View Full Version : How Do You Feel About Kenny Leaving?

07/12/2001, 9:04 PM
Are you boys worried about staying up now that Kenny has gone or do you think you'll survive?
Sunday is a good chance for Longford to show there mettle.

08/12/2001, 1:45 AM
We're all pretty shocked about Kenny leaving. Its the timing more than anything else, Stephen has been here a long time and hes done wonders for us, hes put us on the map, but the timing is all wrong. Can he not have waited till the end of the season at least, till we were safe from relegation. I have it on good authority the players will do their utmost to keep us in the Premier Division, but what then? More questions than answers really. Needless to say, we're all very shocked, where the fcuk do we go from here? :(

Sinéad
08/12/2001, 1:19 PM
Theres life after Kenny! There is no point in wishing for him to come back because we all know hes gone. Now, its time to move on and look back on his time with us with fond memories.

He was bound to go and well, although it was sudden, the story that is Longford Town unfolds again. Dublin managers come and go! Country clubs will always be the stepping stone to better things, these better things being Dublin Clubs. I know I sound bitter but its happening all over again and Stephen Kenny's departure reinforces my thoughts on Longford's status within the League of Ireland. We will always be the country club and as far as I can see the FAI will look after their own...their own being Dublin. Reducing the league to a 10 ten league is an attempt to keep the country clubs out......

Stephen's timing was all wrong. But who would have wanted him to stay another month knowing that he would be leaving to join Bohs?? I'm glad he is not coming down tonight. I mean, how could he motivate a team to go out and win knowing that the following week he would take his place in the away dressing room.......

Stephen Kenny won't have it easy with Bohs, and in the end "its all about the money".....I'm just hoping he won't dismantle the "team we love so well".

The main thing now, is for us all to stick together and get behind the team tonight. I'm sure they feel a certain amount of betrayal too and morale will be low.

We have a stadium, we got to a Cup final, We were in Europe, We are in the Premier Division.......Lets not let go now......We're here to stay, with or without the KING..........

08/12/2001, 2:06 PM
Well said, lets not be negative about the whole thing. We've fought back from setbacks before, we wouldnt be in this position only for Kenny. Its the end of an era, but its not the end. Get behind the lads tonight everyone, and lets get three points in the bag!!

Sinéad
08/12/2001, 2:39 PM
Remember;

Don't cry because its over, Smile because it happened........

08/12/2001, 11:29 PM
Jeeze, us corkies could learn a thing or two about how not to be bitter and begruding from ye folk!
On a serious note, I'd like to thank Kenny for all he's done for Longford, it's been great for the league- not to mention the fact that I'd never have found out about "Stuie Byrne Specials" if it hadn't been for him!!! :D
Now lets hope he goes and gets bohs relegated! :D

09/12/2001, 5:31 AM
Originally posted by Sinéad
Don't cry because its over, Smile because it happened........

So young and so philosophical.
We're away to your lot in the New Year so maybe we can cheer you up.
Remember the 4-1.

Sinéad
09/12/2001, 7:09 AM
Ah well Peadar I try..... :D :D :D

No point crying after all "If you can't be a sun, Don't be a cloud!"

Kenny enjoyed great success with the Town and supporters enjoyed what that brought. Now, its time to move on.......The mood amoung the players is uplifting. The lads gave it there all last night and in the end they secured the three points.

There was a Town before Kenny and there will be after..........

09/12/2001, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by Peadar

So young and so philosophical.
We're away to your lot in the New Year so maybe we can cheer you up.
Remember the 4-1.
don't you be givin them longford culchies any ideas above their station. They had their day in the sun (well rain) that day and it won't happen again! :D :D :D

Xlex
10/12/2001, 9:06 AM
There are plenty of good managers out there!! Stephen Kenny was great and all but he is not irreplacable. I wish him well at Bohs. He is taking a very well paid job at Bohs which holds greater demands. At the end of the day he probably felt change was eminant. Doesn't most want to push themselfs to limits. Consider last year, was last year, Longfords limits for the forseeable future. There is only so far he could have brought us. The timing of a different approch may even bring us greater rewards, than those of Stephen, who knows the Cup! But be assured, it will be a long long time before we see a Longford Town team that hasn't even been remotely inspired by Stephen Kenny.

