View Full Version : Good fans
Beavis
05/09/2004, 12:52 AM
You're the driest old white crusty sh*tes to ever grace a football ground.I've had enough of home games.It's the last time I'll sit in silence while 3-0 up.F*ck the lot of yiz corporate boring suit c*nts.
I don't care if this is thrown into rubbish you'll see it there. ban me I couldn't give 2 ****es I've had enough with Ireland fans and there stuck up celtic tiger ponsy f*ck off b*llox.If your looking for the cricket game they play in white and probably arent very good.Anyone who was at the game today and didn't sing when there was a song starting around them I'm talking to you.Overconcious c*cknobs.F*ck the lot of yiz.eL fans I thought yous 'show up the rest of the stand' acoording to one poster today.Yous were crap today barely heard a tune out of ye (the odd group,fair play lads).
And thats my opinion.that felt good.
Ar se ho les
05/09/2004, 1:12 AM
it came across the same on the tv.....silence for most of the game......stunned silence when morrision scored :D
05/09/2004, 2:22 AM
yeah lets all get angry. i can tell ye that city fans started chants and got no response
oh wait...we did....we got the finger off a few pats fans :rolleyes:
Thought they just had the sound down in the pub!
Beavis
05/09/2004, 11:30 AM
Apologies for my drunken tirade which I now regret :o :o :o
05/09/2004, 2:13 PM
The less said about Fran Rooneys pathetic attempts to create a plastic atmosphere the better. If you think giving out a few wigs and sticks and getting some clown to sing Ballads is going to create an atmosphere than there's something wrong, and the Carlsberg Band were just taking the ****.
mistergreen
05/09/2004, 2:19 PM
everyone has the right to be tired and emotional now and then!
but seriously - what is with all this "organised" support; only saw the game on TV but I read in the papers today that we are now resorting to the German habit of playing music after each goal. Give it a break lads. We are Irish. We do not need "organised" support.
05/09/2004, 9:28 PM
it is impossible to falsely create atmosphere at a match. attempts to do so actually only do the opposite as genuine fans can only cringe at whats going on around them!!
a few points about what went on yesterday....
1. Any chance the crowd had of belting out Amhran na bhFiann was destroyed by the fact that the bands playing of it was broadcast over the pa system. no point even tryin to sing it as no chance of being heard!
2. why do they feel the need to play that awful music after a goal! surely the one time you dont need to encourage the crowd is when a goal has been scored???!! great moments of Irish sport will be replayed on tv in years to come with some tacky euro pop tune drowning out the crowd!
3. the "carsberg band" only seemed interested in entertaining themselves. at one stage as we were about to take a free kick on the edge of the box the band started up a drum roll as you would hear at a circus!!
to be honest... its a waste of time posting on boards such as this as it wont have any effect whatsoever. the only way is for genuine fans who are appalled at whats going on to drop a line to fran rooney and co. and let them know we want rid of all the razmataz!! :ball: :ball:
IsMiseSean
05/09/2004, 9:57 PM
'Hey Baby' after a goal has to stop. I watched the match on TV, I didn't hear any band?
05/09/2004, 10:10 PM
That 'You'll never walk alone' is a joke also.
As for playing a song after a goal, agreed, there's no need for it. They tried it a few times at the Brandy last season, no took any notice of it. They don't play it anymore.
05/09/2004, 11:19 PM
i hate "you'll never walk in scumlone" !!!!
if you want atmosphere before a game you need to build the spirits....u2 pride is a perfect example of a song that brings out the "pride" in our nation.....we need atmosphere not the likes of westlife and d side that were played at the last game i was at.
i do music for our club and one cd is all classic stuff, singalong if you will, with van morrison, the beatles etc.....
another one is all rock "atmosphere" bowie, queen, U2, thin lizzy, etc.....average crowd at a game are men in their 20/430's rhis is their music, not fcukin westlife....
