View Full Version : Ireland V Germany 12th October & Faroe Islands 16th October 2012 - World Cup 2014 Q

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25

16/10/2012, 7:22 PM
Did Keane even touch that? Didn't look like it.

He's claiming for whiplash too.

16/10/2012, 7:24 PM
That goal has been coming.

fionnsci
**** this. Joke shop.

Ah fcuk...here we go.

Colbert Report
Beautiful goal from the Faroe Islands!

16/10/2012, 7:25 PM
Nobody tracking the runners in the box. Joke shop is right.

Manblue
16/10/2012, 7:26 PM
john o shea is like having toy soldier in there, cant get off the ground

Colbert Report
3-0 Germany

Lovely goal. My stream is isn't great, who should have picked the man up?

graham_d
16/10/2012, 7:27 PM
3-0 Germany, Mertesacker. Reus and Ozil are just ****ing genius. Not even halftime.

Not making me feel any better though....:mad:

16/10/2012, 7:28 PM
The Germans are destroying the Swedes, if that makes anyone feel any better about Friday.

Yep rolling over country after country - sounds familiar!!

Colbert Report
Andrews doesn't need to worry about wearing condoms with that kind of aim. No way he could get any girl pregnant.

Ah c'mon lads!

Colbert Report
Lovely goal. My stream is isn't great, who should have picked the man up?

This stream is perfect:
http://www.vipboxsports.eu/football/88935/2/faroe-islands-vs-ireland-live-stream-online.html

16/10/2012, 7:29 PM
If RObbie had not claimed that goal earlier he might have got that.

fionnsci
OG!!!! We needed our luck.

Colbert Report
Great movement down the left channel. Keane is looking like he's ten years younger.

3-1 we need to keep the pressure up now instead of taking the foot off the gas.

Colbert Report
16/10/2012, 7:30 PM
Sweden have touched the ball about five times total against Germany. Maybe we're not that bad after all. We're beating the Faroes by a wider margin than Sweden managed, and we played better against the Germans than them.

SwanVsDalton
16/10/2012, 7:31 PM
That was a great move for the goal. Absolutely furious we haven't kept a clean sheet.

16/10/2012, 7:31 PM
Great movement down the left channel. Keane is looking like he's ten years younger.

You watching the England coverage on ITV too?

Colbert Report
16/10/2012, 7:32 PM
No, I don't get ITV. I'm watching the Ireland match on a stream, RTE coverage, and the Germany/Sweden game on a Canadian channel called Sportsnet.

Colbert Report
16/10/2012, 7:33 PM
Cox is having a great match I think. Every time he gets the ball he does something good.

16/10/2012, 7:35 PM
Am I hearing Silent Night being sung by the Irish fans or are my ears deceiving me?

16/10/2012, 7:39 PM
What the hell is that building behind the goal?
Never seen anything like that before!!

16/10/2012, 7:39 PM
Letting them back into it again.

16/10/2012, 7:40 PM
Am I hearing Silent Night being sung by the Irish fans or are my ears deceiving me?

Yea I thought I heard that too so not just you, not sure who was singing it though or of the words but definitely the tune.

16/10/2012, 7:44 PM
Sweden have touched the ball about five times total against Germany. Maybe we're not that bad after all. We're beating the Faroes by a wider margin than Sweden managed, and we played better against the Germans than them.

Yea if Germany can get a couple more that would be great, 3-0 at half time so plenty of time.

With Ireland getting a 4th we have improved our goal difference by 6 over Sweden.

In fact I make it we are level on goal difference now, both sides on +0, ie same scored as conceded but we have scored more 7-7 v 4-4.

Edit - got that wrong I forgot we let one in so we are on -1. Sweden +0

16/10/2012, 7:44 PM
Good stuff.

16/10/2012, 7:45 PM
Darren O'Dea. What a player.

16/10/2012, 7:55 PM
Yea if Germany can get a couple more that would be great, 3-0 at half time so plenty of time.

With Ireland getting a 4th we have improved our goal difference by 6 over Sweden.

In fact I make it we are level on goal difference now, both sides on +0, ie same scored as conceded but we have scored more 7-7 v 4-4.

Edit - got that wrong I forgot we let one in so we are on -1. Sweden +0
Are goals against the bottom team not taken out? So we're still 2 behind Sweden. I suppose the Faroes may not finish bottom.

