View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2012/13

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20

Footy247
31/01/2013, 9:39 PM
Lads any truth in the story that league cup game that was to be played between shannonside and broadford was called off because pitch was't lined,broadford appealed and punishment handed out was home advantage was reversed,broadford appealed to munster council and council backed league decision,if any of this is true is it setting a dangerous precedent by the league of how to get a game called off

fanaticfan
31/01/2013, 10:10 PM
Some one from Shanagolden told me that Shannonside were missing a few players that weekend against broadford so Shannonside never lined the pitch and we're pretending that the rain washed the lines away during the night. .Fact

super6
31/01/2013, 10:45 PM
So someone told you this fanaticfan and you say its a fact.... but you dont know if its the truth really.... I agree with footy 247 IF it is true teams that are down in numbers could do this to get a game off but to be honest it takes 20 mins to line a field so dont see why they didnt do it before KO if so.

fanaticfan
31/01/2013, 11:10 PM
It was a Shannonside player who told me so I think it must have been true

snafu
01/02/2013, 8:40 AM
Was there some sort of fine for not having that field ready?

BoyBlue
01/02/2013, 9:53 AM
[RrQUOTE=fanaticfan;1659144]Some one from Shanagolden told me that Shannonside were missing a few players that weekend against broadford so Shannonside never lined the pitch and we're pretending that the rain washed the lines away during the night. .Fact[/QUOTE]

Your a deadly man for hearing stuff fanaticfan,most of your posts start, I heard or someone told me :)

fanaticfan
01/02/2013, 11:01 AM
Was there some sort of fine for not having that field ready?

Dunno if there was a fine,only heard that broadford had home advantage in the returning fixture. .

Well a Shannonside player told me that boyblue so what more can I say.. not telling fibs and have no reason to lie

answers
01/02/2013, 4:21 PM
i have to agree with boyblue on this one your hearing is definately better then your sight fanatic and if i was to have a punt id say you are a man who wears specs with a friend from shannonside who drinks in newcastle but that was if i was going to have a punt but im not. on another issue glad rovers have upped it a notch would like to see a tight battle for survival as i think will be in deciding the title.

fanaticfan
01/02/2013, 11:38 PM
No your wrong there answers.

On a different note.will the games go ahead this weekend

fanaticfan
03/02/2013, 12:55 PM
Ballingarry 4-2 Abbeyfeale
carrig celtic 1-1 newcastle rovers
newcastle west vs killeaney OFF
Shannonside 1-4 broadford

Anyone know why ncw and killeaney was called off

churchtownroad
03/02/2013, 1:08 PM
Old Mill v Kilcornan postponed after 9.30am pitch inspection

churchtownroad
03/02/2013, 1:34 PM
Killeaney had only 9 players

snafu
03/02/2013, 2:41 PM
Killeaney had only 9 players

So was it a walkover?

super6
03/02/2013, 3:00 PM
ya a walkover. both tems did the warm up and when ncw took to the field at 1125 killeaney decided not to play with 9.

fanaticfan
03/02/2013, 3:09 PM
Ah that's not good. Why didn't they play with 9players. .

snafu
03/02/2013, 3:21 PM
Ah that's not good. Why didn't they play with 9players. .

I'd say the scoreline would have been pretty embarrassing...maybe not as embarrassing as a premier league club only having 9 players at a match...but pretty embarrassing none the less.

Edit: isnt there a 3 point deduction for a walkover? Maybe they would have been better off playing it altogether

Footy247
03/02/2013, 3:40 PM
Good wins for ballingarry and broadford,sounds like killeaney have thrown in the towel

fanaticfan
03/02/2013, 4:02 PM
Yeah great wins for ballingarry and broadford. The ncw vs killeaney match was in the league cup so they will probably only get a fine.

snafu
03/02/2013, 4:13 PM
Oh right I thought they were league games.
Ballingarry have really improved in the last few years

fanaticfan
03/02/2013, 4:19 PM
Yeah they sure have and fair play to them. Nice fellas and great facilities.they will definitely be up there towards the end of the season

western gale
03/02/2013, 6:42 PM
Sunday, February 3rd

Premier Division League Cup QF
Newcastle West v Killeaney, walkover to Newcastle West

