View Full Version : League Cup

30/01/2013, 4:36 PM
Away to Athlone in the first round. Likely to be played March 11th apparently.

10/03/2013, 7:29 PM
So many of ye heading to this?

I'd expect a good few changes from Friday night's game. Hopefully the likes of Hunt, Haverty, Deans, Lee, James, O'Neill, Doyle and Isichei get some game time and keeping the main players fully fit for Waterford on Saturday.

10/03/2013, 7:52 PM
Looking forward to my second away trip in 3 days. I'd also expect a few changes but Athlone will do like wise and I'm told they were awful against Mervue plus the fact they've had 1 days less rest so I'll say 2-1 to the one and only Town.

Bosco
10/03/2013, 8:58 PM
Won't be at the game but have to say it shows we've a strong squad if we are talking about giving the likes of Havo,James and Mick Lee a run so not to tire other players for the weekend...

Town Legend
10/03/2013, 9:02 PM
Won't make it myself as I work evenings so will be keeping an eye out on the net! As said above I'd imagine he'll give the players who weren't playing Friday a run out. Was James injured Friday?

10/03/2013, 9:39 PM
Colly is only coming back from injury. He played 45 minutes or so against Bray in the last pre season friendly. Still not fully fit. I'd give him a run tomorrow night to help bring his match fitness along.

I'd just give Havo a run coz he hasn't played in a while, he'll be the regular right full as the season develops I'd say.

L.T.F.C.
11/03/2013, 8:42 PM
Ayooo!

11/03/2013, 9:09 PM
Always nice to win in Athlone no matter what the competition. Nice for Josh O'Hanlon to get another one, he must be loving life at the moment.

11/03/2013, 9:31 PM
I hate it when we go out of the cups early so its nice to get a win, hopefully we win a few in the Leinster cup too so our bench have a few matches to keep everyone fit and happy.

Keen2win
12/03/2013, 9:58 AM
Someone said on facebook that there are rumours the match was fixed?

Also, many travel from Longford?

L.T.F.C.
12/03/2013, 10:30 AM
How did they back that up?

Keen2win
12/03/2013, 10:32 AM
They didn't, but a quick look on twitter shows a few people talking about it!

Also, PP suspended betting seemingly.

Keen2win
12/03/2013, 10:36 AM
I have retweeted a few there

L.T.F.C.
12/03/2013, 10:38 AM
Aye! http://foot.ie/threads/177222-2013-LOI-Betting-Thread?p=1669201&viewfull=1#post1669201

Bosco
12/03/2013, 1:12 PM
Wouldn't suprise me in the slightest but you'd think if it was it would have been fixed for Athlone to win,Town were odds on!Hopefully that ****e isn't going on already this season..

12/03/2013, 3:00 PM
I was backing it in play at the game and never saw the market being suspended cant see how it was fixed

12/03/2013, 4:56 PM
Wouldn't suprise me in the slightest but you'd think if it was it would have been fixed for Athlone to win,Town were odds on!Hopefully that ****e isn't going on already this season..

We were originally 7/4, money was pouring onto us all day.

The market was suspended on PP for a while pre-game apparently, with us to win and win -1 being amongst the popular bets.

I don't know how many first teamers Athlone had playing, but their performance was terrible. We completely controlled the game from start to finish, with them only really having one chance of note. It's quite possible that there's absolutely nothing to all this anyway...

Bosco
12/03/2013, 5:18 PM
Ah right, I had us at 10/11 but that was close enough to kick off!Suspicious alright that it was suspended pregame!No point really discussing it anyway,we'll never find out and it's surely not news to most of us that this kind of thing goes on...at least we won I suppose..

fitzpatrick10
12/03/2013, 5:43 PM
i had us -1 @3/1 , clearly pp gave generous odds, after scoring 5 the week before

12/03/2013, 6:09 PM
Not our fault they gave daft odds.

12/03/2013, 7:22 PM
Money was pouring in all day because any site I know that talks about irish football betting was tipping Longford, I told anyone I know who bets to get on it too, I'm sure most people did, I had a boatload on the game personally..

Keen2win
12/03/2013, 8:39 PM
WHY DIDN'T ANYONE TELL ME?

F*ck sake!

08/04/2013, 9:38 PM
I heard news via text that Drogheda Utd v Longford League Cup 1st round will be taking place on May 20th 7.45pm. hopefully there will be a good away support from longford to it

hollocaine
20/05/2013, 8:19 PM
Cousins out :o

Keen2win
20/05/2013, 10:49 PM
A very mixed up/fringe team! Ah well, doubt many of us care to much!

20/05/2013, 11:02 PM
Was in Thomand, and my girlfriend turned to me in horror and asked me to guess the score, I'm a genius, said its probably about 6-0! :D

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/935252_10200595931633540_1858449383_n.jpg

Big crowd in Limerick!

fitzpatrick10
20/05/2013, 11:51 PM
what a game, unbelievable JEFF.. end to end stuff, purdy unlucky not to get a hat trick as for ischei,he was unlucky not to score from the half way line but he miss kicked the ball, ah we will re group. lots of positives to take from the game.. ref didnt do any favours, think the 6th was the final nail in the coffin, up until then could of went either way... onwards and upwards

21/05/2013, 12:41 AM
funny story was I was gettin a bus back to Longford from bus aras via Dublin Airport and spotted Ethan and Keeno walkin thro Drumcondra so theres da proof!!

Keen2win
21/05/2013, 8:37 AM
Proof of what? We ain't lovers!

Bosco
21/05/2013, 10:07 AM
Even though I genuinely couldn't care less about us losing that match,it truely was an awful performance,whether it's our second team or not!What was the story with our lineup? Havo playing right midfield, Quinn playing left back? Mick out on the left? Some of our defending at times was more then comical, we made Hynes look like Ibrahimovic! Hunt had an absolute shocking first half, made up for it somewhat with one or two good saves in the 2nd and the peno save but he was still at fault for most of the goals. Not one shoot on target from us the whole game, there were people on here saying that Mick deserves a chance to start up front but I can't agree with that, he's simply not good enough! Purdy was the only player that gave a half decent account of himself when he came on but still that's not saying much!

Anyway not exactly a rant as as I said I couldn't care less about us losing just worrying to see our squad certainly isn't as strong as some of us believed!

Decent showing from all the Section O lads, only a few of us there but at least we made the best out of a bad situation, was good to see some of the Drogs fans saying fair play to us as we were leaving..

21/05/2013, 11:30 AM
Ws Nkolo at the game last night? He wasnt anywhere to be seen Saturday.

Bosco
21/05/2013, 12:14 PM
He wasn't playing anyway...dont think he was named in the subs either now that I think of it..

fitzpatrick10
21/05/2013, 2:35 PM
he wasent on the bench sat or monday, anyone know if he is injured ?

21/05/2013, 2:36 PM
he wasent on the bench sat or monday, anyone know if he is injured ?

Is he not living in Longford, be a bit weird if he wasnt at the games if he was injured?