View Full Version : Report on the future of Galway football

Pages : 1 [2]

bullit
04/10/2012, 10:49 PM
MUGS sounds right to me (Mervue United,Galway,Salthill) ;)

geezer
04/10/2012, 10:53 PM
I dunno. Might not be to the taste of the Mervue and SD delegations.

its Galway hurlers for hurling, Galway Races for racing, Galway footballers for Football and Galway United for Soccer

SD has proven beyond doubt messing with names will go over the heads of most ordinary sports supporters in the region

04/10/2012, 10:53 PM
I just did some sums on the back of a calculator.

If three Galway clubs exist next season, it would be the equivalent of Dublin fielding 40 League of Ireland sides.

04/10/2012, 11:19 PM
Connacht's gates have quadrupled since this mess was allowed happen and if it iisnt sorted LOI soccer will be a dead duck in Galway,

And Munsters gates have increased by over 10,000% while Limerick senior football has been in the doldrums.

One of the worst arguments I've ever seen on the internet.

I just did some sums on the back of a calculator.

If three Galway clubs exist next season, it would be the equivalent of Dublin fielding 40 League of Ireland sides.

Population of Galway: 250,000

Number of Galway Clubs: 3

People per club: 83,333

Population of Dublin: 1,250,000

Number of Dublin Clubs: 5

People per club: 250,000

Use the front next time. :p

It's still rubbish mind. (for the record I reckon there's probably too many Dublin clubs aswell.)

04/10/2012, 11:21 PM
SD has proven beyond doubt messing with names will go over the heads of most ordinary sports supporters in the region

Suffix's don't matter a jot.

Take it from a Limerick fan. ;)

04/10/2012, 11:32 PM
Population of Galway: 250,000

Number of Galway Clubs: 3

People per club: 83,333

Population of Dublin: 1,250,000

Number of Dublin Clubs: 5

People per club: 250,000

Use the front next time. :p

It's still rubbish mind. (for the record I reckon there's probably too many Dublin clubs aswell.)
I was using the urban area populations :)

05/10/2012, 1:30 AM
(for the record I reckon there's probably too many Dublin clubs aswell.)

Damn straight. But there's no point in changing the Dublin clubs.

I reckon, for once, I might have been right. They're looking at one Galway club, formation of a Connacht Senior League, with promotion/relegation from a new Connacht Junior League too.
Mervue and Salthill will drop to the CSL, but get automatic FAI cup and League cup slots I'd imagine (for their recognition to League of Ireland thingy or whatever they called it)

Whether now, they are smart and call for an overhaul of all the senior leagues, with possible promotion to League of Ireland, is another thing altogether.

For once, that was something good to come out of the FAI. An unexpectedly good report.

culloty82
05/10/2012, 7:27 AM
Delaney quoted as saying that the report is unlikely to be implemented before 2014 (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/fai-one-galway-team-enough-209956.html).

Dalymountrower
05/10/2012, 8:16 AM
Delaney quoted as saying that the report is unlikely to be implemented before 2014 (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/fai-one-galway-team-enough-209956.html).

I would have thought that a straightforward solution would be that the three existing Galway teams would compete in the Connacht senior league keeping their club names and identity and a senior representative side would be formed by the three entities. Tribesmen, Connacht Rangers, Corrib Rovers, Galway Triniity, Galway Bay Packers, Galway Aontaithe.... plenty of neutral names to choose from.

05/10/2012, 11:09 AM
Having read the report, it makes a lot of sense and reads well for GUST. The new club option (basically a new GUFC) is identified as the best one and basically the new CSL is seen as the new home for Mervue and SD.

I like that the authors saw the issues with the football pyramid and recommend the CSL is reformed. The suggestion of a Connacht junior league is likely to be more controversial, albeit this would also be good to see.

gufcfan
05/10/2012, 11:17 AM
A CSL is badly needed imo. The step up from junior to (hopefully) LOI Premier with Galway United was and will be huge. Lads all over Connaught who come through the underage setups but don't quite make it to senior LOI level or can't get a game at senior level, need a better level of competition than their local district leagues to fall back to or help them develop so they can have a crack at LOI in time. All this without traipsing around the country to get beaten nearly every week and finish dead last.

05/10/2012, 12:23 PM
It would seem rather silly to create a club uniting the various factions in Galway soccer and not call it Galway United.

But surely there'll still be some resentment towards Galway United from Mervue/Salthill? If they're forced to give up their league status to a 'new' club, then it should be a 'new' club, and not just Galway United replanted back in the league. Just palying devils advicate here, could certainly see how some may have an issue with them.

Loads of other names they can use to appease all factions (if only for appearances sake) and it would seem petty if the GUST people insisted on the name Galway United

05/10/2012, 4:19 PM
A quote from www.galwayunitedfc.net

"As per the CEO of the FAI, tonight will probably be the last League of Ireland match at Eamonn Deacy Park for 17 months, and possibly a lot longer.

