View Full Version : Flogging Molly to hit Landan!

liam88
14/09/2004, 3:24 PM
Flooging Molly are coming to London!
An Irish band (based in America) playing some class, fast lively (and unique!) Irish music including all the traditional instuments, Bhodrans, Fiddles etc.
It's brilliant stuff and tickets are going for a tenner!
If anybody want to meet up with me there the date is Friday 19th Nov. 7:00-10pm (so time for a drink afterwards!) in Islington.
Come on ye exiles-prove ya ain't to old for gigs! :D
More the merrier and hope to see you there!
PM for for MP3's or search on google for 'em!
Also special guests oepning -possibly **** 'n Onions :D

green goblin
14/09/2004, 3:31 PM
My sister was given the cd yesterday and says it's superb. Where are they playing Liam?

14/09/2004, 3:36 PM
If anybody want to meet up with me there the date is Friday 19th Nov. 7:00-10pm

That's waaay past your bedtime! :p

(so time for a drink afterwards!) in Islington.

Who's buying this time then? ;)

;) PP

14/09/2004, 3:36 PM
My sister was given the cd yesterday and says it's superb. Where are they playing Liam?

On Liam's behalf, The Islington Academy.

Flogging Molly - Official Website (http://www.floggingmolly.com/)

Tickets available here (http://www.ticketweb.co.uk/user/?region=uk&query=detail&event=104944&interface=islingacad)

green goblin
14/09/2004, 3:41 PM
Thanks Peadar. Got it.

liam88
14/09/2004, 5:07 PM
Cheers Peader; anyone buying make sure ya buy the tickets off the Islington site (Peader's link) because they're cheapest there!
Green Goblin-had some good chats on here so really hoping you can make it down to meet ya!
Bring your sister to-ma families coming! :D
PP-prove your not past your uni days and not to old for gig and I'll buy you that pint! :D

green goblin
15/09/2004, 9:29 AM
While we're on the subject, the Pogues at Brixton. Mon 20th Dec or Tues 21st Dec? Which one are people going to? if at all.

15/09/2004, 9:43 AM
While we're on the subject.

While we're still on the subject, Foster and Allen are playing The Beck Theatre, Hayes in Middlesex on Friday November 5th :D

green goblin
15/09/2004, 10:06 AM
And remaining fast on the subject, bad news from www.valdoonican.co.uk.

"There will not be any further concerts in 2004.

If there are any concerts in 2005, they will be posted on this page as soon as the details are made available to the site". :D :D

15/09/2004, 10:10 AM
PP-prove your not past your uni days and not to old for gig and I'll buy you that pint!

:D :D

Liam, my young friend, you don't know me as well as you think you do... :D

:D PP

15/09/2004, 10:15 AM
And remaining fast on the subject, bad news from www.valdoonican.co.uk.

Jaysus lads, look what I found here. (http://www.irish-showbands.com/cwbandphotos.htm)
I'm in shock at how many are familiar to me and me only being in my 20's :eek: :D

green goblin
15/09/2004, 10:28 AM
Philomena Begley, Brendan Shine, Big Tom...god but this is one awful can of worms you've opened up here, old son. And this is only the c&w section!

15/09/2004, 10:36 AM
god but this is one awful can of worms you've opened up here, old son.

I know, I think I've gone too far this time! :eek: :D
It was bound to happen sooner or later, I was getting away with murder here. Where are the moderators when you need to be controlled :D

I was just thinking that Mary Lou (http://www.irish-showbands.com/images/pop/marylou2.jpg) of Harvest was a bit of alright but then I found this picture. (http://www.irish-showbands.com/marylou1273.jpg) :eek: :D

Pat O' Banton
15/09/2004, 12:11 PM
Okay own up, who out of those showbands have people seen? Brendan Quinn and Susan McCann are admitted by me, somehow I've managed to avoid Margo, Big Tom and the ubiquitos (in London at least) Indians.
I actually know someone who was in a band that modeled himself an Brendan Quinn!

green goblin
15/09/2004, 12:23 PM
As I've previously confessed, I own two singles by Billy Brown and the Freshmen http://www.irish-showbands.com/images/pop/freshman.jpg. The implausibly punk rocky "Never Heard anything like it" and the bizarrely new Romantic "Abandon Chip". In defence, they were bought forme. But in truth, they have been well played... Although mainly on nights when I feel the need to listen to Leonard Nimmoy singing "If I had hammer" and the Fall doing Sister Sledge covers.

15/09/2004, 12:29 PM
Okay own up, who out of those showbands have people seen? There are records by most of them in my mothers attic. I was subjected to them in my childhood. Can't recall ever seeing any of them live though.

noby
15/09/2004, 2:41 PM
and the Fall doing Sister Sledge covers.

"We're lost in musikaahh" - classic

Pat O' Banton
15/09/2004, 4:20 PM
There are records by most of them in my mothers attic. I was subjected to them in my childhood. Can't recall ever seeing any of them live though.

Subjected being the correct term.

They used to play the classy establishments like The Gresham, the Galtymore and Wembley Stadium over here and of course these were the places that we all ended up when we were young cause we knew no better (and they had a slow set that you good set your watch by) so by default got to see snipet of stuff in between being blown out (at 1.55am in the Gresham) and drinking distingtly ropey lager.

liam88
15/09/2004, 7:08 PM
Liam, my young friend, you don't know me as well as you think you do... :D

And ya don't know me half as well-ya say I ain't a good kid ;) I won't let that one drop :D
Take it your coming then? :D :D
Will it be Mrs. PP's scene?

15/09/2004, 7:19 PM
And ya don't know me half as well-ya say I ain't a good kid ;)

I expect you've had good training from those two brothers of yours. One of them was certainly able to outlast me on the sauce the day of the Fulham game. :o

Take it your coming then?
Will it be Mrs. PP's scene?

I shouldn't think so, but I will collect on that pint one day. And to your second part, definitely not, although we took in some English folk and Irish traditional music at Swanage Folk Fair last weekend and she seemed to enjoy it. Twice in one year might be a little too much for the poor thing. :D

:) PP

sylvo
15/09/2004, 8:27 PM
[QUOTE=Pat O' Banton] I've managed to avoid Margo, Big Tom and the ubiquitos (in London at least) Indians.

So you never went charging off from yer perent's at the Irish festival at roundwood park Willesden when something resembling the battle of little big horn went on stage.

As for Margo, don't you be dissing her, after that stage diving incident we were told about, due to the fact of her being so buckled, she's rock and roll man.

lopez
17/09/2004, 9:18 AM
Is this the same Margo who is Daniel O'Donnell's mother... :eek: ...sorry, sister? :o She made Rosemary Clooney look like a pioneer.

Thomo
20/09/2004, 11:00 PM
i believ it is the very same, thats an awful odd situation so it is. still could be worse. foster and allen , shudder.