View Full Version : Brand New FAI...
25/08/2004, 1:24 PM
I can't find any National League section :confused: Found table section alright which is badly laid out as very wide tables. Even at 1152*864 resolution i have to scroll across a lot to see.
Sloppy work :eek:
Pete the page should resize to fit your browser window.
It certainly does for me anyway.
You need to have patience with these things and surely you can appreciate that with your background.
Knocking the site for the sake of knocking it doesn't help anyone or achieve anything.
Post constructive criticism here if you have some, you never know who might read this thread.
My first opinion is positive.
I like the little league table at the bottom.
It looks professional and certainly looks better than this effort (http://www.fff.fr) by the former World and European champions.
brine3
25/08/2004, 1:26 PM
It was difficult enough to come up with a logo worse than the old one, but trust the FAI to pull it off. :eek:
New kit looks decent though.
25/08/2004, 1:29 PM
I think the crest looks good, trendy like! Beats the sh.. out of the old one.
25/08/2004, 1:32 PM
I'd disagree with suggestions that the site won't render properly on smaller resolutions, it looks to me like it'll render ok on 800x600 or above, and in this day and age you'd want to be a complete anal retentive to care very much about anything under that.
However the logo is mawky, and the site as a whole ain't much better. It's so stereotypically Oirish all it's short is a couple of leprechauns and some diddley-idle-eye music in the background. Yee-uch, money down the drain.
25/08/2004, 1:33 PM
The new jersy is an imporvement but jesus that crest is absolutley awful.
25/08/2004, 1:35 PM
What is the logo actually meant to be? Is the dark green thing at the bottom meant to be a shamrock? What's the circle things above?
Rank ! the new crest is pants, but the site looks a hell of a lot better than the old one, once the problems are ironed out it'll be pretty good.
Fran has also decided, to save money, to change the match day programme. Which is bad news ! the last programe designed by new century publishing was QUALITY ! but the new crowd are quite poor, bad move IMO
25/08/2004, 1:41 PM
What is the logo actually meant to be?
If you can't see it there's really no hope for you.
Sadly for those of you who don't like it you'll have to suffer it for a few years. Those of us who like it can look forward to a whole new wardrobe for Switzerland :D
25/08/2004, 1:42 PM
What is the logo actually meant to be? Is the dark green thing at the bottom meant to be a shamrock? What's the circle things above?
It looks like someones robbed the logo for Eircom League weekly and scribbled FAIreland on top of it to me.
25/08/2004, 1:43 PM
i think the new logo looks great, i know in 5 years things will change but it looks great for now! The site looks a lot cleaner and ties a lot of things together, I like the way the Eircom League is there alongside the World Cup Qualfying group, it has focused on the future and development etc. Nice simply clean looking website. :) :)
the_googler
25/08/2004, 1:44 PM
I really don't like the new crest, my guess is it's meant to a celtic (not the club) rendition of a football.
it looks like it's a whole big money-spinning exercise with nothing else taken into consideration, is everyone else joining IrelandFans!?
OK i'll ease off the website for time being (judgement coloured by start to previous version). Maybe my views would be different if i worked on GUI element of s/w that exposed to the public.
But crest is manky & sad thing about crest is they probably a lot of cash & gave some speel about what it represents.
btw i'm using IE 5.5 & not see any advanced fuction for site to fit screen...
25/08/2004, 1:44 PM
The crest looks like it's been designed by Milo Corcoran's hairstylist. It's better than the old one though so I'd give it a qualified thumbs up.
Jersey looks decent enough. I'll be in Dublin airport tomorrow & Friday so hopefully it'll be in the shops there. Hopefully the home kit will be available in long sleeves for once.
25/08/2004, 1:46 PM
I really don't like the new crest, my guess is it's meant to a celtic (not the club) rendition of a football.
You should have gone to Specsavers!
It's a football with the three circles at the front representing a shamrock.
Very simple.
Makes a nice new wallpaper on my phone too.
the_googler
25/08/2004, 1:48 PM
It looks like someones robbed the logo for Eircom League weekly and scribbled FAIreland on top of it to me.
Thank you slash/ed, it was bugging me where I thought i had seen it before.
brine3
25/08/2004, 1:50 PM
I've figured it out, they're flying lollipops.
brine3
25/08/2004, 1:52 PM
The site is exactly the same, isn't it? Look at the squad page. They've taken exactly the same text and cut and paste it wholesale into a new look. That's not a new website at all.
25/08/2004, 1:55 PM
The site is exactly the same, isn't it? Look at the squad page. They've taken exactly the same text and cut and paste it wholesale into a new look. That's not a new website at all.
Done the same thing with the League tables. And I notice they still haven't updated the U21 tables.