Amhran na bhFiann isn't known by a lot of the crowd if the truth was told, needs to be loud as in their wisdom, landsdown only has a sound system in the stands and none in the "terrece" so the sound has to travel.....
ballads are pointless and just put people to sleep.....
music after a goal is scored....eh well, we do it and so do a lot of other EL teams but we don't have 35,000 peole to cheer....not needed on a live game with that maybe people...
rant over, your thoughts
your thoughts on the above........
05/09/2004, 11:30 PM
i hate "you'll never walk in scumlone" !!!!
was laughing at that as well
would not join in
i mean like how the fcuk did they associate that with the republic of ireland
and as for this eurostar feen :eek: ...dont get me started on that
06/09/2004, 8:20 AM
Can't wait for Wednesday when the people who burst a gut to get to the away games make sure they get the most out of it by singing their hearts out. The atmosphere at Lansdowne hasn't been great for a while now.
06/09/2004, 8:28 AM
i'd love to see the atmosphere in there if all the players were from el teams, our own if you will......too many fools on "scotish" jersies wanting ingerland to lose and not getting behind their own nation.
06/09/2004, 8:40 AM
too many fools on "scotish" jersies wanting ingerland to lose and not getting behind their own nation.
The problem for most is that they want to sit for the entire game and because they have Sky Sports at home and the only live game they see is Ireland in Lansdowne they don't know how to participate. It's something they're not used to.
If you buy a ticket for an Ireland game you have a duty, an obligation to contribute to the atmosphere.
A few blasts from Eric on the megaphone would sort them out!
06/09/2004, 8:41 AM
or maybe if they went to see football in their own league :eek:
Littlest Hobo
06/09/2004, 9:38 AM
said it before on another thread, too many people turn up without the right top on. Our team doesn't wear green and white hoops.
As for the Corporates, The FAI have begun to embrace these 'infidels' with their pretnetious and arroagant demeanours. MONEY talks now, not truth and honesty. Real fans and people don't count anymore :(
Gone are the days, when we used to sing the rebel songs, or the tacky renditons of Jacky's Army, and OLE, OLE :(
Gone are the days, when we used to raise our voices and hands, and rejoice the victories over our foes, or cry and console ourselves over our pints, when defeated.
06/09/2004, 9:45 AM
the only jersey i will wear to n ireland game is my club one, i won't wear the irish one with that big eircom logo on it.....simple as that.
sing what ya like i say, just leave the rebel songs at home.....not a big fan of them personally....but more noise is needed and all are agreed on that, otherwise zombie nation is here to stay.
Pat O' Banton
06/09/2004, 9:58 AM
i'd love to see the atmosphere in there if all the players were from el teams, our own if you will......too many fools on "scotish" jersies wanting ingerland to lose and not getting behind their own nation.
Oh really the problem is people who wear Celtic tops, not those who turn up in suits and are at the game so that they have a chance to let their mates down the golf club know about it :rolleyes: . Catch yourself on a bit, most of the Celtic fans I know who go to the games do sing and try to create an atmosphere (a chance to get in a cheap jibe about the booing is presenting itself here.)
Problem is at games like Cyprus the noise level tends to low anyway, as all over the football world, games where you expect your side to win are harder to get excited about, so the FAI try to do something about this, now I'm not going to slag them for this, however any attempt to produce an atmosphere from above tends to be looked down on by fans. What we should look at doing is (through the varous supporters clubs) doing things to produce an atmosphere ourselves, look at the way that this done on the continent, can you imagine Roma club officals having to try to help their own fans produce an atmosphere?
Pat O' Banton
06/09/2004, 10:00 AM
Agreed with every word of it ;)
06/09/2004, 10:14 AM
Problem is at games like Cyprus the noise level tends to low anyway, as all over the football world, games where you expect your side to win are harder to get excited about.
I personally can't agree with you there.
If anything, I was so nervous at games like Portugal and Russia etc. that I couldn't even clap. In games where the expectation level is less I'm more relaxed and can sing more.
look at the way that this done on the continent, can you imagine Roma club officals having to try to help their own fans produce an atmosphere?
