View Full Version : Where were the best fans in the world last night ?
wexfordned
07/02/2013, 9:58 AM
Having arrived early to Aviva last night could someone tell me if they was major traffic problems around the city last night as the so called best fans in the world weren't in Aviva watching Ireland.
Polish fans outnumbered Irish fans about 2:1. Perhaps we should have a ceremony with representatives from the Polish FZ and support (inviting John Delaney as well so he can have a few pints) and pass over to them the title of best fans in the world as the Irish support was embarrassing last night.
ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2013, 10:05 AM
You really don't know why people didn't turn up...
07/02/2013, 10:05 AM
i would imagine they were at home watching their favourite players play against brazil
DeLorean
07/02/2013, 10:06 AM
I can only speak for myself and I was at home watching Sky Sports.
Edit: I do love these pretentious threads though :sleepy:
ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2013, 10:12 AM
i would imagine they were at home watching their favourite players play against brazil
Not any of the ones I know...
And even if they had, it would be to watch Brazil.
p2011
07/02/2013, 10:38 AM
What a silly thread. Nobody with a real interest in the team takes this "best fans in the world" nonsense seriously.
Anyone wondering why people don't go to the Aviva should consider the drivel served up there over the last three years and the manager's persistence in doing the wrong thing over and over and over.
Bungle
07/02/2013, 10:49 AM
I never miss a home game. Regardless of whether we have a terrific team or a useless one, I will always go.
However, I think it is easy to see why people didn't bother going to the game last night or why our home internationals are rarely even close to being full. The selection of players by Trap is often a joke..McShane at right back when O'Brien is a very decent and competent player who could offer alot to the team or Hoolihan not starting when he has been easily the best player at Norwich this year and if he was English would have a decent shout at making a squad of theirs imo. These decisions seriously irk me, so I can understand anybody who knows football, feeling the same way.
Alot of good footballing people in this country are seriously disillusioned with Trap and with the FAI. This effects their desire to pay their hard earned cash to watch us. A few guys I used to sit beside in the old Lansdowne and I knew from away games don't go anymore because of being unemployed. I would say the football community as Eamo would say has in general been hit more than other sports like Rugby in this recession.
harry crumb
07/02/2013, 10:53 AM
Trap has sucked the enthusiasm out the Irish set up over the last 4 years.
Who wants to watch us lob aimless long balls up front over and over again.
Answer : Not many
07/02/2013, 10:58 AM
Anyone wondering why people don't go to the Aviva should consider the drivel served up there over the last three years and the manager's persistence in doing the wrong thing over and over and over.
Anyone who attends regularly has long since passed wondering why 20,000 to 30,000 has always (not just under trap) dropped off our attendances when the team isnt doing so well. Id say very few stay away purely because of the style of play served up or the management decisions. The reason is largely down to whats fashionable to support. Dublin / donegal etc etc in the league Vs the all-Ireland, munster in the rabo Vs the Heineken cup etc are all examples of the Irish "sporting publics" fickle attitude to supporting their team
people slept out in the street in order to get tickets to see Jacks team do exactly the same with far far better players in the late 80s and 90s
Different times now. We are a more cultured lot football wise.
Besides.....
We don't press teams up the pitch like Jack Charlton's side.
It's usually us sitting deep. Knocking it long. Support usually miles away from front 2. Possession lost.
replace "cultured" with "synical" or "unrealistic"
harry crumb
07/02/2013, 11:04 AM
Besides.....
It's usually us sitting deep. Knocking it long. Support usually miles away from front 2. Possession lost.
07/02/2013, 11:06 AM
it was still dreadful to watch under jack most of the time
Tuckers Bike
07/02/2013, 11:07 AM
The attraction of a Wednesday night friendly regardless of opposition is not too appealing for those who are employed during these recessionary times.
harry crumb
07/02/2013, 11:08 AM
it was still dreadful to watch under jack most of the time
Agreed.
Murfinator
07/02/2013, 11:15 AM
Does anyone genuinely believe the Irish soccer supporters are good or even average considering the event driven nature of support and the state our national league is in? Always thought the "best fans in the world" tag was deep irony.
Thought good fans supported their team through thick and thin and not just when they're winning or have players capable of entertaining a crowd?
ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2013, 11:29 AM
Not when they're bored...
07/02/2013, 11:34 AM
I can only speak for myself and I was at home watching Sky Sports.
