View Full Version : Games of the XXX Olympiad - London 2012
Spudulika
11/08/2012, 7:44 PM
This can be big, very big. Can see a gold medal coming to Mullingar. With due respect to Katie Taylor, this is a much, much bigger prize to win - the barstoolers would never know it though.
Spudulika
11/08/2012, 8:08 PM
Not happy with that decision, even with the knockdown still thought he just snipped it. Oh well, Gold, Silver and 3 Bronzes, not bad.
11/08/2012, 8:41 PM
Unlucky for Nevin, I thought he might have levelled it but had a bit of a slip in the last round, was always going to
be difficult scoring fighting a boxer from the host nation.
If is is any consolation Cambell is of Irish descent on his fathers side. he would be eligible to represent
both the Republic and N.I at football thorough his grandparents.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/boxing/luke-campbells-gold-medal-shoot-out-1247401
11/08/2012, 8:59 PM
I thought Campbell deserved the gold, it would have been a shock had the judges had scored the last round to JJ. He just didn't have the fluency of his earlier bouts, maybe part of that was down to the opponent, as Mick Dowling said. Tough on John Joe but he'll always have that magnificent semi final win.
Paddy Barnes thinks this bronze shines brighter than the Bejing bronze. He seems keen to give it a go for another Olympics.
Spudulika
11/08/2012, 9:07 PM
It was a close fight, good fight, JJ didn't push as much as he should have. To beat the home fighter he had to go all out, but after losing the 1st so badly (I thought there was 3-4 points in it then) he just had to be perfect. Still, he should have a good pro career.
old git
11/08/2012, 9:23 PM
This can be big, very big. Can see a gold medal coming to Mullingar. With due respect to Katie Taylor, this is a much, much bigger prize to win - the barstoolers would never know it though.
spudulika ,, how is it a bigger prize ?? any gold/silver/ bronze medal at any the olympics is a marvelous achivement for ireland and the gold would be the big one no matter what you compete at.
Spudulika
11/08/2012, 9:34 PM
spudulika ,, how is it a bigger prize ?? any gold/silver/ bronze medal at any the olympics is a marvelous achivement for ireland and the gold would be the big one no matter what you compete at.
Old git, in terms of level of competition, difficulty and prestige, it's above Katie's, for now. It's like (to use a crude comparison) Beach Volleyball and proper Volleyball. Both have merits, both are competitive, but the strength, quality and history (as well as quality) will be on the indoor code.
To put it very simply, it's a gold, but like those won at the very early Olympics when there wasn't the depth of opposition.
11/08/2012, 10:45 PM
After Mo Farah won the last leg of the 'double double', Gerry Kiernan said it should rank a higher achievement than Lasse Viren's because the level of competition is greater now.
I don't know about that, maybe like Lasse if Mo wakes up tomorrow to run the marathon at top speed - maybe if Mo had fallen down half way through, picked himself up and clawed his way back to clinch the race. I suppose one could say the same about Jesse Owens not having to face the same level of competition as exists now, but what's the point? The gold medal victory is timeless.
12/08/2012, 5:42 PM
http://www.highlandradio.com/2012/08/12/usain-bolt-speaks-to-myles-gallagher-on-sunday-sport/
Usain Bolt on Highland Radio today. Random as hell.
13/08/2012, 10:31 AM
My Laughing Billophobia: O'Helihy on Katie Taylor's award ceremony: "I found the national anthem strangely moving". FFS. I suppose he has never stood on a foreign field and sung the anthem. I always find the anthem moving let alone at an Olympic gold medal ceremony!
The UK closing ceremony was entertaining but only to the those from these islands and a few other places. I hear NBC hadn't got a clue what the batman and Robin thing was with the Only Fools and Horses car. How many of the billions of Chinese and Russians would have ever have heard of most of the artists? What was with the second George Michael song? Didn't know that one.
