View Full Version : Result: Rovers 0 Town 1 AET
town73
24/08/2004, 8:27 PM
Shane Barrett in extra time 116th min. Sloppy goal by reports. 'Keeper fumbled? Gough (81) and Murphy (100) sent off.
We'll take a win anyway we can get it. won three and drew one the the last four... getting some steam up.
Same team as last Saturday?
24/08/2004, 11:43 PM
no xlex prunty was injured......spirited performance, full report on one f tomorrow......roll on the quarter...... :D
just to get the ball rolling, no one played bad, robinson is scum, murph was a silly boy, barrett is back, eric played with a smile on his face and
.VIINNY IS GOD, his celebrations after the goal and the win just proved to me what the club means to that man.
25/08/2004, 7:23 AM
great night at richmond park last night(for followers of town).
town gave their all and were deserved winners after this titanic battle.
longford once again dominated the first half but ironically rovers came closest to scoring from a breakaway move with grant hitting the post with digger beaten although digger recovered well to smother the rebound.
the second half was similar in that town had loads of the ball and created several chances that were not converted.
the goal when it came was from a corner with the always dangerous shane barrett heading home 4 mins from time (in extra time) to send the sizeable town crowd wild.
i thought alan murphy was playing really well until his sending off.
video evidence might be called into play as he said he was running over to protest with the ref (who had his back turned to him) about a foul by grant on him, which was not given.murphy said the ref stood in front of him and he bumped into him.
other than that it was another great team performance by town who have rallied their season superbly.
town were same lineup as sat other than dillon for prunty.
late subs were keegan & martin for lavine & kirby
eircomfan
25/08/2004, 7:35 AM
i thought alan murphy was playing really well until his sending off.
]
I dont want to get on the player slagging bandwagon cause i just dont like it, but in fairness how many times is Alan Murphy going to let Longford down with his disgraceful behaviour on the pitch , he may not always get caught but he is without doubt the dirtiest player i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!
observer
25/08/2004, 8:53 AM
A great win but it was incredible that so much possession yielded so few goal chances. I thought that Alan Kirby should have played the wing more to create a bit of width as I cannot see the logic of him spending so much time infield if Dessie Baker is playing as a striker.
Good to see Barrett coming back to himself. Thought Dillon and Gartland were mighty. Fergusion did his usual hoofing of the ball (almost kicked one in to his own goal) and surely at this level that is not good enough. Any one know why he had the go at Paul Keegan near the end? Alan Murphy was playing very well I thought but was real silly to put hands on the ref. Vinny gave his all as usual bur thought Dean Fitzgerald disappeared for long periods(particularly the entire 2nd half). Eric put in a great effort throughout.
The substitutions by Alan were timely and the fresh legs made a difference. John Martin impressed me with some clever play when introduced.
All in all a great result and a great Town support at the match. :) :) :)
25/08/2004, 9:03 AM
]
I dont want to get on the player slagging bandwagon cause i just dont like it, but in fairness how many times is Alan Murphy going to let Longford down with his disgraceful behaviour on the pitch , he may not always get caught but he is without doubt the dirtiest player i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ya haven't seen to many then.....alan is a hard tackler.but far from dirty.
25/08/2004, 9:05 AM
quarter final.....scumlone in the flansiro :)
Thirsty Hoop
25/08/2004, 10:20 AM
My thoughts.
As an observer:
Longford were the better side over both games and were fully deserving of their victory. You milled us on Saturday and we somehow got a result. Last night, we were shockingly bad in the first half and only marginally better in the second. We played better after Gough was sent off, which should tell you - and Liam Buckley - something about his ability as a footballer. Extra time was very even, thought we probably shaded it. The return leg was more even, but there is no disguising the fact that we didn't deserve a return leg.
All that said, I would still be very worried if I was a Longford fan. You lads ****ed on us for for almost 180 minutes and only managed one goal. Lavine and Baker are good players but they cannot convert possession into goals. We mightn't win anything this year, but I'd be very surprised if you did either.