Richard Hogan Cup QF
Creeves Celtic 1 Abbeyfeale Utd B 2 aet

Premier Division
Shannonside 1 Broadford Utd 4
Carrig Celtic 1 Newcastle West Rovers 1
Ballingarry 4 Abbeyfeale Utd 2

Division 1
Glantine 1 Rockhill Rovers 0
Kildimo Utd 1 St Itas 0
Adare Utd 1 Breska Rovers 4
Athea Utd 3 Askeaton 2
Old Mill v Kilcornan off

Division 2
Pallaskenry 3 Carrig Celtic B 0
Granagh Utd 2 Feenagh 1
Broadford Utd B 2 Ballysteen 4

Division 3
Kilcornan B v Ballingarry B, walkover to Ballingarry B

Division 4
Shannonside B 0 Shountrade 1
Bally Rovers 1 Newcastle West Rovers B 1
Feenagh B v St Itas B off

fanaticfan
03/02/2013, 11:08 PM
Team GP W D L Pts. GF GC GD

Ballingarry 10 7 1 2 22 25 22 3

Newcastle West 8 6 2 0 20 22 11 11

Rathkeale 11 6 1 4 19 20 15 5

Broadford Utd 8 5 1 2 16 20 8 12

Carrig Celtic 10 4 2 4 14 21 21 0

Abbeyfeale Utd 11 4 1 6 13 22 19 3

Shannonside FC 10 4 1 5 13 18 17 1

Glin Rovers 9 1 4 4 7 10 16 -6

Killeaney 8 2 0 6 6 7 19 -12

Newcastle Rovers 9 1 1 7 4 8 25 -17

fanaticfan
03/02/2013, 11:09 PM
anuary 14, 2013

Fixtures 9/10 Feb 2013

ALL FIXTURES are subject to alteration until published in the Weekly Observer.

Saturday 9th February Limerick Desmond U-17s Cup Semi Finals (extra time & penalties) Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West 2pm (P. King) Breska Rovers V Rathkeale 2pm (G. O’Connor)

Youths Division 2 League Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties) Askeaton V St. Itas 2pm (E. Barrett)

Youths Division 1 Adare Utd V Broadford Utd 230 (J. Molyneaux)

Youths Division 2 Feenagh V Bally Rovers 230 (C. Dalton) Creeves Celtic V Carrig Celtic 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)

Sunday 10th February Weekly Observer Premier Division League Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties) Carrig Celtic V Ballingarry 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)

Reidy Cup Semi Finals (extra time & penalties) Breska Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd B 2pm (P. O’Brien) Rathkeale Reserves V Broadford Utd B 2pm (D. Wallace)

Weekly Observer Division 3 League Cup Semi Final 1st Leg (90 min) Knockaderry V Ferry Rangers 2pm (S. Hartnett) Ballingarry B V Athea Utd B 2pm (B. Nash)

Weekly Observer Division 4 League Cup Quarter Finals 1st Leg (90 min) St. Itas V Glin Rovers 230 (J. Molyneaux)

Weekly Observer Division 4 League Cup Quarter Finals 2nd Leg (extra time & penalties if necessary) Newcastle West Rovers V Shountrade (1st Leg score 2-1 to Shountrade) 1130 (S. Hartnett) Creeves Celtic B V Bally Rovers (1st Leg score 4-0 to Bally Rovers) 2pm (J. Roche) Feenagh B V Shannonside FC B (1st Leg score 2-4 to Feenagh B) 2pm (D. O’Gorman)

Weekly Observer Premier Division Rathkeale V Broadford Utd 1130 (P. Manning) Newcastle West V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (D. O’Gorman) Killeaney V Shannonside FC 1130 (G. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Division 1 Rockhill Rovers V Old Mill 1130 (P. O’Connor) Kilcornan V Adare Utd 1130 (P. King)

