View Full Version : U15 vs Juventus

Paddy Garcia
18/12/2012, 4:01 PM
Great victory 3-0

http://www.fai.ie/international/youth-teams/under-15/102951-republic-of-ireland-u15s-beat-juventus-in-qatar.html

Squad:

Avis Ganiyu (Templeogue Utd),
Brandon Payne (Lucan Utd),
Conor Davis (Templeogue Utd),
Conor Masterson (Lucan Utd),
Corey Chambers (St Kevin’s Boys),
Daniel Mandariou (St Kevin’s Boys),
Robert McCourt (St Kevin’s Boys),
Steven Kinsella (Templeogue Utd),
Gareth Doherty (Letterkenny Rovers),
Jessie Stafford Lacey (St Brendan’s Park),
Jake Doyle Hayes (Ballyjamesduff),
Sean Whelan (Lucan Utd),
Jean Yves Pomme (BallyCorduff FC),
Zachary Elbouzedi (Malahide Utd),
Ross Treacy (Parkvilla FC),
Stephen Nolan (BT Harps FC),
Mark Buckley (Dunmanway Town),
Conor Levingston (Gorey Rangers).

Goals from Zachary Elbouzedi and Jean Yves Poam!

SwanVsDalton
18/12/2012, 4:20 PM
Some great names in that line-up, particularly the goalscorers. Get them capped immediately.

18/12/2012, 6:07 PM
Jean Yves Apple is surely a superstar in the making.

Yard of Pace
18/12/2012, 8:58 PM
Jean Yves Apple is surely a superstar in the making.

With a name like that, I wonder was he called up using the "granny (smith) rule"?

18/12/2012, 9:12 PM
Bonus points if he does have a granny Smith.

gastric
19/12/2012, 3:26 AM
Great article about the multi ethnic origin of our U15s. It's getting to the point where I can't pronounce Irish representatives names! The future could be bright.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/1219/1224327997546.html

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 6:51 AM
But what's happened to the FAI's policy of selecting Catholics only?!

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 6:57 AM
Great article about the multi ethnic origin of our U15s. It's getting to the point where I can't pronounce Irish representatives names! The future could be bright.

“This isn’t just a problem in football,” says McCue, who points out that under current rules and the Citizenship Act of 2005, Steve Heighway would not have been eligible to play for Ireland.

Heighway was born in Dublin, but where were his parents from?

gastric
19/12/2012, 8:56 AM
But what's happened to the FAI's policy of selecting Catholics only?!

You must be Kieron Westwood in disguise! :D

gastric
19/12/2012, 8:57 AM

The M50!

the bear
19/12/2012, 9:13 AM
The M50!

That was a terrible joke, deserves an auto ban!!!

19/12/2012, 9:22 AM

Born in Dublin, both of Avis’s parents are Nigerian. Until this season he played with Firhouse but has recently moved to Templeogue United.
Beggars!

19/12/2012, 9:45 AM

His parents are English. He would be fully entitled to Irish citizenship under current laws.
Also, Steve grew up in Dublin before moving to England at the age of 10.

It appears that we have to take what Ken McCue (Sport Against Racism in Ireland) says, with a pinch of salt.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 10:04 AM
His parents are English. He would be fully entitled to Irish citizenship under current laws.
Also, Steve grew up in Dublin before moving to England at the age of 10.

It appears that we have to take what Ken McCue (Sport Against Racism in Ireland) says, with a pinch of salt.

Indeed, a person born on the island of Ireland on or after the 1st of January, 2005 is entitled to be an Irish citizen if, non-exhaustively, at least one of his or her parents is a British citizen, is a resident of the island of Ireland who is entitled to reside in either the Republic or in Northern Ireland without any time limit on that residence or is a legal resident of the island of Ireland for three out of the 4 years preceding the child's birth (excluding any time spent seeking asylum or as a student).

19/12/2012, 10:49 AM
“The upshot is that we’re losing the stars of the future to clubs in the likes of Belgium, Switzerland, Austria, Portugal and Germany.

I think most on here would be happy with that, so long as they didn't represent another country, and it benefited the player.

19/12/2012, 10:53 AM
I think the implication is that it's taken them out of the Irish system and makes them less likely to represent Ireland.

gastric
19/12/2012, 10:57 AM
I think most on here would be happy with that, so long as they didn't represent another country, and it benefited the player.
Rather than worrying about a 65 year old ex player does anyone know anything about Temmy Raheem who is going to play in Belgium? As Paul mentioned such moves would be welcomed by most on here.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 11:02 AM

I don't really understand his point. Is he saying the problem is that the delay in acquiring passports is excluding players from getting breaks and opportunities (abroad, presumably) or is he saying that it's leading to players moving abroad? I don't see the connection between a delay in acquiring an Irish passport and moving abroad if the latter is the case.