You can never compare support at club games and support at international games.
On Saturday the eL supporters once again led the way with the songs and the chants but sound doesn't travel well on the North Terrace so the efforts were isolated. I think a megaphone in each area is needed to spread the word when a song starts.
I had to sing the whole of "All You Need is Duff" on my own!
Just wait and see how many people I get to sing that with me on Wednesday.
Hope Duff plays now so that I can be tested on that :)
Pat O' Banton
06/09/2004, 10:24 AM
I personally can't agree with you there.
If anything, I was so nervous at games like Portugal and Russia etc. that I couldn't even clap. In games where the expectation level is less I'm more relaxed and can sing more.
You can never compare support at club games and support at international games.
On Saturday the eL supporters once again led the way with the songs and the chants but sound doesn't travel well on the North Terrace so the efforts were isolated. I think a megaphone in each area is needed to spread the word when a song starts.
Just wait and see how many people I get to sing that with me on Wednesday.
Hope Duff plays now so that I can be tested on that :)
Horses for courses Hombre, I'm normally more screaming and shouting at these games, although I must admit that the last 15 mins against Portugal I could barely say a word I was so cripled with nerves.
Agree with the megaphone idea have seen it throughout the continent and it does work well. Until then everyone on this thread should at least agree to one thing, next time that your at an Ireland game and you hear someone chanting an Ireland song join in.
Singing Section anyone? I know these are horribly patronising but it could be a solution.
Apologies for my drunken tirade which I now regret :o :o :oBest post in ages. You talk a hell of more sense drunk than some people talk when they've not touched the devil's buttermilk for 20 years.
Lansdowne Road's atmosphere is sh*te. I can remember when the home crowd at the Denmark game in the eighties (numbering about 7K and almost outnumbered by the opposition) made more noise than you ever have got since the early nineties. I began giving up at the Poland game in 91. Some old c*nt behind me in a GAA sweater spent the whole game moaning, the pr*ck. This was just two years after Spanish TV were inundated with complaints about not being able to hear the commentator for all the noise. Since then I've heard of someone seeing an old lady doing the knitting at a top, no tickets to be had, match.
Bring back the old rebel songs, I say! Sean South, The Boys of the Old Brigade, Men Behind the wire etc, although I'd draw the line at 'Say Hello To The Provos.' FFS, what's Amhrán na bhFiann? A romantic ditty about 'love across the Shankill-Falls divide'? Anyway, anything's better than the cr*p atmosphere at present.
06/09/2004, 2:01 PM
I didn't even hear that being sung, I think that sums it up.
Littlest Hobo
06/09/2004, 2:02 PM
Best post in ages. You talk a hell of more sense drunk than some people talk when they've not touched the devil's buttermilk for 20 years.
Lansdowne Road's atmosphere is sh*te. I can remember when the home crowd at the Denmark game in the eighties (numbering about 7K and almost outnumbered by the opposition) made more noise than you ever have got since the early nineties. I began giving up at the Poland game in 91. Some old c*nt behind me in a GAA sweater spent the whole game moaning, the pr*ck. This was just two years after Spanish TV were inundated with complaints about not being able to hear the commentator for all the noise. Since then I've heard of someone seeing an old lady doing the knitting at a top, no tickets to be had, match.
Bring back the old rebel songs, I say! Sean South, The Boys of the Old Brigade, Men Behind the wire etc, although I'd draw the line at 'Say Hello To The Provos.' FFS, what's Amhrán na bhFiann? A romantic ditty about 'love across the Shankill-Falls divide'? Anyway, anything's better than the cr*p atmosphere at present.
F**king right on. 'C'mon yee young rebels and listen while I sing, for love of ones country is a terrible thing. It banishes feeling...........
You all know the rest :D
Duffer
06/09/2004, 2:13 PM
I'm happy to say i did meself proud by leaving saturday afternoon with a sore throat, there was too many long gaps of nothing though.