As a Rovers fan:
Last night is just another example of the continued humiliation of a once great club. No disrespect, but we'd won over twenty FAI Cup's by the time you guys made senior status. By and large, Rovers fans hate your team but respect your club. That competition means so much to us and yet it has turned into an annual humiliation. What's worse than the fact that we are out of the cup is the fact that we deserve to be out of the cup. Two clueless performances from a clueless club.
nesovic
25/08/2004, 10:20 AM
[QUOTE=eircomfan]]
I dont want to get on the player slagging bandwagon cause i just dont like it, but in fairness how many times is Alan Murphy going to let Longford down with his disgraceful behaviour on the pitch , he may not always get caught but he is without doubt the dirtiest player i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!![QUOTE]
obviously you haven't seen a lot then! alan murphy has never been described as a dirty player fair enough he has a mouth on him but wouldn't say he has ever played dirty!!
25/08/2004, 10:42 AM
My thoughts.
As an observer:
Longford were the better side over both games and were fully deserving of their victory. You milled us on Saturday and we somehow got a result. Last night, we were shockingly bad in the first half and only marginally better in the second. We played better after Gough was sent off, which should tell you - and Liam Buckley - something about his ability as a footballer. Extra time was very even, thought we probably shaded it. The return leg was more even, but there is no disguising the fact that we didn't deserve a return leg.
All that said, I would still be very worried if I was a Longford fan. You lads ****ed on us for for almost 180 minutes and only managed one goal. Lavine and Baker are good players but they cannot convert possession into goals. We mightn't win anything this year, but I'd be very surprised if you did either.
As a Rovers fan:
Last night is just another example of the continued humiliation of a once great club. No disrespect, but we'd won over twenty FAI Cup's by the time you guys made senior status. By and large, Rovers fans hate your team but respect your club. That competition means so much to us and yet it has turned into an annual humiliation. What's worse than the fact that we are out of the cup is the fact that we deserve to be out of the cup. Two clueless performances from a clueless club.
some very sensible comments there, yes it worrying that we aren't scoring as much as we would like, but we are scoring. which is more than we did 10/15 games ago.
yee are so bad, set pieces were the only place i could see a goal coming from. grant should learn there is a thing in football called passing, never did it once to the best of my knowledge and get him some stableisers to stop him from falling over everytime someone looks at him.
btw you WONT win anything, out of both cups and i'd say shels have the league.....we still have 2 cups and with confidence building i think its time to push up the table with 5th place in mind.
one final point, i have little time for your club. and as i have stated its due to the behaviour of certain "fans", but one man i think is the greatest scum bag on two legs is Shane Robinson....filth pure filth.
Thirsty Hoop
25/08/2004, 11:22 AM
some very sensible comments there, yes it worrying that we aren't scoring as much as we would like, but we are scoring. which is more than we did 10/15 games ago.
yee are so bad, set pieces were the only place i could see a goal coming from. grant should learn there is a thing in football called passing, never did it once to the best of my knowledge and get him some stableisers to stop him from falling over everytime someone looks at him.
btw you WONT win anything, out of both cups and i'd say shels have the league.....we still have 2 cups and with confidence building i think its time to push up the table with 5th place in mind.
one final point, i have little time for your club. and as i have stated its due to the behaviour of certain "fans", but one man i think is the greatest scum bag on two legs is Shane Robinson....filth pure filth.
If you have little time for our club then you don't know anything about Irish football. I could give you a history lesson if you want but I won't bother my arse.
I know we won't win anything you dimwit, I said that in my post. As for the league cup, that's a farce of a competition and doesn't even count. It's there to be won by whatever club doesn't field their reserves.
Robbo can be a dirty player but what about Barry Ferguson, there is a reason why he is the most disliked player in the league. He's a ****.
This is twice I've come on this board with sensible posts only to be met with ****ing idiots replying. Macy, sort your lot out.
25/08/2004, 11:34 AM
read your post, you siad you "mightn't" win anything......big difference between, might and won't.
i know rovers have a great history, but so what. your little a little group of thugs destroy that name. Well seeing as yee had little chance of winning anything else i thought the league cup with be right up your street. Lets face it, your not exectly the biggest team in dublin let alone ireland.
face facts, its about time someone in that club did. sensible posts, eh i agreed with a lot of your comments, but some were just plain wrong.....
25/08/2004, 11:36 AM
Jaysis, we were bad but Rovers were absolutelty brutal last night. As for that keeper - he's awful dodgy. Charlie or no charlie, bring back BArry Ryan.
Would agree with the Thirsty hoop, for all our domination, we just can't put the ball in the net. Any chance of signing an out and out striker ?