Metrostars
25/08/2004, 2:02 PM
My thoughts:
- They make all this hoopla about launching a new site yet their "Shop" page isnt available
- "Contact The CEO" link. Yeah, thats a blast.
- Still the only nation with a sponsor on their replica shirts?
- The new logo? With FAIreland on it? Looks like "F--k All Ireland" to me. Why cant they just have a simple shamrock and be done with it?
- Reminds me of my first car(my 1977 mini). Same old crap. Just a different paint job.
25/08/2004, 2:03 PM
The Crest is shocking! the New home jersey doesnt look bad though!
25/08/2004, 2:03 PM
seems like there is some hardened bitter people here, its better than the old site, concentrate on the positve :)
it looks like it's a whole big money-spinning exercise
In fairness thats what all football associations are about. FAI need the cash!
brine3
25/08/2004, 2:04 PM
If you click on the "amateur" section, you get a page from the old site with the old logo. Amateurs indeed.
Jesus, talk about bitterness. Give them a chance lads, they're moving in the right direction, might be a few hiccups, but its a lot better then the old site. Give it a month and if its crap then well fair enough, but its only bene out for a few hours..
- The new logo? With FAIreland on it? Looks like "F--k All Ireland" to me. Why cant they just have a simple shamrock and be done with it?
I suspect problems with trademarking that which means any fecker can make rip off "replica" jerseys.
Must be embarishing for FAI to hype the great re-lauch but as you said just a touch up of the paint...
Bluetonic
25/08/2004, 2:26 PM
Anyone register their details for memebership yet?
They ask for credit card details, yet the connection is not secure, it's just a normal HTTP post.
JOKERS!
brine3
25/08/2004, 2:31 PM
Jesus, talk about bitterness. Give them a chance lads, they're moving in the right direction, might be a few hiccups, but its a lot better then the old site. Give it a month and if its crap then well fair enough, but its only bene out for a few hours..
Well I am bitter, every other association has a decent logo, but we had supersonic footballs and now we get flying lollipops.
Check out some of these:
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo181.gif
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo192.gif
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo176.gif
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo151.gif
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo170.gif
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo187.gif
http://www.lequipe.fr/Football/logos/FootballLogo164.gif
Now look at ours.
25/08/2004, 2:35 PM
Well I am bitter, every other association has a decent logo,
Check out some of these:
Now look at ours.
Thanks for that, you've reinforced my opinion that our crest is DEADLY!
I'm going to fire off a mail to some of my mates from various countries and ask them what they think.
25/08/2004, 2:38 PM
Brine3, I am absolutely positive we'd have lots of unhappy people of FAI produced a logo similar to those above. Its just impossible for us to be happy with anything the FAI do.
macdermesser
25/08/2004, 2:38 PM
I know it sounds like a daft idea .. but why didn't they ask people their opinions about the crest. Simple market research. Or at least ask the right people .. like people from this board.
And while they are it why don't they change their name too from FAI ... do we always have to ape the FA in England. What about using that language of ours ...
Webpage looks much fresher though . and the online shop is a good idea to make some extra cash for themselves.
adamcarr
25/08/2004, 2:43 PM
The crest is awful. It looks very bad put on jerseys. As for the site...It aint too great. Also whenever I type www.fai.ie. I still get onto the old site, why is this? :confused:
25/08/2004, 2:47 PM
Also whenever I type www.fai.ie. I still get onto the old site, why is this? :confused:
Old and new seem to be coexisting during the transition phase.
Bluetonic
25/08/2004, 2:57 PM
It a big mess, the original instance of the domain www.fai.ie is still active (with the old site), and now the NEW site is being hosted on a second instance of the domain (www1.fai.ie). To make matters worse, some of the links from the new site are pointing at links to the original instance of the domain, i.e one minute your on www1.fai.ie/etc... then your on www.fai.ie/etc....
Who in their right minds performs "live" testing. Another fine mess.
Maybe me can find job with FAI as they seem to be missing something... (http://www.fai.ie/aboutus.asp?hlid=221533)
HTTP 404's now :eek:
Metrostars
25/08/2004, 3:45 PM
It a big mess, the original instance of the domain www.fai.ie is still active (with the old site), and now the NEW site is being hosted on a second instance of the domain (www1.fai.ie). To make matters worse, some of the links from the new site are pointing at links to the original instance of the domain, i.e one minute your on www1.fai.ie/etc... then your on www.fai.ie/etc....
Maybe they should read this:
http://images-eu.amazon.com/images/P/0764508237.02.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
irwinsalegend
25/08/2004, 4:14 PM
Anyone register their details for memebership yet?
They ask for credit card details, yet the connection is not secure, it's just a normal HTTP post.
JOKERS!
