View Full Version : 2013 Attendances

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34

12/02/2013, 9:09 AM
Kicking starting a thread for the 2013 Attendances

12/02/2013, 9:57 AM
There was no way there was that many there.

..sorry, just getting warmed up.

gufcfan
12/02/2013, 11:12 AM
Cork v Cliftonville - 1273
Drogheda v Portadown - 750 est.
Pats v Glentoran - 1041

All from extratime

12/02/2013, 11:21 AM
Are we including all games as in all competitions? City v Cliftinville in Setanta Cup Mon 11th Feb 2013 was 1,273

gufcfan
12/02/2013, 11:31 AM
Never included them before but it's interesting to see the Setanta figures anyway.

12/02/2013, 11:35 AM
Maybe this is the year we have an attendance thread separate for other competitions? Cup Attendances Thread?

Patrick Dunne
12/02/2013, 11:37 AM
There was no way there was that many there.

..sorry, just getting warmed up.

In case everyone has forgotten, the attendances at SD Galway and Mervue United matches are inflated. I just wanted to point that out.

peadar1987
12/02/2013, 11:38 AM
Maybe this is the year we have an attendance thread separate for other competitions? Cup Attendances Thread?

The league's problems are too deep to be solved with a Cup Attendances Thread

Dillonman
12/02/2013, 11:53 AM
Theres no point including setanta cup games as not all clubs are included and therefore the averages will be distorted against those who dont comete in it. Unless ye split it competition by competition?

12/02/2013, 12:05 PM
well it's gonna be Nigel and PineappleStu doing it so I vote we let them do what they want. :)

12/02/2013, 12:12 PM
Meh, I won't be including any cup games in my attendance figures so it doesn't matter either way. Harps never last long enough in a cup for me to be interested in any of them.

12/02/2013, 12:59 PM
It makes no sense including Cup games for the reason Dillonman pointed out. Post away though!

Nigel-harps took over from me when I was away travelling last year; dunno if you want to keep it up or will I do it again? (Doesn't bother me either way obviously)

12/02/2013, 1:30 PM
Traditional, mandatory objection to fans estimates being used as facts

12/02/2013, 1:36 PM
Traditional, mandatory objection to fans estimates being used as facts

Except Salthill and Mervue fans as this winds up GUFC fans no end and is rather hilarious.

12/02/2013, 1:52 PM
It makes no sense including Cup games for the reason Dillonman pointed out. Post away though!

Nigel-harps took over from me when I was away travelling last year; dunno if you want to keep it up or will I do it again? (Doesn't bother me either way obviously)

Doesn't matter to me either, I basically only did it because nobody else was doing it. Feel free to take it up again if you wish though.

12/02/2013, 8:53 PM
Doesn't matter to me either, I basically only did it because nobody else was doing it. Feel free to take it up again if you wish though.

Maybe one of you do cup games and one do the leagues, just putting it out there like, obviously up to yourselves how you want to organise it.

12/02/2013, 9:19 PM
I'll probably be keeping the figures anyway for my own consideration so I'll just continue along and give Stu a two year break.

redarmyfaction
12/02/2013, 9:38 PM
1300 to 1500 reported for the Shams game in the Setanta thread.

fionnsci
17/02/2013, 10:04 AM
Lads, all the attendances are ****e, what difference does it make arguing whose are more embarrassing?

There, now that I said it all you pesky buzz kills can stay away from this thread.

17/02/2013, 1:24 PM
Lads, all the attendances are ****e, what difference does it make arguing whose are more embarrassing?

There, now that I said it all you pesky buzz kills can stay away from this thread.

You fail to see though, that over the next 50 pages or so, that exact same sentence will be repeated about 25 times.

citybone
19/02/2013, 6:21 PM

Cork City used be best supported club year after year untill things went belly up, We were well proud of that. We are one of the better supported clubs still but we want our top spot back. both Rover's being successfull is stopping that and us only being mediocre last year.

peadar1987
19/02/2013, 6:26 PM
I think this could be Bray's year to top the attendance charts.

19/02/2013, 11:13 PM
First Division is going to be pretty depressing again I fear.

citybone
19/02/2013, 11:18 PM

Yes without one or two big clubs like, Cork, Derry, Shamrock Rovers in the division its going to be, I guess Shels were above the normal first division average, barely.

19/02/2013, 11:42 PM
It all depends on how clubs do however.

Put it this way

Athlone - will be much better, if they're pushing top 3, upwards of 400-500 seems about right.
Harps - can go either way. Pushing for promotion and sitting in the top 3 all season, anything from 600-1,000, another season in the abyss, 400.
Longford - Poor enough last season even when pushing for promotion. Around 400.
Waterford - Last season anything to go by, looking around 400-600 again.
Wexford - It's hard to know what way they'll go. They could sit at 300, or they could push on and get around 500+. Time will tell.
Cobh - First season back. A lot of p!ssed off older fans, a lot happy to be back. Could be big, could be small. Guess around 400 at the start dropping to an average of about 250 by seasons end.
Mervue/Salthill - As you were.

Overall average of the First Division last season ended at 372.

I'd hazard a guess, optimistically rising to 450ish this season.

Hard to gauge the Premier, but:

Shamrock Rovers, Drogheda, Dundalk, Limerick, Cork, Derry to see rises in attendances.

Sligo, Bray, Shels, to see depleted crowds.