And sure we've traditionally lost players to English clubs for God knows how long. What difference does it make if the go to Belgium, Switzerland, Austria, Portugal or Germany? Is he implying that it's a bad thing - that we're a losing party - or am I misreading him? All the better for Irish players in general to experience variety, I say.

19/12/2012, 11:05 AM
Ya but he uses the term upshot, and then losing. I don't consider it losing, if they go off and still represent Ireland. But i imagine thats what he meants alright CD.

But as DI makes out, are the citizenship laws in other EU countries more laxed or something? Is he saying, that by going to Belgium they are more likely to represent that country, through for example residency or something? As they have no direct attachment to any EU country other than their own "native" countries, for example Côte d'ivoire, so htey are somewhat mercenaries in that they will play for any EU country depending on where they are living, and who gives them citizenship.Why, by not giving out Irish citizenship quicker, is he more likely to go to Belgium or austria for example, at first I read it that they have some connection or "roots" in these countries, but I'm not sure that's what it is.

19/12/2012, 11:09 AM
I don't really understand his point. Is he saying the problem is that the delay in acquiring passports is excluding players from getting breaks and opportunities (abroad, presumably) or is he saying that it's leading to players moving abroad? I don't see the connection between a delay in acquiring an Irish passport and moving abroad if the latter is the case.

And sure we've traditionally lost players to English clubs for God knows how long. What difference does it make if the go to Belgium, Switzerland, Austria, Portugal or Germany? Is he implying that it's a bad thing - that we're a losing party - or am I misreading him? All the better for Irish players in general to experience variety, I say.
The point is that if they're only here for a couple of years and are not integrated in the international set-up, they'll have little reason to suddenly start showing up for international sessions when other countries may be offering the same and their clubs may well want to keep them around instead of going to Ireland, plus they'll have all the problems of integrating into a new culture. And that's before you consider that other players will have jumped ahead of them in the queue by virtue of being called up for sessions and games before them.

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 11:24 AM
They are here for more than a couple of years? Though take the point about their heads being turned.

In which case it should be the countries their parents come from. Not just another country that just qualifies them on 'residency' grounds after, is it 6 yrs?
A point I've made on this forum many times...

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 11:26 AM
I think the implication is that it's taken them out of the Irish system and makes them less likely to represent Ireland.

But sure, as Irish citizens, they'd only be eligible to represent Ireland anyway rather than their new host country, or are you suggesting that they just might not be bothered even if their option was limited to ourselves only?

Des Tomlinson, the FAI’s intercultural officer, had the following to say:

They would still be aware of their family’s country of origin and the traditions that they are being taught at home. But if you talk to Noe (Baba, the 16 year-old born in Cameroon who has lived and played in Castlebar for the last six years and who has just signed for Fulham) his socialisation is in Mayo. For the lads in Corduff, it’s Corduff. They all have Irish passports and they all feel Irish.

So, is there a need to worry about them more so than others? Why should they be viewed as any different to any other Irish kid moving abroad? A "native" can just as easily decide not to represent us. Think Stephen Ireland. Luckily, he can sort himself with one of these now:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/A-YbAxaCcAASmDz.jpg

19/12/2012, 11:33 AM
Well I meant their home country. I'm sure somewhere like the Ivory Coast has closer links to Belgium than it does to Ireland - other players from the same country at the same club could turn their heads to their country of birth, or simply moving means their links to Ireland are effectively cut.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 11:37 AM
They are here for more than a couple of years? Though take the point about their heads being turned.

In which case it should be the countries their parents come from. Not just another country that just qualifies them on 'residency' grounds after, is it 6 yrs?

The law will vary depending on state concerned. If the player acquires a new nationality after the age of 18, however, he must have been resident in the territory of his new association for at least five years to be eligible. If he somehow manages to acquire citizenship of his new host state before that age between moving from Ireland to the new state, he's eligible to play for the association of the new host territory under article 5 as FIFA evidently don't deem such to be an acquisition of a new nationality. Is such even likely though? I wouldn't imagine so.

19/12/2012, 11:42 AM
You have to appreciate that comment was not made by a football man.
And he was wrong about the citizenship laws as applied to Heighway.
I would also question the relevance of the comment he made about Emeka Onwubiko "who had something like a dozen caps before he got his passport, but now they’re excluded."
Emeka became an Irish citizen in Feb 2007. He couldn't play competitive underage games until he gained Irish nationality, which he got after 3 years residency. Naturally his ability to travel abroad was restricted until he had an Irish passport.

19/12/2012, 11:45 AM
Do you not think it's a bit silly that players who are good enough for the international set-up aren't being brought in, and that they might have less of a connection to the team if they emigrate without any prior involvement?

