View Full Version : Mark Bunn
gastric
15/09/2012, 10:16 PM
Commitment? Applying to FIFA to ally himself with the FAI.
Age limit? Doesn't exist. I'm sure had he made contact with the FAI as an under-21 he would have been encouraged to commit to Ireland in light of the fact he was gaining regular football with Northampton Town at the age of 21.
Nationality? This isn't a specific answer but one which comes close in this context: Does he carry or have applied for an Irish passport?
Why did Trap contact him? Why does Trap do anything?
What I don't comprehend is where are you dreaming up Bunn's "merit" from? He has barely featured for Blackburn. He will more than "merit" his place if he plays for Norwich this season on a continuous basis and demonstrates better ability than Darren Randolph, David Forde and Stephen Henderson. He probably won't though. John Ruddy is England's number 2 and made 37 Premier League appearances last year which was sufficient evidence for Hodgson to call him up.
Is it not fair that a level of loyalty be served to David Forde and Darren Randolph? Not that either of them is a completely exceptional goalkeeper but they've done fine when called upon.
Westwood has bided his time behind Given and has proved more than capable in goals for Ireland.
Ole, I really don't want to continue this argument with you. The reality is that one of us will be proved right over the coming months or season, however, just one last point. If Bunn is deemed to be the first or second best keeper for us, he should be picked ahead of Forde and Henderson, and for me this isn't a problem. This is the reality of professional sport.
15/09/2012, 10:24 PM
The question is why would he be deemed our second best keeper when he isn't even making the bench for his club and has only played six games in the past 30 months?
gastric
15/09/2012, 10:32 PM
The question is why would he be deemed our second best keeper when he isn't even making the bench for his club and has only played six games in the past 30 months?
And as I said above, we will find out the answer over the next while. I would also add that it is a bit presumptous to judge him so early in the season when he has just overcome injury.
15/09/2012, 10:36 PM
Well I'm not judging him, I'm just wondering why he's even being mentioned to begin with.
gastric
15/09/2012, 10:45 PM
Well I'm not judging him, I'm just wondering why he's even being mentioned to begin with.
Charlie, rather than using your usual sarcasm add something worthwhile to the thread.
15/09/2012, 10:52 PM
Sarcasm? No, I am legitimately wondering why we are talking about a player who has played so little football, and is at a stage in his career when he should be establishing himself as a #1 goalkeeper, as a legitimate option for the national team. We have more experienced goalkeepers playing regularly and we have younger goalkeepers with more potential. Fair play if he makes it at Norwich but it's a bit of a remote prospect at the moment.
gastric
15/09/2012, 11:00 PM
Sarcasm? No, I am legitimately wondering why we are talking about a player who has played so little football, and is at a stage in his career when he should be establishing himself as a #1 goalkeeper, as a legitimate option for the national team. We have more experienced goalkeepers playing regularly and we have younger goalkeepers with more potential. Fair play if he makes it at Norwich but it's a bit of a remote prospect at the moment.
Isn't that the point of a forum, to discuss the present and possible future of Irish football? You are welcome to your opinion, just I am. I don't believe I am breaking any rules in my postsand if you don't agree or approve of my posts, it doesn't particularly worry me. If you do feel strongly about my posts there are other threads on here that you can visit.
15/09/2012, 11:02 PM
Why are you being so defensive? I never said you were breaking any rules. I'm just bemused by all this fuss about Norwich's third choice goalkeeper, who used to be Blackburn's third choice goalkeeper, who may or may not declare for us in the future if he's asked nicely.
gastric
15/09/2012, 11:07 PM
Why are you being so defensive? I never said you were breaking any rules. I'm just bemused by all this fuss about Norwich's third choice goalkeeper, who used to be Blackburn's third choice goalkeeper, who may or may not declare for us in the future if he's asked nicely.
Defensive no, just tired of the sarcasm which you continue to use. Again, if you can't add anything worthwhile to the thread, leave it alone.
15/09/2012, 11:33 PM
If I was being sarcastic I would tell you. This guy legitimately isn't a realistic option right now, and has little to suggest he will be. We have plenty of reserve goalkeepers we can call on if required. We are very well stocked for goalkeepers who sit on the bench.
gastric
15/09/2012, 11:38 PM
If I was being sarcastic I would tell you. This guy legitimately isn't a realistic option right now, and has little to suggest he will be. We have plenty of reserve goalkeepers we can call on if required. We are very well stocked for goalkeepers who sit on the bench.
I don't believe you understand what sarcasm is. As I said before I disagree with your opinion and in defence of my beliefs. could you please explain why the FAI have approached him? How does this fit in with your opinion?
15/09/2012, 11:51 PM
I'd imagine they approached him because the FAI have always cast their net wide and were in a bit of a panic after Shay announced his retirement.
gastric
16/09/2012, 12:02 AM
I'd imagine they approached him because the FAI have always cast their net wide and were in a bit of a panic after Shay announced his retirement.