Weekly Observer Division 2 Ballysteen V Feenagh 1130 (C. Dalton) Pallaskenry V Newcastle West B 230 (E. Barrett)

fanaticfan
04/02/2013, 8:17 PM
DESMOND CUP DRAW 1ST ROUND

Ballingarry B vs Glin Rovers A
Broadford A vs Ballysteen
Bally Rovers vs St Itas
Shauntrade vs Killeaney
Feenagh B vs Kildimo
Carrig Celtic B vs Shannonside B
St itas B vs Abbeyfeale Utd B
Newcastle West A vs Breska Rovers
Ballingarry A vs Broadford B
Granagh Utd vs Askeaton
Ferry Rangers vs Athea B
Carrig Celtic A vs Athea Utd A
Abbeyfeale A vs Adare Utd
Feenagh vs Creeves B
Kilcornan vs Newcastle West B
Kilcornan B vs Knockaderry
Pallaskenry vs Glin Rovers B
Newcastle West Rovers B vs Shannonside A
Old Mill vs Glantine
Creeves A vs Rathkeale A
Newcastle West Rovers A vs Rathkeale Reserves
Rockhill rovers are bye in first round

TIES TO BE PLAYED ON FEBRUARY 17TH

fifty50
05/02/2013, 3:44 AM
Has anyone got a contact number for secretary/chairman of Newcastlewest rovers

hulk
05/02/2013, 8:17 AM
Not many of the big sides clashing in the first round draw. Carrig vs athea probably the tie of the round. Any predictions for the cup? I think broadford might go 1 better than last year. I heard a strange one the weekend that broadford tried to gain a walkover from shannonside in the premier league cup because their pitch was unplayable a few weeks ago. They took an appeal to the munster council but it was rejected.

The Enforcer
05/02/2013, 8:30 AM
Not many of the big sides clashing in the first round draw. Carrig vs athea probably the tie of the round. Any predictions for the cup? I think broadford might go 1 better than last year. I heard a strange one the weekend that broadford tried to gain a walkover from shannonside in the premier league cup because their pitch was unplayable a few weeks ago. They took an appeal to the munster council but it was rejected.
By pitch unplayable do u mean pitch not lined, it's already been discussed. After that decision you can bet that other teams will try the same trick and are now 100% guaranteed to get away with it

fanaticfan
05/02/2013, 10:12 AM
Yeah carrig vs athea probably tie of the round. Newcastle rovers vs rathkeale reserves should be a good game also

hulk
05/02/2013, 11:34 AM
Where has it been discussed? I was told that there was an under age match played on it the day before so it had to have been lined surely? Just seems to be a bit over the top from broadford,trying to get a walkover for it?

snafu
05/02/2013, 12:03 PM
I'm guessing that Broadford were thinking that Shannonside intentionally didn't line the field because they may have been short players, had players suspended etc. and knew that if the pitch wasn't lined then the match would be postponed and the only consequence would be that they lost home advantage. Id imagine that the Shannonside players turned up at the field approx 1/2 hour before the game, surely they would have realised that the field wasnt lined and could have gone about lining it, even if the match kick-off was to be delayed by 15-20 mins.So I'm guessing that Broadford saw that as a deliberate attempt to postpone a game and wanted Shannonside punished for it.

fanaticfan
05/02/2013, 12:07 PM
I agree with snafu.I think broadford are going a little over the top going to the munster council over it. Some teams would be happy with home advantage the following fixture.you could line the Shannonside pitch in 15 minutes.

fanaticfan
05/02/2013, 12:14 PM
As for winners of the Desmond cup, can't see anyone outside the premier winning it. Gonna go for broadford as winners,with ballingarry,newcastle and rathkeale up there too

nathanbrown
09/02/2013, 4:23 PM
I presume all games will go ahead this weekend. All league games seem to be on in decent pitches anyway, has the weather been good the last week, I've been away.
Hopefully we get a good run of games over the next few weeks so the league doesn't drag on through the summer.
Big game between Rathkeale and Broadford the winner should have a great shout at 2nd place behind NCW

western gale
09/02/2013, 9:04 PM
Saturday, February 9th

Limerick Desmond U17 Cup SFs
Abbeyfeale Utd 0 Newcastle West 3
Breska Rovers 5 Rathkeale 0

Division 2 League Cup QF
Askeaton 2 St Itas 1

Youths Division 1
Adare Utd V Broadford Utd off

Youths Division 2
Feenagh 0 Bally Rovers 1
Creeves Celtic 7 Carrig Celtic 0
NOTE: Creeves are league champions, Bally Rovers runners-up

BoyBlue
10/02/2013, 12:38 PM
Ncw 1 Abbeyfeale 1 good point for abbey

western gale
10/02/2013, 12:42 PM
Premier Division
Rathkeale 1 Broadford Utd 2
Newcastle West 1 Abbeyfeale Utd 1
Killeaney 1 Shannonside 4

