View Full Version : NI Fans in Moscow
Spudulika
07/09/2012, 3:19 PM
Had a lovely insight into Cross border relations today. Watching the Russia-NI match at home as I refuse to go and cheer against a country I cheered for so much in the past. Walking down Stary Arbat after a lunch meeting and met 3 NI fans a little lost (not the worse for wear). Asked them could I help, they asked where a certain pub was, I told them they were close and walked the 50m with them to it. Before I could ask them what they reckoned about the result they asked me where I was from, told them, and they told me to "F@@k off you Free State Tague C@nt". And they went into an Irish pub. Felt embarrassed, angry and worst of all, detesting them. Because I've family from both sides of the border I'd never felt any problem roaring on the North in a match, except when they played us. And the hatred of that famous night when Alan McLoughlin sent us to the USA wasn't helped by idiots from the FAI joining in with "There's only one team in Ireland" (at the Dublin win), which I thought was wrong from the off.
But now, looking at my ticket for Loko and watching the match on tv, I'm sick that there is such an element of scum there. I know there is good an bad everywhere, but this is not a new thing to experience from NI fans for a number of people. I had this years ago from GAA people in Armagh (calling us Free Staters) but now, a decade on? Anyway, just feeling rather peed off with it. Luckily can watch the Irish game on Russian tv ;)
Colbert Report
07/09/2012, 5:19 PM
Sorry to hear that Spudulika, but as you say, there are a-holes everywhere. Give it another fifty years and hopefully these types of people will die out. Fair play to you for being friendly to them and helping them find the pub, you'd think they'd appreciate a friendly face in such a foreign land. The only thing you can do it not let it bother you and be just as friendly to the next people you meet with northern accents; hopefully they treat you a bit better.
Spudulika
07/09/2012, 6:14 PM
Agreed Colbert, I've had 2 close incidents with Northern "fans", my brother and his friend jumped and put in hospital when they were up in Belfast for a fight night. And my friends Uncle being put in hospital and severely broken up when Germany played NI back in the late 90's. I've still met more decent folk than worse, I was just surprised by how scummy they acted.
And in fairness, the team deserved a draw tonight, harsh peno to kill the game off, but they did well. Russia did enough, blooded new lads and are looking to break the CSKA-Zenit axis, but it'll be tough.
youngirish
07/09/2012, 7:54 PM
Had a lovely insight into Cross border relations today. Watching the Russia-NI match at home as I refuse to go and cheer against a country I cheered for so much in the past. Walking down Stary Arbat after a lunch meeting and met 3 NI fans a little lost (not the worse for wear). Asked them could I help, they asked where a certain pub was, I told them they were close and walked the 50m with them to it. Before I could ask them what they reckoned about the result they asked me where I was from, told them, and they told me to "F@@k off you Free State Tague C@nt". And they went into an Irish pub. Felt embarrassed, angry and worst of all, detesting them. Because I've family from both sides of the border I'd never felt any problem roaring on the North in a match, except when they played us. And the hatred of that famous night when Alan McLoughlin sent us to the USA wasn't helped by idiots from the FAI joining in with "There's only one team in Ireland" (at the Dublin win), which I thought was wrong from the off.
But now, looking at my ticket for Loko and watching the match on tv, I'm sick that there is such an element of scum there. I know there is good an bad everywhere, but this is not a new thing to experience from NI fans for a number of people. I had this years ago from GAA people in Armagh (calling us Free Staters) but now, a decade on? Anyway, just feeling rather peed off with it. Luckily can watch the Irish game on Russian tv ;)
That Ealing Green and Not Brazil, a few pints when away from home and they get into all sorts.
ArdeeBhoy
07/09/2012, 9:56 PM
They were nowhere near there to be fair. Or so my spy tells me.
Met similar to Spud,except they never asked my affiliations...
In general on an individual basis they're fine though, albeit a little, er, paranoid...
'runs'
Not Brazil
08/09/2012, 12:17 AM
I stayed at home.
EG was spotted on the tele at the match.
Bad job that you encountered a couple of arseholes Spud - I had similar in Malta a few years back from a couple of Southern fans...one of them female.
Ironic that the said arseholes were looking for an Irish Bar.
Maroon 7
08/09/2012, 12:28 AM
Unfortunately you get arseholes everywhere. Especially when they have a feed of drink on board.
Not Brazil
08/09/2012, 12:34 AM
Spud intimated that the arseholes in question were "not the worse for wear".
ArdeeBhoy
08/09/2012, 1:30 AM
I had similar in Malta a few years back from a couple of Southern fans...one of them female.
Those Koreans get everywhere...
Spudulika
08/09/2012, 4:01 AM
M7, they looked fresh and didn't smell of drink, no tat's, cleanshaven etc. If they had Union Jacks wrapped around them I might have avoided them, but 3 men speaking with Northern accents, looking confused and doing 360 with their heads - when the pub was within view, I figured it's nice to be nice. In fairness, I've met way, way more decent people from NI than louts, even last October when we were in Belfast for a tournament. Met lots of clowns involved with Northern GAA who treated players and officials from the Republic disgustingly, but still, sort of figured yesterday that when you're a foreigner in a foreign land...
Thinking about it this morning I'm smiling that they were heading into an Irish pub.
Not Brazil
08/09/2012, 8:05 AM
In fairness, I've met way, way more decent people from NI than louts
Our fans team are going back to Lviv next June for the EuroFans tournament - I understand your fans are entering a team as well.
I'd be confident that cross border relations will be improved ( providing you don't try and get any of our gifted youngsters to switch):D and the craic will be ninety.
Most football fans are decent sorts.
Gather round
10/09/2012, 8:56 AM
Sorry to hear that Comrade Spud. Apart from the rudeness and sectarianism, bright-eyed and sober in the vicinity of a NI game sounds a bit, er rum.
Alibi? I was watching it on a dodgy iraqigoals.tv stream in a Bristol pub. With Jane's Jungle Juice.
Good news on the Lviv tournament NB.
10/09/2012, 10:57 AM
That leaves us with a 1% chance that EG was involved.
With all due respect for Spud's sensitivities, much ado over nothing, maybe worth a mention in passing but not a thread.
Gather round
10/09/2012, 12:59 PM
maybe worth a mention in passing but not a thread
Wouldn't it be a nil thread then?
Not Brazil
10/09/2012, 4:44 PM
Good news on the Lviv tournament NB.
You'd be more than welcome to come along next year GR - we need an Assistant Deputy Community Relations Officer.:D
Not Brazil
10/09/2012, 5:09 PM
M7, they looked fresh and didn't smell of drink, no tat's, cleanshaven etc.... with Northern accents
If you are a bit wary of uncouth, unshaven, foul mouthed, tatooed louts with Northern accents, can I recommend that you avoid James McClean on your travels.:D