'In a panic'? if you mean they are looking for a viable competitor to Westwood after Shay's retirement for this WC Campaign, I am in complete agreement.
16/09/2012, 12:08 AM
No, I'm saying they fired up the rolodex and looked into absolutely every goalkeeper they could with possible Irish ancestry.
gastric
16/09/2012, 12:10 AM
No, I'm saying they fired up the rolodex and looked into absolutely every goalkeeper they could with possible Irish ancestry.
With what purpose in mind?
16/09/2012, 12:14 AM
To stop panicking.
To put it another way, this guy is as much an international prospect as Joe Lapira was in 2006. Sometimes associations just do mad **** to see if anything will stick.
gastric
16/09/2012, 12:25 AM
To stop panicking.
To put it another way, this guy is as much an international prospect as Joe Lapira was in 2006. Sometimes associations just do mad **** to see if anything will stick.
Charlie, I think as you can't answer the question and are now trying to sideline the issue with very feeble and rash comments I will bid you adieu as I have better things to do.
Olé Olé
16/09/2012, 7:17 AM
I am down on my knees praying to God that Stephen Henderson gets at least a quick cameo to put this to rest.
Because if he does, he will be such a far greater asset to Irish football than Bunn for a variety of reason.
Bunn is a Premier League goalkeeper. Sense the sarcasm in that.
gastric
16/09/2012, 7:46 AM
I am down on my knees praying to God that Stephen Henderson gets at least a quick cameo to put this to rest.
Because if he does, he will be such a far greater asset to Irish football than Bunn for a variety of reason.
Bunn is a Premier League goalkeeper. Sense the sarcasm in that.
Another expert who seems to know more than Trap and the FAI - great to see! Gee, I can do sarcasm too!
16/09/2012, 3:02 PM
Very humorous! Ther sort of humour I would expect from a Finn Harps supporter called Nigel. Life must be tough!;)
Hey, I get by..
gastric
16/09/2012, 10:14 PM
Lads,
I want to end this carry on, so can we just and wait and see what happens. Ultimately, I think we all want a strong competitive Irish team, we just disagree on how and personnel.
Adrock
16/09/2012, 11:42 PM
I'm intrigued though, as a connoisseur of reserve team football ,as you must be to have spotted Bunn's world class potential (doubtless there is extensive coverage of this in Australia),
I was wondering.........are there many other English reserve team stalwarts in their late twenties with possible Irish heritage that could be catapulted in to the international squad to arrest the recent slide in standards?
Supreme feet
16/09/2012, 11:50 PM
Lads,
I want to end this carry on, so can we just and wait and see what happens. Ultimately, I think we all want a strong competitive Irish team, we just disagree on how and personnel.
Fair enough. But, like Charlie Darwin, I find it hard to understand how anyone would - without some sense of subjective favouritism - wish to push Bunn ahead of the other decent options in our goalkeeping queue. Aside from Forde and Randolph (who have done nothing wrong for us), we have Colin Doyle, Brian Murphy and Stephen Henderson, who are in very similar positions to Bunn at club level. Seeing as they came up through our youth systems and have been in previous squads, most people would prefer to see them get a chance before a 'Johnny Come-Lately' who's not even playing regularly at a higher level. By all means, throw him in as an option - the more options the better - but lets be fair to the other goalkeepers.
Sullivinho
17/09/2012, 12:00 AM
The puns on the last two pages have gone right over my head.
26/09/2012, 6:25 PM
Bunn makes his debut tonight in the league cup against Doncaster. Call him up Trap!
gastric
26/09/2012, 10:39 PM
Didn't concede any goals tonight on his debut and made one save of note. Now one of 6 Irish eligible goalkeepers who are benchwarming in the Premiership at the moment. Probably some sort of record..
Olé Olé
26/09/2012, 11:50 PM
Alex McCarthy is far younger and has been getting his game at Reading ahead of Adam Federici in the Premier League.
26/09/2012, 11:52 PM
Alex McCarthy is far younger and has been getting his game at Reading ahead of Adam Federici in the Premier League.
Not to mention fully committed to England.
Olé Olé
27/09/2012, 12:00 AM
Not to mention fully committed to England.
"Irish eligible goalkeepers" was the aspect to which I was responding.
27/09/2012, 12:10 AM
I'm not sure it's really in the spirit of the phrase "Irish eligible" to use it to refer to players who have made it clear they have no intention of playing for us.
gastric
27/09/2012, 12:33 AM
I don't know where you are going with this. I was referring to Given, Westwood, Henderson, Elliot, Murphy and Bunn as being eligible to represent Ireland, that's all.
bwagner
27/09/2012, 7:27 AM
what about that reading keeper mccarthy >?
