View Full Version : Congratulations Sligo
Park_Lane
13/10/2012, 4:45 PM
Well done Sligo, fully deserved. Best team in the league by far What a game of football!
13/10/2012, 4:52 PM
Well done Sligo. The town deserves it, one of the best football towns in the country.
thomas72
13/10/2012, 4:58 PM
Congrats silgo rovers from all at limerick fc fully deserved and on yer stadium looks fantastic.
bluewhitearmy
13/10/2012, 5:01 PM
Congrats Sligo.
Guinney
13/10/2012, 5:07 PM
Congratz Sligo. Well deserved. Pats are a good side this year but the best team won the league.
Good to see Mark Quigley finally win a title, by far the most talented player in the league. Also congratulations to another Ex-Dundalk player and local lad (well Ardee is close enough hey) Ross Gaynor. He wasn't the most popular when he was here, but seems to have been a very important player for Sligo this year and he always had a good left peg on him.
Dave_SRFC
13/10/2012, 5:21 PM
Well done Sligo deserved it by a country mile.
SPXcyan
13/10/2012, 5:24 PM
thoroughly enjoyed that match, brilliant atmosphere and a perfect game to advert the league!
Congrats :)
swinfordfc
13/10/2012, 5:44 PM
Great win - well done ... Congrats Sligo
13/10/2012, 5:54 PM
Congratulations! Now go and do us proud next year!
SwanVsDalton
13/10/2012, 5:58 PM
Very pleased for the Bit O'Red even if they squeaked it a bit today. Fully deserved over the season and a great club to win it.
13/10/2012, 6:01 PM
Fantastic game of ball. Well deserved by Sligo, but Pat's pushed them right to it.
Ah well. Fair dues to Sligo. Deserved the title. One defeat all season is a super record. Always had a lot of time for the club and the town. Genuine football town. Thought we deserved a draw today after a terrific second half performance, and the penalty a bit harsh, but so be it. Onwards and upwards. Cup final here we come. It's been a very good season for Pats, much better than we could have hoped, and if we can finish by ending our Cup jinx then I'll be happy. Think if we can keep this team together next year we'll have a real go at the title.
geezer
13/10/2012, 6:11 PM
Congrats Sligo Rovers
Notaclue
13/10/2012, 6:30 PM
Well done to Sligo Rovers. What a brilliant game today, great advertisement for LOI. The stadium looked fantastic and fair dues to your ground staff for having the pitch so good after the awful recent weather. Looking forward to having you in Limerick next season. Once again the FAI f****d it up by having Trap's press conference on at the same time. No wonder that the LOI is under appreciated when the powers that be don't give a s***e. I'm off to Jackman for a party now, and intend to forget about Il Trap and John Del.
Paddyfield
13/10/2012, 6:31 PM
Well done Sligo.
Hard work, commitment and determination has paid off.
13/10/2012, 6:45 PM
massive congrats to sligo rovers on their title win from myself and the section o lads! it was one of the all time best ever loi games I have ever seen! hopefully they will do justice in the champions league next season..
gufcfan
13/10/2012, 7:38 PM
Congrats.
Convinced a few that never watched LOI to give it a look today. Thank Christ it wasn't the usual tv game cack.
culloty82
13/10/2012, 8:19 PM
Congrats Sligo - thoroughly deserved for your consistency all season, the style of play and for the level of support the team has always enjoyed. Today's day was the perfect ad for the League, putting your stamp on the game, Pats comeback, before the dramatic finale. Of course, it's always good to see consistent challenges for silverware outside the capital, hopefully you'll have an extended European campaign next summer.
Congratulations to everyone involved at Sligo Rovers Football Club, 35 years is a long time in the waiting, what a joy it was today to watch the quality of the football on display. The ground too would give some Lge 2 clubs in UK a run for their money, 5,600 at the match, just amazing and it really did look like every family in the town was at it.
Enjoy the celebrations.
placid casual
13/10/2012, 9:28 PM
sincere congratulations to all at Sligo.
always good to see a new name on the trophy.
If Sligo can hang on to the bulk of their squad next season, and a good portion of the fans there today ,they will do well.
Sligo Hoops.
13/10/2012, 11:19 PM
Stand Up for the Bit O'Red. As a Hoops supporter living in the North West for the last ten years, I can only be envious of what Sligo have achieved this year. Fully deserved the title with the football they played. Their success puts into perspecitve the implosion in Tallaght. Well done to all.
d rovers
14/10/2012, 12:46 AM
Cheers lads, still can't really believe it. Honestly never thought I'd see our rovers win a league.
