View Full Version : Longford Town 2-2 Athlone Town

11/09/2004, 9:07 PM
I'm sick. 2nil up after 20 mins, I said to myself, This could be 5 or 6 :rolleyes: How wrong I was. In fairness though, Athlone deserved at least a draw although we should have had a penalty in the last minute when a shot was blocked on the line by a hand, and not the Keeper's one either! When we got the 2-0, We just sat back for the next 75 mins and then when we realised that it was 2-2, we got a good kick up the ar$e but it was to little, to late.

Replay Monday, 7:45pm, St. Mel's Park.

Many heading down?

johno
12/09/2004, 8:56 AM
Longford missed Murphy very badly and were poor in defence.Were lucky not to concede a penalty early in the second half as well.Athlone goalkeeper was man of the match so I suppose that says something of the pressure he was under but we should have put them away.I would be more confident of a good result in Mels Pk with a full squad and Murph back in defence.

On a seperate note,when are Longford stewards going to get their act together,I'm refering to when Athlone scored the equaliser,Athlone fans behind the Longford dugout hurled obscene abuse at the bench (Aaron in particular) while the stewards looked on with blank expressions until he (Aaron) requested that something be done.This should have been dealt with earlier as it was really getting out of control.:(

12/09/2004, 9:16 AM
On a seperate note,when are Longford stewards going to get their act together,I'm refering to when Athlone scored the equaliser,Athlone fans behind the Longford dugout hurled obscene abuse at the bench (Aaron in particular) while the stewards looked on with blank expressions until he (Aaron) requested that something be done.This should have been dealt with earlier as it was really getting out of control.:(

Spot on! Athlone goal goes in, Grey haired w@nker of an Athlone fan starts banging on the back of our dugout and then proceeds to give Aaron the 2 fingers. Disgraceful. All the stewards their looking at him and decide to point fingers at yur man and tell him not to do it again :rolleyes: I think eventually they took him out at Aaron's request.

RockofGibraltar
12/09/2004, 12:21 PM
Aaron squirted a bottle of water at him and that seemed to do the trick!!

Flea
12/09/2004, 12:23 PM
Spot on! Athlone goal goes in, Grey haired w@nker of an Athlone fan starts banging on the back of our dugout and then proceeds to give Aaron the 2 fingers. Disgraceful. All the stewards their looking at him and decide to point fingers at yur man and tell him not to do it again :rolleyes: I think eventually they took him out at Aaron's request.

Take it easy it wasn't that serious, overall the athlone fans were great especially considering where they are in the first division. Murph's goal was superb, their keeper made some great saves, Steven Gavin is still as good as he always was and their no.3 I think Alan Kelly is his name should have got man of the match.As for the town played good in patches, Deano's goal was very well worked and it was good to see that Eric scored. I was happy with the draw in the end cos they deserved at least a replay but I couldn't see us losing on Monday.

Well done to the Athlone fans and team(its only a short while since we were down there). :)

johno
12/09/2004, 12:51 PM
Take it easy it wasn't that serious, overall the athlone fans were great especially considering where they are in the first division.

Well done to the Athlone fans and team(its only a short while since we were down there). :)It's not about the Athlone fans who I agree were great,it's about the LONGFORD STEWARDS who don't seem to realise that part of their job is crowd control and this should entail keeping hostilities away from officials and players.

Flea
12/09/2004, 1:04 PM
It's not about the Athlone fans who I agree were great,it's about the LONGFORD STEWARDS who don't seem to realise that part of their job is crowd control and this should entail keeping hostilities away from officials and players.

Not this again... :rolleyes:

johno
12/09/2004, 1:18 PM
Not this again... :rolleyes:You may not like it but its essential that stewards know their jobs so as everyone from young to old can enjoy the game in comfortable surroundings without scumbags interfering.My apologies if this particular subject bores you but for a club as prosperous as Longford and with it's sizeable support then I think a lot more effort should be placed on it's security arrangements.:(

Flea
12/09/2004, 1:30 PM
My apologies if this particular subject bores
This subject doesn't particularly bore me its just it has been wrung dry as it can get e.g running up to the rovers game p.s I would to talk about football otherwise a new site will have to be set up, say ltfc-complaining.ie :D (I am going back on what I said to Wiseguy, you're completely right!)

but for a club as prosperous as Longford and with it's sizeable support then I think a lot more effort should be placed on it's security arrangements

Inform somebody at the club of your problems instead of this chit-chat ;)

12/09/2004, 2:30 PM
Looking back on it, We should have put Athlone away in the 1st half but we didnt and we paid for it in the end! A draw seems like a fair result, 3 great goals and the last one, well sloppy to say the least. Can't understand why John Martin was left on, he had a terrible game imo!

