View Full Version : Collins and the has-beens

fergalr
30/08/2004, 12:53 PM
First Carlton Palmer and now Efan Ekoku!
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=13322

This guy hasn't played since April 2002. Interesting to see that Collins plucked both of them from the BBC's pundit couch. I bet Lawo will be the next signing - he does every gig thats going.

liamon
30/08/2004, 2:23 PM
This is just embarrassing for the league. Surely we can attract better than this? Even if some of the old skill is still there, by the time he's fit, the season will be practically over.

:(

30/08/2004, 5:37 PM
Aside from the fact that the likes of Palmer and Ekoku (no offence to them, obviously) are taking the league back 30 years, where the hell are a team with an average attendance of 600 who don't own the ground they're playing in getting the money for all this? There's only so well-run the club can be surely?

30/08/2004, 5:51 PM
I may be wrong but I've heard Des Kelly, one of the main sponsors of Bohs, is giving Roddy some financial backing at Dublin City.

ShelsTim
30/08/2004, 7:39 PM
Well he did let go 15 players, i'm sure he saved plenty with that. And they're probably on contracts till the end of the season, if Roddy does well, he'll stay on, if not, him and his journeymen can start packing again.

Dr.Nightdub
30/08/2004, 9:30 PM
I reckon this is all just part of Roddy's master plan to lose the Continuity Home Farm tag - he's trying to complete the transition from schoolboy club into retirement home.

Breifne
31/08/2004, 12:22 AM
I reckon this is all just part of Roddy's master plan to lose the Continuity Home Farm tag - he's trying to complete the transition from schoolboy club into retirement home.

Have to say, that the humour round here actually isn't bad, and if any of ye had a proper head on your shoulders, ye would be dangerous.

Roddy is the boss, consider that 10 players have been taken off the wage bill, two weeks after being placed on the transfer list, with at least three or four more of the remaining six likely to be relocated before the transfer deadline, the difference between the previous wage bill and the new bill will be not be hugely significant.

Carlton Palmer & Efan Ekoku are not on huge money. They just want to play football and can't play full time football because of Media committments in the UK.

There is also a small chance of another International joining the swelling ranks of the Vikings, with former Hibernian, Celtic, Monaco, Everton & Fulham star John Collins a possible signing for Collins'.

Playing Record
Scotland: 58 Apps - 13 Goals

Hibernian: 163 Apps - 16 Goals
Glasgow Celtic: 225 Apps - 52 Goals
Monaco: 60 Apps - 13 Goals
Everton: 64 Apps - 4 Goals
Fulham: 81 Apps - 4 Goals

eamoss
31/08/2004, 9:52 AM
Posted by FGM on Dundalk Talk

--------------
I understand the Dublin City are now attempting to sign Stanley Matthews on a long term contract.

The fact that hes dead isnt seen as a problem by Roddy! :p

31/08/2004, 9:54 AM
Spoke to one of the new Dublin City signings in the Ivy House late on Friday night and he believed DC haven't a hope of staying up.

31/08/2004, 9:56 AM
Spoke to one of the new Dublin City signings in the Ivy House late on Friday night and he believed DC haven't a hope of staying up.

........ The has-beens are there for the money. i cant see where Roddy is getting it from.

31/08/2004, 12:00 PM
AFAIK Carlton Palmer is flying in for matches so that would have to be added to cost.

Obviously this doesn't look good for the league but if they good enough then surely its the leagues own fault for not being good enough. No offense to CHF but at least half your team were of 1st division standard so wouldn't be too hard to improve the quality.

The odds are ye will get relegated, all the OAPs will leave & will have little or no squad left for next season so will probably take ye 2-3 years to make another attempt at promotion - now that i think of it thats actually a bonus for the rest of us ;)

31/08/2004, 12:54 PM
........ The has-beens are there for the money. i cant see where Roddy is getting it from.
If they were there for the money, they wouldn't be there at all. Simple as.

Like most of the bulls*it spouted about DCFC here and elsewhere, the Dad's Army line doesn't stand up to scrutiny.

Players signed by Collins:

Danny Boxall: 27
Grant Cooper: 27
Carlton Palmer: 39
Scott Friel: 19
Ronnie Henry: 20
Keith Rowland: 30
Shaun Byrne: 23
Marc Kenny: 30
Adam Rundle: 20

Average age: 26

The reason Roddy's bringing in these older British-based players is that (on top of their quality and experience), he knows they've kept themselves fit. If we'd had the money I'm sure we'd have brought in players from other eL clubs (like Rovers and Pats, who claim to be broke one minute and start signing full-timers to get them out of trouble the next.)