From an Irish perspective, delight with Katie but disappointed for John Joe after the hype the RTE Panel had given him before the fight for the gold. It looked as if it would be a gold but from an untrained eye it appeared that he had left his best in the fight with the Cuban. FOr those who blame home juries, don't forget that it what the Russian is claiming in her fight with Katie. Sickener for Paddy Barnes to lose on the count back. An "amazing" (word most use on the BBC for the games) performance. Still hurting for him. Men's walking, women's penthalon and the sailing were our only other decent performances as far as I can see. The show jumping didn't do it for me.
Very enjoyable games to watch but I did miss the medal ceremonies on tv not featuring Irish or UK athletes so I watched Eurosport for those. I will always remember the Belarus woman 18 stone shot putter in floods of tears during her anthem.
p.s. I liked the RTE boxing panelists (despite their wild optimism on occasions), particularly Mick Dowling who never missed a chance to promote the sport. Fair dues to him. Jimmy Magee's commentaries drove me mad particularly his bias. He had one Irish boxer winning a round 5-3 when he in fact lost it 3-5.
I shall miss the Olympics and congratulations to London for the games. If I was a Nordie I'd be really pi**ed that they didn't even get a mention in the name Team GB or in the closing ceremony. Bagpipes, welsh choirs but nothing for the "wee country" or did I miss something?
I will always remember the Belarus woman 18 stone shot putter in floods of tears during her anthem.
She has lost her medal according to twitter:
Olympic gold medallist loses medal after failing drugs test. Belarus' Nadzeya Ostapchuk tested positive for metenolone after women's shot
From BBC Journo James Pearce: https://twitter.com/Pearcesport
horton
13/08/2012, 11:08 AM
Jessie J did something the IRA never could last night, she murdered Queen:mad:
Real ale Madrid
13/08/2012, 11:17 AM
Very enjoyable games to watch but I did miss the medal ceremonies on tv not featuring Irish or UK athletes so I watched Eurosport for those. I will always remember the Belarus woman 18 stone shot putter in floods of tears during her anthem.
Belarussian found guilty of doping and has been DQ'ed - New Zealand girl awarded gold.
13/08/2012, 11:50 AM
That's a good analysis Owlsfans:)
I saw the first week and a bit in London and the last bit at home in Mullingar. BBC had 25 channels showing all the sports which was great. Archery, weightlifting and some of the swimming were great at the start. The French and Chinese swimmers impressed. Bolt was magnificent and our Katie the main highlight for me. was hard to watch the boxing commentary with Jimmy Magee but the boys in the studio were brilliant. Reading that the media have said that over 6000 were out to see Nevin - that's rubbish, no where near that - think we might need a GUST fan to decide that attendance.
Overall a good Olympics, well done to the Brits - but Im already looking forward to Rio
13/08/2012, 11:52 AM
The women's pentathlon on the last day was interesting, there was nothing else on the tv, maybe it was the last competition. It's a strange sport, shooting and running. It was won by a Lithuanian with ease, the rest of the field were struggling hard over the last run, but she finished fresh as a daisy. No doubt the long run up (a roped off run-in meandering like an airport check-in area) to the tape was all the more enhanced by the huge roar which greeted her very stride. But most of the roar was for the Brit who had just entered the arena, way back in silver position. Didn't matter a bean to the winner who took it as if all the acclaim for her.
I couldn't be bothered with the closing ceremony but somehow I suspect the Rio ceremonies will have me drooling.
Gather round
13/08/2012, 2:29 PM
If I was a Nordie I'd be really pi**ed that they didn't even get a mention in the name Team GB or in the closing ceremony. Bagpipes, welsh choirs but nothing for the "wee country" or did I miss something?
Didn't notice myself, but not a problem really. We medalled disproportionately, remember we are less than 3% of the population. And of course a few of us ain't so keen on Team UK ;)
horton
13/08/2012, 2:42 PM
At the risk of going off topic but would Team UK have covered everyone? calling us "Team GB + NI + Crown Dependencies" probably wouldn't fit on the jerseys!
13/08/2012, 3:31 PM
I suppose they could have rolled in a lambeg drum or two.
old git
13/08/2012, 3:31 PM
Old git, in terms of level of competition, difficulty and prestige, it's above Katie's, for now. It's like (to use a crude comparison) Beach Volleyball and proper Volleyball. Both have merits, both are competitive, but the strength, quality and history (as well as quality) will be on the indoor code.
