View Full Version : American Football

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Real ale Madrid
16/08/2012, 8:44 AM
Thread for all NFL and American football related discussion for upcoming season.

First things first - it would be a pity if the foot.ie fantasy NFL was let slide so I have PM'ed WexCar to see if he can run that league - if he doesn't get back to me by the middle of next week I will set up a new league. Hoping to run a draft w/commencing the 27th of August so reply if interested with preferred evening to hold same. If the interest is light I won't bother.

Anyone going to Notre Dame v Navy ?

16/08/2012, 6:29 PM
i might be interested but am in 2 very competitive leagues already with good banter and analysis and the foot.ie one just isnt the same. Theres no interest in much conversation on here about it either.

In other news, the Bohs NFL Fantasy League expanded this year such that we have two leagues this year. We had our drafts on Monday for the new league and Tuesday for the elite. 2 leagues of 12 with promotion and relegation (2 up, 2 down).... we're footballizing an american sport! :D

WexCar
17/08/2012, 8:36 AM
As requested by RaM the league is activated. I have e-mailed those involved last year as they will be automatically entered. Anyone new to the league follow the below link & enter ID/password.

http://fantasy.nfl.com/registration/privateleaguejoin
League ID: 35253
League Password: 88909402

Clifford
23/08/2012, 10:29 PM
If not too late myself and my brother will come onboard if still places available?

23/08/2012, 11:00 PM
i might be interested but am in 2 very competitive leagues already with good banter and analysis and the foot.ie one just isnt the same. Theres no interest in much conversation on here about it either.

In other news, the Bohs NFL Fantasy League expanded this year such that we have two leagues this year. We had our drafts on Monday for the new league and Tuesday for the elite. 2 leagues of 12 with promotion and relegation (2 up, 2 down).... we're footballizing an american sport! :D

Are your other 2 leagues Canadian based?

24/08/2012, 6:10 AM
1 is Canadian and the other is through the Bohs lads.

24/08/2012, 9:13 AM
I'm back in

WexCar
24/08/2012, 10:20 PM
If not too late myself and my brother will come onboard if still places available?
Yep there are places, the more the merrier, just follow the link & use info in post #3.

WexCar
24/08/2012, 10:36 PM
We have until 4th September for the draft. Let us know your preferences.

Clifford
27/08/2012, 12:17 AM
We have until 4th September for the draft. Let us know your preferences.

I have one Sun evening the 2nd if we could do it then, but around all week if it has to be any other evening.

WexCar
27/08/2012, 3:22 AM
I have the draft fixed for Sunday 2nd Sept @ 1pmPDT/4pmET/9pmGMT. Dont forget to set your pre-draft rankings in case you cant make the draft.

27/08/2012, 9:42 AM
Might have to miss that. have 2 already that evening.

Real ale Madrid
28/08/2012, 2:38 PM
anyone know if you can run 2 draft windows at the same time ?

Clifford
28/08/2012, 4:21 PM
I'm gonna try one on the pc and another on the lap top. Hope it works.

WexCar
28/08/2012, 8:31 PM
I can bring it back or forward an hour, if that makes it easier for everyone

Real ale Madrid
28/08/2012, 9:36 PM
I can bring it back or forward an hour, if that makes it easier for everyone

That would be ideal for me anyway - either or suits fine.

28/08/2012, 10:10 PM
count me in for sunday!

05/09/2012, 11:26 PM
And the season doth begineth!

And all of it live on ESPN America! I'm salivating at all the lost weekends!

Go Broncos!

swinfordfc
06/09/2012, 10:06 PM
Go redskins! :)

08/09/2012, 3:58 PM
And the season doth begineth!

And all of it live on ESPN America! I'm salivating at all the lost weekends!

Go Broncos!

Sky have stepped in and gone stolen my NFL! *******s!

swinfordfc
09/09/2012, 9:08 PM
Go RG the 3rd! :)

09/09/2012, 10:33 PM
63 yarder from David Akers. Noice.

10/09/2012, 8:08 AM
That was a serious result we had last night. Cripes. What an opening weekend.

swinfordfc
10/09/2012, 2:40 PM
The Redskins always start well (win first game) - its usually downhill after that .......

Clifford
10/09/2012, 9:12 PM
30 clear in week one with Rice to come later. Might get off to a flyer myself. Great night last night, San Fran and Seattle games were superb. Love watching the red zone thing on sky. Great coverage.

10/09/2012, 11:49 PM
Bengals v Ravens live on BBC.co.uk it seems. WHOOP!!!

Real ale Madrid
17/09/2012, 2:20 PM
Defeat in week one for "Corn on the Schuab" but a whopping 170 pts has got me up and running in week 2.

On the field - I watched the Patriots on gamepass yesterday evening. Can't remember them playing so poorly in a long while. Hope its just a blip, as run defence and the run looked so much improved in week 1, albeit against the Titans.

Then watched Redskins v Rams - didn't think that would be the one to stick to given the quality of the other games but it was a highly entertaining game.

NFC West doesn't look like such a dud division anymore. All 4 teams won last night.

swinfordfc
17/09/2012, 11:08 PM
That wide receiver who threw the ball at his marker at the end of the game (who cost the game for redskins) should never play for them again! pure stupid......

18/09/2012, 8:09 AM
Damn Falcons.

Clifford
18/09/2012, 10:29 AM
Spanked by Corn on the Schaub, bummer. Some weird games at the weekend.

Watched the game last night, well as much of it as I could given the replacement refs slowing things up dramatically. What is going on there, these sub umps are brutal altogether. 1st quarter took an hour last night. I'm sure I'd have done better myself.

18/09/2012, 5:04 PM
I was listening to Jets-Steelers on 5live on Sunday and the commentators were losing their minds with some of the decisions that were being made.