Division 1
Rockhill Rovers 3 Old Mill 1
Kilcornan 2 Adare Utd 1

Division 2
Ballysteen V Feenagh off

Carrig Celtic 2 Ballingarry 2 (in extra time)

Division 4 League Cup QF 1st Leg
St Itas 0 Glin Rovers 0 (played in Glin)

fanaticfan
10/02/2013, 2:00 PM
Any update on any matches lads

Have It
10/02/2013, 2:26 PM
Carrig Celtic 2-4 Ballingarry (aet)

western gale
10/02/2013, 3:59 PM
Sunday, February 10th

Carrig Celtic 2 Ballingarry 4 aet

Reidy Cup SFs
Breska Rovers 4 Abbeyfeale Utd B 2
Rathkeale Reserves 3 Broadford Utd B 0

Division 3 League Cup SFs 1st Leg
Knockaderry 2 Ferry Rangers 1
Ballingarry B 2 Athea Utd B 4

Division 4 League Cup QF 1st Leg
St Itas 0 Glin Rovers 0 (played in Glin)

Division 4 League Cup QFs 2nd Leg
Newcastle West Rvs 1 Shountrade 5 (Shountrade win 7-2 on agg)
Creeves Celtic B 0 Bally Rovers 2 (Bally Rovers win 6-0 on agg)
Feenagh B V Shannonside B off (1st Leg 4-1)

Premier Division
Rathkeale 1 Broadford Utd 2
Newcastle West 1 Abbeyfeale Utd 1
Killeaney 1 Shannonside 4

Division 1
Rockhill Rovers 3 Old Mill 1
Kilcornan 2 Adare Utd 1

Division 2
Ballysteen V Feenagh off
Pallaskenry V Newcastle West B off

western gale
10/02/2013, 10:37 PM
Saturday, February 16th

Desmond Youths Cup 1st Round (et & pens) (all at 2pm)
Adare Utd V Feenagh (L. O’Connor)
Rathkeale V Pallaskenry (D. O’Gorman)
Carrig Celtic V Ferry Rangers (B. Nash)
Newcastle West Rovers V St Itas (D. Wallace)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd (J. Roche)

Youths Division 2 League Cup SFs (et & pens)
Bally Rovers V Creeves Celtic (P. Manning) 1130
Askeaton V Breska Rovers (P. O’Brien) 2pm

Sunday, February 17th

Munster Junior Cup 5th Round (et & pens)
Ballingarry V Killarney Celtic 2pm (L. O’Connor, T. Fitzmaurice, G. O’Connor)

Richard Hogan Cup SFs (et & pens)
Glin Rovers B V Carrig Celtic B 2pm (P. Manning)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Ferry Rangers 2pm (P. O’Connor)

Desmond Cup 1st Round (et & pens)
Bally Rovers V St Itas 1130 (C. Dalton)
Broadford Utd V Ballysteen 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Shountrade V Killeaney 1100 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Newcastle West V Breska Rovers 1130 (P. King)
Granagh Utd V Askeaton 1100 (G. O’Connor)
Carrig Celtic V Athea Utd 1130 (J. Roche)
Feenagh V Creeves Celtic B 1130 (J. Molyneaux)
Kilcornan V Newcastle West B 2pm (B. Nash)
Old Mill V Glantine 1130 (E. Barrett)
Creeves Celtic V Rathkeale 2pm (D. Wallace)
Newcastle West Rovers V Rathkeale Reserves 2pm (S. Hartnett)

Premier Division
Shannonside V Glin Rovers 1130 (P. Manning) in Aughinish Complex

Division 1
Kildimo Utd V Adare Utd 1130 (P. O’Brien)

Division 4
Shannonside B V Newcastle West Rovers B in Shanagolden 230 (P. King)

southern kid
11/02/2013, 12:38 PM
very poor result for ncw yesterday at home to abbeyfeale. i heard they "rested" some of their top players,any truth in that fanatic?why would they do that when goin for lge title? I was a good result for ballingarry and they were not even playing lge yest.Looks like killeaney gone down after yest result. good result for broadford yest but i still think they have too much to do to win lge. any reports on yest games? best of luck to ballingarry nxt sun..

