View Full Version : Irish fan missing?

Crosby87
19/06/2012, 11:44 AM
http://www.foxnews.com/world/2012/06/19/euro-2012-irish-soccer-fan-in-poland-goes-missing/

19/06/2012, 12:21 PM
Afraid so. http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0618/polish-search-missing.html

I hope this works out but three days later he's hardly still hungover or chasing a tail. Fingers Xd for him and his family though.

19/06/2012, 9:06 PM
Here lads, the family are looking for any information whatsoever from Irish fans coming back. If any of you think you ran into him or spoke to him could you contact them through this Facebook page?

https://www.facebook.com/pages/FindJames/378906758829981

Cheers

francesco_1
20/06/2012, 9:38 AM
Just watching Polish news, a body found in the river near where he went missing.

RIP

Hibs4Ever
20/06/2012, 10:31 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/body-recovered-from-river-in-polish-city-of-bydgoszcz-556014.html

Hibs4Ever
20/06/2012, 12:15 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/body-recovered-from-river-in-polish-city-of-bydgoszcz-556014.html

Confirmed as James Nolan, plus Polish police have said it was accidental with no foul play involved

http://www.tvn24.pl/wiadomosci-z-kraju,3/w-rzece-w-bydgoszczy-znaleziono-cialo-zaginionego-irlandczyka,259500.html

20/06/2012, 1:33 PM
Not the place to get into it, indirectly that might not be the case.

RIP. Poor family and all the lads with him.

20/06/2012, 2:30 PM
Terrible news,RIP.

20/06/2012, 2:40 PM
That's awful news.

RIP

20/06/2012, 3:26 PM
I'm from his hometown,the place is devastated,my son & himself teammates for years.

20/06/2012, 3:37 PM
Very sad. RIP.

Junior
21/06/2012, 8:38 AM
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/polish-mayor-wants-minutes-silence-for-james-nolan-3145713.html?start=3

Minutes Silence requested by Mayor of Bydgosznc.....

THE MAYOR of the Polish city of Bydgosznc is to seek a minute’s silence before one of the Euro 2012 quarter finals in memory of tragic Irish fan James Nolan whose body was found yesterday.

Rafal Bruski told independent.ie today that he intends to write to UEFA chief Michael Platini with the request.

"In view of the tragic event that has taken place in Bydgoszcz, on behalf of all inhabitants of my city, I would like to express sorrow and solidarity with the family of James Nolan, the Irish people and the fans of Euro 2012,” he said.

“We are in constant contact with the Embassy of Ireland, providing logistical, psychological, organizational and linguistic support to the Irish side.

“Once the tragic news, that is so hard to accept for all of us, is officially confirmed, I will immediately turn to the President of the Union of European Football Associations, Michel Platini with a request to commemorate the death of James Nolan with a minute of silence before one of the quarter-final games.

“We also intend to commemorate this tragic event within the streets of our city.

“Let us pay tribute to the Irish - the best supporters of the tournament, and let it be a day of solidarity with those who are the most affected by this untimely death. I address this appeal not only to the inhabitants of Bydgoszcz, but to all Poles," he said.

Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore said it was with great sadness he received confirmation from the Ambassador in Poland the remains were of the young Irish football supporter.

He was travelling with friends between the Irish matches in Gdansk and Poznan when he vanished.

"I wish to offer my sincerest condolences to James' parents, family and friends at this very difficult time," said Mr Gilmore.

Three members of the 21-year-old's family flew out to Poland this evening to formally identify the remains.

The Irish Ambassador to Poland, Eugene Hutchinson, and a senior Garda also travelled to the city to work with local civil and police officials.

"Ambassador Hutchinson is remaining with the family members in Bydgoszcz and our Embassy in Warsaw and Consular officials in Dublin will be providing all possible assistance so that James' remains can be returned to his family in Ireland as soon as possible," added Mr Gilmore, foreign affairs minister.

"I wish to express my deepest thanks to the Polish authorities, in particular the emergency services, search teams and the people of Bydgoszcz for all their efforts to find James.

"Throughout the Euro 2012 championship Irish fans in Poland received a warm and generous welcome.

"But, in particular, the solidarity and support we have received since James was reported missing has been extraordinary and I am deeply grateful."

Football chiefs expressed their sincere condolences to the family and friends of the Republic of Ireland supporter.

Paddy McCaul, President of the Football Association of Ireland (FAI), said: "In common with all supporters we are deeply saddened by this tragic loss.

"Our thoughts and prayers are with his family at this difficult time."

John Delaney, FAI chief executive, added: "We offer our sincere condolences to James' parents, his brother and sister and his friends.

"We all feel their heartbreak at this tragedy.

"May he rest in peace."

Duffer
21/06/2012, 9:13 AM
so so sad can't stop thinking of him - his poor family. Rip.

21/06/2012, 10:22 AM
more than 20,000 Irish fans went to Poland, one didn't come back.
Still one too many. RIP

Crosby87
21/06/2012, 11:25 AM
So he was traveling from those 2 cities with his friends when he disppeared? Jeez, what the heck happened? Shame.

21/06/2012, 5:26 PM
So he was traveling from those 2 cities with his friends when he disppeared? Jeez, what the heck happened? Shame.

He was the odd one out (too many to fit in it) when they pulled a Taxi seemingly and said he'd follow the lads on,must have fallen into the river. :(

25/06/2012, 12:25 PM
delighted to hear that the players were represented by Shay Given at the funeral today.
RIP James

IsMiseSean
25/06/2012, 2:24 PM
Claudine Keane was also present.

ArdeeBhoy
25/06/2012, 10:10 PM
https://fcblessington.wordpress.com/sign/

26/06/2012, 12:14 PM
Keith Andrews laid a wreath on behalf of the squad

ArdeeBhoy
27/06/2012, 12:11 AM