Bluetonic
Thought i'd let them know about this as i was thinking about registering myself but was wary for this reaosn too but of course when i tried to send a mail to thier contact info
enquiries@irelandfans.ie
IT DOESN'T WORK- amazing
who was it once said "fail to prepare, prepare to fail"
25/08/2004, 4:17 PM
I have decided to give the site a few days before I decided to interact with i.e. join the fan club etc. I expect teething problems on the first day, but by the end of the week I think it should be sorted out by then.
brine3
25/08/2004, 4:25 PM
They are asking for credit card details via a post-it form? eejits :D
fai, you gotta love 'em
dynamo kerry
25/08/2004, 5:32 PM
what pages refer you to the old site - links please? -
the domains may be a bit mixed up but the look and feel of the site is consistent
thats a nit-pick
Adrianovic
26/08/2004, 12:33 AM
First off, this is easily the funniest thread I've read on my short time here. There is nothing funnier than when people complain and don't realise they're funny. Have a read of some of it, it's classic.
Not too keen on the new logo, but in all honesty, it just doesn't make much difference to me. I don't see the big deal. If it indicates a new-ish begining and the FAI are going to have a crack at being professional, then that's good enough for me. I liked the idea of using gaelic on the logo, but maybe it's because soccer's still viewed as an ' English game ' - same sort of reason why the votes go against Croke Park soccer. I might be way off there, no-one quote me.
The site looks nice though, they've probably ironed it out since your comments though. I do like the chance of working for the FAI, I might send in my CV and see if I get offered the role as second striker.
Ade
26/08/2004, 2:33 AM
I just thought I would add my tuppenceworth.
I think the new site is great visually (not 'surfed it' yet though).
I love the new badge/logo FAIreland etc.....very 'colour coordinated'
it looks 'reet' professional.
The Eirecom logo on the shirts does not work, not orange on green
anyway, orange on green clashes, the orange just 'floats' on the
green.
Eirecom need to have their logo redesigned, its a pretty yucky
clash of colours, I think they should get the people who did
the new FAI logo to do it for them.
I would like the same people to do a new shirt too, I think they
would do a great job.
I would love a shirt based around the logo, either white on green
or green on white, as in the top 'banner' on the new FAI site.
I would even go as far as buying one :)
Top marks from me 10/10.
As Alan Partridge would as "Very simple, very effective"
"Combines Old Ireland with New Ireland seamlessly" (my words :p )
26/08/2004, 8:08 AM
I'm going to fire off a mail to some of my mates from various countries and ask them what they think.
Got some really positive feedback about this from friends in France, Holland, the US, Canada, England and Germany.
All we have to do now is get the manky eircom spoldge off the front of the shirts.
26/08/2004, 10:05 AM
I just rang Umbro in England and they said the new kit will be released on 1st October.
Not sure if this is the UK release though, maybe it'll be released at home beforehand, hopefully before the Cyprus game.
Has anyone heard anything from the FAI?
I'd have thought it's a commercial opportunity missed if not available before our first home game.
petef
26/08/2004, 10:33 AM
Wheres the Ticket section gone to? any guesses, not a bad looking site. Clicked on the fans bit and kept getting errors.
The new logo is confusing to me. I dont think the incorporation of FAI into Ireland works, it serves only to confuse, having said that it doesnt look all that bad though it looks more like what a replica company would produce rather than an official team logo.
26/08/2004, 10:50 AM
The new logo is confusing to me. I dont think the incorporation of FAI into Ireland works, it serves only to confuse, having said that it doesnt look all that bad though it looks more like what a replica company would produce rather than an official team logo.
Think it's meant to enforce the IRELAND aspect of it, think about it, some guy in the States (which is presumably what most of this is aimed at) picks up the jersey, "Hmmm, FAI, nope dunno what that is, what else is out there" or "Hmmm, FAIreland, must be something IRISH , I'll have that"
26/08/2004, 2:19 PM
I knew it was only the Irish that wouldn't like it. Here's a neutral pole, the comments are even better than the results of the pole:
http://www.myfootballforum.com/showthread.php?t=483
Having looked at it a few more times, I think the general idea of the shamrock on the ball is good but I'd think it would be improved without the shield (very un 21C IMO) and as someone said earlier, use Irish instead/aswell or the letters CPE/FAI. Perhaps you're right: We tend to knock the FAI at every chance, but then when you look at the shambles in organising the rest of the site, is it any wonder?
brine3
26/08/2004, 11:42 PM
It hasn't grown on me at all. I'm still wondering if they weren't smoking something when they designed that logo. :D
Adrianovic
26/08/2004, 11:59 PM
Looking at it again, it reminds me of the Arsenal logo.
Ade
27/08/2004, 8:50 AM
I noticed that too when I first saw it, the shield outline is the same.
27/08/2004, 9:01 AM
I'd settle for other similarities with Arsenal too. Like the type and quality of football that we play. I fear I may be living in hope, however. :(
:D PP