Sooner or later, lads, you'll have to face the facts. We're angels compared to the rest of you. And if we go down, it will be solely for that reason.

manic da hoop
31/08/2004, 1:11 PM
Nobody's saying that Collins has a squad full of mercenaries at his disposal, but even one or two of these has-beens is more than enough. The rest of the league abandoned this crazy practice a couple of decades ago. I just hope that this 'new' policy at Home Farm becomes the death of this sorry excuse for an eircom league club.

31/08/2004, 1:44 PM
I just hope that this 'new' policy at Home Farm becomes the death of this sorry excuse for an eircom league club.
If that happens, can we have the life support machine, or are you still using it?

PS: Sod off.

PPS: Roddy's masterminded more remarkable comebacks against Rovers in his time. Don't forget we still have to play you twice, including on the last day of the season. It's shaping up to be your worst nightmare.

manic da hoop
31/08/2004, 2:33 PM
[QUOTE=Sheridan]If that happens, can we have the life support machine, or are you still using it?
QUOTE]

The life-support machine that you talk of is the magnificent people who have stuck by this great club through thick and thin, and have succeeded in making sure that we have survived through the most dire of circumstances that only someone associated with Shamrock Rovers FC could possibly appriciate.

Dublin City is a pathetic three year old franchise, which contributes nothing positive whatsoever to this league) disgiused as a football club, created by some weirdo that obviously has nothing better to do with his time or money, and followed by one very mislead person who seems to genuinely believe they'll acyually stay up. Hears hoping for a quick, but painful death.

31/08/2004, 2:56 PM
Sooner or later, lads, you'll have to face the facts. We're angels compared to the rest of you. And if we go down, it will be solely for that reason.

You will go down casue you are worse than the rest of the League

harpskid
31/08/2004, 8:37 PM
Fook Ronan Sneery and is pathetic excuse for a football club!!

In their first season as a team in the eL Sneery cried for 'arbitration' to get three points from a game against Waterford causing a delay in the playoff game between ourselves and Longford. :mad:

31/08/2004, 9:16 PM
Fook Ronan Sneery and is pathetic excuse for a football club!!

In their first season as a team in the eL Sneery cried for 'arbitration' to get three points from a game against Waterford causing a delay in the playoff game between ourselves and Longford. :mad:

Jesus, I was stupid enough to hope that the Muppet Show was over for the night. :rolleyes: The inarticulacy which characterises this species having been duly noted, let us move on to the rebuttal.

Do you honestly think that in the circumstances (namely, an ineligible player scoring the goal that keeps a club out of the play-offs) the likes of Jim Roddy or Ollie or, for that matter, any other chairman you care to mention, would have dropped the matter for the good of the league as Mr. Seery did? Not that, valid though the complaint was, I approved of it at the time (appealing results is not on, IMO.)

Still, have a special prize for being the first poster on this thread to have a semi-legitimate gripe.

Neish
31/08/2004, 10:27 PM
Yeah was wondering where Dub City are getting the money myself?

And what about Alex Nesovic? The fella is a good striker, but he a bit or a mercenary. I mean how many LOI clubs has he played for and not spending much more than a season or two at each

Harps
Bohs
Shels
Dundalk
Cobh
and Derry (I think)

Could be one or two I'm forgetting

31/08/2004, 10:48 PM
Yeah was wondering where Dub City are getting the money myself?

And what about Alex Nesovic? The fella is a good striker, but he a bit or a mercenary. I mean how many LOI clubs has he played for and not spending much more than a season or two at each

Harps
Bohs
Shels
Dundalk
Cobh
and Derry (I think)

Could be one or two I'm forgetting

He managed a couple of weeks at Derry...muppet

lefty
01/09/2004, 3:37 PM
Dunno what all the fuss is with you people and Collins' signings. I think hes a good manager myself. But thats beside the point. Could it be that some of you are worried that Dublin City might stay up with there band of mercenaries and one of ye will go down?

dortie
01/09/2004, 4:21 PM
He managed a couple of weeks at Derry...muppet

He managed 30 mins in a friendly against TNS from Wales.

I seriously would like to see where Dublin City are getting all this money...?

01/09/2004, 7:21 PM
Also played against Longford

Breifne
01/09/2004, 11:26 PM
I seriously would like to see where Dublin City are getting all this money...?

What money, no one is hiding anything. We saved a serious amount of money by releasing 15 players. That's fifteen eircom League (12 or so had featured in most of our games.) Premier Division wages saved.

The Guys he brought in are on similar money, there is also the small matter of there being less brought in, a number of them are playing for peanuts as a favour to Roddy. It's what friends do, you help out your friends when they are in trouble, if you can.

