve been there too long
22/09/2004, 2:47 PM
I thought you would be voting Conservative or Labour looking at your location. Sounds like youve been there too long
I haven't missed a ballot in Ireland since I became old enough to vote.
No need to worry about me voting in your governmental elections because I'm not registered to vote in Great Britain.
I'll be sure my vote in the Presidential elections is used to keep the Foyleside Nutter out of power. Actually Londonderry Looney is a better name for her :D
dortie
22/09/2004, 2:53 PM
I haven't missed a ballot in Ireland since I became old enough to vote.
No need to worry about me voting in your governmental elections because I'm not registered to vote in Great Britain.
I'll be sure my vote in the Presidential elections is used to keep the Foyleside Nutter out of power. Actually Londonderry Looney is a better name for her :D
Yep your in England too long or dropped at birth. :D
22/09/2004, 2:56 PM
Yep your in England too long or dropped at birth. :D
You can't seriously expect me to have a sensible discussion with someone who supports Dana? ;)
You probably know her as Rosemary :p
dortie
22/09/2004, 3:04 PM
You can't seriously expect me to have a sensible discussion with someone who supports Dana? ;)
Never said i supported her, but dont see the big deal with her, so what if shes a conservative catholic. Could be alot worse she could be free presbyterian.
TheJamaicanP.M.
22/09/2004, 3:06 PM
I actually think Dana is a lovely woman and I'm not from Derry. Don't know much about her political views but I heard a rumour that she has some right wing tendencies. Could be useful because we are struggling on the right wing, in light of Andy Reid's performance in Basel.
22/09/2004, 3:15 PM
Could be useful because we are struggling on the right wing, in light of Andy Reid's performance in Basel.
I'd say if Andy Reid saw Dana coming after him on the right he'd be down that wing like a bat out of hell. Might be just the kick up the arse some of the players need. :D
Could be alot worse she could be free presbyterian.
Six of one, half dozen of the other really.
They're all nutbags!
Religion is something which should be kept private not shoved down the throats of others.
Metrostars
22/09/2004, 3:58 PM
Not to sound sexist or anything, but are men allowed to run for the Aras ever since Mrs Mna Na hEirinn beat poor Brian Lenihan for his retirement job?
22/09/2004, 4:01 PM
are men allowed to run for the Aras ever since Mrs Mna Na hEirinn beat poor Brian Lenihan for his retirement job?
It would appear not, see here. (http://breakingnews.ie/2004/09/22/story167726.html) ;)
Metrostars
22/09/2004, 5:06 PM
If the opposition parties are not to contest McAleese for the presidency, why even bother have the position?
Never said i supported her, but dont see the big deal with her, so what if shes a conservative catholic. Could be alot worse she could be free presbyterian.Take away the nationality angle and it's the same thing as far as I'm concerned. The US may not be Ireland, but the coziness of the right-wing of the RC church with the Bob Jones inspired looneys suggest this to be the case. If you saw that Texas Virgins programme - voluntary pre-marital celibacy which only increases buggery and oral sex amongst these teenagers - it was gut wrenching to see these people - who make the FP's look like the tamborine bashing, pink triangle wearing wing of the CofE - endorsing a Catholic Senator because 'he is pro-life and has :eek: several children.'
dortie
22/09/2004, 6:48 PM
Take away the nationality angle and it's the same thing as far as I'm concerned.
Your living in a different planet from me then, Paisleys bunch dont drink the 'devils buttermilk' as he calls it (alcohol), shop on a sunday or indeed take part in sporting events on the lords day either. Not to mention their theory that all 'papists' are doing Satans work here on earth....the Pope being the 'anti-christ' at that.
Not even the most devout conservative catholic goes that far.....count your self lucky you have no paisleyites roaming around the 26 counties looking for election :eek:
Your living in a different planet from me then, Paisleys bunch dont drink the 'devils buttermilk' as he calls it (alcohol), shop on a sunday or indeed take part in sporting events on the lords day either. Not to mention their theory that all 'papists' are doing Satans work here on earth....the Pope being the 'anti-christ' at that.
Not even the most devout conservative catholic goes that far.....count your self lucky you have no paisleyites roaming around the 26 counties looking for election :eek:Point taken, although McQuaid was both sabatarian (certainly wanting no sport to interfere with mass attendance) and anti-alcohol.
I'm certainly no apologist for Ulster Unionism but these 'fundamentalists' - despite trying - never managed to become the dominant grouping in the (one party) Stormont parliament (the dominant status of the DUP at the moment I'm sure you'll agree, which is checked of any bizarre policies it wants by future power-sharing, is more down to their anti-Republicanism than any religious fundamentalism). Alcohol was never banned from sale the other six days of the week, making the O6C no different than parts of Wales. On the other hand, divorce and contraception wasn't banned either.