On a separate note, fair play to the Athlone fans, even at
2-0 down they never stopped! the abuse towards aaron, wasnt anything major in fairness lads remember Stephen Kenny and the abuse he got(gets)!! its all part of da game! Looking forward to a good one tomorrow night!

12/09/2004, 3:08 PM
in fairness lads remember Stephen Kenny and the abuse he got(gets)!! its all part of da game!

What abuse? OK, maybe the first Bohs game in the FAI Cup the week after he left us but I don't really remember much abuse since then except for when he goes mental on the touchline! he got a good reception last week.

12/09/2004, 3:13 PM
ah please r u serious? he was spit on in Dalymount, he has been shouted at etc.......Id say Aaron knew he was gonna get it last night.....tomorrow night could be worse for him!

oh and he didnt hit the old man with the water but a little child!!

12/09/2004, 3:17 PM
oh and he didnt hit the old man with the water but a little child!!

He didn't really hit anyone!!!! He just squirted water at the grey-haired w@nker that was given him the 2 fingers ;)

12/09/2004, 3:31 PM
are ya sure bout that? :p

Sonic
12/09/2004, 3:59 PM
another shambles ok we have got second chance but it should have been all over. when is matthews ever going to get nice attacking and attractive football into his head.everytime we go ahead its straight on the defensive side kenny never did that we were always attractive to watch.hopefully we get the right result tomorrow but i was quite impressed with some of the athlone players.

O Brien-anything he had to do he failed to do and that was to save two athlone shots 5

Dillon-anonymous for much of the game 5

Gartland- have been impressed with him lately 7

Barry-Solid 8

Prunty-Held gavin well and did well for the first goal 8

Kirby-Desperate performance running round in circles half the time 4

Martin-Great signing by Matthews top class performance 0.5 ;) :rolleyes:

Fitzy-Great goal and an animal in centre 8

Vinny- not a bad game but not his best 6

Lavine-Great peformance but sure it always is with eric class player 10

Baker- Did ok 6.5

SUBS
Keegan-useless oh sorry superb .00000002

12/09/2004, 4:02 PM
just wondering, for athlone's second goal, was it sean prunty who fumbled the ball at the edge of the square? i know everyone of em missed the ball after that, and digger dived the wrong way but was just wondering where it started!

Flea
12/09/2004, 4:11 PM
another shambles ok we have got second chance but it should have been all over. when is matthews ever going to get nice attacking and attractive football into his head.everytime we go ahead its straight on the defensive side kenny never did that we were always attractive to watch.hopefully we get the right result tomorrow but i was quite impressed with some of the athlone players.

O Brien-anything he had to do he failed to do and that was to save two athlone shots 5

Dillon-anonymous for much of the game 5

Gartland- have been impressed with him lately 7

Barry-Solid 8

Prunty-Held gavin well and did well for the first goal 8

Kirby-Desperate performance running round in circles half the time 4

Martin-Great signing by Matthews top class performance 0.5 ;) :rolleyes:

Fitzy-Great goal and an animal in centre 8

Vinny- not a bad game but not his best 6

Lavine-Great peformance but sure it always is with eric class player 10

Baker- Did ok 6.5

SUBS
Keegan-useless oh sorry superb .00000002

Superb observations, I shall recommend you as the new management

Fennelly- made some great stops 9

O'Keefe- better than alan murphy but crap 5

Silke- solid as water at the back 6

Hope- great finish for the goal 9

Kelly- Played great 10

Rushe- Not as good as Ian Rush but great in spells 7

S Kelly- captain and manager fantastic 9

McCann- very poor 2

Gavin- Skillful and committed should be playing for us 9

Murphy- great finish for the goal, great decision to get rid of him :rolleyes: 10

Collins- did very little 1

Sonic
12/09/2004, 4:16 PM
just wondering, for athlone's second goal, was it sean prunty who fumbled the ball at the edge of the square? i know everyone of em missed the ball after that, and digger dived the wrong way but was just wondering where it started!
I think you are right maz but it was an unfortunate error. a sloppy goal but i would blame digger more although he is one of my favorite players he didnt have a great game.

missfootie
12/09/2004, 4:22 PM
In relation to stewarts doing their JOBS, the last time I can rmenber people got paid for doing a JOB, there isnt to many others willing to go out every Sat night there is a game to help out and keep control of every1. Give them a break after all remember they are there cos it saves the town havin to PAY other stewarts to come in and do the same thing, the stewarts in Dublin dont do a lot lot until a row does braek out and then they jump in to try and stop it and they are getting paid. The stewarts @ Longford Town are genuine Supporters and they oftem miss out on the best games played in Flancare because they are doing THERE JOBS......

