View Full Version : Longford Town FC vs Waterford United - R.S.C. - September 28th
L.T.F.C.
13/09/2012, 4:27 PM
Big performance required to keep the pressure on Limerick. Any suspensions?
13/09/2012, 4:36 PM
nothin on extratimes website regarding this. so great news!
13/09/2012, 5:33 PM
I've been confident all along wed beat these and I still am, bring it on can't wait.
L.T.F.C.
13/09/2012, 5:55 PM
What are you basing this confidence on?
14/09/2012, 1:51 PM
What are you basing this confidence on?
Just one of those gut feelings you get sometimes in football, we beat them up there last time and we were robbed at home so the lads will really really be up for this, I'd be shocked if we ever see a first half performance like last weekend again.
14/09/2012, 2:16 PM
I'd be shocked if we don't
14/09/2012, 2:32 PM
We play better away from home generally so we may well get something. Can see it being a draw though to be honest.
Cabs88
15/09/2012, 5:42 PM
A draw will hand the title to Limerick, so if its close near the end expect a frantic last few mins. Really has a cup final feel to it. Hoping to make it down, massive game.
15/09/2012, 6:34 PM
I am driving down to the game on friday.If anyone is interested in sharing a lift with me pls send me a pm or txt me if you have my mobile!
16/09/2012, 7:27 PM
There maybe a supporters club bus goin to waterford for friday nite if theres enough interest. Pls ring or send Liam Healion a txt at 0876141926.Be quick to express your interest as he needs to know by Wednesday by the latest.
19/09/2012, 5:19 PM
The supporters bus IS RUNNING! And leaves longford at 4.30 on Friday. Late bookers can ring liam.
19/09/2012, 5:22 PM
The supporters bus IS RUNNING! And leaves longford at 4.30 on Friday. Late bookers can ring liam.
great news. Saves having to drive!
19/09/2012, 5:38 PM
Many others heading down? Could do with a few singers :)
Cabs88
20/09/2012, 9:11 PM
bigger bus will be put on if there's demand lads and lassies... get on it!
20/09/2012, 9:12 PM
Can you fell the tension? I can... I can feel it way down in my plums.
GWAN DE TOWN
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykuTKwbRwF0
21/09/2012, 9:17 AM
I'm usually a bag of nerves on game day but I've been confident about this one all along, lets do this!
bluewhitearmy
21/09/2012, 9:56 AM
Ah ye dont want to push yourselves too much....A nice draw will be fine for both of ye.:p
21/09/2012, 10:25 AM
Ah ye dont want to push yourselves too much....A nice draw will be fine for both of ye.:p
Can't understand all the Limerick fans looking for a draw.
A win for waterford is clearly the best result.
Anyway, carry on :)
21/09/2012, 1:41 PM
Not confident of a win but then I never am really. A draw I reckon. 0-0 or 1-1.
NeverFeltBetter
21/09/2012, 2:17 PM
ET preview says Maguire is "doubtful". Boost for Longford if so.
21/09/2012, 2:19 PM
Lets hope so!
L.T.F.C.
21/09/2012, 2:27 PM
ET preview says Maguire is "doubtful". Boost for Longford if so.
I maimed him.
COME ON THE TOWN!
Cabs88
22/09/2012, 2:19 AM
on last nights showing, you didnt do a great job. .
longfordjames
22/09/2012, 8:52 AM
Wasn;t there but judging by extratime the second red was dubious. We will probably be back there for a playoff and if we give a good account of ourselves with 9 men we have every chance of progressing. Come on the Town!
22/09/2012, 9:30 AM
I said to Martinho on the way up that maguire is certain to play that he was rated as doubtful last time we played and he played so I wasn't surprised at all. He is a wonderful player and he will be in the championship for sure next season.
You couldn't have asked for anymore from the players last night every single one of them were superb especially tommo and bermo. Tommo took his goal brilliantly and we could have been have been 3 up if we took our chances.
Start of the second half we came out very slow and sat too deep and they punished us. Hylo who had had a great game up until now made an awful mistake and maguire equalized. Then disaster struck. Maguire who was tearing us apart went on an amazing run and just as he went to shoot willo mcdonagh tackled him. It was never a red card! Then aussie got sent off from the bench for apparently squaring up to the 4th official. They took the lead as expected then but after that we still gave it absoutely everything and 3 minutes later griffiths equalizsd with a free kick! We were on top then and should have gone in front from a brilliant mick Lee corner but the man advantage was too much and maguire scored one of the best solo run goals you will ever see in loi and a minute from the end he got his hattrick with a penalty that he won and took himself. Griffiths hit the bar after that but it was too late.
The atmosphere was amazing last night and it really was a brilliant game. Credit to all the lads who created such a fantastic atmosphere and we even got some new songs our of it.
gormacha
22/09/2012, 12:27 PM
Not here to **** stir, honest!
I thought last night showcased just how good LOI can be. It was a really good game. Ye clearly were the better side first half, and we shaded the second. I would disgaree with some of your anaylsis, but I guess we both have our blinkers on.
Longford are without doubt the best team we have played this season, and it looks llike we'll be seeing a bit more of ye yet before the season is out. The difference between us last night, apart from the card, was Seani Maguire. I doubt we'll have him for long, but its a privilege to watch a player in that kind of form.
22/09/2012, 2:54 PM
Fair play to ya Gormacha. Games like that need to be shown to the doubters what a cracking game in a good stadium with a fantastic atmosphere.
22/09/2012, 7:10 PM
It was a super game to watch if you were a neutral.. I dont fancy our chances in the playoffs tbh if gary shaw or dan purdy had played last night I think we would have won... We just dont have anyone to match sean maguire up front.
I have made my mind up on player of the yr for us I think Tomo Crawley is the man for me. He has being superb for us and how Pats let him go I will never know...He has scored two super goals in a row for us
in other news I heard at the game last night and it has being confirmed on his twitter page that Niall O'Reilly has being released. I am not surprised after Aidan Collins was signed someone had to go and it was him. he only made one appearance this season which was a few wks ago
22/09/2012, 11:17 PM
Yeah he got a bit angry on Twitter the other week too when he wasn't even picked for the bench. Meh, he's nothing special we're not short of defenders anyway. Haverty is back training soon it seems.
L.T.F.C.
23/09/2012, 12:20 AM
I always rated O'Reilly and I'm sorry to see him go.
23/09/2012, 6:48 PM
i wonder will havo be back before the end of the season?
24/09/2012, 5:44 PM
Nelly was a headless chicken defensively no point in having him on the wage bill if he's not gona play. Collins has been superb so far.