View Full Version : Week 26 - Fxtures and Results
10/09/2012, 10:12 PM
Shamrock Rovers 0 - 1 Bohemians
That is all.
Dalymountrower
10/09/2012, 10:20 PM
They`ll wait for the cup to be over/won before turfing him out irrespective of cost. Humiliating for them getting spanked by our kids 2/3 games this season. Their discipline is shot, Mc Cabe taken off after he lashed a ball petulantly into the dugout. Rice tried his best to get sent off. Twigg elbowed his way to five fouls against our back two without even being spoken to by the ref. I reckon they brought the wrong member of the Sullivans cast back from OZ. Those well paid players should be ashamed of themselves letting poor Stephen down.
Finn cut a forlorn figure, the only footballer they had on display.
Oh yeah, and we were brilliant!
10/09/2012, 10:34 PM
Didn't realise that was the same Kevin Devaney that was with Harps last season. Imagine Felix Healy didn't think he was good enough to keep on for this season.
10/09/2012, 10:45 PM
Mother of lord that was a farcical ending to the game in Tolka. Haven't got a notion what the sending off was about. Mostly to do with the Richmond Road Stand's posts. Any fan there have a notion?
Was an enjoyable game until the first Pats goal and then we stank up the place.
10/09/2012, 10:47 PM
Tallaght
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/0a/81/99/fd39f3eec35343eb22bbd053336ab614ed3255e632/INPHO_00628402.jpg
Saskatchewan
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-yu4MhHVeX3E/T0RItm_NCPI/AAAAAAAAC64/HOuPRw8dS1M/s1600/Cheers_we_win.jpg
10/09/2012, 11:00 PM
Good solid performance tonight, Bray were poor, Parker with a lovely lob and a powerful header from Gav Kav.
Morrisseys sending off was a disgrace, Adam Mitchell conned the ref, threw himself to the ground, appalling stuff.
McKell, Jim McKell .... remember the name. He is either brutal beyond belief, a complete mug for being duped liked that, or he has a soft spot / hard-on for seagulls in Bray or something bizarre like that because thats the way you'd describe his performance ...... fooking bizarre. Hopefully it was all caught on camera anyway.
Jim McKell, the referee from hell !!!
10/09/2012, 11:32 PM
sN5_gI0SO24
Rover'n'out
11/09/2012, 12:04 AM
Well done Bohs. A great result tonight. Winner scored by Sligonian Kevin Devaney. Considering the bleak outlook there was for the present season with the financial problems Bohs currently have, it has been a very fruitful season against the big spenders in Tallaght. Under the circunstances not a bad league position either. Have to say credit to Aaron Callaghan.
PartySaint
11/09/2012, 1:52 AM
Mother of lord that was a farcical ending to the game in Tolka. Haven't got a notion what the sending off was about. Mostly to do with the Richmond Road Stand's posts. Any fan there have a notion?
Murphy punched O'Conor. It was a good game to watch but I thought we were awful. Too many stupid passes across our back 4 which nearly cost on on a number of different occasion. We were blessed we weren't playing a good side.
McKell, Jim McKell .... remember the name. He is either brutal beyond belief, a complete mug for being duped liked that, or he has a soft spot / hard-on for seagulls in Bray or something bizarre like that because thats the way you'd describe his performance ...... fooking bizarre. Hopefully it was all caught on camera anyway.
I think the incident showed the inexperience of our young team.
If a few of our lads had surrounded the ref to let him know exactly how bad an actor Adam Mitchell was then he may have reconsidered.
After the Quigley epilepsy fiasco earlier in the season and now this Bray would really want to realise that they aren't going to win an Oscar this year.
It was quite amazing that even though there wasn't a bad tackle in the game, we still ended up with 9 men.
Jim McKell, the referee from hell !!!That's awful face, leave the poetry to the experts. :D
11/09/2012, 8:14 AM
Murphy punched O'Conor. It was a good game to watch but I thought we were awful. Too many stupid passes across our back 4 which nearly cost on on a number of different occasion. We were blessed we weren't playing a good side.
True that. A mate of mine in the Riverside Stand confirmed the punch last night cheers PS.
The gulf in class between Casso and the rest of the team sometimes is breathtaking.