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 11:48 AM
Well I meant their home country. I'm sure somewhere like the Ivory Coast has closer links to Belgium than it does to Ireland - other players from the same country at the same club could turn their heads to their country of birth, or simply moving means their links to Ireland are effectively cut.

I see. Their parents will still be based here, just like the parents of any other Irish kids who move abroad though. And they'll have grown up within Irish society surrounded by Irish culture, just like any other Irish kids who move abroad. If they still feel little affinity with Ireland but a strong connection to their family's country of origin in light of that, that's their entitlement. Further, their opting to play for the country of origin of their parents would also be dependent on that state permitting the possession of dual citizenship.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 11:58 AM
Do you not think it's a bit silly that players who are good enough for the international set-up aren't being brought in, and that they might have less of a connection to the team if they emigrate without any prior involvement?

Right, I think I'm reading him as intended now. They move abroad as soon as they've received their passport without having been able to partake in our international set-up by virtue of the delay in receiving said passport? It would seem to lack sense from a future development persepctive that these players are not selected, but do the FAI have the option of selecting non-nationals if the players haven't yet acquired (proof of their) Irish citizenship?

19/12/2012, 11:58 AM
There aren't many African states that don't offer dual citizenship, as far as I know. And assuming the parents are economic migrants, there's no guarantee they'll still be based here, and even if they aren't they might be moving with their child. The fact is that if somebody hasn't been living in Ireland for long, leaving the country is going to have a negative impact on their affinity for the country, especially if they've been denied recognition by the national set-up on account of their perceived lack of Irishness.

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 12:02 PM
That's a very subjective point in the second paragraph, CD. Only the individual would know.

Also,

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 12:04 PM
The law will vary depending on state concerned. If the player acquires a new nationality after the age of 18, however, he must have been resident in the territory of his new association for at least five years to be eligible. If he somehow manages to acquire citizenship of his new host state before that age between moving from Ireland to the new state, he's eligible to play for the association of the new host territory under article 5 as FIFA evidently don't deem such to be an acquisition of a new nationality. Is such even likely though? I wouldn't imagine so.

Actually, the second part I believe will become more prevalent as the scope to use this becomes more 'abused'.
eg. as per international cricket and rugby...

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 12:25 PM
Actually, the second part I believe will become more prevalent as the scope to use this becomes more 'abused'.
eg. as per international cricket and rugby...

In the sense of states granting citizenship to minors willy-nilly? If FIFA sense their rules are being abused by what they perceive to be a loophole, I'd expect them to find some way of tightening their eligibility criteria like they did when the case of Qater naturalising Brazilians came to light.

19/12/2012, 12:34 PM

Afaiu, Emeka was brought in to the set up, played in underage friendlies on home ground and as soon as he received his passport he became a part of the competitive squad.
I misunderstood in what context he was being used as an example.

19/12/2012, 12:38 PM
Is he not being used as an example of best practice/how youngsters should be brought into the squads?

On a side note, I see the anti-immigration lot are beginning to descend on the article. Nothing is safe...

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 12:53 PM
Lordy.

Yet more pro diversity force feeding from the IT. Not once in the past twenty years has the unprecedented phenomenon of mass immigration been discussed in any meaningful way by the Irish media or political classes, not once in the past twenty years have the indigenous Irish been consulted on this issue. Instead we get more patronising clap trap espousing the infinitely positive benefits of multi-culturalism. Aggressive liberal bigotry of this nature is deeply worrying as it repeatedly & wilfully denies a voice to those native Irish who may hold a contrary viewpoint. Why is multi-culturalism & extreme social democratic pluralist ideology being foisted upon Irish society without any consultative process, why is our media so complicit is this profoundly undemocratic project in social engineering?

So who are the "indigenous Irish" exactly? Pure-blood Gaels? Is Ryder a surname of Gaelic origin? :rolleyes:

The democratic process is the public consultative process where Irish citizens can have their say on social policy. If there was a popular will for exclusion based on ethnicity from Ireland's civic conception of nationality, I'm sure we'd see the effects of it in democratic decision and policy-making. Thankfully, however, the reality is that such xenophobic views are minority fringe views. The vast majority of Irish people will either have no issue with such a story as this or will see it as overwhelmingly positive and culturally enriching.

19/12/2012, 1:01 PM
Lordy.

So who are the "indigenous Irish" exactly? Pure-blood Gaels? Is Ryder a surname of Gaelic origin? :rolleyes:

The democratic process is the public consultative process where Irish citizens can have their say on social policy. If there was a popular will for exclusion based on ethnicity from Ireland's civic conception of nationality, I'm sure we'd see the effects of it in democratic decision and policy-making. Thankfully, however, the reality is that such xenophobic views are minority fringe views. The vast majority of Irish people will either have no issue with such a story as this or will see it as overwhelmingly positive and culturally enriching.
Well it's only a few years since Amendment 27 was passed. As unjust as I think it is, it would be foolish to deny there is a strong element of ethnic exclusion in mainstream Ireland's concept of Irishness.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 1:14 PM
Well it's only a few years since Amendment 27 was passed. As unjust as I think it is, it would be foolish to deny there is a strong element of ethnic exclusion in mainstream Ireland's concept of Irishness.