Roddy took on a tough job, it's become a little harder. Have your say at the end of the season, whether we manage to survive or not, you can pass judgement on Roddy and the Club's actions then, but at least give us the decency to put in a little fight first. If anyone from Longford, Derry, Pats or even Shamrock Rovers saw either of our last two games, against Drogheda or Cork, I don't think they would see the last twelve games as a foregone conclusion.

dortie
02/09/2004, 8:27 AM
If anyone from Longford, Derry, Pats or even Shamrock Rovers saw either of our last two games, against Drogheda or Cork, I don't think they would see the last twelve games as a foregone conclusion.

Your too far behind at this stage lad. In all honesty.

liamon
02/09/2004, 8:53 AM
If anyone from .... saw either of our last two games, against Drogheda or Cork, I don't think they would see the last twelve games as a foregone conclusion.
I saw the Cork game. CHF are awful. We were worse. But you're not staying up. It's over. Byeeeeee.

Krusty The Mon
02/09/2004, 8:58 AM
I sincerely hope that Dublin City stay up just in order to deliver an arsekicking to all the smug *******s supporting the big name teams on this thread. Stick it to them Roddy.

Bald Student
02/09/2004, 11:52 AM
If CHF do get relegated will all the new signings play in the first division or will The Rod really miss those fifteen players he's let go?

02/09/2004, 12:29 PM
I doubt either the players or Roddy will be there next season if they do go down.

02/09/2004, 5:36 PM
What money, no one is hiding anything. We saved a serious amount of money by releasing 15 players. That's fifteen eircom League (12 or so had featured in most of our games.) Premier Division wages saved.

You released 15 poor standard Premier players (they did land you bottom of the league) and replaced them with former international players. There is no way Efan Ekoku has come out of retirement for E200 a week. Byrne, Rowland, Ekoku, Palmer, that Polish bloke - their wages wouldn't be far off the 15 players released, not to mention getting Ekoku and Palmer to Ireland for games.

We tried a similar tack in the mid 80s - signed Peter Lorimer among others. Won the Cup but nearly went bankrupt and spent seven of the next eight years in the First Division. I fail to see what's so different about Dublin City's situation, to be honest. I speak merely from experience!

03/09/2004, 12:11 AM
I fail to see what's so different about Dublin City's situation, to be honest. I speak merely from experience!

Agreed, this is the pitfall ..... surely though, after all this, DCFC will have to do it all again next year if they do stay up, they have a cushion next year with two more teams though.

When Dublin City change there name from CHF ... they said Europe in five years ?? What does everyone think now ??

06/09/2004, 5:30 PM

The Guys he brought in are on similar money, there is also the small matter of there being less brought in, a number of them are playing for peanuts as a favour to Roddy. It's what friends do, you help out your friends when they are in trouble, if you can.

Roddy took on a tough job, it's become a little harder. Have your say at the end of the season, whether we manage to survive or not, you can pass judgement on Roddy and the Club's actions then, but at least give us the decency to put in a little fight first. If anyone from Longford, Derry, Pats or even Shamrock Rovers saw either of our last two games, against Drogheda or Cork, I don't think they would see the last twelve games as a foregone conclusion.

Roddy's not the man for a relegation fight. True - he did a job at Bohs when he first joined them, but Bohs didn't seriously look like they would go down (regardless of what Cobh fans at the time might have liked to have thought !).

You're only as good as your recent record, and Roddy's is muck. Last season he managed Carlisle through something like their first 15 games, and only picked up 5 points, getting the sack with the club rock-bottom of the English third and a whopping 20+ points adrift of the team above them. They ended the season only 2 points adrift of the pack, 4 points off safety, and with a form since Roddy's departure that would have put them well into the promotion play-offs.

Still reckon Roddy's the man to put up a relegation fight...?

06/09/2004, 5:44 PM
cant wait to see them go down at the end of the season

jofyisgod
06/09/2004, 6:53 PM
cant wait to see them go down at the end of the season

Agreed. Roddy's a cúnt and deserves to go down. These mickey-mouse signings make the league look like some kind of fúcking old peoples home. It's no coincidence that the best teams in this league have young, under-age internationals in the squad, not washed up old prunes.
To be honest, i'd be suprised if Roddy is still there next season, whether CHF are in this division or the one below.

manic da hoop
07/09/2004, 8:20 AM
Roddy is only there in a voluntary capacity till the end of the season. Couple that with the fact that nobody expects him to get Home Farm out of this mess. He's under no pressure whatsoever, and only took the job to keep himself in the public eye and remind other clubs of his existance (such as Rovers :eek: )

07/09/2004, 10:46 AM
The latest rumour doing the rounds is that Des Kelly and Roddy will buy Rocky out and then purchase the ground in Tallaght. At this stage anything can happen.

Just remembered the day when Steve Archibald (Ex Spurs, Aberdeen and Scotland) came over to play for HF. Keely took him off at half time and told him to F*** off back to Scotland.