To put it very simply, it's a gold, but like those won at the very early Olympics when there wasn't the depth of opposition.
level of comparison katie fought and defeated top ranked oponents in her weight division and also she won with the weight of the whole nation expecting her to bring home the gold & also if womans boxing had been in olympics before now it is quite possible she could have been looking at a 3rd gold medal. i would not tarnish anybody who won any medal of any kind at this olympics or at earlier olympics the all deserve or respect.
Spudulika
13/08/2012, 5:23 PM
old git, I certainly didn't tarnish her, however it is unfair and incorrect to compare her achievements to other more settled sports, or to other competitors. There was so much hype spoken about her before and during the Olympics, much of it by talking heads with zero knowledge of boxing (or indeed reality, ie sports) that her achievements hae somehow propelled her onto the pantheon of greats. She did well, she qualified easily, is the best in her division and won what amounts to a trial run sport. It cannot be taken away from her or any other female fighter who took part that they don't have ability, however since the depth of talent is very, very shallow (when was Katie's last Irish title fight?) it has to be viewed objectively.
old git
14/08/2012, 12:47 PM
old git, I certainly didn't tarnish her, however it is unfair and incorrect to compare her achievements to other more settled sports, or to other competitors. There was so much hype spoken about her before and during the Olympics, much of it by talking heads with zero knowledge of boxing (or indeed reality, ie sports) that her achievements hae somehow propelled her onto the pantheon of greats. She did well, she qualified easily, is the best in her division and won what amounts to a trial run sport. It cannot be taken away from her or any other female fighter who took part that they don't have ability, however since the depth of talent is very, very shallow (when was Katie's last Irish title fight?) it has to be viewed objectively.
fair enough points, but going on above posts then would paddy barnes 2 bronze medals at the last two olympics then not better both john joe & katies achievements
14/08/2012, 1:29 PM
Belarussian found guilty of doping and has been DQ'ed - New Zealand girl awarded gold.
Amazing (GB Olympics catch word) that I should pick her out as one of my highlights on the podium and then she is stripped of her medal. She certainly has something to cry about now.
A lot of insinuations from the Beeb and RTE about the Algerian runner who won the 1500 meters at a canter. Could drugs really make such a difference in an event like that? If so I'll have some of that. If he can do with without being detected, how do we know that they're not all at it, even those who haven't made the big improvement he did? I thought it was unfair of both stations. Innocent until proven otherwise surely?
14/08/2012, 1:33 PM
At the risk of going off topic but would Team UK have covered everyone? calling us "Team GB + NI + Crown Dependencies" probably wouldn't fit on the jerseys!
Why not Team UK ? Is the UK not just GB and NI?
Amazing (GB Olympics catch word) that I should pick her out as one of my highlights on the podium and then she is stripped of her medal. She certainly has something to cry about now.
A lot of insinuations from the Beeb and RTE about the Algerian runner who won the 1500 meters at a canter. Could drugs really make such a difference in an event like that? If so I'll have some of that. If he can do with without being detected, how do we know that they're not all at it, even those who haven't made the big improvement he did? I thought it was unfair of both stations. Innocent until proven otherwise surely?
Actually, I think the commentators on both channels should generally have been way more cynical rather than less. But of course that wouldn't really make for good TV so it's unlikely we'll ever see that.
14/08/2012, 2:15 PM
Slow day in work and came across this article. Raises some intereseting points and the idea of performance profiling seems a solid enough one. Probably worth a read if you have a few minutes to kill.
http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20120810-dispelling-olympian-doubts/1
14/08/2012, 2:30 PM
Exactly considering the record of both nations -Millar, Chambers, Smith and (cough) O Connors horse
14/08/2012, 2:45 PM
Can we not just let everyone take everything and leave it at that.
Best doctor wins.
horton
14/08/2012, 5:41 PM
Why not Team UK ? Is the UK not just GB and NI?
The UK is the UK of GB and NI, but the Channel Islands and Isle of Man athletes would also compete under the Team GB banner, even though they wouldn't be classed as part of either GB or NI.