answers
11/02/2013, 2:12 PM
i heard that they rested doherty hurley and quaid and handed buddy geary a starting position which to me is very unusual for a team wanting to win the league. great result for abbey down there and heard they were unlucky not to hold out for a win. desmond cup the weekend cant see too many upsets but you never know with cup soccer hopefully there will be some crackers and some upsets along the way.

super6
11/02/2013, 5:48 PM
No lads there was no one "rested",doherty is only coming back from injury hasnt played since FAI match in waterford and hurley and quaid were at a 21st sat nite so did not start. we were missing o'keeffe paudie fitz james quaid and thomas geary for numerous reasons. even tough we were poor in the first half they cleared 2 off the line and we missed 2 1v1s and abbey took the lead through a free kick. we were on top for most of the second half equalizing through daniel power.We had 2 pen shouts in inj time when denis fitzof abbey handled the ball only for the ref to say he was pushed even though there was no one near him and the man himself admitted it after the game but these things happen in games so not blaming the ref for our average performance. should be a good finish to the league now with ourselfs ballingarry and broadford all having to play eachother.as for broadford having too much to do ? are they not only 2 points behind us?!

BoyBlue
11/02/2013, 7:02 PM
I'd agree with that super6 good game I thought in poor conditions. On the penalty, turned abbey down for 1 earlier just as blatant so he was probably just evening things out ( 2 wrongs make a right )
All to play for hard to call between the 3 of ye,should make for an interesting finish. Abbey safe now hopefully a run in the cup.

fanaticfan
11/02/2013, 7:15 PM
Dunno southern kid,wasn't talking to my friend who plays for ncw,didn't get to see any game as I was working. Will be chatting to him tonight at work.good result from ballingarry and broadford.killeaney look doomed for relagation.should be no shocks this weekend in the Desmond cup

nathanbrown
12/02/2013, 7:48 AM
Lads is there any way of checking what transfers took place in January?

Desmond Cup, I think there is a few chances of upsets, some might not be seen as upsets in some peoples eyes.
I thin the best chance of a huge upset is Shountrade against Killeaney. Rathkeale reserves are a great cup team and could surprise NCWRovers. Athea could surprise Carrig. Granagh should beat Askeaton, not really a shock if it happens but they are a division below.
Before people go off on a tangent, i'm not predicting these as results, just saying a cup shock is most possible in these games.

fanaticfan
12/02/2013, 10:25 AM
Sunday, February 17th

Munster Junior Cup 5th Round (et & pens) Ballingarry V Killarney Celtic 2pm (AWAY)

Richard Hogan Cup SFs (et & pens) Glin Rovers B V Carrig Celtic B 2pm (AWAY) Abbeyfeale Utd B V Ferry Rangers 2pm (HOME)

Desmond Cup 1st Round (et & pens) Bally Rovers V St Itas 1130 (AWAY) Broadford Utd V Ballysteen 1130 (HOME) Shountrade V Killeaney 1100 (AWAY) Newcastle West V Breska Rovers 1130 (HOME) Granagh Utd V Askeaton 1100 (AWAY) Carrig Celtic V Athea Utd 1130 (HOME) Feenagh V Creeves Celtic B 1130 (HOME) Kilcornan V Newcastle West B 2pm (HOME) Old Mill V Glantine 1130 (AWAY) Creeves Celtic V Rathkeale 2pm (AWAY) Newcastle West Rovers V Rathkeale Reserves 2pm (AWAY)

Premier Division Shannonside V Glin Rovers 1130 (DRAW) in Aughinish Complex

Division 1 Kildimo Utd V Adare Utd 1130 (HOME)

Division 4 Shannonside B V Newcastle West Rovers B in Shanagolden 230 HOME

fanaticfan
16/02/2013, 11:21 AM
Best of luck to ballingarry tomorrow in the mjc.hopefully they will win and progress

fanaticfan
17/02/2013, 1:20 PM
Any results lads

western gale
17/02/2013, 3:57 PM
Munster Junior Cup 5th Round
Ballingarry 2 Killarney Celtic 3

Richard Hogan Cup Semi Final
Glin Rovers B 1 Carrig Celtic B 0

Division 1
Kildimo Utd 1 Adare Utd 0