View Full Version : Waterford Utd Away July 6th:
02/07/2012, 8:49 PM
Big one away to our bogey team this Friday. We really need to set down a marker here. We lost 3-1 here first time around being caught on the break three times hitting the post twice and just not playing well at all. Our performances in the last few games have been at levels way higher than the start of the year and hopefully this will continue.
Going to go for 2-1 to us with a very decent travelling support, maybe in or around 80 to 90.
The big call for this one for me is Gamble or Bradley as O'Leary at the moment is undroppable. Gamble offers a bit more in defence but Bradley and O'Leary have been running the show the last couple of games. Bradley could be pushed out to the right possibly as he has come on in that position. Hopefully we will see something like,
Ryan
Kelly
Purcell
Treacy
Tracey
Bradley/McGrath
O'Leary
Gamble
Brosnan
Behan
Gaffney
03/07/2012, 1:12 AM
Paddy Purcell is suspended for this one I think.
I'd go with same team as last week with Guthrie in for Purcell.
Gaffney, O'Brien and Foley to be sprung off the bench on the hour mark then. Was saying it up at the Harps game, when Gaffney and O'Brien came on, that's some handful for a tired defence to have to be dealing with.
Massive game for us, absolutely massive. A travelling support of well over a hundred could be on as well from what I'm hearing around the place.
Waterford are poor enough in fairness if we keep our heads together. They haven't one player that would get in the Limerick team. Granted Maguire looks decent but he'd be joining quite a que! On Maguire hopefully Corie or Shane will have the good sense to kick him up in the air in the first few minutes.
In Summary:
Waterford are a one man band.
We're an orchestra.
My prediction??
Waterford 2 - 0 Limerick of course. :)
thomas72
03/07/2012, 12:19 PM
Get the feeling this is one of those games that we will look ba
ck on if we win could be vital by no means waterford are out of a promotion place. AS I said in the last meeting maguire needs to be watched he is there danger man his pace in the two previous games has caused us massive problems without a pacey centre we do seem to struggle against pace.
KEep him quiet and we should win it.
harpin
03/07/2012, 12:26 PM
Get the feeling this is one of those games that we will look back on if we win could be vital by no means waterford are out of a promotion place. AS I said in the last meeting maguire needs to be watched he is there danger man his pace in the two previous games has caused us massive problems without a pacey centre we do seem to struggle against pace.
KEep him quiet and we should win it.
Yeah Guthrie stood off him the last game. I can understand giving yourself a couple of yards against someone quicker than you but when you look at the size of Guthrie and the size of Maguire he should be well able to bully him
03/07/2012, 5:50 PM
It's been brought to my attention that I've upset some people on the Waterford forum. :(
Just to clarify my above post is a wind up.
I actually think Waterford are really, really, good, they have at least seven players who would get in our starting eleven and Sean Maguire is a better player than Denis Behan, Dominic Foley, Gary Sheahen and Rory Gaffney combined.
Hence my 2-0 defeat prediction. :good:
03/07/2012, 6:10 PM
It's been brought to my attention that I've upset some people on the Waterford forum. :(
Just to clarify my above post is a wind up.
I actually think Waterford are really, really, good, they have at least seven players who would get in our starting eleven and Sean Maguire is a better player than Denis Behan, Dominic Foley, Gary Sheahen and Rory Gaffney combined.
Hence my 2-0 defeat prediction. :good:
Don't worry, from what I can see over there you certainly could never upset people as much as Partizan does.
03/07/2012, 10:06 PM
2/3 1 limerick
bluewhitearmy
03/07/2012, 11:01 PM
Gary Dempsey is apparently only 50/50 for them if he was out it would be a huge boost for us i cant see a central midfield partnership of White and Phelan holding up against ours.
Sean Maguire is a massive threat and not one im sure we can stop as LTID said id hope that Guthrie will knock a bit of the energy out of him early on.
I wouldn't have Sheahan starting yes he is showing signs of improvement but nowhere near enough for a game as big as this imo....Gaffney and Behan is the way to go for me id bring O'Brien in from the start too just don't think we will be comfortable enough to be relying on them coming on.
Im confident enough but at the same time its in the back of my mind that this is perfectly set up for typical Limerick, big game,big crowd people believing we have finally turned the corner then bang we get hammered.
Team id want is:
Ryan
Kelly
Treacy
Guthrie
Tracy
O'Brien
Gamble
O'Leary
Bradley
Gaffney
Behan
Ill go with my confident side and say 2-1 Limerick .