Edit: I do love these pretentious threads though :sleepy:
Its not pretentious, well sometimes it kind sound like that but people need to support it, to support football in Ireland. You are giving money to a foreign broadcaster who pour their money into a foreign Footballing territory.
You don't the irony, that if Ireland weren't watchable, sky sports wouldnt even be showing us!!
Crosby87
07/02/2013, 11:48 AM
Watching Italy?
http://snsimages.tribune.com/media/photo/2010-06/54574566.jpg
Crosby87
07/02/2013, 11:50 AM
As if before Trap we were Brazil, qualifying for tournaments and shocking the world with our skills. :rolleyes:
DannyInvincible
07/02/2013, 12:00 PM
Cultured? Really? Does Ireland really have an authentic mass football-supporting culture? You're a Cork City/League of Ireland fan; you should know only too well.
DeLorean
07/02/2013, 12:01 PM
Its not pretentious, well sometimes it kind sound like that but people need to support it, to support football in Ireland. You are giving money to a foreign broadcaster who pour their money into a foreign Footballing territory.
You don't the irony, that if Ireland weren't watchable, sky sports wouldnt even be showing us!!
I would have watched the game on RTÉ if they had it. I actually only subscribed to Sky Sports yesterday to get the game. Everybody have their own reasons for not going, some no doubt because they are trying to fund a more important trip to Sweden next month. I do think it's pretty pretentious opening a thread and patting yourself on the back because you went to a game and even arrived early. Not to mention the manure about Polish supporters outnumbering us 2:1 in what was a rare occasion for them to go and watch their team without returning home. I'm sure if we played a friendly in Melbourne we'd fill the stadium.
ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2013, 12:15 PM
Anyone who attends regularly has long since passed wondering why 20,000 to 30,000 has always (not just under trap) dropped off our attendances when the team isnt doing so well. Id say very few stay away purely because of the style of play served up or the management decisions. The reason is largely down to whats fashionable to support. Dublin / donegal etc etc in the league Vs the all-Ireland, munster in the rabo Vs the Heineken cup etc are all examples of the Irish "sporting publics" fickle attitude to supporting their team
Again, not the people I know.
If people can't work out why others can't/don't/won't go to a meaningless midweek fixture in the middle of an economic depression, they're even more stupid than they look...
At best people will prioritise. At worst they won't come at all.
replace "cultured" with "synical" or "unrealistic"
I shouldn't be "cynical" but...
I never miss a home game. Regardless of whether we have a terrific team or a useless one, I will always go.
However, I think it is easy to see why people didn't bother going to the game last night or why our home internationals are rarely even close to being full. The selection of players by Trap is often a joke..McShane at right back when O'Brien is a very decent and competent player who could offer alot to the team or Hoolihan not starting when he has been easily the best player at Norwich this year and if he was English would have a decent shout at making a squad of theirs imo. These decisions seriously irk me, so I can understand anybody who knows football, feeling the same way.
Alot of good footballing people in this country are seriously disillusioned with Trap and with the FAI. This effects their desire to pay their hard earned cash to watch us. A few guys I used to sit beside in the old Lansdowne and I knew from away games don't go anymore because of being unemployed. I would say the football community as Eamo would say has in general been hit more than other sports like Rugby in this recession.
Im the exact same as this. Was there again last night and try to get to as many games as I can, no matter how poor we are/hard to watch. But the decisions that Trap makes sometimes are indeed baffling. McShane instead of O'Brien is an excellent example.
07/02/2013, 1:40 PM
I would prefer it any day to John O'Shea or Ciaran Clark or Paul McShane trying to play the ball out of defence. We gave away many of our goals in Poland by conceding possession in our own half. A team should play to its strengths and if playing the long ball rather than trying to play out from defence is it, then that's the way it should be.
Never once have I gone to a game where my side is playing to be entertained. I go to see it win. I am one of the "not many" you mention above. Success brings the fans as the Jack Charlton era shows. Nice if there is free flowing football but that is a bonus. If I am watching two teams on TV that I don't follow playing that stuff, sure I'd switch over since I am watching that game to be entertained. Following my own team has NOTHING to do with entertainment.
Congratulations to the FAI on their decision to choose Poland as their opponents. 43k was probably beyond their expectations but it was a very enjoyable game with the right result, new caps to look at, a few ranking points and money in the coffers. I think they had too much going on at half time though. A presentation to the winner of the LoI goal of the season, a match between some huge kids and some very small kids (the water in one of the schools must have more vitamins), a penalty shoot out between the rival fans, and the subs from each team warming up.