Noelys Guitar
16/10/2012, 7:55 PM
Good win. Happy with that. McCarthy was excellent. Very happy with both full backs. Front players played well. We need to find another center back from somewhere who can attack the ball like Dunne. We looked a lot better against the Faroes than Sweden did.

Metrostars
16/10/2012, 7:56 PM
Results is what it's all about in qualifying and we got the points thankfully. Good response (second half anyway) to Friday's debacle. Shows how much a few results can change the outlook with Germany walloping Sweden in the other game.

SwanVsDalton
16/10/2012, 7:56 PM
Considering our lack of competitive goals in recent years, the situation post-Germany and that were facing very awkward opposition, 4-1 was a good result and represented a decent performance.

Annoyed we conceded, but we were comfortable throughout.

Wilson had some shaky moments, but went forward well and took his goal with some style. LB is his.

Coleman played well I thought, particularly going forward though was caught out occasionally in behind. Love his composure on the ball though - very rare to see from one of our back four.

O'Shea was poor for the goal, but reasonably solid otherwise. O'Dea defended well and took his goal well.

Nothing went right for Keith Andrews, but he certainly got involved. McCarthy was fairly anonymous in the first but fair play he stepped up in the second. McGeady was having a field day when the game opened up and again was our most creative player in terms of crossing and assists. Keane, likewise, enjoyed the space in front of the defence after the Faroes conceded. Thought his guile and intelligence shone when we had more of the ball.

The rest all did fairly well. Pleasing. Who knows what happens next but at least we've knocked four in, got six points and Germany are stuffing the Swedes. Pretty much as good as tonight could've gone.

16/10/2012, 7:57 PM
Tony O'Donoghue has already awarded the win to Germany. Trap not for quitting.

Colbert Report
16/10/2012, 7:58 PM
Trap didn't look too happy about the question re: lack of FAI support.

graham_d
16/10/2012, 8:01 PM
Ozil, 4-0... Muller could have had one about 2mins ago after a great flick from Ozil but he scuffed it straight into the keeper's legs. Ozil's goal was almost identical to Reus' second from the other night.

Sweden seemed to have woken up right after HT but all that's happened is that the Germans can catch them on the break as well as all the other chances they're making

16/10/2012, 8:04 PM
I am beginning to open my mind to the concept that Sweden are even worse than us. Dare I?

Colbert Report
16/10/2012, 8:04 PM
Liam Brady is doing a great job of defending Trap against the rest of the panel.

DannyInvincible
16/10/2012, 8:05 PM
Defending against set pieces and balls into the box was very poor tonight. They were winning headers all over the shop and we'd have been punished by more than the one goal had they been a more clinical outfit.

Our general play was quite good overall, however, and it was good to see us play the ball on the ground for the majority of the game. Coleman and Wilson were also positive and got involved in attack which was good to see, although I thought Coleman had a quieter second half. I hope they've both cemented starting places on either side of the defence now. Delighted for Wilson; what a goal he scored.

graham_d
16/10/2012, 8:08 PM
I am beginning to open my mind to the concept that Sweden are even worse than us. Dare I?

Ibra scores.... does that mean Keogh == Ibra??

Zlatan, 4-1. Just watched the game for a few minutes and Sweden are passing the ball in little triangles, so they'll dominate us easy enough.

ger121
Liam Brady is doing a great job of defending Trap against the rest of the panel.

He sure is. Making some good points too!

16/10/2012, 8:10 PM
Germany 4 Sweden 2

16/10/2012, 8:10 PM
4-2, Neuer beaten at his near post. The Germans are going bust.

rebelmusic
16/10/2012, 8:11 PM
They're looking shellshocked...getting worried now

graham_d
16/10/2012, 8:12 PM
That was pretty poor defending from Badstuber, and Neuer looked silly as well. Sweden are just sticking it long into the box and the Germans are nervous.

16/10/2012, 8:13 PM
Should be 4-3, header across goal just eluding Lustig. This Sweden side actually showing some fight.

SwanVsDalton
Defending against set pieces and balls into the box was very poor tonight. They were winning headers all over the shop and we'd have been punished by more than the one goal had they been a more clinical outfit.

Disagree I'm afraid Danny. They had quite a number of set pieces comfortably cleared/dealt with. A few of them also bobbled around the box before getting hoofed out by us. In the last few months those are the kind of second balls we haven't been dealing with at all. Faroes clearly targeted set pieces and they're a big side - the set pieces were awkward to deal with and largely they were dealt with, notwithstanding a couple of sleepy ones in the latter stages if I recall right.

The plastic paddies did well on the plastic pitch :p