DannyInvincible
14/08/2012, 6:02 PM
The UK is the UK of GB and NI, but the Channel Islands and Isle of Man athletes would also compete under the Team GB banner, even though they wouldn't be classed as part of either GB or NI.
Team GB also covers the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia and the following British Overseas territories: Anguilla; the British Antarctic Territory; the British Indian Ocean Territory; the Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; the Pitcairn Islands; Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and the Turks and Caicos Islands.
samhaydenjr
14/08/2012, 8:20 PM
First of all, congratulations to all our Olympic athletes for their fantastic and of course in particular to those who brought home more medals than we have won since 1956 - you were awesome to watch, even on the online world feeds here in Canada. We came in 41st out of 204 on the medal table and can be more then happy to be in the company of countries like Mexico and Argentina. But I want to look forward four (or even eight years) and try to figure out just what Ireland is capable of achieving at future Olympics. And with five medals at this Olympics and another nine top-ten finishes (including three top-five performances) I don't think it's pie-in-the-sky thinking to aim for double figures. So where could we achieve this?
1. Boxing - It seems that the IABA took the disappointment of the Athens Olympics particularly hard and has really focused on improvement and determining what it takes to become an Olympic Medalist and to great success. Right now it appears that boxing is the one sport capable of churning out multiple medal contenders in the near future - they have the drive and the belief to take on all-comers (having a sports psychologist has been crucial to this, I feel). And with Katie Taylor's spellbinding performance, more young women can be expected to take up the sport and if the women's side is expanded in future Olympics, it could provide a fertile ground for even more (BTW 19-year-old Ceire Smith was only one fight away from joining Katie Taylor in London) - I think the IABA should aim to increase the number of Irish boxers qualifying for the next two Olympics from six to eight or nine with an aim of bringing home five medals per Games.
2. Equestrian events - finally, after so much controversy and under-performing over the years, our riders delivered this time around with Cian O'Connor's bronze and also with excellent performances from the eventing team and, in particular Aoife Clark. For the future, the aim should be to qualify a full team for showjumping with a couple of medal contenders (and also practice jumping against the clock in a less hell-for-leather manner - while the bronze was great, O'Connor could easily have taken a couple of extra strides before the last, cleared it and claimed silver). The eventing team needs to improve on dressage and they will become serious medal contenders.
3. Sailing - Firstly, Annalise Murphy needs to be financially backed so that sailing becomes her job for the next eight years. And she needs to believe fully that she is the best sailor in the world in her class because for two days at the end of July she was. So she would do well to do some training with the boxers and Katie Taylor in particular and maybe have a few sessions with their psychologist. Her inspirational performance along with couple of other creditable efforts should be built on to provide multiple medal contenders in future years.
4. Athletics - Next time you see someone walking frantically down the road frantically, wiggling their bum, don't snigger - rather applaud and shout words of encouragement because, since I left, apparently Ireland has become a serious competitor in racewalking, with Robert Heffernan's two top-ten finishes and Aoife Loughnane's world championship silver medal. While both these stars may be nearing the end of their careers, they will hopefully inspire a new generation to take our new-found love of the event to new heights. And with the development of sprinting in Ireland (through the likes of Derval O'Rourke, David Gillick, Paul Hession, Jason Smyth and latterly Steven Colvert) we should have the infrastructure in place to produce a world-beating sprinter or two over the next decade and, without wishing to spark a controversial race debate, it is possible that Ireland's new community from West Africa may produce someone capable of sprint medals, given appropriate levels of support.
5. Swimming - Unfortunately Grainne Murphy was unable to show just what she is capable of but as she is only 19, she may again be a medal contender for the next two Olympics. And with Ireland now having three Olympic standard pools, she may be the first of a batch of potential medal-winners to emerge over the next few years.
6. Cycling - After Britain's poor performance in Atlanta it was their track cycling team who were at the forefront of their revival as a major sporting power, culminating in them winning sixteen gold medals. Undoubtedly, the building of the National Cycling Centre for the Manchester Commonwealth Games (for a modest 10 million pounds) was a major catalyst for this turnaround. So with a velodrome planned for Tallaght, Ireland could combine its great tradition in cycling with this brand new facility to develop a number of track cyclists into serious medal contenders. Martyn Irvine should also be supported through the next Olympic Games because, while he may have slightly underperformed in London, on his day he may be capable of challenging for a medal.