I'm just glad we're not in the FD anymore. That says it all about this season.
hoops1
11/09/2012, 9:16 AM
The most disappointing thing about last night is not that we lost but that Bohs deserved to win.
11/09/2012, 9:53 AM
I think the incident showed the inexperience of our young team.
If a few of our lads had surrounded the ref to let him know exactly how bad an actor Adam Mitchell was then he may have reconsidered.
After the Quigley epilepsy fiasco earlier in the season and now this Bray would really want to realise that they aren't going to win an Oscar this year.
It was quite amazing that even though there wasn't a bad tackle in the game, we still ended up with 9 men.
Maybe thats all Bray have got to go on, cheating? They didn't offer much else to be fair .... this is their clutching at straws
That's awful face, leave the poetry to the experts. :D
You could be onto something there ..... and there's loads to write about; "He got it so wrong, that referee McKell. Used the whistle so much, he'd have done better with a bell !!!"
11/09/2012, 10:16 AM
This week in pictures (http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/8909/in-pictures-airtricity-league-week-26-division-1/)
horton
11/09/2012, 11:47 AM
Just looking at some of our season stats make for a disappointing read. If you want a laugh, go to www.sportsfile.com and search for "Stephen Kenny" and try find a photo of him looking happy/not stressed:D
11/09/2012, 11:55 AM
Just looking at some of our season stats make for a disappointing read. If you want a laugh, go to www.sportsfile.com (http://www.sportsfile.com) and search for "Stephen Kenny" and try find a photo of him looking happy/not stressed:D
Ha ha, thats true actually, and its only getting worse for him.
11/09/2012, 1:36 PM
Kenny is clueless.
The period before he took McCabe off was the only part of the game where Rovers were creating chances, and they were doing so with ease. Then he sticks Tommy Stewart on the wing, the team loses all shape and cue 30 minutes of aimless hoofball. Bohs played well and should have scored more. On the plus side, Shane O'Connor looks like a great signing. Ten times the player Powell is.
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 1:38 PM
Just looking at some of our season stats make for a disappointing read. If you want a laugh, go to www.sportsfile.com and search for "Stephen Kenny" and try find a photo of him looking happy/not stressed:D
Would Derry fans be happy to take him back?
SwanVsDalton
11/09/2012, 1:53 PM
Would Derry fans be happy to take him back?
Why? You looking to drive him up? Just try it, the citizens of Derry have some form (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Derry) in making sure certain people can't get in.
PartySaint
11/09/2012, 1:56 PM
The gulf in class between Casso and the rest of the team sometimes is breathtaking.
Probably my favourite non-Pats player in the league. he is a class act. We were rumoured to be signing him last season, would love him playing for us.
El-Pietro
11/09/2012, 2:07 PM
Shane O'Connor looks like a great signing. Ten times the player Powell is.
really?!
11/09/2012, 2:19 PM
really?!
Well its last chance saloon for the guy, he had to start playing sometime, for someone, for something, for anything, just stop hiding from play, try and look like a footballer, just call for the ball and stop feicin' about you useless sack of ..... huumm, sorry about that, just something about the guy that makes me go off on one :)
11/09/2012, 2:28 PM
really?!
Yeah, he looks a real player. Maybe he just never settled in at Cork.
El-Pietro
11/09/2012, 2:39 PM
...hes from Cork...
11/09/2012, 2:48 PM
I meant the club. That's why I said "at Cork" not "in Cork".
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 2:49 PM
really?!
Yeah he looked very good last night...
hoops1
11/09/2012, 2:50 PM
really?!
That just means hes now as good as a bag of cement.
11/09/2012, 2:52 PM
Was probably Rovers best player on the night. I though McCabe should have been taken off 10 minutes earlier. Twice in the space of a couple of minutes he was waiting for balls to come to him and defenders just jumped in ahead of him. Showed a terrible lack of concentration, although he was probably the most creative player for Rovers when he was switched on, he's very frustrating to watch because he clearly has bags of ability.
Bohs were very comfortable, madness just humping long balls onto McGuinness' head for long spells of the game, despite hitting the bar twice Rovers never really did enough to say they deserved to score. Despite a blunder for the goal Jansson made a few great saves, and it could have been more for Bohs, the one on one early in the second half should have been buried.