There's a pay issue with the NFL and the refs.

http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&site=&source=hp&q=nfl+ref+lockout&oq=nfl+ref+&gs_l=mobile-gws-hp.1.1.0i3j0l4.3383.9251.0.10969.10.9.0.1.1.0.1740 .1921.0j1j8-1.2.0.les%3B..0.0...1ac.1.gRjMzotqgQQ

Could becoming to an end soon.

Clifford
25/09/2012, 11:17 PM
Jaysus they need to sort the ref thing out Bonnie sooner rather than later. Another terrible weekend for them.

A win for me vs Bohs Roughriders. Got haunted as I left 105 points on the bench. Phew.

Real ale Madrid
07/10/2012, 11:19 PM
NFL

National Fumble League

Clifford
10/10/2012, 8:06 PM
Vick making a habit of it for sure. Everyone happy with their squads? Willing to swap Cook or Witten for another tight end if anyone's interested.

Real ale Madrid
23/11/2012, 1:31 AM
My slightly impulsive decision to put the Pats D/ST in my fantasy line-up is reaping all kinds of ridiculous dividends tonight!

Jets are bringing stink to a new level.

2 great games before that.

Clifford
27/11/2012, 2:08 PM
That Sanchez play headbutting yer mans arse gave me the biggest laugh in years to be fair, good call Real ale on the Pats. I'd used em a few weeks back on a one off and they were ok as well.

My season of strife carried on last night. 38 ahead with only one player to come against me. Step forward Cam the *******!! 45 feckin points, your joking me.

Ah wel, was long gone from playoffs anyhow. Will fight til the end though, but that was a killer.

Real ale Madrid
27/11/2012, 2:17 PM
That Sanchez play headbutting yer mans arse gave me the biggest laugh in years to be fair, good call Real ale on the Pats. I'd used em a few weeks back on a one off and they were ok as well.

My season of strife carried on last night. 38 ahead with only one player to come against me. Step forward Cam the *******!! 45 feckin points, your joking me.

Ah wel, was long gone from playoffs anyhow. Will fight til the end though, but that was a killer.

Hard luck Clifford, I must say I had given up the ghost on the win completely - Newton has been a major underachiever and did not expect anything save maybe 20 odd points. Couldn't believe what I saw this morning.

Not having the same luck on other Fantasy teams - my boards team lost to an opponent with no QB over the weekend. :(

Crosby87
09/12/2012, 4:30 PM
Im debating betting on the Giants today. But will Brees pick them apart again?

Clifford
31/12/2012, 2:16 PM
Fair play to Leesports colts for winning the fantasy football 2012. Des Bryant could have had a blinding night to win it for Corn on the Schaub, not to be (Romo's an ass!)

I'm delighted to win my last game and finish 11th not 12th. :-(

Fair play to all who played. I enjoy it anyway.

Real ale Madrid
01/01/2013, 10:08 AM
Well said Clifford, and well done Leesports colts. The game was well up before Romo did his thing.
I was punching the air when Luck connected with Hilton for that 70yd TD pass in the 3rd quarter as I had a few euros on the Colts - but in hindsight it was that play that probably decided the fantasy game. Well done to all who played - enjoyable as always.

Colt12
01/01/2013, 11:16 PM
Cheers lads
Great fun all season, thought I was a gonner when I got the snickers award back along
True about the colts play that sealed it , win win for me
Colts finished in style and i won the fantasy lg.
Well done for all who took part
See ye next season
Leesportscolts

Crosby87
06/01/2013, 2:25 PM
Colts are going down today.

swinfordfc
06/01/2013, 3:24 PM
Colts will lose tonight but the main game is the redskins v seahawks

Come on Redskins :)

07/01/2013, 10:15 AM
Trying to watch NFL online is doing my nut in. I think I may have to bite the bullet and get Sky Sports for the month.

07/01/2013, 10:23 AM
There's only 7 games left. Might be cheaper to buy the NFL game pass for the month (presuming they show the play ofs)

07/01/2013, 10:46 AM
There's only 7 games left. Might be cheaper to buy the NFL game pass for the month (presuming they show the play ofs)

It's only €33.54 to get Sky Sports 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the month on UPC and the game pass is GBP£34.99 for the rest of the season plus there's blackouts in Ireland and Britain on games shown on Sky Sports from what I can make out, which means every game now!

07/01/2013, 11:04 AM
Wow, I didn't think it was that expensive. The fact the play offs are blacked out means its prety pointless now too.

07/01/2013, 11:16 AM
Yeah. Kinda shocking alright. Season pass is useless for us over here after a certain point as the games you'll probably want to watch are gonna be on Sky. Unless you are a Jags or Bills fan of course.

07/01/2013, 11:27 AM
I think last year was the first year tht ireland was lumped in with GB for Game Pass. A friend (or a grup of them actually) has had it for a while. They could get stuff like Red Zone that Gb couldn't fpr a couple of years.

07/01/2013, 11:55 AM
I think last year was the first year tht ireland was lumped in with GB for Game Pass. A friend (or a grup of them actually) has had it for a while. They could get stuff like Red Zone that Gb couldn't fpr a couple of years.

I think you're right. I remember last season thinking of getting it for that but I decided to just get sky for a while in the end.

This season as I'm living with a cheapskate and have no hope of splitting a Sky sub with, I was gonna get the game pass thinking it was the same but it was so limiting in comparison to what I thought I didn't bother.

Sure at one stage it was looking like ESPN had the NFL rights for GB and IRL this season and somehow Sky took it over at the last minute.
That was super frustrating.

I think next year I'll be using a Friends' upstate NY address and a proxy to get me Yankee Gamepass.