7. Canoeing - Give Andrzej Jezierski the support he didn't receive from Poland so that he can challenge again in Rio. Give him and Eoin Rheinisch coaching jobs to develop multiple medal contenders in canoeing. Support Hannah Craig so she can focus full-time on canoeing and give it one more shot in Rio to build on her creditable ninth at London - but get her to see a sports psychologist as she looked a little tentative in the final run.
8. Minor Sports
- Natalya Coyle should be helped to build on her top-ten finish in modern pentathlon so that she can contend for a medal in Rio and beyond
- Fencing, Judo, Shooting, Taekwondo and weightlifting offer 186 medals - why not develop these sports in Ireland and try to contend for a few?
14/08/2012, 11:31 PM
- Fencing, Judo, Shooting, Taekwondo and weightlifting offer 186 medals
Really?! Wow, but the Olympics are ridiculously biased against the status quo.
15/08/2012, 1:39 AM
8. Minor Sports
- Fencing, Judo, Shooting, Taekwondo and weightlifting offer 186 medals - why not develop these sports in Ireland and try to contend for a few?
Can't comment on the others, but judo isn't really a minor sport anymore. The near-total domination by the Japanese historically has ended as more countries take it seriously as an Olympic sport, with Japan getting only 1 gold medal this time round.
I'd guess that a problem with your idea in general is that lots of other countries will have already had the idea of finding sports that aren't taken seriously and investing in those hoping for Olympic medals.
samhaydenjr
15/08/2012, 3:26 AM
Really?! Wow, but the Olympics are ridiculously biased against the status quo.
Aw come on now, it's not like I'm saying that we can suddenly pick up 20 of these medals - it was, after all, Part 8(b) of my Grand Plan to double our medal tally (which I might add, took me an hour to put together and was intended to inspire people to think big for the future) and was just added because I thought if such countries as Afghanistan and Gabon can pick up Taekwondo medals, there may be a possibility that, with a bit of support, our competitors could go further - we had at least one competitor who came close to qualification.
ArdeeBhoy
15/08/2012, 9:01 AM
If I was a Nordie I'd be really pi**ed that they didn't even get a mention in the name Team GB or in the closing ceremony. Bagpipes, welsh choirs but nothing for the "wee country" or did I miss something?
To be fair, Alba & Cymru have been 'countries' in their own right.
Didn't notice myself, but not a problem really. We medalled disproportionately, remember we are less than 3% of the population. And of course a few of us ain't so keen on Team UK ;)
Medals in 2 events? And thought a majority of a transplanted populace, as you are so quick to remind us, are in favour of 'team Ugly K.'...
horton
15/08/2012, 12:41 PM
Team GB also covers the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia and the following British Overseas territories: Anguilla; the British Antarctic Territory; the British Indian Ocean Territory; the Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; the Pitcairn Islands; Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and the Turks and Caicos Islands.
I forgot about them. Don't think any of them got included in the torch relay procession did they?
Gather round
15/08/2012, 2:33 PM
I don't think it's pie-in-the-sky thinking to aim for double figures. So where could we achieve this?
Good post Sam, but surprised you didn't mention rowing- Ireland as a whole's second most successful sport at the 2012 Games. There must be a chance that three guys from the same small town school and club will inspire others across the island. Even if potential stars have to train in England or Germany.
without wishing to spark a controversial race debate, it is possible that Ireland's new community from West Africa may produce someone capable of sprint medals, given appropriate levels of support
West Africa got one medal in the whole games.
Gather round
15/08/2012, 2:41 PM
Medals in 2 events?
Even if you only count those representing Britain, two medals is reasonable. Four (ie those for all the competitors from NI) is quite good, don't ye think?
Of the six NI competitors in the GB team, all bar table tennis's Na Liu were expected to win medals or get close. Cyclist Houvenaghel was reserve on the gold winning team and for all her flounces was probably a bit unlucky. Hockey defender Lewers came fourth.