From my vantage point in the main stand thought the penalty was incredibly harsh.
A big thank you to all the Pats fans who stayed on long after the final whistle to applaud, touch of class. It was a very nice gesture, now off ye go and win the cup.
Dalymountrower
14/10/2012, 9:15 AM
Congrats to Sligo on winning the league and to both Pats and Sligo on producing a match and occasion that was as good an advertisement for LOI football as I have seen.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2012, 9:21 AM
The charlatan did a good job in the end PC.....!
Magnificent day yesterday. Thinking back to 3 years ago and we played Pats towards the end of the season up in Inchicore. Raf scored twice that day. That was to keep us up though. The work done by the club has been phenomal. Seeing the ground full and with such a great atmosphere was a joy. Particularly nice to see nobody getting on the players backs when Pats came back. Hopefully can get a lot of that crowd to keep coming back but every club has a problem doing that. Be nice to get through a round in Europe for a change as well.
Never thought I'd see us win the league. Brilliant.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2012, 9:26 AM
Cheers lads, still can't really believe it. Honestly never thought I'd see our rovers win a league.
From my vantage point in the main stand thought the penalty was incredibly harsh.
A big thank you to all the Pats fans who stayed on long after the final whistle to applaud, touch of class. It was a very nice gesture, now off ye go and win the cup.
Thought it was a penalty myself but sure I'm biased. Picture of it from below and his hands are pretty much up by his face to block it.
http://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/1210112/
Superb advert for the league. Pats definitely the best team we've played all season. Hope they win the cup.
Magical day yesterday. suppose it was written in the stars we would finish it off.
Fair play to Pats they are a really classy side and didn't get the rub of the green yesterday.
I don't know if it transmitted to their players, I'm sure they could hear it going on from the dressingroom and the fans would have heard it but the self congratulatory tone of the half time speeches on the pitch were in bad taste I felt and really must have pushed Pats on that extra bit.
Totally premature and unneccessry I felt and I was raging at the time to be honest.
Not our players' fault though and although it looked like we would collapse we somehow hung in there by the skin of our teeth. How nervy would next week have been if that shot by Fagan (I think) had gone in.
Ifs and buts now though. Comiserations to Pats and to John Russell. A really super footballer who still has a lot of fans down here I'm sure.
These celebrations are only starting to get going down here. Twas nuts in town last night.
Thank God for the LoI and the opportunity to have days like yesterday.
14/10/2012, 11:57 AM
I love that Sligo won it, i'll always want the technical, attractive showcase footballing team to win and Sligo have quality all over the park. Hope the town is hopping for the week and if you want to keep the crowds coming back just make sure to play the champions league theme choon at every single charity event. I though it was great for the whole year when City won in 2005, the way the team turn up everywhere, local businesses, music gigs, hospitals, everywhere ..... Enjoy it all, great feeling !!
wonder88
14/10/2012, 1:43 PM
Well done Sligo, and also Pats on producing a great game for us watching on tv. Good to see a team from outside Dublin win the title. Pats were a litle unlucky yesterday but over the season the title is going to the best team. Hope Sligo have not overspend to win the title and go the way of Shels, Bohs, Drogheda and Cork City.
14/10/2012, 1:56 PM
Hope Sligo have not overspend to win the title and go the way of Shels, Bohs, Drogheda and Cork City.
Hope so too, but it should also be noted the for Sligo Rovers FC, this is an 'in' for everywhere in town. Its perfect excuse to celebrate this with every business, community group, school, hospital, retirement home, bar, hotel, restaurant, etc.. Just turn up .... its the ground work for the sponsorship you'll be looking for over the next few years.
DaveyPats
14/10/2012, 2:03 PM
Magical day yesterday. suppose it was written in the stars we would finish it off.
Fair play to Pats they are a really classy side and didn't get the rub of the green yesterday.
I don't know if it transmitted to their players, I'm sure they could hear it going on from the dressingroom and the fans would have heard it but the self congratulatory tone of the half time speeches on the pitch were in bad taste I felt and really must have pushed Pats on that extra bit.
Totally premature and unneccessry I felt and I was raging at the time to be honest.
I found them announcements unbelievely cringeworthy at the time.
Congrats to Sligo, best team overall this season!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2012, 4:50 PM
That guy on the P.A. should be banned from the ground. Trying his best to ruin the day. Mexican Wave and trying to tell people to stay off the pitch cause there's an under 19 game on.