I just don't understand how Rovers always manage to look like a team lacking confidence, and it's not just a new thing in the Stephen Kenny era, they were like that under O'Neill too, they'd play some nice football, make one mistake and start humping the ball long and looking like rabbits in the headlights, the only real difference was that O'Neill's team was set up better defensively so they didn't get punished quite so often.
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 2:53 PM
Why? You looking to drive him up? Just try it, the citizens of Derry have some form (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Derry) in making sure certain people can't get in.
Just think some managers are suited to certain clubs, he was relatively successful at Derry wasnt he?
11/09/2012, 2:58 PM
Kenny Out, literally this time: http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/2979-stephen-kenny
11/09/2012, 3:01 PM
Really thought he'd have held on to the end of the season. That's going to be a costly misadventure for Rovers. I hope Glass is not the longer term plan, I wouldn't have any faith in him at all.
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 3:04 PM
Really thought he'd have held on to the end of the season. That's going to be a costly misadventure for Rovers. I hope Glass is not the longer term plan, I wouldn't have any faith in him at all.
Magilton in Kenny back to Derry,
11/09/2012, 3:05 PM
I thought Magilton was managing in Oz? Did he come back?
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 3:07 PM
I thought Magilton was managing in Oz? Did he come back?
Yeah he's back...
11/09/2012, 3:14 PM
Was probably Rovers best player on the night. I though McCabe should have been taken off 10 minutes earlier. Twice in the space of a couple of minutes he was waiting for balls to come to him and defenders just jumped in ahead of him. Showed a terrible lack of concentration, although he was probably the most creative player for Rovers when he was switched on, he's very frustrating to watch because he clearly has bags of ability.
McCabe was the only player who looked like doing anything. His ball control was breathtaking at times. Even if he did have to be replaced, it had to be Greene or Brennan, not a striker. Stewart should have been off.
SwanVsDalton
11/09/2012, 3:17 PM
It's not cut-and-dried he'll come back, not least because most supporters would tell him to stuff off. Have no doubt he'd want to if we let him.
Dalymountrower
11/09/2012, 3:18 PM
Yeah he's back...
Expensive lesson
Amazed that Magilton didn`t take over when O`Nell left. Saw that he was mentioned for the Coventry job a few weeks ago, was he sacked by the Oz club?
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 3:34 PM
Expensive lesson
Amazed that Magilton didn`t take over when O`Nell left. Saw that he was mentioned for the Coventry job a few weeks ago, was he sacked by the Oz club?
Very expensive lesson, think some of the players acted like c***ts throughout this...
Dalymountrower
11/09/2012, 3:46 PM
Very expensive lesson, think some of the players acted like c***ts throughout this...
His problem was that that the ones who owed him a living , like Powell, Brennan, Green, Hawkins, werent good enough, and the ones who could have turned it around for him werent arsed.( Finn excepted)
Dave_SRFC
11/09/2012, 5:25 PM
His problem was that that the ones who owed him a living , like Powell, Brennan, Green, Hawkins, werent good enough, and the ones who could have turned it around for him werent arsed.( Finn excepted)
Agree with you...Hawkins was one of the few who actually gave a s**t.
adamd164
11/09/2012, 8:17 PM
Be absolutely hilarious if Kenny ends up at Derry again!
As for Rovers, they could do a hell of a lot worse than appoint Rico, but I don't know if he wants back into management.
11/09/2012, 9:00 PM
As for Rovers, they could do a hell of a lot worse than appoint Rico, but I don't know if he wants back into management.
Well would he want it anyway. Its not the most attractive position in the game now, from one perspective ..... but Rico to be fair could definitely get Rovers playing football anyway and that's what they need right now. They have he players for it.
11/09/2012, 11:01 PM
Probably my favourite non-Pats player in the league. he is a class act. We were rumoured to be signing him last season, would love him playing for us.
Yeah I got that rumour too. His bro works in my building as something or other and it was mentioned that there were chats. I was shocked he stayed and that ye or Rovers didn't sign him.
He'll be gone next season anyway. Way too good for us. Favourite player by a mile in this league.