We'll will be O.K. Well done and thanks Stephen for the great job completed.

I think the Same old Dublin thing is over played and that doesn't mean don't chase compensation. Stephen wanted a move and it wasn't Bohs especially. But apart from Dolan (may have gone back upstairs) who is having a great season, who would have moved? Who knows when a job with 'a bigger club' would have come about? Bohs wanted the man and got the man. Bohs illegally approched Stephen Kenny. Bohs knew quite fcuking well Stephen Kenny had a 'verbal contract', and who do you think leaked that?? If he had a written contract, Bohs may not have got Stephen! so in part it falls partally at Longfords door! If it happened in England you would say, its normal anyway.

10/12/2001, 9:38 AM
Yeah well said Xlex. Time will tell whether Stephen has made the right move. I wish him well, i think the game last nite has changed people's minds about Kenny, i for one hope he gets a good reception after all hes done for us. He'll get a bit of stick off some people, but i hope Stephen acknowldges the fact that the fans have done a lot for him too. As for a successor, its obviously a very important decision and i just hope we make the right one to carry on the good work. The players will be fine, you cant buy the team spirit shown on Saturday nite!!! And on a final note.... 2-0!!!!!! ;)

10/12/2001, 9:41 AM
He's a judas b@stard for the way he went about leaving the club. Why he had to be so underhand about it I don't know. I can see his reasoning for wanting to go to a fully pro club (with the most fickle fans in Ireland), but why he couldn't have let the club know that he was talking to Bohs, or why he didn't insist that they made an approach for him through the correct channels. I hope we take bohs to the fookin cleaners in court (but have my doubts). Stop the Kenny love in - he's fooked us over big style on this one.....

Xlex
10/12/2001, 9:48 AM
His methods were totally wrong, but then again, would you tell your employer you were going for an interview. It been his first change in management and it probably happened a bit quickly, he probably realised it too late to insist on the proper channels. I think Bohs are at fault with the whole underhanded approches, and Stephen looks the villan.

10/12/2001, 10:19 AM
That's bull - he's been in the game long enough to know that Bohs were supposed to approach him the Town's permission. I've nothing but praise and respect for what he achieved at the club, but the way he left has left a very bad taste. I'm not sure what reaction he'll get off me on Saturday, but it won't be all the hearty backslapping in that seems to be going on here.....

Xlex
10/12/2001, 10:43 AM
I wasn't shrugging his faults off competely on the Bowez. His poor performance on leaving the town is a sour end to what was his magnificent raport with Town fans and the commitee alike.

Sinéad
10/12/2001, 2:16 PM
Stephen owed it to the Club and the supporters to put us in the picture. A phonecall was all the club got informing them that he had GONE.
However, He doesn't deserve a hostile reception because thats exactly what the BOEZ want and tabloids will cream us for it.There's no point being bitter because its not going to bring him back.

Its sad the way it all ended but its not the first time Longford Town were fcuked around and I'm sure, like all the other times, they'll pull through, Saturday night being a prime example.

Wizzard
10/12/2001, 2:37 PM
Well said, let's not drop down to their level. SK may come to regret his decision in the future. But we shouldn't give him a hard time.

What would have happened if SK was managing Bohs last season and they lost the Cup final. I don't think he would have got the same reception he got in Longford. :cool:

10/12/2001, 2:49 PM
I reckon the best reception is silence - that'll freak him and bohs out far more than abuse and at the same time making it clear we're not happy. And when I say silence, only in terms of him obviously sing your hearts out for the team.....
btw Should be able to get to the Flare shop on Friday.

6-4
10/12/2001, 3:06 PM
Why can't you accept that he was offered a fantastic opportunity at Bohs ? Put yourself in his position, would you turn down the chance to manage a full time pro outfit. I honestly reckon he did as much as he could with Longford.