And thought a majority of a transplanted populace, as you are so quick to remind us, are in favour of 'team Ugly K.'...:rolleyes:
Did you miss the bit where I made clear I was happy to be in the minority? I'd just call the team Britain, but GB is better than UK or any other clunking alternative.
15/08/2012, 4:57 PM
A Van Morrison song perhaps instead of George Michael's new release?
Nice to see that Katie T was one of the 10 competitors picked to make presentations to the volunteer helpers.
Gather round
15/08/2012, 5:38 PM
A Van Morrison song perhaps instead of George Michael's new release?
Sic transit Gloria?
samhaydenjr
15/08/2012, 6:52 PM
Good post Sam, but surprised you didn't mention rowing- Ireland as a whole's second most successful sport at the 2012 Games. There must be a chance that three guys from the same small town school and club will inspire others across the island. Even if potential stars have to train in England or Germany.
You're absolutely right - I had thought about including rowing based on historical performances (Niall O'Toole, men's fours in '96) but chose to focus mainly on sports where there are current performances that give hope for the future. I was not aware of the medals picked up by rowers from the North for Team GB. So let's remedy that:
9. Rowing - if rowers from Northern Ireland can pick up two medals for Team GB, then there's no reason why rowing in The Republic can't work to produce competitive rowers (as it has in the recent past) - or perhaps we can poach the best from the Six Counties!
True, but there were some very respectable track sprint performances with Cote d'Ivoire's Murielle Ahoure qualifying for the women's 100m and 200m finals and Nigeria's women qualifying for four sprint finals, including a fourth place finish in the 4x100m relay (and historically, Nigeria has picked up a fair smattering of sprint medals). And of course, sprinting nowadays is dominated by athletes from the Caribbean and US (and to a lesser extent Britain and Canada) who are of West African heritage (I know, I'm doing a Nik Wallenda here but I think I'm OK) and have the coaching and technological infrastructure to capitalise fully on their genetic predisposition for sprinting (Oh, oh no, waaahhhh!!!!!:eek::eek::eek:)
ArdeeBhoy
15/08/2012, 11:24 PM
Even if you only count those representing Britain, two medals is reasonable. Four (ie those for all the competitors from NI) is quite good, don't ye think?
Except 2 of those 'four' never had any intention of representing Britain, the North or any variations thereof.
Of the six NI competitors in the GB team, all bar table tennis's Na Liu were expected to win medals or get close. Cyclist Houvenaghel was reserve on the gold winning team and for all her flounces was probably a bit unlucky. Hockey defender Lewers came fourth.
Except that everyone else who just missed out would say just the same...
Not as if any of them missed out by a close margin in actual competition.
Did you miss the bit where I made clear I was happy to be in the minority? I'd just call the team Britain, but GB is better than UK or any other clunking alternative.
Er, yes. :rolleyes:
And if you want to be part of an Ugly K, why not support its football team...
And the concept of its other, er, 'united' teams!
Yes, they were so 'Irish' they represented Britain, GB, whatever...
Yes, Olympic medals in European (or 'white culture'), often elitist sports are a major priority....
George Michael's new release?
http://images.wikia.com/uncyclopedia/images/3/32/KennethWilliams.jpg
16/08/2012, 10:13 AM
ArdeeBhoy, you have 10 infractions. There won't be an 11th. If you want to rant about politics, find a political forum. I won't warn you in this thread again.
Wolfman
16/08/2012, 5:33 PM
To be fair by their standards on here, that's just banter by these two.
Nothing political really by either.
DannyInvincible
19/08/2012, 8:57 AM
Here's one for ArdeeBhoy: http://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/oliver-brown-rory-mcilroy-faces-britain-or-ireland-dilemma-for-2016-olympic-games-in-rio-3202195.html
:p
The coincidence was poetic. As the curtain fell on London’s glorious Games, Rory McIlroy enjoyed his coronation at Kiawah Island in the knowledge that in four years’ time he, too, could be an Olympian.
Even if the 23 year-old might not, with his £20m fortune, represent quite the noble amateur that Baron de Coubertin envisaged, the prospect of competing under the five rings still galvanised a golfer fast redrawing the boundaries of his sport.