As for the "Hey Baby" bit .......................who the hell thought of that they should be shot with their own balls of sh*te.
poocher
06/09/2004, 2:50 PM
It's one thing some of the fans seeing the Republic of Ireland and Celtic F.C. as the same entity, it's another when soccer's governing body in Ireland promotes our international games as if the FAI was the Irish franchise for Glasgow Celtic, rather than the trustees of a team representing a sovereign
nation.
sylvo
10/09/2004, 11:03 AM
No need to be sorry, you were only telling the truth. Lansdowne road's apmosphere is desperate. The apmosphere in Basel on wednesday night was fantastic even a few old song's that have'nt been song at Ireland game's in a long time got a run out.
It's a shame it can't be like that all the time.
Junior
10/09/2004, 11:30 AM
It's one thing some of the fans seeing the Republic of Ireland and Celtic F.C. as the same entity, it's another when soccer's governing body in Ireland promotes our international games as if the FAI was the Irish franchise for Glasgow Celtic, rather than the trustees of a team representing a sovereign
nation.
In what way do the FAI do this?
Junior
10/09/2004, 11:35 AM
said it before on another thread, too many people turn up without the right top on. Our team doesn't wear green and white hoops.
Gone are the days, when we used to sing the rebel songs, or the tacky renditons of Jacky's Army, and OLE, OLE :(
Gone are the days, when we used to raise our voices and hands, and rejoice the victories over our foes, or cry and console ourselves over our pints, when defeated.
what a load of ******. too many cnuts on hear telling people what they should and should not wear to Ireland games :mad:
funnily enough theres me thinking that Celtic fans get criticised for singing too many rebel songs......you have me all confused :confused:
Beavis
10/09/2004, 12:13 PM
The apmosphere in Basel on wednesday night was fantastic even a few old song's that have'nt been song at Ireland game's in a long time got a run out.
It's a shame it can't be like that all the time.
Wednesday night was great.My fingers were bleeding from hitting that bodhran so much :eek: .There was barely a quiet moment.'Que Sera' was the icing.
It was dissapointing though that B Kerr was so outspoken on our home fans after the game but didn't give a single word of praise to how the away fans performed that night.
10/09/2004, 4:07 PM
Its all well and good complaining about the atmosphere at Lansdowne but until we have more songs than "Ireland, Ireland", "Keano, Keano" and "come on you boys in green" nothing's going to change.
Wednesday was a great show until the 82nd minute when this c*nt below us gave out to the little buddha - aka Davros - shouting at him to 'Shut up! Shut the f*ck up!' While Dav had some hard words for a certain Corkonian, at the time he was giving out about the ref once more falling for Yakin's diving. The muppett in the sky blue and white rugger shirt soon shut the f*ck up himself when he saw the abuse he was getting from those around Dav. Anyway this is the sh*t we are getting. Told to shut up at a football match. It makes me f*cking mad. :mad: :mad:
Can someone put me right here but I think I saw this particular rugby shirt in an Irish Times on that great Irish sporting occasion which gets tons of publicity in the Irish press (no not the All -Ireland Football final), the Leinster Schools Rugger cup, of which if I'm correct these are the colours of that fine establishment for knocking out some right bell-ends, Blackrock School. Perhaps it was Patrick J?
Wednesday was a great show until the 82nd minute when this c*nt below us gave out to the little buddha - aka Davros - shouting at him to 'Shut up! Shut the f*ck up!' While Dav had some hard words for a certain Corkonian, at the time he was giving out about the ref once more falling for Yakin's diving. The muppett in the sky blue and white rugger shirt soon shut the f*ck up himself when he saw the abuse he was getting from those around Dav. Anyway this is the sh*t we are getting. Told to shut up at a football match. It makes me f*cking mad. :mad: :mad:
Yeah saw that alright. I think most people around quickly told that idiot in the rugby shirt to shut up himself. There were a few muppets there who looked like they were never at a match before but the vast majority were well into it and the atmosphere was great for most of the game.