A lot of what is coming out is unneccessary and disappointing. The abuse that our fans got at the weekend was terrible. Most Bohs fans before this weekend had nothing but the utmost respect for what Longford had done. Now it's all gone sour. I mean even the Longford team appreciated us after the Cup Final. How many other teams have chanted your name and applauded you off the pitch ?

Also lay off Stephen at the weekend. Acknowledge what he has done for your club.

Dave.

10/12/2001, 3:21 PM
Why can't you accept that he was offered a fantastic opportunity at Bohs ?
I've stated before that it's not that he took the job, and accept that it was good opportunity for him. What I don't have to accept is that he sneaked around behind the clubs back and only said anything to the committee when he was resigning. There is also the point that the press knew he was accepting the job before the club did. Professional me @rse. Bohs are also culpable in this with an illegal approach for a manager of another club. You expect me to be happy with that?
On what happened with the Bohs fans down in Longford - wasn't there so don't really like to comment, but as you know I'm mates with Philo, and know a few others that were involved. I think that's a discussion for another thread though......

Xlex
10/12/2001, 3:25 PM
Originally posted by Macy
I can see his reasoning for wanting to go to a fully pro club

6-4, get your fcuking head outta the sand. Most understand he took the "chance to manage a full time pro outfit". As Macy earlier stated! It's the method which Kenny/ Bohs went about this 'transfer' which is annoying, someone broke rules!! and us country clubs keep getting anal.

Sinéad
10/12/2001, 3:52 PM
And just because you're a full time professional Club from Dublin you think you can go "to Town" on the country clubs.

Its going to the High court...like it or lump it!

Stevo
10/12/2001, 3:53 PM
where can u get flares macy ?????

we should concentrate on supporting the team & making an atmosphere that encourages the players hence the flares + buckie !!!

f**k kenny don't give the papers & him the plessure by abusing him its only steping down 2 the "bohez" level

Stevo
10/12/2001, 3:54 PM

we should concentrate on supporting the team & making an atmosphere that encourages the players hence the flares + buckie !!!

f**k kenny don't give the papers & him the plessure by abusing him its only steping down 2 the "bohez" level

Stevo
10/12/2001, 3:54 PM

10/12/2001, 4:05 PM
It's alright - I heard you the first time! There's a place in Dun Laoghaire just off the main shopping street - a boat shop or something. Not a 100%, but a day off on Friday to find it.....

10/12/2001, 4:10 PM
Flares????? Has the missus been dictacting your wardrobe Macy? :D Joking aside, its going to be one hell of an atmosphere Sat nite.

10/12/2001, 4:18 PM
Flares????? Has the missus been dictacting your wardrobe Macy?
you saying she's got bad taste, are ya, are ya? That's fighting talk..... ;)

10/12/2001, 4:39 PM
Just heard off Longfordlion that Kenny was interviewed by a Dublin radio station and he mistakenly referred to Longford as "we", says it all i reckon!!

CHANTS FOR SATURDAY:
You should have stayed with the Longford, you should have stayed with the Longford!!!

Your Town and you know you are, your Town and you know you are....

Philo
10/12/2001, 11:07 PM
Stephen Kenny had been attending Bohs matches for the last couple of months - many of us had spotted him in the Jodi stand on several occasions. Whether he was moving in as soon as he saw that Mahon was in trouble, or whether he was invited by Bohs' officials is probably something that will never be made clear. Whatever, he's made what he feels to be a upwards move of his own free will.

11/12/2001, 8:28 AM
Yeah, and I'm sure he's been in Richer for both Pats and Rovers games as well. He always did go to other games if we weren't playing.

Xlex
11/12/2001, 8:41 AM
Heard it on the Radio that Longford were going to use the secrets of Trade act to prevent him managing Bohs next Saturday. The strawberries made some joke of it.

11/12/2001, 8:53 AM
Whether Kenny's action were right or wrong, one thing is for sure...

The whole country bar Phibsboro is shouting for Longford Town this Saturday!

11/12/2001, 9:20 AM
Even Athlone??? The whole country would've been supporting us anyway.....

11/12/2001, 9:32 AM
Originally posted by Macy
The whole country would've been supporting us anyway.....
Fair enough!