07/02/2013, 1:51 PM
Again, not the people I know.
If people can't work out why others can't/don't/won't go to a meaningless midweek fixture in the middle of an economic depression, they're even more stupid than they look...
At best people will prioritise. At worst they won't come at all.
would you stop. we brought 30,000 plus to Poland in the middle of a recession yet "fans" wont pay €20 to view a game at home.
tell ciaran clark and greg cunningham, two players that impressed last night, that it was a "meaningless" friendly
DeLorean
07/02/2013, 2:03 PM
Times are just different now. There is so much for people to do, fly off here there and everywhere a couple of times a year even on modest wages (or dare I say no wages!). We also have a sports overload with every match (practically) now available to us on TV. There isn't really a buzz about soccer internationals now and it isn't nearly the treat is was back in the 80's or 90's when there was little else to do. Times change and I don't think 100% employment would have made much difference to the crowd last night, nor would Trap's tactics.
ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2013, 3:10 PM
would you stop. we brought 30,000 plus to Poland in the middle of a recession yet "fans" wont pay €20 to view a game at home.
tell ciaran clark and greg cunningham, two players that impressed last night, that it was a "meaningless" friendly
Would you stop, period.
Poland was a 'one off', whereas last night was yet another tedious home friendly. Great for Clark and Cunningham, so what?
It didn't need to be in Dublin and it's not the price but the totally flawed and tired concept of bleeding dry the interest of the Irish soccer public...
07/02/2013, 3:16 PM
Would you stop, period.
Poland was a 'one off', whereas last night was yet another tedious home friendly. Great for Clark and Cunningham, so what?
It didn't need to be in Dublin and it's not the price but the totally flawed and tired concept of bleeding dry the interest of the Irish soccer public...
oh we agree on that ok. Poland was indeed a one off for many fickle Irish event junkies who couldnt really care that much about the teams fortunes.
speak for yourself. I actually enjoyed last nights match for its decent tempo, good colourful atmosphere and getting to see a couple of our new players play well. you know, the kind of things that one doesn't get to truly appreciate while watching on tv, or indeed another match altogether
Bungle
07/02/2013, 3:23 PM
I would agree with posters who feel that Trap has drained the enthusiasm of a significant proportion of the Irish football public. People want to see Ireland playing their best 11 and very rarely if ever under Trap has that been the case. Wilson and Coleman should have been our two full backs for the past 2 years at least..James McCarthy should have been a regular for the past 2 years also to the point where he should now be a fulcrum of the team and a leader in the dressing room...very good players like Long who have class should've been utilised far more. These are just examples of his selection policy. His prevailing of the likes of Ward, McShane and Green is incredible to say the least (I would admit I was delighted when Ward came in for Killer).
For me, this makes the Irish public in significant numbers turn away from going to see the team play live at Lansdowne. Other Irish fans are event junkies (those there for Armenia and Estonia in the last campaign when the attendance was good or in Poland). These people are found in every sport and in every country. It is the alienation of the first group that is worrying and whoever the next Irish manager is, it is this group that will need to be won over if we are to get to a point where we can fill the stadium game by game for games.
Trap has done some very good things for Irish football and perhaps his biggest legacy when he leaves (barring a disaster in the next 8 months) is getting us a decent seeding for Euro 2016. He leaves us in a far healthier position than Stan did and with the very decent batch of younger players that we have in the team and coming through, I have high hopes for the future.
ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2013, 3:28 PM
Know lots of people in Poland, who don't have the time or inclination to go to meaningless games, due to more pressing domestic commitments...
Who can blame them? Regardless of how 'colourful the atmosphere...
wonder88
07/02/2013, 3:50 PM
I am really glad I went last night. A great colourful atmosphere, which you won't get at many other games this year in Ireland or over in the 'Irish quarter' of Manchester. As one who goes to GAA games as well, my answer to the question is the most common one; that us Irish are mostly more of an "event junkie" type of supporters compared to sport fans in some other countries. Fair play to John Delaney for getting Poland over. It was more than just a sporting ocassion and to see the flags (Polish) from all over the country in the stadium and also later the buses heading up the quays full of fans heading back to all-corners; Mallow, Mountbellow, Sligo, Limerick, Galway, Wexford just some of the places I noticed was something that will live long in the mind. Also it was great to see two Galway lads playing for Ireland. While rugby is dominant down here at the moment, I have a feeling that it is more of a manufactured support and taping into the event junkie culture, and that there is more of a real grá for the old soccer around Galway city and county. Finally I agree fully that the style of play of a team has nothing to do with the level of support that teams gets.