Lopez, was it yourself, Davros and a few others that we met outside the pub (the one with the Union Jack and tricolour over the door) at around 2 in the morning so?
lopez
10/09/2004, 10:38 PM
Yeah saw that alright. I think most people around quickly told that idiot in the rugby shirt to shut up himself. There were a few muppets there who looked like they were never at a match before but the vast majority were well into it and the atmosphere was great for most of the game.
Lopez, was it yourself, Davros and a few others that we met outside the pub (the one with the Union Jack and tricolour over the door) at around 2 in the morning so?Was that you? :eek: :eek: FFS. Wouldn't of guessed. Small world alright. Who was the other bloke with you? The drunken savage with me was Sylvo, BTW. Funny how none of us brought up this web site or a certain Scottish football club. Just as well, eh? ;) Anyway's, nice talking to you and a good night was had with a bizarre meeting later in two pubs with Brian Kerr, and the removal of the 'Sam Maguire Cup' from a pub who thought it was funny to charge me 21 francs for a cognac. Might meet for a pint in Paris.
Was that you? :eek: :eek: FFS. Wouldn't of guessed. Small world alright. Who was the other bloke with you? The drunken savage with me was Sylvo, BTW. Funny how none of us brought up this web site or a certain Scottish football club. Just as well, eh? ;) Anyway's, nice talking to you and a good night was had with a bizarre meeting later in two pubs with Brian Kerr, and the removal of the 'Sam Maguire Cup' from a pub who thought it was funny to charge me 21 francs for a cognac. Might meet for a pint in Paris.
Yeah nice meeting ye, I like to put faces to the names on here.
Don't know if I'll make Paris or not yet but if I do I'm sure we'll definately bump into each other again for a pint.
The bloke with me that you were also talking to was Neil.
Nice scarf ye had btw! :D
Ah,the Golfer-types.....God love 'em......my language was a little coarse
Of course you're language was "a little coarse".... you were at a football match ffs!
If one or two muppets get upset by such things they shouldn't be there in the first place. Fcuk em, it's like the Dub in front of us who got upset with one of the lads for calling the ref a jackeen! :D
Duncan Gardner
11/09/2004, 9:42 AM
Of course you're language was "a little coarse".... you were at a football match ffs!
I think Dav's language was a little coarse because there was a 'Y' in the day :D
Did he match his sending off (as non-playing manager) in a Sunday league game last term- allegedly for calling an oppo defender a "fat, bald, c*nt"?
Your game in Paris looks like a good 'un. They're saying bring back Santini already!
Beavis
11/09/2004, 12:17 PM
Its all well and good complaining about the atmosphere at Lansdowne but until we have more songs than "Ireland, Ireland", "Keano, Keano" and "come on you boys in green" nothing's going to change.
The Swiss outing proved this to be complete nonsense.The other songs are there,we sang many on Wednesday.
sylvo
11/09/2004, 12:28 PM
[QUOTE=lopez]Was that you? :eek: :eek: FFS. Wouldn't of guessed. Small world alright. Who was the other bloke with you? The drunken savage with me was Sylvo.
Hey I seem to remember ;) you were'nt to far off the mark yerself, only change that it was you and yer new trophy friend sam Maguire guiding the way home not me for a change.
Can't say I got much revision done yesterday :( on my first day of studying.
sylvo
11/09/2004, 12:36 PM
Lopez, was it yourself, Davros and a few others that we met outside the pub (the one with the Union Jack and tricolour over the door) at around 2 in the morning so?
Were you one of the two lad's that was wearing the Cork City shirt's talking to an old mate of our's Galway Brian who we went over to say hello to.
Bit sketchy about the time, well to be honest i'm a bit sketchy of anything that happened between wednesday midnight and when my plane landed landed at Luton airport.
