25/08/2004, 6:56 PM
cracked rib, just gettin reports.....

25/08/2004, 6:58 PM
yeah out for 3 weeks with 2 cracked ribs......oh b0llox

25/08/2004, 7:03 PM
This is all we need. Kavanagh-Holland partnership against the Swizz i hope. We can still do it, we're a lot stronger than last year.

carnstien
25/08/2004, 7:05 PM
Well thats us ****ed, I think we should now go with:

Duff Reid O'Shea Finnan/Miller

in midfield.

25/08/2004, 7:13 PM
We beat the Dutch away from home without Carr, O'Shea, Roy, Duff and Miller (if you can include him as a first teamer). I think we should still be expecting to beat the Swizz.

The last time we played Switzerland we Breen and O'Shea at centre half as well as a player who couldn't make the crumbling Leeds team, Harte. Colin Healy in the centre with an out of form Kilbane on the left and Duff on the right. Also, the worst forward partnership in a long time, Connolly and Keane up front. We're a lot stronger with or without Keane and the Swizz are a lot weaker.

carnstien - We can do a lot better than that midfield.

25/08/2004, 7:21 PM
Wouldn't mind seing Delap in central mid field now in his place.

25/08/2004, 8:00 PM
Dam.

Out for Cyprus(H) and Switzerland(A), but back for France(A).

Could be worse I guess, but we have plenty of options in midfield.

Not the end of the world.

25/08/2004, 8:08 PM
Oh dear, what a pity, never mind.

Did it hurt much, Roy? ;)

25/08/2004, 9:20 PM
Story seems to be that he's been playing with cracked ribs for a few weeks but that a scan today revealed the possibility of him puncturing a lung so he's going to have to rest up while they heal.
Will be a loss, but we're used to playing and beating teams without him at this stage, he's only played 2 of our last twenty odd games ffs, it's hardly an insurmountable crisis

I think we should now go with:
Duff Reid O'Shea Finnan/Miller
in midfield.
I'm glad you're not the manager so ;) :D
Seriously though, O'Shea was a brief stop-gap in midfield for United, he's not an international class CM, he may be at some stage in the future, but let him learn his trade at United in 80+ games over a few seasons, not in qualifiers for the WC.

I think you'll see Kavanagh/Holland step in to take the midfield holding roll. I don't think they'd play well together. I'd probably go for

Miller Holland Kilbane Reid

25/08/2004, 9:35 PM
miller reid kilbane duff

25/08/2004, 9:43 PM
I think you'll see Kavanagh/Holland step in to take the midfield holding roll. I don't think they'd play well together.
Why is that? Kavanagh has yet to play in his normal role for Ireland. Kerr usually makes him play the holding role. Let Kavanagh boss the game as he does for Cardiff and play Holland as the anchorman and I think it'll be a great partnership.

25/08/2004, 10:05 PM
Holland is injured by the way !! he isnt likely to link up with the squad

25/08/2004, 10:27 PM
Holland is injured by the way !! he isnt likely to link up with the squad
I know he's injured but I don't know where you heard he's unlikely to link up with the squad. He has a bruised ankle and should be back this weekend.

IsMiseSean
25/08/2004, 10:33 PM
Miller Kavangh Kilbane Reid

Duff up front

25/08/2004, 11:02 PM
I honestly can't believe people still persist with this Duff up front ********, I really can't. It defies all logic. I'll never forgive McCarthy for starting that rubbish.

Fergie's Son
25/08/2004, 11:07 PM
All in all this is a bad thing. Friendlies are one thing, this will be the real thing. The Swiss play the diamond fairly well so we will definitely miss having Roy to break that up. I haven't seen anything to suggest that we have improved that much since Basel that we don't need Keane playing. This sucks!

Adrianovic
26/08/2004, 12:16 AM
Bugger.

Well if they play the diamond then I'd advocate both Reid and Duff on alternate wings, just exploit the space down the wings. It'd be worth a go for a bit then rejig the midfield if it doesn't. The diamond can be a complete disaster if it isn't played to the letter.

If we played to the diamond I'd have:

Reid - Holland - Miller - Duff

and if the width idea didn't work, or Miller gave us enough width regardless:

Miller - Holland - Reid - Duff

That's a real blow losing Keane though, he really did make a difference and I don't think he'd let the game pass us by like it did when we got beaten out at the Wankdorf Stadium. Any excuse to use the stadiums name.

Ade

Fergie's Son
26/08/2004, 4:45 AM
He is are best player by a country mile so no, we are not better off without him. The Swiss bossed us in the midfield both matches (I was at both games) and I haven't seen us do anything that suggests we are capable of changing that. Very, very worried.