07/02/2013, 4:13 PM
Times are just different now. There is so much for people to do, fly off here there and everywhere a couple of times a year even on modest wages (or dare I say no wages!). We also have a sports overload with every match (practically) now available to us on TV. There isn't really a buzz about soccer internationals now and it isn't nearly the treat is was back in the 80's or 90's when there was little else to do. Times change and I don't think 100% employment would have made much difference to the crowd last night, nor would Trap's tactics.
While I agree with your sentiment, the 1980s and 90s weren't the dark ages you know. We had discos, Ibiza, Match of the Day and the Big Match, even colour tv ;) We even had computers of sorts!! What we didn't have was the wall to wall sport we now have on TV or Barcelona, Manchester United on the tv every third day and Champions League etc. You're correct. The buzz is gone from international football unless we qualify for a tournament. Mind you if we played England the place would be sold out twice over to see Ashley Cole and Wayne Rooney.
07/02/2013, 4:45 PM
Don't forget the Betamax :)
People today just cannot imagine just how sophisticated the social networking was in the 80's and early 90's. There was an evolved almost telepathic mode of communication.
You had to tune in, in order to figure out where a friend (especially one that owed you money) might be drinking before the game and if he changed his mind, what were the alternatives. Imagine a world where there was no internet or mobile phones, most of today's generation would be wandering around like lost zombies 'I'm bored'.
08/02/2013, 5:17 PM
I have a lot of old Irish games on Betamax. I suspect the quality is now very poor even if I went to find someplace that could transfer them to disc. I wasn't too sure whether to choose betamax or VHS at the time. Always end up making the wrong choice.
Interesting that your comparison between then and now relates to drink before a game! :)
Strongbow10
09/02/2013, 12:00 AM
Folk need to get it through there heads that Ireland has an extremely small supporter base when it comes to football. Theres a really small hardcore support.
The remaining majority who choose to/Choose not to make up the numbers are the folks who will attend whatever they feel is the best form of entertainment for their buck, be it a Rugby grand slam decider, an all ireland semi final, a U2 concert, an Obama singalong on Arthurs Day or whatever captures their imagination.
Its an event culture, and the idea of following your side through thick and thin is not something Irish folk seem to be able to grasp. Its alot easier to support English clubs from our side of the water too, the majority of Liverpool/United fans from ireland have not ever been to a game.
And these are the folks who get uppity when their loyalty is questioned, "not going to a game doesn't make me any less of a fan" etc... etc.....
The vast majority of Irish fans are event junkies, seduced by the big day out where they have been whipped into a frenzy. And they usually enjoy the banter in the pub afterwards about (insert event) more than anything else.
Its a completely different mindset to that of someone who follows their team week in week out, win, lose or draw.
Anyone who says otherwise is lying to themselves.
ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2013, 1:41 AM
Hmm, most of the fans I know aren't 'event junkies', though simple economics and domestic commitments mean most have to pick and choose their games...
wonder88
10/02/2013, 7:08 PM
There were tickets available the other night for 20euro. Granted times are hard with bad economic conditions, and the FAI should do more on prices in light of this fact, but still recent attendance at Ireland matches support the "event junkie" theory explained by Strongbow10 I think.
ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2013, 8:21 PM
Do you go/have you been to many games, to allow you to reach this ground-breaking conclusion...
11/02/2013, 10:59 AM
Hmm, most of the fans I know aren't 'event junkies', though simple economics and domestic commitments mean most have to pick and choose their games...
excuses, excuses, excuses...
we had almost 20% unemployment in 1990 (and played even harder to watch football than now) but it didnt stop people queuing up from the early hours for tickets to the sold out USSR and Wales friendlies for example. i would suspect domestic situations existed then also!
11/02/2013, 11:16 AM
I'm in my mid-40s and have been going to Ireland games for well over 30 years. There have always been periods of apathy so I wouldn't be too alarmed. I think the public at large is utterly disullusioned with the way we play. Many of us would go regardless but I don't think that holds across the board.
At the other extreme there's definitely a big bandwagon element to the trophy games and the tournaments. Travel, cost and economics are obviously factors, and so too is the profile of rugby union which is capable of delivering a degree of success, context, feel-good factor and quality (debatable after yesterday!), that the Irish public needs to sustain interest.