“I’d love to win an Olympic gold medal,” McIlroy told this newspaper in 2009, when golf was accepted as part the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro. In a remark that risked provoking a firestorm of sectarian sniping, the Ulsterman added: “I’d probably play for Great Britain.” To date, it was his only substantive comment on the subject of his twin allegiance to Britain and the Republic of Ireland — the vexed question that, in an Olympic context, dare not speak its name.
peadar1987
19/08/2012, 12:27 PM
I'm just back from competing (poorly) in a sailing world championship, and it's really underlined the difference between sport in the UK and here.
The scene in the UK is completely different to Ireland. The market is so much bigger, and everything else stems from that. It means there is a huge market for sailing stuff, first of all. In Ireland, there are three adult dinghy classes with any sort of decent fleet size, GP14s (my class), Fireballs, and Lasers. In the UK, there are twenty that I can think of offhand. All of the classes need gear, sailmakers, boatbuilders, sailing shops, all of these are making money. They can then give out sponsorship to established sailors and up-and-coming youths. Out of the 130 boat fleet (one of 20+, remember), there were ten professional sailmakers from the UK, and probably ten to fifteen more people who are semi-professional or professional sailors, paying the bills with sponsorship and coaching.
In Ireland, there are no professionals. Not one. We have no big sail manufacturers. Our boat builders are one-man bands working in sheds. They build damn good boats, but they're not in any position to go sponsoring people.
And even the UK amateurs are ending up better than ours. It was never going to be any other way, when the top guys can go out training every day because that's what they're paid to do, it pulls up the standard of the entire fleet. The young hopefuls at 15 or 16 are growing up learning from professionals. When I was 15 we'd have maybe one training camp a year, and I was the only person from my club actively racing at a national level. In the UK, anyone who shows the slightest promise would have a club coach, a zone coach, a regional coach, and a national one. Money is thrown at them.
I know sailing is a bit of a special case, being a bit of an "elitist" sport. Still, there's absolutely no way we can compete against the Brits with the structures they have in place, the official ones, and the non-official. Annalise's best hope is that she gets a sponsorship deal over in the UK, and can use that to fund her campaigns. And even then she won't have access to the sort of coaching and support that the Team GB guys have.
I'd imagine it's similar to other sports in many ways though, if there was a really promising Tae-Kwon Do fighter over here, they'd hit the performance ceiling long before a similar athlete in the UK. No sponsorship, no people of similar ability to spar against, no structure in place to become full time, unless they leave the country, and bite the bullet in a way that no young person in the UK would ever have to do.
Anyway, sorry about the ramble, it's been a long week, and I'm feeling a little disjointed! I'm sure some of it made at least a little sense!
peadar1987
20/08/2012, 12:37 PM
Just to clarify, the whole point of that wasn't a rant at the Olympic Council of Ireland or anything, it's just to show the amount of money we'd have to spend to keep up with the Brits, in just one sport. For Beijing, the British budget for sailing was larger than that for the entire Irish Olympic team. If we want medals, we'd be best off pumping all of our money into one or two sports, and try to give them a structure like the Brits do for their sailing team, much of which has emerged over there naturally due to the larger population and different culture. I think the money is probably better spent elsewhere
Real ale Madrid
29/08/2012, 10:20 PM
Well the 2012 Paralympics are getting underway in London at the moment.
We have a pretty strong team this year with Micheal McKillop and Jason Smyth looking to retain their paralympic titles. Looks like we have lots of chances in the track cycling as well. Good luck to them, let's hope they can add to the 178 medals won by Ireland, and improve on the 5 medals from Beijing.
Channel 4 have a couple of channels while Setanta's coverage is Free to air if you have it.
horton
30/08/2012, 10:08 AM
4 minute film about Jason Smyth by Topaz:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFoPOoUFX5g&feature=player_embedded#!
Sound fella, came pretty close to qualifying for the Olympics so hopefully he'll do well.
DannyInvincible
31/08/2012, 6:47 PM
Bethany Firth has just claimed a gold medal for Ireland in the S14 100m backstroke.