Sonic
12/09/2004, 4:26 PM
too many ppl are willing to give out but do nothing about it on this forum

Flea
12/09/2004, 5:00 PM
In relation to stewarts doing their JOBS, the last time I can rmenber people got paid for doing a JOB, there isnt to many others willing to go out every Sat night

Well pointed out- work can refer to unpaid or paid work, a job refers to work that is paid :)

they are there cos it saves the town havin to PAY other stewarts to come in and do the same thing,......

Don't worry missfootie about the finances do not worry... I know a tree which money grows on and shall pick its tender leaves to pay these stewards,players and all.Money shall no longer be an issue, the pixies can roam freely on the pitch while the pigs can hover over the stand.

The stewarts @ Longford Town are genuine Supporters and they oftem miss out on the best games played in Flancare because they are doing THERE JOBS......

Genuine here is the operative word.As I have said I am not going to start on about all this steward bull but I know a couple of stewards who sometimes miss the match cos of crap that goes on.Johno and DE TOWN refer to the aaorn incident last night. I was in the stand and saw it happening it was nothing but I think they wants it brought before the Dáil :rolleyes: ( q the word 'banter' please)

12/09/2004, 9:48 PM
Extremely disappoitned with the result. we had it in the bag but once Adrian Murph scored, we were put onto the back foot and athlone deserved their equaliser. Alan Kelly hit a screamer which hit the corner of the top of the goal post(the exact same corner that Galways Alan Murph hit in the cup semi)

Not happy at all with the extremely short notice of the replay. up to yesterday, everybody seemed to think that the replay was taking place on Tuesday nite. So why the change? Not sure if I can make the match yet. Will know first thing in the morn at work whether I can go or not.

Very impressed with the quality of Athlones team and their supporters as well. Kellier is doing a decent job with them,

Just hopin that the missed chances wont cum back to haunt us tommorrow nite.

johno
12/09/2004, 10:06 PM
Genuine here is the operative word.As I have said I am not going to start on about all this steward bull but I know a couple of stewards who sometimes miss the match cos of crap that goes on.Johno and DE TOWN refer to the aaorn incident last night. I was in the stand and saw it happening it was nothing but I think they wants it brought before the Dáil :rolleyes: ( q the word 'banter' please)What a load of unadulterated cr@p. No need for this to end up in the Dail really as it would probably receive the same dismissive attitude as you have,but,believe it or not,their are 'genuine' supporters out there who are capable of seeing beyond what happens on the pitch and who actually care about the 'good reputation' that LTFC has, seeing Aaron squirting a bottle of water at an irate fan doesn't do any justice to this reputation and if there were properly trained stewards to deal with the situation then he (Aaron) wouldn't have to resort to the water bottle.Stewards,whether paid or not,are there to do a job,not spectate.;) Anyway,enough of the chit chat, oops you dont like getting involved in that either!!!!!!!!Hmmmmm.:rolleyes:

atfconline
12/09/2004, 11:17 PM
Not happy at all with the extremely short notice of the replay. up to yesterday, everybody seemed to think that the replay was taking place on Tuesday nite. So why the change? Not sure if I can make the match yet. Will know first thing in the morn at work whether I can go or not.

Well in fairness Marty, Longford were informed last Monday should a replay be required, it would take place on Monday 13th. It was also on the front page of the Town website all week, and we also informed all the media outlets, along with whatever notification the FAI gave to them.

Flea
12/09/2004, 11:28 PM
(Aaron) wouldn't have to resort to the water bottle:

Flancare Park- the new wild west :rolleyes:

I have a 'sawn-off' lucozade bottle at home that squirts water, lucozade and powerade at almost 20ml per second

Anyway,enough of the chit chat, oops you dont like getting involved in that either!!!!!!!!Hmmmmm.

Bring your handbag tommorrow night if your that worried, just leave the Gucci one at home :rolleyes:

On a separate note:
I agree with Martinio the replay is very short notice and should have been played on Tuesday at the least, I might not make the game either but think of the strain on the players

parnell ranger
13/09/2004, 8:33 AM
ah sure ye'll hammer us in Mels too :) :) :) :)

Terry Phelan
13/09/2004, 9:13 AM
Its pure madness that the replay's so soon,dont understand why it cudnt be played tue or wed.
I thought longford were superp for the first twenty mins in the first half
In the second half,scumlone sumhow managed to drag us down to their first division level.
in all fairness,i thought it was a very poor match.
One thing i was well impressed by was athlones no 3,alan kelly,he had a class match,and rattled the crossbar with a free kick--one 4 d future??

gheewhizz
13/09/2004, 11:14 AM
Well in fairness Marty, Longford were informed last Monday should a replay be required, it would take place on Monday 13th. It was also on the front page of the Town website all week, and we also informed all the media outlets, along with whatever notification the FAI gave to them.