04/07/2012, 12:22 AM
Purcell is a loss but hopefully Corie and Guthrie can do the business. Might even need to have gamble playing a little deeper to limit the space McGuire has between the midfield and back 4.
Partizan
04/07/2012, 10:38 AM
Gary Dempsey is apparently only 50/50 for them if he was out it would be a huge boost for us i cant see a central midfield partnership of White and Phelan holding up against ours.
Sean Maguire is a massive threat and not one im sure we can stop as LTID said id hope that Guthrie will knock a bit of the energy out of him early on.
I wouldn't have Sheahan starting yes he is showing signs of improvement but nowhere near enough for a game as big as this imo....Gaffney and Behan is the way to go for me id bring O'Brien in from the start too just don't think we will be comfortable enough to be relying on them coming on.
Im confident enough but at the same time its in the back of my mind that this is perfectly set up for typical Limerick, big game,big crowd people believing we have finally turned the corner then bang we get hammered.
Team id want is:
Ryan
Kelly
Treacy
Guthrie
Tracy
O'Brien
Gamble
O'Leary
Bradley
Gaffney
Behan
Ill go with my confident side and say 2-1 Limerick .
Dempsey out for us. Just confirmed on Twitter.
dutchie
05/07/2012, 5:03 AM
Have to contiue the winning sequence,momentum with us big time and nobody here looking for Scullys head for over a week so we must be flying it,will go for 2-1 win.
jaorta
05/07/2012, 10:38 AM
Have to contiue the winning sequence,momentum with us big time and nobody here looking for Scullys head for over a week so we must be flying it,will go for 2-1 win.
PP going 11/10 Limerick and 11/4 Limerick -1
good value I think
Waterboys 1 Limerick 4
LFC-Zulu
05/07/2012, 2:29 PM
Seamus Long, Daragh Walshe, Willie John Kiely, Gary Dunphy, Ben Ryan and Aidan McGrath are all definitely out. Gary Dempsey is rated as 50:50 and may go into this one with painkilling injections. They're remarkably weakened, as it looks. Saying that, they've had to without Walshe, Dunphy and Kiely for some time, so it probably won't affect them as much.
As most of ye know, we're without Paddy Purcell. Suspended for Friday, but only for Friday. Corie will slot in there nice and easily next to Guthrie. We've been playing fantastically lately and it's even enjoyable to watch. We're playing with a decent tempo as well; something we lacked at the start of the year. My only dilemma is whether to start Derek or to spring him off the bench. There's cases for both. He started in the RSC at the start of the season. He was brilliant, but he lost that game. He was fantastic when he came off the bench against Harps as well, so that's a coin toss. Either way, he'll have a massive say in this one. Don't understand how Cork didn't like him.
It looks very obvious where you have to stop Waterford. If you look at their last three games, they've had two prominent players who seem to whack in the goals. We all know about Seany Maguire. The lad is top class for his age and we will be a threat. Peter Keegan also. I know very little about him, only that he seems to know where the goal is. If they're brave enough to go 4-4-2 against us, then I think we'll pick 'em off. So far, their two wins against us have come when they played a 4-1-4-1 system. I hope it's not that again, but even if it is, we have the ability to whack three past them. If we keep a clean sheet, we'll win. Hands down.
A few figures:
There's a 79.56% chance that Limerick will score at least 2 goals against Waterford. *
There's a 25.5% chance that Limerick will score exactly 2 goals against Waterford. *
There's a 40.1% chance that Waterford will fail to score. *
A 3-1 victory is the most likely outcome for Limerick. *
*Figures correct as of the Poisson Model.
Picking a team is difficult. Everything is going marvelously so far, and I hope that doesn't change.
Barry Ryan; Shaun Kelly, Shane Guthrie, Corie Treacy, Shane Tracy; James McGrath, David O'Leary, Stephen Bradley, Sean Brosnan; Rory Gaffney, Denis Behan.
Naturally, you have the luxury of calling on Garry Sheahan and Derek O'Brien after an hour to try and capitalise on their fatigue. Third sub should probably go to Dom Foley or Joe Gamble, depending on what way the game is going.
I expect a very big, vocal away support and a 3-1 win. Ever the optimist.
05/07/2012, 3:28 PM
If we don't win I want him sacked.
[/in before the crowd]
05/07/2012, 3:31 PM
A few figures:
There's a 79.56% chance that Limerick will score at least 2 goals against Waterford. *
There's a 25.5% chance that Limerick will score exactly 2 goals against Waterford. *
There's a 40.1% chance that Waterford will fail to score. *
A 3-1 victory is the most likely outcome for Limerick. *
*Figures correct as of the Poisson Model.