UCD, Bohs, St.Pat's to remain the same.

Overall average goes up ever so slightly from 1,630 to about 1,700.

stann
20/02/2013, 9:14 AM

Yes without one or two big clubs like, Cork, Derry, Shamrock Rovers in the division its going to be
True. This is partly what was behind the doom and gloom prognoses in the off-season, I think, no big draws left in the division to entice a few extra people out to matches, and very little in the way of away fans for any game. Thank feck for the Youths!

citybone
20/02/2013, 12:01 PM
True. This is partly what was behind the doom and gloom prognoses in the off-season, I think, no big draws left in the division to entice a few extra people out to matches, and very little in the way of away fans for any game. Thank feck for the Youths!

would cobh bring a few?

redobit
20/02/2013, 1:12 PM

Not to worry, sure at least you'll have the fantastic performance against the 'Champions' to keep ya going.

20/02/2013, 2:59 PM
Not to worry, sure at least you'll have the fantastic performance against the 'Champions' to keep ya going.

We've bigger fish to fry. Sure we didn't even get into second gear. Not to worry, Sligo will get their chance again.

redarmyfaction
21/02/2013, 10:57 PM
2013 highest attendance betting

Shamrock 4/5
Cork City 5/1
Rovers 7/2
Derry 5/1
St Pats 13/1
Limerick 18/1
Dundalk 33/1
Drogs 50/1
Shels 50/1
BRAY 250/1
Bohs 25/1
UCD 500/1

horton
22/02/2013, 11:54 AM
^where's those odds with?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/02/2013, 12:29 PM
www.redarmyfaction.com (http://www.redarmyfaction.com)

stann
22/02/2013, 7:26 PM
would cobh bring a few?
Hopefully so, we'll have to see how their home and travelling support has fared out over the four year absence of course (look what happened to ours and we still in it!), but would expect a few for the first meeting at least, seeing as it'll still be a relative novelty (4th away game) and the handiest to get to by a long, long way!

redarmyfaction
22/02/2013, 9:02 PM
^where's those odds with?

Me website is down, post me the money with your selection, bets in butter vouchers paid in butter vouchers.

oriel
05/03/2013, 7:48 PM
So we are only days away from the off, should be interesting to see the crowds for the opening games.

Dundalk v Rovers

Pats v Drogs

Bohs v UCD

Derry v Sligo

Shels v Bray

Limerick v Cork

Anyway back to the Man U v Madrid game.....

05/03/2013, 9:38 PM
Can we have an attendance predictions league?

Dundalk v Rovers - 1,500

Pats v Drogs - 1,500

Bohs v UCD - 1,200

Derry v Sligo - 3,000

Shels v Bray - 1,000

Limerick v Cork - 3,500

Waterford v Harps - 700

Salthill v Longford - 70,000

Cobh v Wexford - 500

Athlone v Mervue - 500

05/03/2013, 10:49 PM
Can we have an attendance predictions league?

Dundalk v Rovers - 1,500

Pats v Drogs - 1,500

Bohs v UCD - 1,200

Derry v Sligo - 3,000

Bray v Shels - 800

Limerick v Cork - 3,500

Waterford v Harps - 700

Salthill v Longford - 69,783

Cobh v Wexford - 500

Athlone v Mervue - 500

Fixed that for ya

05/03/2013, 10:57 PM
Limerick v Cork - 3,500

Cant see that happening because its on tv, it will effect it on both sides so i'm thinking more like 2,000 - 2,500

oriel
05/03/2013, 11:09 PM
Dundalk v Rovers -

Taking into account increased season ticket sales and a usually good away support from Rovers, I would expect possibly between 2,000- 2,500 max for this.

Not sure what is the best source media for crowds but I wish all clubs would just report what they got regardless of how poor or not they are. Irish Times is usually not far off next day, but sometimes even they are way off.

Simple solution, all clubs just count the damn fans attending, it can't be that hard.

06/03/2013, 11:58 AM
Don't all the clubs have to give official attendance figures to the FAI?

Why can't official figures be released to the media too. It's very simple.

06/03/2013, 12:36 PM
Why can't official figures be released to the media too. It's very simple.

Because some clusb would rather people see the high estimates than the actual figures. Some clubs do release actual figures too

06/03/2013, 3:03 PM
do you know who Dodge? Would you share if you do? Could "fan" some good debate...

Ned Flanders
06/03/2013, 7:27 PM
3,200 at Tallaght for Rovers v Linfield.

06/03/2013, 7:32 PM
I know Harps release official attendance figures after each game. It's never anything spectacular, but it's official.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2013, 9:21 PM
We usually do

1,235 there on Monday night

legendz
06/03/2013, 9:54 PM
I'll be adding to the Limerick stats over the course of the season anyways. It'd be great to see more support behind the club.

07/03/2013, 6:38 PM
btw I know it is a slightly diff topic how do you get access to your clubs previous attendances in previous seasons on this forum?

Trainee
07/03/2013, 8:50 PM
Utd V Chelsea Fa cup is on Sunday which is on ITV at 4pm sunday, I hope it wont affect Limericks attendance too much, it would be nice to see them get somewhere between 2-3k at the game

08/03/2013, 8:33 PM
Dundalk v Sham Rovers: 2598

08/03/2013, 8:54 PM
Great crowd there in Oriel.

Seemed decent enough here in Bray too. didn't hear an announcement though...