A sad day of League of Ireland football in Galway, at least we have the rugby and the GAA, as the CEO helpfully pointed out in the media today. "

05/10/2012, 4:37 PM
A quote from www.galwayunitedfc.net

"As per the CEO of the FAI, tonight will probably be the last League of Ireland match at Eamonn Deacy Park for 17 months, and possibly a lot longer.

A sad day of League of Ireland football in Galway, at least we have the rugby and the GAA, as the CEO helpfully pointed out in the media today. "

Is there a presumption that SD and Mervue are going to pull out of has there been word coming from them since the release of the report they will not compete next season in the LOI?

Understandable if they choose not to if they are going to be leaving it in name anyway at least.

gufcfan
05/10/2012, 4:59 PM
and not just Galway United replanted back in the league. Just palying devils advicate here, could certainly see how some may have an issue with them.
The people that ran that company are out of the picture. GUST were always there plugging away, doing their best, picking up the pieces as they went, despite not having the power to force what was a private company, to do the right thing.

The SD Galway experiment shows that messing with names is not a good idea. None of us expected them to get great crowds, but the fact that they got zero transfers from United shows that we should be very very wary of a name change.

I know how this sounds, but the fact of the matter is, everyone involved in football in Galway wants a resolution to the situation NOW, not in 2014. Mervue and Salthill have been more or less told they will not be in the league in 2014. They likely won't bother with next season. It costs their membership enough as it is.

There's somewhere in the region of 40 junior clubs in Galway. Their interests need to be served too and shouldn't be cast aside to placate the few.

Tribesman2
05/10/2012, 9:18 PM
There is still an issue with debts that GUST owe from their year in charge of GUFC. I received an infraction for mentioning this on here before, but I'm only speaking the truth, pro GUST people on here can pretend otherwise and brush it under the carpet. There's money owed for the rent of Terryland park and to local businesses. This was a subject of discussion at the meeting yesterday

JC_GUFC
05/10/2012, 10:00 PM
Loads of other names they can use to appease all factions (if only for appearances sake) and it would seem petty if the GUST people insisted on the name Galway United[/QUOTE]

I think the plan is to take 'Galway' from SD Galway and 'United' from Mervue United. A bit like you did when taking the 'Saint' from Saint Francis!

El-Pietro
06/10/2012, 11:58 AM
So you know for sure Cobh and Tralee wont get in to make it 8 then?

unless Cobh have payed Davin O'Neill and Greg O'Halloran (and probably others) what they owe them then they can't get in. Last year that was the problem and I know Greg would not accept anything less than what he was owed, while Dav said that they had made several payment agreements in the past and never followed through.

bluemovie
06/10/2012, 12:06 PM
Was last night the first time both Salthill and Mervue won on the same night? The future of Galway football has never been so bright!!!

06/10/2012, 12:17 PM
There is still an issue with debts that GUST owe from their year in charge of GUFC. I received an infraction for mentioning this on here before, but I'm only speaking the truth, pro GUST people on here can pretend otherwise and brush it under the carpet. There's money owed for the rent of Terryland park and to local businesses. This was a subject of discussion at the meeting yesterday

No one in GUST is running away from anything we have an excellent working relationship with the Galway FA despite one clubs best attempts to do anything to ruin it. I see your alter ego has dissappeared of GUST Forum I wonder why. Speaking of rent due and debts ............................ how ironic.:cool:

Tribesman2
06/10/2012, 2:42 PM
No one in GUST is running away from anything we have an excellent working relationship with the Galway FA despite one clubs best attempts to do anything to ruin it. I see your alter ego has dissappeared of GUST Forum I wonder why. Speaking of rent due and debts ............................ how ironic.:cool:

The FAI acknowledged that both clubs have been exemplary in financial terms

GUST took on the running of GUFC in 2011 and said they would honour the debts that were owed. They then jumped ship and left the debts there. The debts GUST ran up in their year in charge were pretty sizeable as well but they've done their best to lump them in with the old club. The FAI aren't buying this and want them to honour their debts.

People deserve to know the real story. GUST have promised to be open, honest and transparent to everyone. How is it that most of their followers and supporters who contribute money to them weekly think that they're contributing towards a GUST league of ireland team next season, when in fact it's been used to pay off a sizeable 5 figure debt that GUST owe to businesses and the Galway district league for the rent of terryland park.

06/10/2012, 3:05 PM
Its going to run the u19's Jim which will cost us €25,000 to run this year. The debts are owed by GUFC ltd. Jim and everyone who was at our meeting last night or any meetin we have knows exactly what the whole story is warts and all . Anyone is welcome to our MC Meetings to ask any question they want Jim and it will be answered openly and honestly I wonder is the same the norm with your club Jim.

you hide behind your different names on forums but we all know for months who you are maybe the blogs name should be sponsored by Diageo!!!