27/09/2012, 1:04 PM
Scottish AFAIK
Paddy Garcia
27/09/2012, 9:28 PM
England U21 Internatinal
gastric
27/09/2012, 10:03 PM
England U21 Internatinal
Yes you are right Paddy, and this article appeared last week indicating what his international aspirations are. In terms of young goalkeepers who may want to play for us, there was recently a discussion on YBIG about James Shea at Arsenal, however, got no idea about his eligibility or ability.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2204666/Alex-McCarthy-hoping-impress-Roy-Hodgson.html
27/09/2012, 10:17 PM
McCarthy was on standby for the Team GB Olympic squad. He's not declaring for Ireland any time soon.
gastric
31/10/2012, 11:01 PM
After coming back from injury, Bunn did well tonight even saving a penalty!
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/live/match-report/278713/norwich-2-tottenham-1
Hughton happy with his performance.
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/live/match-reaction/278713/norwich-city-v-tottenham-hotspur
01/11/2012, 2:01 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jAMlzqvX02I
In HD ;)
Not the best penalty from Dempsey, pretty much straight down the middle but credit to Bunn for not diving too early.
Norwich got Bunn in the oven for the last 10 as Ruddy goes off injured. Could mean an extended run of games for him.
TrapAPony
28/11/2012, 6:03 PM
Starts tonight v Southampton. Lets see how he does.
28/11/2012, 7:28 PM
Southampton 1-0 up anyway. Not a good omen.
gastric
28/11/2012, 8:18 PM
Bunn now has the best opportunity of his career to prove himself at the highest level and needs to take it!
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/canaries-hit-by-ruddy-blow-3309640.html
swinfordfc
02/12/2012, 4:54 PM
He did fine today - play an important part in the win over Sunderland!
02/12/2012, 9:50 PM
Wow, anyone see the save he made today?
I, like many others thought he the ball hit the post, but a MOTD showed he got a hand to it an pushed it onto the post. MOTD did a little piece on him praising him. If he carries on like that it will be hard for Norwich to drop him when the first choice keeper is fit.
The save was really impressive, as good as anything I have ever seen, just seen it again as I had it recorded, really does look impressive in slow motion.
He was actually standing in the centre of the other half of the goal initially, however on the down side that does suggest he got the wall alignment wrong.
LOL actually on watching it again he didn't really get the wall wrong, he got it right but the shot was bent round the side of the wall he was covering as opposed to the other side I initially thought he bent it round. Hence it was an extremely impressive shot to start out with never mind the save.
Deserves putting up on youtube or whatever.
02/12/2012, 11:40 PM
Highlights here, Bunns super save is at about 1.30
http://www.footytube.com/video/norwich-city-v-sunderland-146160?ref=wv_relbox
TrapAPony
03/12/2012, 2:17 PM
Norwich goalkeeper Mark Bunn ready to pledge international future to Republic of Ireland
Norwich City goalkeeper Mark Bunn has revealed he is hoping to win a call-up to the Republic of Ireland squad.
Bunn is thought to be on Giovanni Trapattoni's radar as the Ireland coach looks to bring in new players to his squad.
The 28-year-old was born in Southgate, London, but qualifies to play for the Republic through his father and grandmother.
The goalkeeping spot in the Republic squad is up for grabs following the retirement of Shay Given after Euro 2012.
Sunderland (http://topics.skysports.com/sunderland/?section=football)http://static.lingospot.com/spot/image/spacer.gif goalkeeper Keiren Westwood (http://topics.skysports.com/Keiren+Westwood/?section=football)http://static.lingospot.com/spot/image/spacer.gif is the current No.1, but Westwood is not a regular starter for his club with Simon Mignolet the first-choice in Martin O'Neill's side.
Bunn has been outstanding for Norwich this season and Canaries and England goalkeeping coach Dave Watson is thought to be a huge admirer of the former Blackburn shot-stopper.
Bunn, who was named man of the match in Sunday's win over Sunderland, admits he would jump at the chance of call-up to the Republic squad.
"It is one of my aims to try and break into the Republic of Ireland (http://topics.skysports.com/Republic+of+Ireland/?section=football)http://static.lingospot.com/spot/image/spacer.gifsquad and if the opportunity arose I would definitely be interested in playing for them," Bunn told Sky Sports.
"I think every player wants to play international football and play at the highest level and I am no different.
"I believe the goalkeeping spot with the Republic is up for grabs really since Shay Given retired.
"Keiren Westwood is first-choice at the minute, but he is not playing regularly for Sunderland.
"I now have a run of games in the Norwich team and it is a good time for me to show what I can do and impress hopefully."
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11709/8306479/Norwich-goalkeeper-Mark-Bunn-ready-to-pledge-international-future-to-Republic-of-Ireland
Paddy Garcia
04/12/2012, 10:07 PM
Great to see the rolls reversed with Bun now at no 1.
Crosby87
04/12/2012, 10:15 PM
Is Trap aware that he is looking to bring new players into the squad?
DannyInvincible
05/12/2012, 7:58 AM
Great to see the rolls reversed with Bun now at no 1.
Let's hope Norwich don't have to stomach too many Christmas stuffings.
Is Trap aware that he is looking to bring new players into the squad?
Is Trap aware that who is looking to bring new players into the squad? :confused:
05/12/2012, 9:37 AM
iTS A JOKE. DI.