26/08/2004, 7:32 AM
Centre of midfield should now be 2 of Holland, Kilbane & Kav. Of these I think Kerr will always select KK so it’s a toss up between the other two.

Kav and Kilbane did really well against Brazil. Looked really solid. I was hoping for Kav to start ahead of Healy last time we played the Swiss.

Miller to come off the bench if it’s not working but solidity and strength should be the priority in Basle, let alone against Cyprus. Reid & Duffer out wide.

I’m wondering if Kerr may opt for a 5 man midfield against the Swiss: Reid, Kavanagh, Holland, Kilbane & Duff.

Quinn & Delap may have a role to play yet.

I agree totally with eirebhoy’s assessment of Basle last time out. We had a totally weak core: Breen & O’Shea, Holland & Healy. Harte was brutally out of form (even by his standards). I reckon the above selections, plus Cunningham’s return will change that.

Must admit I’m a little worried too though. Who’d take 4 points now? I would.

PS: based on the 20 mins I saw last night Shay & Carr need to pull their socks up. Well played Doc.

irwinsalegend
26/08/2004, 7:56 AM
Lads

From watahing the Bulgaria game last week here's the team i think he doing to go with now that Keane is out.

Given
Carr - RB
Cunningham - CB
O'Brien - CB
O'Shea - LB
Kilbane - CM
Holland - CM if fit
Reid - LM
Finnan - RM
Duff - CF
Keane -CF

I think it's the strongest team possible, Miller hasn't done himself too many favours with his recent performances as he still seem lightly off the mark and might need 10 or 15 games for united befiore he's ready, he hasn't played much football.

26/08/2004, 8:12 AM
Huge loss. Not sure that Holland is fully fit.
Delap has had a good pre-season.
Kav would have to play a blinder v Cyprus to warrant inclusion.

Shay
Carr
Kenny
Andy
O'Shea
Miller
Reid
Kilbane
Duff
Lee/Connolly
Keane

Miller and Reid could trade places as needed.
No holding midfield player would cause huge problems for the defence though.
Come on Matty Holland, get those fitness levels back up.

26/08/2004, 8:12 AM
I suspect you're right there.

It raises the question about Duff playing upfront again, but other than that it'd be a pretty good side.

26/08/2004, 8:14 AM
I suspect you're right there.

sorry, I was referring to Irwinsalegend's selection. You beat me to the response Peadar.

stickyjoe
26/08/2004, 8:22 AM
given

carr
cunningham
o brien
finnan(o shea has been playing badly for over a season now and has done little for ireland)

reid
miller
kilbane
duff

r keane
morrison/connolly/lee (there all sh ite but i`d leave duff in midfield instead of up front)

hopefully beat cyprus and get atleast a point in basel

Beanie
26/08/2004, 8:38 AM
I was disappointed yesterday when i heard the news, but our best friendly preformances were without Roy, i.e Brazil and Holland, plus its not like two years ago when we were a one man team, Cyprus at home no excuses 3 points, swiss away we should still edge this one but only just, Are they weaker than they were last year? you would have to think so, plus their two strikers are missing, I hope Kerr has a plan for Hakin Yakin this time around. my midfield would be

Reid, Miller, Holland, Duff

Does anyone know when Holland is offcially back from injury, and was Miller left out last night Man U v Bucharest because Fergie considers him a first choice 11 for saturday and he was blooding youngsters instead??

Tipp Townie
26/08/2004, 8:52 AM
I think we have a little bit of scope to experiment against Cyprus, though i dont by any means think they should be taken lightly. I agree with Irwinsalegend about Miller's form; he's a good prospect but i havent been bowled over by really any of his performances yet, for Ireland or ManU.

Personally i'm a big fan of Kavanagh, and i think he should get the nod for Cyprus. Not necessarily at Holland and Killer's expense though-

I think i'd go for a 4-4-1-1 formation to start, with Duffer switching between the wing and up front.

Given,
Carr, Cunningham, O'Brien, O'Shea/Finnan
Reid, Holland, Kav, Kilbane
Duff
Keane

I know some of yous hate the idea of Duff not being on the wing. I can see where you're coming from. However i think that this is our strongest 11 and that everyone can be accomadated in it. If you're putting a gun to my head then i'd bring in Morrison, and move Duff back to the wing in place of Holland or Kilbane- a major factor being Holland's fitness.

Greenbod
26/08/2004, 10:16 AM
Losing Keane (Roy) is not such a calamity as it would have been a couple of years ago. We have plenty of cover in midfield. I'd be much more worried if any of Robbie, Duff, Kilbane, Cunningham or Reid were unavailable.