How was this calculated please?? x x
NeverFeltBetter
05/07/2012, 3:34 PM
Anything to be said for using Gaffney as the impact sub, as he was against Finn Harps? Ran rings around them when he came on, Sheehan and Behan did a fine job before hand.
05/07/2012, 3:42 PM
Anything to be said for using Gaffney as the impact sub, as he was against Finn Harps? Ran rings around them when he came on, Sheehan and Behan did a fine job before hand.
This.
Despite our recent good form, I worry with the wide open spaces of the RSC that if he does start we'll revert to using the boy as a cannon.
LFC-Zulu
05/07/2012, 4:11 PM
How was this calculated please?? x x
No idea. Robert Reid of the Irish Sun sends me this on Twitter every week. Won quite a few bets off its logic.
http://irishfootieindex.wordpress.com/
CraftyToePoke
06/07/2012, 2:35 AM
I'd take a one nil in this one, just get the points, go top even if just overnight, pressure Longford with Athlone going there Saturday. Would also nail home the two horse race side of it. A scrappy narrow win would do fine.
legendz
06/07/2012, 8:01 AM
Going up, going up, super blues... going up. Waterford might get a bit confused when the chants go up.
I fully expect Limerick to win tonight.
bluewhitearmy
06/07/2012, 10:35 AM
Going up, going up, super blues... going up. Waterford might get a bit confused when the chants go up.
I fully expect Limerick to win tonight.
Its ok we can whip out the "We're the only super clues" chant then :p
NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 12:36 PM
Nervous enough I'll admit. Form is great, record in these games isn't.
thomas72
06/07/2012, 8:34 PM
5 big games this year we lost 4 won 1 champions win those games rubbish again when it matters we have no bottle once we go behind we give up champions don't do that E.G longford last week and against waterford away.
NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 8:36 PM
2-1 to Waterford. Very disheartening to lose to them yet again.
ped_ped
06/07/2012, 8:42 PM
Conditions, apparently, were terrible and the quality of the play was meant to be pretty poor as a result. This is a decent Waterford side, though (albeit slightly weakened) so I'll wait for more details before castigating Scully or the players of anyone.
Bitterly disappointing, though.
Come on Athlone . . .
NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 8:46 PM
Regardless of the conditions, this seasons record against Waterford (and the "big games") is truly dire.
thomas72
06/07/2012, 11:05 PM
Conditions, apparently, were terrible and the quality of the play was meant to be pretty poor as a result. This is a decent Waterford side, though (albeit slightly weakened) so I'll wait for more details before castigating Scully or the players of anyone.
Bitterly disappointing, though.
Come on Athlone . . .
conditions were not that bad the pitch was excellent it was raining alright that was it. first half we did well it was clear from early on we went back to hoof ball the one bit of football we played we scored from good finish by behan edge of the box mcgann had a great chance on half time to make it two nil hit it at the keeper when through on goal.
2nd half was just shocking long ball after long ball passing was cat or defending from there two goals was unreal limerick got two warnings on set pieces when waterford got two free headers you think they might of learnt there lesson NO. frist goal from a corner free header 2nd goal from a corner free header comical stuff 2-1 we needed to go after them iwe didnt have a shot on target i cant recall us coming from a losing postion to win in a very long time.
worrying thing was waterford wanted it more and deserved the win it could of been more gutrie was very poor magurie gave him the run AGAIN pat scully was booting water bottles for half the night im afraid its another big game another loss four losses out of five now.
playing starting mcgann was a very strange call he hasnt done much to deserve a start in a big game like this start him v salthill not waterford
06/07/2012, 11:51 PM
A few strange decisions alright but ultimately it was the team that didn't perform tonight. No creativity at all going forward. It was pretty much a carbon copy of the last two games we played them and a the Longford game at home. Guthrie was shown up for pace (well pretty much are whole back 4), Bradley and O'Leary were non existent but a lot of ball was going straight over their heads to the front two. Gaffney was dangerous in the first half but kind of faded in the second half barr his perfectly good goal that was ruled out for offside even though he was onside. Behan hadn't a great game despite scoring. McGann is not quick enough to be out on the wing and it seems Garry has not got or is yet to get back the speed he once had. For the first time this season it seemed like Dominic Foley didn't want to be out on the pitch when he came on. Gamble and Judge didn't really have much time to do anything too productive.
What was the story with Derek O Brien? Is he injured again?
Waterford were hungrier and deserved their win. Another big game, another night of optimism, another let down and another 3 points dropped against a rival.