The view of this section of 'reformed' christianity towards Catholicism is an interesting point and makes me wonder why the more fundamentalist wing of my religion - of which I'd categorise Dana - is so keen to knock boots with them. Also, while the post of presidency is largely symbolic, the last thing the 26C needs is someone so connected with Right-wing Catholicism in the job. I'm indifferent to her pro-life views (the majority of Ireland - north and south - is against abortion anyway) but her views on the two issues mentioned above aswell as state education, homosexuality, pre-marital sex, etc, may be more controversial. Anyway, I live in England, so you could say it doesn't affect me.
23/09/2004, 1:19 PM
Anyway, I live in England, so you could say it doesn't affect me.
It doesn't affect you! :p :D
Not in the way it will affect the population of Ireland. Anyway where's my vote? ;)
Forget Dana man, the Jamacian PM is getting my vote from now on. :D
Duncan Gardner
25/09/2004, 11:43 AM
I'm certainly no apologist for Ulster Unionism but these 'fundamentalists' - despite trying - never managed to become the dominant grouping in the (one party) Stormont parliament (the dominant status of the DUP at the moment I'm sure you'll agree, which is checked of any bizarre policies it wants by future power-sharing, is more down to their anti-Republicanism than any religious fundamentalism)
Spot on Senor, though I fear you may have been influenced by that other wishy-washy Alliance voter Davros. His last contribution to OWC was to agree with Linfield-supporting chum Mad Dog that big Roy Keane was past it- though Dav didn't mention his near-glassing for intoning that throughout the game in Cardiff in 1997. I'm sure most would agree the Corkman was one of
the top midfielders in Europe then, and for a few years afterward.
Dana/ Rosemary Scallon is a complete fruitcake and should be extradited back to Texas post haste. Though I'll admit to liking her 70s pop output, especially proto-grunge anthem 'Something's cooking in the kitchen'.
It's a shame that the candidate field is already limited to women from Northern Ireland. Ye don't want to restrict it further to religious maniacs.
Black marks to FG and Labour for not standing. The requirement to get nominations from local councils, TDs etc. makes it effectively a party contest.
If there's really no-one else, I'm willing to have a go meself. You can read my entirely predictable manifesto below :)
http://www.sbpost.ie/web/Sitemap/1.9did-432070809-pageUrl--2FThe-Newspaper-2FSundays-Paper-2FLetters.asp
lopez
25/09/2004, 12:22 PM
DG: You the man! If I could vote, and if you were standing, you'd have my vote. :rolleyes: I'm all for 'Direct rule'...'Direct rule' from Baile Atha Cliath that is! :p
Davros agreeing with Sad Dog! :eek: FFS!!! :eek: :eek: Mind you, I agreed with the good reverend when he was out in the Cameroons meeting his flock, after spotting various not so secret lemonade drinkers staggering around while a dead body rotted nearby, that 'Guinness is good for you? Guinness is not good for you! Guinness is very bad for you (so it is)!' Still this hasn't stopped me drinking the stuff and in the process giving myself heartburn and earache (the earache is adminstered not much by the Guinness but by Conchita). Re Davros and the near glassing in Cardiff: Was that with another Linfield supporter, K? No offence to the little Buddha, but K is about the most chilled out geezer I've met. Dav must have put it all a bit more colourful than RMK just being 'past it' to get him to raise his eyebrows let alone a glass.
As for Dana and Texas, it's a pity she couldn't take a few more of her fellow 'country'men - and women - with her. Even better as guns are freely available there.
27/09/2004, 4:15 PM
Kildare, Donegal and Galway County Councils voted against supporting her nomination.
Her bid for a nomination failed to make it onto the agenda for discussion at Cork County Council's bi-monthly meeting this morning.
Her request for support is due to be mentioned under what is described as correspondence at tonight's Cork City Council meeting.
dortie
28/09/2004, 8:09 AM
Kildare, Donegal and Galway County Councils voted against supporting her nomination.
Did Galway not vote 'For' her nomination ???
Galway City Council, not the County Council
TheJamaicanP.M.
28/09/2004, 11:53 AM
Forget Dana man, the Jamacian PM is getting my vote from now on. :D
Thanks sylvo. I know I would do a great job. Forget Dana and her all kinds of everything. Me and my fellow countryman Pat O' Banton will put a few tunes together. I just hope we don't end up singing "Baby Come Back" if we oust Mary McAllesse. :D