Nice scarf ye had btw! :DUnfortunately it was handed to a Dub aquaintance to show the lads in Dublin. :rolleyes: It's coming home, it's coming home, it's coming - like my Sam Maguire that the Mayo lad was running around with initially - hopefully after the Paris game or else there will be a stewards enquiry. I mentioned it to a bloke at work who likes to hang out the SGF at big footy tournaments aswell as the 23 April, and I described it to him complete with the index finger, the brown pig and the St George's flag. He then went on to say that our boss was doing cartwheels about his side's draw in Cardiff. I mentioned that I heard someone got sent off for a rude gesture and he said he didn't know why he did it but: 'You know Lopez, everyone hates the f*cking Welsh.' I replied: 'Dunno mate. I didn't see any scarves in Switzerland with 'F*ck Wales' on them.' ' :D
you were'nt to far off the mark yerself, only change that it was you and yer new trophy friend sam Maguire guiding the way home not me for a change. Can't say I got much revision done yesterday :( on my first day of studying.Yeah I know it makes a change that I wasn't waking up in hospital bed, but I think that may have been just a bad pint that day. Anyway, we soon sobered up - yeah you included - when we saw the Boston Celtics jacket talking tactics for France with Brian Kerr and Packie Bonner. :eek:
[QUOTE=Beavis]Wednesday night was great.My fingers were bleeding from hitting that bodhran so much :eek: .There was barely a quiet moment.'Que Sera' was the icing.
Wednesday was indeed mental, Got a bit of a knee injury meself after we scored and then further aggrivating my injury with a bit of an altercation with the pavement on leaving some bar near a park. Roll on Paris. :D
I want to go to paris but im looking for a cheap package any advice pm me
tanx
Beavis
12/09/2004, 5:44 PM
So what are we going to do about it in Paris then? We are Paris-bound next month and I'll be hacked off big time if the atmos is shee ite. If there are 20,000 Ireland fans there we can really make ourselves heard. And yes . . when you buy a ticket to go see Ireland play, you have a DUTY to back the boys and make some noise.
It might be that because there are so many Irish it will be just like a home game with people not interested in getting behind the team.Hopefully it wont be the case.
Anyway while on the subject of Paris could anyone who lives in or visits Paris regularly suggest a pub,preferably with an front beer garden,that we could gather and sing some songs,like Paddy Reillys in Swiss.Access to an appropriate metro line or close proximity to the ground would have to be a neccesity.
17/09/2004, 10:39 AM
I think it was this thread where someone mentioned Lansdowne is too open to build a great atmosphere. If 7,000 Shels fans can do it I'm sure 36,000 Ireland fans can turn it into a fortress if they really tried.
Anyone hear the Celtic fans drowning out the champions league music with YNWA? Talk about shivers down the spine. :)
nope but I certainly saw a few leaving before the end....talk about fickle, british clowns
17/09/2004, 11:00 AM
nope but I certainly saw a few leaving before the end....talk about fickle, british cúnts
It's their own loss because they were looking at the European Champions elect in my opinion. Barca for the la Liga and Champions League double!
Fair play to Shels but we're back to the whole eL fans thing again.
For too many people their only taste of live football is the odd trip Lansdowne Road. They're so used to sitting in front of the TV watching Sky Sports being "entertained" that they don't know what to do at a live game and think that singing and chanting is for others.
17/09/2004, 11:03 AM
nope but I certainly saw a few leaving before the end....talk about fickle, british cúnts
No, I'd rather talk about you. Change the record ffs. Original you ain't.
It's their own loss because they were looking at the European Champions elect in my opinion. Barca for the la Liga and Champions League double!
I'm no fan of them either, P, but you know that whoever's playing there are always people who leave a ground early to avoid the traffic, crowds, etc. wws is just making a rather tired attempt at points-scoring against Celtic fans.
:rolleyes: PP
care to explain?
I make one refrence to glasgow's celtic and I have to change the record?? why
ok i dont like Donnie Darko
satisfied??