14/10/2012, 5:51 PM
Hope so too, but it should also be noted the for Sligo Rovers FC, this is an 'in' for everywhere in town. Its perfect excuse to celebrate this with every business, community group, school, hospital, retirement home, bar, hotel, restaurant, etc.. Just turn up .... its the ground work for the sponsorship you'll be looking for over the next few years.
I don't disagree with you as such but the same possibilities were there for all those previous champions (less so for the Dubs with the size of the place) for all the good it did them.
Edit: Also, congrats Sligo. :)
Sean South
14/10/2012, 6:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jchUOEjQiTk
14/10/2012, 6:36 PM
what on earth happened in the showgrounds at halftime during the match? Im intrigued.. I saw the mexican wave all right and was thinking it was a bit early when the game want decided..
Fester
14/10/2012, 8:34 PM
Congrats to Sligo. Well won over the season. Enjoy the celebrations.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2012, 9:45 PM
what on earth happened in the showgrounds at halftime during the match? Im intrigued.. I saw the mexican wave all right and was thinking it was a bit early when the game want decided..
They were doing the official opening of the new stand behind the goals and kept going on about how this was such a great day for the club and how it was looking like it was a day that would remembered forever
14/10/2012, 10:29 PM
They were doing the official opening of the new stand behind the goals and kept going on about how this was such a great day for the club and how it was looking like it was a day that would remembered forever
Poor decision but hey who cares now, enjoy it !!
Brusher
15/10/2012, 8:12 AM
Congrats all at Sligo, especially to those who over the years kept the show on the road. Also, you're one club who actually replaces one excellent manager with another. What's the secret ?
Rasputin
15/10/2012, 10:25 AM
To be fair it was a very harsh penalty, if it went against us I would be raging.
Pats were brilliant, by far the best team we played all season, they deserved a draw on their second half performance.
It really would do them justice to win the cup now which im guessing they would have picked over a league title considering how long they have been waiting for the cup.
So much credit must go to the people behind the scenes who keep the massive fundraising work on the road, the club has come on in all aspects so much over the past few years.
Realistically we will not be still only be pulling 2000 next season I would guess, its difficult for us to push on from that figure on a regular basis when you consider the population centre of Sligo.
marinobohs
15/10/2012, 11:27 AM
Congrats to all involved at Sligo Rovers. Knocking on the door a few years and they have now reached the promised land. Well deserved over the season and style of football that is a credit to the League
Congrats also to Pats on their contribution to an excellent match on Saturday, all in all a great advertisement for LOI
:cool:
El-Pietro
15/10/2012, 11:51 AM
bah humbug
Straightstory
15/10/2012, 12:35 PM
Well done, Sligo! Hope Champions' League outing goes well next season.
Guinney
15/10/2012, 1:01 PM
I was just wondering how many games does a player have to play to earn a League winners medal? Would players who joined in the summer like Conneely or Buchanan played enough games. Does the sub keepers (Brush and Kelly - actually why so many sub keepers, we don't even bother with one at Dundalk :P ) receive a winners medal?
Also do you receive a medal if you left the club during the summer, for example Boco.
El-Pietro
15/10/2012, 1:41 PM
Kevin Doyle got one when we won the league in 2005 anyway.
15/10/2012, 1:43 PM
Club gets x amount of medals, it's up to them what they do with them.
I got 2. :cool:
marinobohs
15/10/2012, 2:07 PM
Club gets x amount of medals, it's up to them what they do with them.
I got 2. :cool:
Typical nouveau riche Limerick, flash buggers :cool:
Fivesilver
15/10/2012, 2:19 PM
Thanks for all the good will lads. The day had its flaws, particularly, as dong said, the halftime speeches that made it sound like it was in the bag (I was fuming throughout that). As for the penalty, I was on my feet roaring for it the instant he blocked it. It was one of those that I would have been livid if we didn't get it, but probably fairly annoyed if it was given against us. :p But it was at the very least justifiable. Doesn't matter how close he was to Peers - he jumped across with the aim of blocking the ball, and did so with his hand, which was outstretched.
Fair play to Pats - only team that really pushed us every time we played them. The main thing for us now is to consolidate. We're off to a good start, with a fair chunk of that squad already signed for next season - after the cup final last year everyone was out of contract. But anyway I think I'll worry about next year later.
15/10/2012, 2:24 PM
Deserved winners, the best team all season. Well done and enjoy your one season of glory :)
El-Pietro
15/10/2012, 2:38 PM
Fair play to Pats - only team that really pushed us every time we played them.
*cough*