Thought Alan Murphy was having a blinder until his stupid act of petulance. Vinny might have a big heart, but he was dead on his feet with about 20 mins. left in the game (yes, BEFORE extra time.) And when he's knackered he looks awful to boot ! Matthews made two good substitutions, but maybe he should've stuck Pip on for Vinny ?
why change a winning team ??? i know i'm all for vinny, but why change it ??
excellent game, excellent result and excellent atmosphere. fair play to the lads they never gave up!
the only one i would have found fault with last night was kirbs, this man isnt really playing great this season! some of the corners he delivered last night was terrible!
25/08/2004, 12:43 PM
excellent game, excellent result and excellent atmosphere. fair play to the lads they never gave up!
the only one i would have found fault with last night was kirbs, this man isnt really playing great this season! some of the corners he delivered last night was terrible!
agree about his corners but otherwise i thought he had a very good game.
plenty of good runs and was'nt"hiding" at any stage .
Wiseguy
25/08/2004, 12:47 PM
I don't know why Rovers hate our Team but then again i don't give a sh1t.Barry Ferguson is a tramp,no doubt about that but the antics of Shane Robinson & Trevor Molloy leave a lot to be desired.2 good footballers but 2 tramps also.I respect Footballers who do there talking with their ability not tramps who deliberately stir sh1t and that's what they are.I have to say that our last 4 encounters with Rovers have been at least memorable.The 1-0 in Flancare,The 2-0 in Richmond,the 1-1 in Flancare & last nights 1-0.All bad tempered & heated,all very close but the biggest thing is i feel that if we were putting away our chances we'd have won them all a bit more comfortably.There is a good rivalry building up between our clubs and i just hope it stays friendly.Spoke to some Rovers fans after the match and nice people,it's such a shame that a handful of idiots can do so much damage to a clubs reputation.Very poor crowd by the way for such a "big" dublin team on a make or break night for the rest of the season for Rovers.
On a different note i thought it was a good Team performance last night.We kept at it & battled hard but most of all the team believed and we got the fair and right result.Alan Kirby played well but he plays in to deep & Vinny isn't fit enough.Sean Dillon & Garto were outstanding & for me Dillo has improved so much since his stint on the international front is a credit to him.
25/08/2004, 1:26 PM
What a night!! Cork fans, best away support my arse!!! Town fans were amazing!!! Wasnt far away from filling half of the stand. Totally outsung the Rovers Fans!! If we hadnt won i would have been so sick, but hey we did so Bring on The Bowez!!!
25/08/2004, 1:28 PM
Well done Town, a great victory, and our cup run continues!!! whens the draw for the next round?
25/08/2004, 1:34 PM
Well done Town, a great victory, and our cup run continues!!! whens the draw for the next round?
Monday i think
25/08/2004, 1:44 PM
cop on, waterford....pats....rovers.....rovers, same team apart from dillon, not one defeat....3 wins and a draw....thats the winning team you don't change.
i think draw will be on tuesday due to our final on the monday......
vinny is my first name on any town team sheet, always gives his best ALWAYS. unlucky not to score last night as well.
25/08/2004, 11:35 PM
it has bring confrimed today that the draw will be on tuesday of next week!
eircomfan
26/08/2004, 8:11 AM
You may not agree with me on Murphy being filth , but not to worry ,one thing i have to say though is the support i say on Tuesday was as good i have seen any team with away from home , i was at the 0-0 draw in Dalymount ealier in the year and you s were good that night but Tuesday was a little bit special!!!!!fair play
26/08/2004, 9:05 AM
some old fools who turned around and said.....wait for it, leave the ref alone :eek:
going to a game, taking a moral high ground and yet not even knowing the ref's or the other players name.....sad really. and even with all the talk in the town and club about robinsons actions in richmond the last time, none of them had even heard of it :confused: :confused: :confused:
Town are now 6/1 to retain the cup. UCD and Waterford 5/1. Drogs 4/1 and Shels 7/2.
Town worth a bet??
26/08/2004, 9:37 AM
ok.....please stop the talk of the final, don't want to get an ego like cork fans.