Perhaps. I suppose I'm thinking along the lines of Irish nationality not being restricted along explicitly ethnic lines from immigrants, or those of immigrant families, who offer something in return to Irish society for the granting of citizenship.

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 1:17 PM
In the sense of states granting citizenship to minors willy-nilly? If FIFA sense their rules are being abused by what they perceive to be a loophole, I'd expect them to find some way of tightening their eligibility criteria like they did when the case of Qater naturalising Brazilians came to light.

Not just minors. Look at Arteta, Cuducini and Almunia(FFS) being linked with 'Ingerland'.

Agree they might well tighten loopholes but don't share your overall confidence.

19/12/2012, 1:22 PM
Perhaps. I suppose I'm thinking along the lines of Irish nationality not being restricted along explicitly ethnic lines from immigrants, or those of immigrant families, who offer something in return to Irish society for the granting of citizenship.
But it is restricted along ethnic lines because those without Irish or British parents are denied automatic citizenship. We are an inclusive country in the main but we shouldn't think of ourselves as being without fault.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 1:26 PM
Not just minors. Look at Arteta, Cuducini and Almunia(FFS) being linked with 'Ingerland'.

Agree they might well tighten loopholes but don't share your overall confidence.

They were only linked with England call-ups by the media subsequent to acquiring British citizenship after periods of residence in the UK and seemingly satisfying FIFA's five-years-of-residency-after-18 criterion. As it happened, Arteta and Cudicini could never have been eligible to play for England as they did not satisfy eligibility regulation 8.1(a); neither possessed British citizenship at the time they represented their countries of birth in official competition at under-age level.

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 1:29 PM
But still room for Almunia.

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 1:31 PM

Agreed. Having mixed race in my family, I'd like to think this wouldn't happen now. Was it that orifice McDowell who was behind all this originally?

19/12/2012, 1:34 PM
I think it was FF actually, as far as I remember it was a grassroots veiled racism movement. McDowell loved deporting people but generally he was more liberal than the rest.

But still room for Almunia.
Call him up Trap!

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 1:34 PM
But it is restricted along ethnic lines because those without Irish or British parents are denied automatic citizenship. We are an inclusive country in the main but we shouldn't think of ourselves as being without fault.

Like I said, it isn't automatically conferred by virtue of birth in Ireland, but it's still open to them upon the fulfillment of other specified obligations. It's not purely civic, I admit, but isn't our nationality law in line with most other European states with regard to those born in Ireland needing to satisfy criteria other than birth alone in order for citizenship to be granted? That's not to say the nationality laws of other European states don't feature ethnic-based criteria either, or that such criteria are ideal.

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 1:35 PM
Almunia wouldn't be eligible, but maybe the North could claim him. They seem to like their 'foreign' keepers...

19/12/2012, 1:43 PM
Like I said, it isn't automatically conferred by virtue of birth in Ireland, but it's still open to them upon the fulfillment of other specified obligations. It's not purely civic, I admit, but isn't our nationality law in line with most other European states with regard to those born in Ireland needing to satisfy criteria other than birth alone in order for citizenship to be granted? That's not to say the nationality laws of other European states don't feature ethnic-based criteria either, or that such criteria are ideal.
Well we are in line with other European countries, but do you not think other European countries have a slightly chequered history with regard to racial purity? Ireland's revised citizenship criteria was drawn up primarily to exclude some Africans - that wasn't even debated at the time.

Almunia wouldn't be eligible, but maybe the North could claim him. They seem to like their 'foreign' keepers...
I'm sure we could find a way to make him eligible, filthy beggars that we are.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 1:48 PM
Well we are in line with other European countries, but do you not think other European countries have a slightly chequered history with regard to racial purity? Ireland's revised citizenship criteria was drawn up primarily to exclude some Africans - that wasn't even debated at the time.

I don't disagree with you. I wasn't necessarily saying they're perfect either or amount to what we ought to be striving to conform. I thought it better to edit my post and add that final proviso. :)

ArdeeBhoy
19/12/2012, 2:02 PM
CD, back on form with that last post...

19/12/2012, 2:04 PM
Jean Yves Apple is surely a superstar in the making.Being Irish he should change his name to Pomme de Terre.

What's Italian for Juventus youths?

Anyway, Danny, I think it's article 18.1(a) :)

DannyInvincible
19/12/2012, 2:13 PM
Are the 2012 statutes out of currency already? Turnover-rate like FIFA's video games, maybe...