I bought the Sindo yesterday to read about the Promissory Notes deal and the pictures of people like Fingers Fingleton and Sean Dunne at the rugby said it all to me - it's been the "be seen at" event for these types for a while now. If we get an exciting and successful football team again, the bandwagon will return.
To answer the original question - "where were the berst fans in the world?": you'd have to tell me who the best fans in the world are before I answer that. I'm sure they were nowhere near the Aviva though.
peadar1987
11/02/2013, 11:30 AM
I think it's unfortunate for us that the format of the rugby lends itself better to bandwagon jumping than football. Only 2/3 massive home games a year, always against top opposition, and with a chance we might win. I don't think rugby would have such great attendances if we had a two-year cycle, with most of the games being against the likes of Portugal and Namibia.
ArdeeBhoy
11/02/2013, 11:42 AM
excuses, excuses, excuses...
we had almost 20% unemployment in 1990 (and played even harder to watch football than now) but it didnt stop people queuing up from the early hours for tickets to the sold out USSR and Wales friendlies for example. i would suspect domestic situations existed then also!
Except what happened 20 years ago isn't exactly relevant to now. That and your 'argument' makes limited sense.
11/02/2013, 12:15 PM
Except what happened 20 years ago isn't exactly relevant to now.
why ?
ArdeeBhoy
11/02/2013, 12:47 PM
Because it isn't. The novelty effect of playing on a world or wider European stage has been and gone.
Not to mention saturation coverage now of the game and sport in general, compared to then.
There is less 'desire', rightly or wrongly. It's hardly rocket science.
11/02/2013, 4:03 PM
Because it isn't. The novelty effect of playing on a world or wider European stage has been and gone.
Not to mention saturation coverage now of the game and sport in general, compared to then.
There is less 'desire', rightly or wrongly. It's hardly rocket science.
basically just one excuse after another really. you either support a team or you dont. 5 or 6 home matches a season is hardly a big ask.
11/02/2013, 4:42 PM
I keep popping in and out of this.
I go to all home games and I was in Poland. I also go to hurling and football matches for Dublin and other (relevant) counties when I can. I head to Shels matches when they're in Dublin/Bray and I'll pretty much have an interest in some sport or other elsewhere, be it cricket or athletics...
I couldn't go on Wednesday as I had a meeting with a college coordinator which meant it wasn't feasible to get back to Ballsbridge for KO so I watched it in a bar.
Am I less of a fan for it? My career is slightly more pressing than my national team I feel.
I'm sure there were thousands out there in a similar position. Plus the regular crew that come from England that I know that couldn't make it.
5-6 home games a year is easy enough to say for you and other self-righteous Irish supporters but with falling in the week after a pay day (for those poor monthly souls) for the first time since Chrsitmas I'm not surprised that some decided to shun it.
I agree that there's a malaise around the team and that is contributing but it's obvious why that is but this cribbing over crowds has to stop.
DannyInvincible
11/02/2013, 5:01 PM
It appears the rise in rugby's popularity and its effect on atmosphere is irritating some rugby "traditionalists": http://balls.ie/rugby/what-the-hell-has-happened-to-the-atmosphere-at-ireland-home-matches/
Of course, football is partly to blame...
What The Hell Has Happened To The Atmosphere At Ireland Home Matches?
Irish rugby fans long standing tradition of being one of the most respectful and passionate is increasingly worsening game by game.
The main gripe I have with our supporters at the moment is their insistent need to boo and jeer opposition place kickers. Irish rugby grounds have always been one that withholds the respectful tradition of staying silent for the opposition’s kicker. Yesterday at the Aviva, Owen Farrell had six attempts at goal and for each one he was subject to mindless jeering from what seems to be a current crop of supporters who don’t understand the traditions of Irish rugby.
Any supporter who thinks that by booing and hurling insults at the opposition is going to put him off, is sadly mistaken. Kickers are subject to the same treatment all around the world. What once made Irish rugby special was the eerie silence that descended upon Lansdowne Road (and other grounds around the country) while an opposing player lined up a kick. This is always going to have a longer lasting effect than shouting or whistling.
If the English fans had turned around and handed out the same treatment to Ronan O’Gara yesterday, the home supporters would have cried foul. Instead, they remained respectfully silent for Ireland’s three place kicks.