League and cup double :- 500/1 . Buy yourself a choc ice instead
Oh League cup, sorry . We'll be probably 9/5 for the game so about 20/1
actually 10/1 would be more like it
26/08/2004, 9:58 AM
What was the story when Robinson got the abuse ?? Who shouted to stop ?
have to say i'm not a fan of personal abuse ,what ever about the other team as a whole but in this particular match there was a bit of previous involved.
at the last meeting of the 2 teams in richmond the mentioned played gave the town fans "the finger" out of the view of the officials.
coupled with the fact that any time a town player was taking a throw in near the rovers crowd,they were hanging over the wall hurling verbals at the town player taking it.
i know 2 wrongs dont make a right but i can see why a section of the town fans were very irate.
Thirsty Hoop
26/08/2004, 10:36 AM
You may not agree with me on Murphy being filth , but not to worry ,one thing i have to say though is the support i say on Tuesday was as good i have seen any team with away from home , i was at the 0-0 draw in Dalymount ealier in the year and you s were good that night but Tuesday was a little bit special!!!!!fair play
You did alright in numbers but not in noise. We were fairly quiet too but that's because we were in a state of shock at how bad we were playing. Except for after the goal, there wasn't much noise out of you.
If you're talking about best away crowds, you'll go a long way to beat the 600 Hoops who sang for 90 minutes last Saturday. (BTW, good pictures at www.srfcultras.net).
26/08/2004, 10:38 AM
well sorry but i can't, they didn't even know the refs name... and NEVER ONCE, got behind the team ....oh and they didn't even bother staying for the extra time. model supporters eh.
26/08/2004, 10:41 AM
yeah rovers have always been good singers on the road.....still hate yee ;)
Nipper
26/08/2004, 11:33 AM
the 600 Hoops who sang for 90 minutes last Saturday.
You're having a laugh. Maybe there were 600 hoops on all the jerseys combined. And how come the official attendance on Monday night was less than a thousand? Where were your support, watching the Shels game?
26/08/2004, 11:37 AM
the attendance on monday was smaller than sat, where were all the rovers "home" :D fans.
Nipper
26/08/2004, 11:43 AM
Correction; Tuesday night. With all the feckin excitement of a few wins I'm losing track of time.
Thirsty Hoop
26/08/2004, 11:58 AM
7pm kick-offs have decimated our support.
26/08/2004, 12:19 PM
that i would agree with.
Wiseguy
26/08/2004, 4:05 PM
I'd say it's more than the 7pm k.o. times that have your crowds down.Rovers at the moment are a very average side with a below average manager.There is about 4 good players at the the club.Doyler,Granty,Robbo & Molloy and that's it.Your centre backs are average and only good in the air and how Bucko is still in a job is beyond me.With all due respect it must be really tough being a Hoops fan at the mo.No ground in years,little or no success in years and a bad reputation for trouble makers.I know not all Hoops fans are trouble but if you mention Rovers to anyone they automatically think scumbags.I just hope things pick up for yee because you can't live in the past and go on about how great you used to be.
26/08/2004, 5:34 PM
Spoke to some Rovers fans after the match and nice people,it's such a shame that a handful of idiots can do so much damage to a clubs reputation.
I know but Max Power, The Evening Herald and a few others just won't stop. ;)
27/08/2004, 1:45 AM
well then ask longfordian about the wonderful rovers fan in mcdowells after the game.......
Thirsty Hoop
27/08/2004, 10:32 AM
I'd say it's more than the 7pm k.o. times that have your crowds down.Rovers at the moment are a very average side with a below average manager.There is about 4 good players at the the club.Doyler,Granty,Robbo & Molloy and that's it.Your centre backs are average and only good in the air and how Bucko is still in a job is beyond me.With all due respect it must be really tough being a Hoops fan at the mo.No ground in years,little or no success in years and a bad reputation for trouble makers.I know not all Hoops fans are trouble but if you mention Rovers to anyone they automatically think scumbags.I just hope things pick up for yee because you can't live in the past and go on about how great you used to be.
You're spot on about it being a tough time to be a hoop, but I wouldn't agree with your analysis of the team. Crolly is a great right back, Palmer and McGuinness are two of the best centre backs in the league (on bad form at the moment though), O'Brien in midfield is one of the best prospects around and O'Halloran (wasn't playing against you) would still be at Swindon if it wasn't for injuries.
We actually have a very strong first eleven (weak in reserves though). That's what makes performances like Saturday and Tuesday even harder to fathom!