We got to the last 16 of a World Cup without Keane and with a much weaker squad than we have now. The current squad should get by Cyprus and Switzerland with or without him.

bitored
26/08/2004, 10:51 AM
PS: based on the 20 mins I saw last night Shay & Carr need to pull their socks up
Agreed.... is it my imagination or does Given look like he's been eating the pies? :rolleyes:

26/08/2004, 10:56 AM
Maybe it is to do with his illness but then again i am not expert on this sort of thing but it may have something to do with it

Greenbod
26/08/2004, 11:11 AM
Maybe it is to do with his illness but then again i am not expert on this sort of thing but it may have something to do with it

I doubt it. I believe he had conjunctivitis. To my knowledge this does not cause weight gain. Pie-eating, however, does.

26/08/2004, 11:14 AM
PS: based on the 20 mins I saw last night Shay & Carr need to pull their socks up.

To be fair the mood in the Newcastle squad must be shocking!
They boys will probably be delighted to get over to Dublin for a few days and then away to Switzerland.

Tipp Townie
26/08/2004, 12:36 PM
I doubt it. I believe he had conjunctivitis. To my knowledge this does not cause weight gain. Pie-eating, however, does.

Ha ha! Have to admit i thought he looked at little, ahem, 'portly' on the box last night

Fr. Murphy
26/08/2004, 12:47 PM
what kerr should of done over the last few friendlies is try o'shea in midfield as what ferguson is trying to do at utd. whether he'll give that ago in the cyprus match is another thing. if not i'd want to see Kavanagh (Being a of bullish character and also a good passer (a cheap roy keane)) and Holland if fit. If not maybe kilbane in the centre with miller and reid on the flanks.

The Owls
26/08/2004, 1:00 PM
I dont know were people are getting the perception that miller will play centre for ireland. I wouldnt even have him in the starting eleven yet. Hes proved nothing. Give him time then put him in. kilbane and holland if fit in the centre.

26/08/2004, 1:27 PM
At least the real Keane looks to be on his way back having come off the bench for Spurs last night. IMO Robbie much more importnat to Ireland.

26/08/2004, 2:43 PM
Lads, if Holland isn't fit, either Delap will play or Kavanagh will play the holding role. We are just handing the match over to Switzerland if we don't play a holding midfielder. Only one team in Euro 2004 played without one, England, and they were second best against everyone (Swizz dominated for an hour until they went down to 10 men). I will eat my hat if Sven doesn't play Butt in the qualifiers after watching their performances.

Fr. Murphy, IMO the reason O'Shea played in midfield was because Fergie didn't trust him at centre back.

Eh Weh
26/08/2004, 4:46 PM
While the loss of Keane is a blow, hes no where near as important for us now as he was even 2 years ago. The most important members in our squad is Robbie as far as im cncerned, without him upfront we are useless. Cunningham and Duff are also atleast as vital as Keane in my opinion. Our team is far better now than it was when we played Switzerland last time. 3 of their senior players have retired since the European championships and they were first choice players. Frei the keeper, Chapuisat a striker and Celistini a midfielder have all retired, in addition to Frei the striker who will be banned for the first two matches, the latter being against us. An extract from an article on the Euro 2004 article " The retirements of Stiel and Chapuisat will have a major impact on the Swiss team. Stiel played a leading role on and off the pitch as the team captain, while Chapuisat is arguably his country's best-ever player. He won 103 caps and scored 21 goals after making his debut against Brazil in 1989. " Frei was banned due to spitting at Steven Gerrard during the Euro's. Also take into account theyll probably have one or two players injured, its very rare any international team manager gets their first choice eleven on the pitch. Hopefully Keane will be fit for the France games, we should beat Switzerland over the two legs no problem. If you think about it we played absolutely dire football in the last campaign and still had a chance to qualify in first place if we had beaten the Swiss in the last game, dosnt say much for them or Russia does it. Lets not kid ourselves, Ireland have far better players than the Swiss, i think were paying them far too much respect.Central mid is one of the positions where were not exactly short of players, id expect us beat Cyprus comfortably and get at least a draw with the Swiss. Robbie made his comeback for Spurs yesterday and Duff i read in the indo that Duff is expected to play for Chelsea this weekend.

carnstien
26/08/2004, 6:59 PM
Seriously though, O'Shea was a brief stop-gap in midfield for United, he's not an international class CM

Miller Holland Kilbane Reid

Jesus if O'Shea is not an international class CM I cringe to think what Holland and Kilbane are.

That midfield you have up there is about the worst you could possibly select from the players available. You've got Duff up front which means straight off you don't know what you are talking about and the 2 players in the centre can't make a 5 yard diagonal pass.