Shannonsider
07/07/2012, 12:48 AM
Regardless of the conditions, this seasons record against Waterford (and the "big games") is truly dire.
Not an excuse. It was the exact same conditions for both teams. Limerick went 1 up midway through the first half and decided to sit back for the rest of the game. As a result the gap between the defence and midfield was way too big. Waterford scored headers from two corners. Substitutes and tactical decisions were extremely questionable. Why start with McGann on the wing with the likes of Judge and Brosnan on the bench?
Shannonsider
07/07/2012, 12:49 AM
Ya. Apparently, he twisted his ankle in training.
bluewhitearmy
07/07/2012, 10:48 AM
A few strange decisions alright but ultimately it was the team that didn't perform tonight. No creativity at all going forward. It was pretty much a carbon copy of the last two games we played them and a the Longford game at home. Guthrie was shown up for pace (well pretty much are whole back 4), Bradley and O'Leary were non existent but a lot of ball was going straight over their heads to the front two. Gaffney was dangerous in the first half but kind of faded in the second half barr his perfectly good goal that was ruled out for offside even though he was onside. Behan hadn't a great game despite scoring. McGann is not quick enough to be out on the wing and it seems Garry has not got or is yet to get back the speed he once had. For the first time this season it seemed like Dominic Foley didn't want to be out on the pitch when he came on. Gamble and Judge didn't really have much time to do anything too productive.
Waterford were hungrier and deserved their win. Another big game, another night of optimism, another let down and another 3 points dropped against a rival.
It didnt help having 2 of the most ineffective wingers ive ever seen in a game....Not the players fault for that one though i said it all along that Gary Sheahan should not have played this game and i was proved right he may as well have been at home offered nothing whatsoever but he is only coming back still and should only play in the easier games imo and with McGann its the simple fact that he is a central midfielder never has been and never will be a winger. There can be no excuses either as we had Garbhan Coughlan, Jeffrey Judge and Sean Brosnan all on the bench who could play on the wing.
Then when it was clear to almost everyone i would say that we needed something on the wing to take people on and we are chasing the game he brings on Joe Gamble and puts Dave O'Leary on the wing its gone a bit comical how stupid these decisions are at times.
I cant remember the last time we went behind in a game and actually looked like we could come back we just panic for ages and by the time we calm down and try and play back into the game its too late.
I really wonder about some of our players at times too, they kept the ball down and played it around once and ended up going 1-0 up so straight after that they go back to the hoofing rubbish and when the hoofing didn't work the plan seemed to be try hoof it even more until it did. Dom Foley in particular was a disgrace when he came on imo didnt bother to jump for headers and the one he actually did instead of chasing the ball that broke from it he stood there with his hands in the air looking at the ref.
Defending for the 2 goals we conceded was a joke 2 free headers from corners is just not good enough. Back to old ways in a big game which was very disappointing to see.
Minesapint
07/07/2012, 10:50 AM
Derek o brien was injured, Shane Gurthrie was very poor doent look comfortable in possession, we played very well in the first half but didnt look like finishing off the game, very disappointed with the off side decision against Gaffney he was on side lets hope Athlone take points off Longford, anyone going to that match.
kingpin4
07/07/2012, 12:04 PM
Derek o brien was injured, Shane Gurthrie was very poor doent look comfortable in possession, we played very well in the first half but didnt look like finishing off the game, very disappointed with the off side decision against Gaffney he was on side lets hope Athlone take points off Longford, anyone going to that match.
I heard Derek was sick, not injured. Poor timing I suppose. McGann on the wing was the strangest decision, but I suppose they tried to shut down their midfield with him a bit more narrow.
Mate of mine works at the stadium, he said the team didnt leave til after 10.30, I hope Scully was b*llocking a few of them out of it.
thomas72
07/07/2012, 1:19 PM
I just think in these big games scully trys to be to clever he thinks to much about It and the opposition its like he gets panicked into making daft decisions a striker and midfielder on the wings when we have wingers on the bench.
Anyway can't afford anymore slip ups onto mervue next week.
CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 4:52 PM
The hope was that the win in Longford had seen this corner turned but the 4 from 5 losses stat this season is hard to ignore. I'm not saying he should go as we are clearly improving, but it is very disappointing, and something Scully's tenure as Limerick manager will have to successfully overcome soon you feel if people are to be convinced fully. Even a couple or three draws in those four games would see a very different league table, we aren't a million miles away here but this flaw is three years old and that's the big worry for me.
The eleven selected was a surprise last night also. Hopefully Athlone can get something later and at least we wont be looking at a four point gap.
CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 9:34 PM
Athlone taking a point in Longford (0-0) is the silver lining of the weekend. A two point gap keeps the pressure on them, and going by the updates they did not play at all well. I didn't realize none of their strikers has more than three goals.
L.T.F.C.
07/07/2012, 9:57 PM
You know I don't think there is that much pressure on us. I'm enjoying the fact that we've been top since the start, and we've played some super football, and I'm loving the title race, but I don't really mind if we don't stay there. We're not spending half the money Limerick are and yet we're still ahead. It's a bonus really, all I wanted was to have a proper shot at promotion and that's what we're doing.
NeverFeltBetter
07/07/2012, 10:27 PM
Lost to Waterford in late April, left us four points behind Longford. Six games won on the trot. Lose to Waterford again. Two points behind Longford. I guess that's progress.
I'm really, really impressed by Longford this season, even with the sort-of wobble they're having in the last few games.
CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 10:41 PM
You know I don't think there is that much pressure on us. I'm enjoying the fact that we've been top since the start, and we've played some super football, and I'm loving the title race, but I don't really mind if we don't stay there. We're not spending half the money Limerick are and yet we're still ahead. It's a bonus really, all I wanted was to have a proper shot at promotion and that's what we're doing.
Ah, such psychological chicanery, love it, absolutely love it. We must be getting to the business end when this starts. You cannot tell me that, despite you being correct in all you say, regarding our spending and expectations at the outset and attendant pressures on both sets of players stemming from this, that Longford fans didn't have one longing lust filled leery eye on a four point gap after our defeat yesterday. But fair play for making this the contest it is, definitely.
L.T.F.C.
08/07/2012, 12:13 AM
Ah, such psychological chicanery, love it, absolutely love it. We must be getting to the business end when this starts. You cannot tell me that, despite you being correct in all you say, regarding our spending and expectations at the outset and attendant pressures on both sets of players stemming from this, that Longford fans didn't have one longing lust filled leery eye on a four point gap after our defeat yesterday. But fair play for making this the contest it is, definitely.
Psychological chicanery? I don't think so.
However the only reason I wanted a four point gap was to prolong this race! It's great craic altogether! I just can't see us holding on to be honest! Would be monumental if we could but I don't see it happening unfortunately.
fieldofmarkets
08/07/2012, 2:35 AM
Unfortunately I do see it happenning. Mostly because we have a poor manager. And before anyone starts I do hope he wins the league for us.
08/07/2012, 4:17 AM
Nah we really ain't good enough as far as I'm concerned, Tony's done a decent job with what we have, but its not a league winning squad by any means, I'm just enjoying it while I can personally.
CraftyToePoke
08/07/2012, 4:35 AM
I don't know, what remains now, twelve games or so? And you keep digging out the points. I think if you can come to our place in four weeks time still ahead in the table, with our seemingly ongoing inability to win a big game at home, we will be under serious pressure that night. Emerge from that with a draw even and its just about holding the nerve for the run in then. We should have too much, generally playing well, more impressive squad but weak in big games. This is can still go either way, great race too, great story.
08/07/2012, 9:19 PM
Is it true what is going around that pete mahon is to take over limerick with declan considine as his number two.I dont beleave it myself but that is what the talk around town is.
If Scully was to be replaced then that would be a good choice in my opinion. Can't see it happening though. Scully will get to the end of the season. I'd be surprised if he didn't.
CraftyToePoke
08/07/2012, 9:30 PM
Is it true what is going around that pete mahon is to take over limerick with declan considine as his number two.I dont beleave it myself but that is what the talk around town is.
Is this since Friday's defeat?
da bishop
08/07/2012, 9:48 PM
Is it true what is going around that pete mahon is to take over limerick with declan considine as his number two.I dont beleave it myself but that is what the talk around town is.no declan,it is not true.
kingpin4
09/07/2012, 10:12 AM
I'm not having a go at any one, but give it a rest lads. If McGann scored when he was through in the first half everyone would be saying Scully's a genius.
The team had an off night, it's disappointing but it happens to every team in every sport. The players have been playing very well over the last few weeks...so they should take the criticism for Friday. Bar maybe Sean Brosnan playing, there wasn't much else you could have done with the line up.
You can't really plan for individual errors like what happened from Waterford's set pieces... Or for Sheahan/ Gaffney/ Guthrie having a bad day.
Let's regroup and look forward to Mervue.
Also, anyone think them being on the lash the weekend before it wasn't the best idea?
09/07/2012, 10:57 AM
Nah they had a week to recover and train so I wouldn't say the night out had any affect. If it was mid week then I'd be more worried.