06/10/2012, 3:10 PM
Just for interest why dont you say all this face to face you had your opportunity on Thursday in the Ardilaun with our reps at the FAI meeting .

Tribesman2
06/10/2012, 3:22 PM
Its going to run the u19's Jim which will cost us €25,000 to run this year. The debts are owed by GUFC ltd. Jim and everyone who was at our meeting last night or any meetin we have knows exactly what the whole story is warts and all . Anyone is welcome to our MC Meetings to ask any question they want Jim and it will be answered openly and honestly I wonder is the same the norm with your club Jim.

you hide behind your different names on forums but we all know for months who you are maybe the blogs name should be sponsored by Diageo!!!

Good man Jim

You're trying to cod everyone, you've been fairly successful in brainwashing some people who continue to provide you with money. They'll come to their senses soon enough when the truth is out in the open and GUST are exposed for what they really are, a sham.

Tribesman2
06/10/2012, 3:26 PM
Just for interest why dont you say all this face to face you had your opportunity on Thursday in the Ardilaun with our reps at the FAI meeting .

I see what you mean by calling me Jim. Well you're well off the target, but I'm sure it will fuel the GUST persecution complex about the 2 clubs and everyone else out to get them. GUST, the true revolutionaries fighting for the good of Galway football.

06/10/2012, 3:42 PM
Good man Jim

You're trying to cod everyone, you've been fairly successful in brainwashing some people who continue to provide you with money. They'll come to their senses soon enough when the truth is out in the open and GUST are exposed for what they really are, a sham.

Now that is absolute rubbish and a slight on all the people who have kept going through thick and thin.

geezer
06/10/2012, 5:31 PM
Now that is absolute rubbish and a slight on all the people who have kept going through thick and thin.

great day in shop street today, huge interest in the copies of the report which were flying off the table for only a fiver

The report feedback to day is fairly positive and the goodwill is there now. The people are not fooled they know they are dealing with people who believe in the project and have the determination to see it through no matter how long it takes.

NeverFeltBetter
06/10/2012, 7:01 PM
You were selling around ten pages of a report that is freely viewable online for a fiver?

gufcfan
06/10/2012, 7:12 PM
You were selling around ten pages of a report that is freely viewable online for a fiver?
Wooosh.

NeverFeltBetter
06/10/2012, 7:14 PM
Never mind. Clicked on last post without reading the rest of this page.

06/10/2012, 8:56 PM
fecker told me it was E25, I want 4 more copies !

Tribesman2
06/10/2012, 9:42 PM
great day in shop street today, huge interest in the copies of the report which were flying off the table for only a fiver

The report feedback to day is fairly positive and the goodwill is there now. The people are not fooled they know they are dealing with people who believe in the project and have the determination to see it through no matter how long it takes.

Ye are some shower. No class at all

And whats more, trying to make a profit when it's available for free online

06/10/2012, 10:10 PM

Just because you didn't think of it first ;)

gufcfan
06/10/2012, 10:13 PM
Just because you didn't think of it first ;)
Quiet you. You lied about how many you seen in Terryland. ;)

06/10/2012, 10:20 PM
Never..inflated figures I tells ya. I know what the GUST members were batting on about all year now.

geezer
06/10/2012, 10:40 PM

We are conjuring up some artizan prawn sandwiches to appeal to "stakeholders" as part of our "strategy" next week so we can have our dictator in situ for the takeover of the FAI Ceo position.

any "futuremakers" now for the last few choc ices , guinness draft can slabs and €5 reports

10/10/2012, 11:19 AM
Tribesman2, if you have evidence for these comments, post them please. If you don't, you need to retract them or you will be suspended from Foot.ie for 1 month. Notification sent by email.

If any more threats against Foot.ie are received on this matter, similar treatment will be doled out. I will NOT accept threats for this kind of nonsense, under ANY circumstances.

Thread locked until this matter is resolved.

The FAI acknowledged that both clubs have been exemplary in financial terms

GUST took on the running of GUFC in 2011 and said they would honour the debts that were owed. They then jumped ship and left the debts there. The debts GUST ran up in their year in charge were pretty sizeable as well but they've done their best to lump them in with the old club. The FAI aren't buying this and want them to honour their debts.

People deserve to know the real story. GUST have promised to be open, honest and transparent to everyone. How is it that most of their followers and supporters who contribute money to them weekly think that they're contributing towards a GUST league of ireland team next season, when in fact it's been used to pay off a sizeable 5 figure debt that GUST owe to businesses and the Galway district league for the rent of terryland park.