The same treatment was dished out to Morgan Parra last December when Leinster played Clermont Auvergne but like Farrell, he effortlessly slotted the majority of his kicks, despite the ‘hostile’ treatment from partisan home crowd.
Thomond Park has continued its long standing tradition of observing silence for the kickers, despite the rise of a seemingly younger generation of supporters who might have been ignorant to what has gone before them. The decision to allocate school children in a designated area of the ground is one that is regularly questioned amongst the terraces by rugby fans. During the Heineken Cup pool clash between Munster and Edinburgh in October, the majority of the crowd remained quiet but behind the goal there were a few cries from squeaking voices.
The obvious solution seems to be to get rid of this designated school children zone. Perhaps the youngsters could learn a thing or two from spending time amongst the supporters responsible for this tradition.
That day in Thomond Park, the stadium announcer politely informed the ignorant of Munster’s long standing tradition. On neither occasion on my last two trips to the Aviva Stadium did the stadium announcer try and encourage the home support to observe silence for kickers. He was probably more concerned with preparing the obscene music that is played after a home score, which brings me onto my next gripe.
When did Irish rugby attempt to generate a soccer-style atmosphere at our home ground? And who was responsible for this nonsensical decision?
That Dropkick Murphy’s from the Departed has earned the title of the most annoying song of the last decade. As Ireland ran out on to the pitch yesterday to this pointless music, you couldn’t help but feel it took something special away from the atmosphere.
Irish rugby has now unfortunately gone down the road of playing this ridiculous music after each time they score, much in the same vein as is seen on a Saturday afternoon across English soccer grounds. This has to stop. And soon.
But what was worse yesterday was the decision to repeatedly play a loud drum noise to entice a unified ‘Ireland’ roar at the end of the beat. Any rugby supporter that needs encouragement from a PA system to shout for their team should stay at home on the couch where they belong. It’s another sure sign of taking the game away from its roots. If the younger generation are growing up with this as the norm, what state will Irish rugby support be in ten years’ time?
Since Irish rugby has moved back to the redeveloped Lansdowne Road, it has far from been a fortress. From Ireland’s fourteen games played at the Aviva stadium, they have won just six times. It is a damning statistic that highlights Ireland’s apparent lack of home advantage.
With a packed house in attendance yesterday, it was the away supporters that were the loudest. The only times during the game that the Irish fans made themselves heard was when they whistled and jeered to drown out the cries of ‘Swing Low’ and when they did similar in their foolish attempts to put Farrell off his place kicks.
With the direction Irish support has been going in the last few years, is it any wonder that home teams don’t fear their trip to Dublin anymore?
i think the theory of prioritisation put forward by ArdeeBhoy is totally valid and i think it has a big effect on our attendances at friendlies. I also think it is perfectly justifiable for someone to say "im not going to this game because cash is tight and id prefer to catch the group games".
That said, there is no doubting the event junkie nature of Irish sports fans. The amount of idiots that hop onto facebook before, during and after a rugby game really is something. These are people that had no interest in rugby even 6.5 years ago when i left their company... I used to attend every Irish rugby and football game back in the day except when i couldnt get tickets. That was when Ireland rugby team saw Clohessy run into the dressing rooms at half time for a smoke! :) Anyway im getting off topic...
What it does prove though is that the average Irish person is very much simply a customer who will pay for what they see as value at a particular time. They might consider themselves "fans" but theyre not really. We dont really have a true fan culture anymore in our domestic sports or around our international teams. Lets not kid ourselves, lunatics like us that obsess over every intricacy of the irish team or our LOI team are very much the minority.
11/02/2013, 5:27 PM
They're dead right about the lack of respect for a kicker at rugby games. An eerie silence is far more intimidating for a kicker than the usual chorus of boos they have to endure at away games. When I noticed it on Sunday, first thing that came to mind was "day trippers".
11/02/2013, 6:56 PM
I noticed around Europe for the Wednesday night friendlies, there was an A class of friendlies, Spain v Uruguay, England v Brazil, Netherlands v Italy, France v Germany, Sweden v Argentina - all with full houses, the rest were just mickey mouse friendlies with small crowds.
11/02/2013, 7:04 PM
I noticed around Europe for the Wednesday night friendlies, there was an A class of friendlies, Spain v Uruguay, England v Brazil, Netherlands v Italy, France v Germany, Sweden v Argentina - all with full houses, the rest were just mickey mouse friendlies with small crowds.
There was a time when we played mickey mouse friendlies to full houses.