If O'Shea and Andy Reid were on an opposing team to Kilbane and Holland in central midfield, Kilbane and Holland would be passed off the park.

Greenbod
26/08/2004, 7:54 PM
Jesus if O'Shea is not an international class CM I cringe to think what Holland and Kilbane are.

What Holland and Kilbane are, are proven international class players. What O'Shea has proven to date in international football is that he's not yet up to it. If you were capable of an objective view you would see this.

Oh and btw, Kerr will probably play Duff up front and ignore the outcry from experts such as yourself.

26/08/2004, 8:00 PM
Oh and btw, Kerr will probably play Duff up front and ignore the outcry from experts such as yourself.

If he does he's as bad as McCarthy.

26/08/2004, 8:53 PM
Carnstein, you would prefer a midfield of O'Shea and Reid which obviously means playing O'Shea as a holding midfielder. O'Shea has never played the holding midfield role in his life so I don't think we're going to throw him in there for the qualifiers. When played for United Djemba was playing the holding role and O'Shea was getting forward a lot. So your central midfield pairing is out of the question.

Greenbod
27/08/2004, 9:13 AM
If he does he's as bad as McCarthy.

If he gets us to a World Cup he'll be as good as McCarthy.

If he gets us further than last 16 he'll have done better than McCarthy.

27/08/2004, 10:03 AM
I was just thinking last night, that Roy Keane has not actually pulled out of the squad yet. Usually when someone gets an injury like that they would have pulled out by now. I reckon that he is still hopefull that he can maybe make the swiss game and is playing it cool for the moment. According to the website Kerr has been in contact with Utd Medical team regarding the situation but I think he is not deffo out until he is pulled out of the squad for medical reasons. Dont wanna get anybodys hopes up that he will play but it is still a possibility.

Beanie
27/08/2004, 10:16 AM
Read in todays Papers that Kerr is contacting Man U medical staff to see can Roy still make one or two of the qualifiers, I don't mind the Cyprus match we can well manage that without Roy, but having him for the Swiss match would be a massive boost..

27/08/2004, 10:29 AM
http://www.fai.ie/article.asp?hlid=222276&Title=Kerr+has+been+in+contact+with+Manchester+Uni ted&lid=Main+News&sub=Kerr+has+been+in+contact+with+Manchester+Unite d&navlid=&sublid=

Kerr has been in contact with Manchester United

Republic of Ireland manager Brian Kerr has said he has been in contact with Manchester United following the news that Roy Keane has cracked his ribs and could be out for a number of weeks.

"I and the FAIreland medical team have been in constant contact today with Manchester United and the Manchester United medical team to ascertain the exact position in relation Roy Keane," he said.

27/08/2004, 10:38 AM
Should this have not been merged into the previous topic as it was mentioned there too. It did not need a new thread of its own surely

Metrostars
27/08/2004, 12:00 PM
If he gets us to a World Cup he'll be as good as McCarthy.

If he gets us further than last 16 he'll have done better than McCarthy.

Are you willing to give him 6 years for him to qualify for a World Cup? Like McCarthy?

Greenbod
27/08/2004, 12:11 PM
Are you willing to give him 6 years for him to qualify for a World Cup? Like McCarthy?

Eh, they only happen every four years, so yes, I would give him two attempts, depending of course on how we actually perform in the upcoming qualifiers and the following euro qualifiers.

He does, however, already have an advantage over McCarthy in that he has a youthful and promising squad to work with. McCarthy started with a weak and ageing squad.

irwinsalegend
27/08/2004, 12:19 PM
I was just thinking last night, that Roy Keane has not actually pulled out of the squad yet. Usually when someone gets an injury like that they would have pulled out by now. I reckon that he is still hopefull that he can maybe make the swiss game and is playing it cool for the moment. According to the website Kerr has been in contact with Utd Medical team regarding the situation but I think he is not deffo out until he is pulled out of the squad for medical reasons. Dont wanna get anybodys hopes up that he will play but it is still a possibility.

NeilMcD- Correct

Keane is far from out of the Switzerland match yet. The noises i've heard from close to the squad are that he's very eager to play , probably about 50-50 at the minute and that's why he's still in the squad.

colster
27/08/2004, 3:38 PM
You serious????? Holland and Kilbane are international boggers.

If Kerr makes the same mistake McCarthy made time and time again by playing Duff up front we may aswell not turn up.

Thankfully Kerr has a brain and it will not happen...

They're better than O'Shea.
I can't believe people are seriously suggesting that O'Shea should play Centre Midfield. He's not good enough. He's only played a few games there.
I reckon these are the same people who said that he should play centre half. Look what happened the last time we played Switzerland.