Athlone wanted the replay on Monday, LTFC wanted it on Tues because of the FAI own rule,that no two matches can be played within 48hrs,both clubs wouldn't agree & the FAI step in on Friday,forced us to agree to monday which means the FAI yet again are breaking their own rule.

johno
13/09/2004, 12:27 PM
Flancare Park- the new wild west :rolleyes:

I might not make the game either but think of the strain on the playersSorry to hear that but no surprise really,what is it,personal safety concerns or is it 'western' night on TG4.No need to worry though,I'll have a report for you on both what happens on and off the pitch.

Should Barrett play tonight? or should there be just the one change Murph for Martin.Athlone are on a serious high after Sat so this is one where we have to be very careful.

atfconline
13/09/2004, 12:44 PM
Please note that Gardai will be on duty around Saint Mel's Park tonight, with the laneway down to the ground being closed to ALL vehicles from 6:45pm.

I would recommend anyone driving over to park in the Fairgreen carpark, not far from the ground.

parnell ranger
13/09/2004, 2:35 PM
by all accounts ye should-a premier league side with good players-playing what is essentially a midlands local side-or maybe there isnt a lot between the bottom half of the premier and the equivalent sides in division1?
Rockmount and ourselves on the verge of a cup semi spot?
take out bohs shels and cork and the rest are just ordinary.
we'll go through on penalties!
C;mon the Townnnn :p

johno
13/09/2004, 5:16 PM
And cheers to the Town fans who booed Adrian Murphy after his superb goal - w@**ers.Couldn't agree more,some of these 'supporters' have very short memories and dont seem able to see beyond the end of their noses.:mad:

trulan
14/09/2004, 7:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz
in fairness lads remember Stephen Kenny and the abuse he got(gets)!! its all part of da game!

What abuse? OK, maybe the first Bohs game in the FAI Cup the week after he left us but I don't really remember much abuse since then except for when he goes mental on the touchline! he got a good reception last week.

I was in the stand when Kenny came in on that evening, as far as i can rem he got little or no stick, alot of the stand gave him a round of applause, so i dont know where this is cominf from,,,,

parnell ranger
14/09/2004, 12:47 PM
fair result last night-i enjoyed the match-atmosphere and colour brought to Mels by the longford fans and barrets goal was a gem.
it shows what we;ve been missing for the last 20 years and i hope it has whetted the appetites of those in power in Athlone soccer circles to get our act in order.
well done longford-players and fans and may ye go on and do the double.

14/09/2004, 1:34 PM
Cheers Parnell, ye certainly didnt make it easy for us. A healthy midlands rivalry is a good thing for Irish football..

observer
14/09/2004, 1:37 PM
Nice one Parnell Ranger. We were the better team undoubtedly but there was still only 1 goal in it with 13 minutes to go, and Digger had made a few great saves. One thing the two games showed is the need for Midlands Derby's. The athmosphere was great for the two matches and the large gates were I am sure very welcome to both clubs. Perhaps when Athlone are in their new stadium the club will make a return to the top flight. When and if that happens there will be some mighty nights to look forward to. :)

observer
16/09/2004, 3:27 PM
Don't tell me you did'nt feel the athmosphere at the two matches. Can you not imagine what it would be like if both clubs were meeting a few times a season in the Premiership? Being factual is not being patronising. Imagine how even more narrow minded you could become given a greater rivalry through local derbies. :p

16/09/2004, 3:29 PM
Just trying to be neighbourly like! Then again according to that article in their programme anything we say about Athlone is patronising.. ;) I was told the same person who wrote that has a wee bit of an issue with Longford Town, seemingly he refused to pay to get in to Flancare on Saturday, "I wouldn't give my money to a shower like ye" was his response when he apparently tried to get in as an Athlone official, which he's not, though he used to be seemingly, before they got sense! Seemingly in our last Cup meeting in '98 he called Longford fans "scum" over the PA! Thats what i heard anyway, mightn't be fully true, I dont know.

Any Athlone fans or officials I met were sound as a pound. Again not being patronising, and I actually do think we could do with more big games against Athlone :)

observer
20/09/2004, 9:58 AM
Almost all the athmospheric matches you mention were finals. The majority of league games played at Flancare are totally devoid of athmosphere as has often been commented on by different supporters in various threads at this forum. All leagues need local derbies.
For Athlone to be promoted however they need new players. To get these they need more money. To get this they need bigger gates. To get these they need more support. To get this they need a better team. To get this they need new players :confused: Where did I start/ Maybe you are right miracle required. :p