Colbert Report
11/06/2012, 3:13 PM
Given
O'Shea Dunne St. Ledger Wilson
Duff McCarthy Gibson Whelan McGeady
Long

irishultra
11/06/2012, 3:23 PM
If it was me, I'd use this qualification campaign as completely experimental, we more than likely won't qualify, but we have a great chance of qualifying for 2016, so that would be 4 years of bleeding young players to be ready for a 2016 challenge.
Drop the old guard, Keane, Duff, Dunne, perhaps keep Given in goal. Move O'Shea to centre back.

seanfhear
11/06/2012, 3:31 PM
It will only be fair to stick with the team that came back from a very dodgy start at the euros and went on to win it;)

11/06/2012, 3:39 PM
Half that team will be retired from international football. The likes of O'Shea, Dunne and possibly Shay Given will have one tournament left. Don't be surprised to see a return of Stephen Ireland.

Given

Foley O'Shea Dunne Wilson

McCarthy Gibson Whelan McClean

Long Walters

11/06/2012, 4:37 PM
If it was me, I'd use this qualification campaign as completely experimental, we more than likely won't qualify, but we have a great chance of qualifying for 2016, so that would be 4 years of bleeding young players to be ready for a 2016 challenge.
Drop the old guard, Keane, Duff, Dunne, perhaps keep Given in goal. Move O'Shea to centre back.
O'Shea is only a year younger than Dunne. Drop them both or drop neither.

NeverFeltBetter
11/06/2012, 4:58 PM
I would start playing Westwood more. Serious doubts over Given's fitness going forward.

legendz
11/06/2012, 5:02 PM

I'd disagree, it'll be Trap's last campaign, he has the contract for it. I think we should keep our best players where possible and give it a go to get to Brazil. With the euro's to expand to 24, there should be a bit more scope for a bit of experimenting while pushing for qualification.

third policeman
11/06/2012, 6:46 PM
Westwood
O'Shea Dunn Clark
Coleman McCarthy Gibson Pilkington McClean
McGeady
Walters

Irish_Praha
11/06/2012, 7:12 PM
I'd disagree, it'll be Trap's last campaign, he has the contract for it. I think we should keep our best players where possible and give it a go to get to Brazil. With the euro's to expand to 24, there should be a bit more scope for a bit of experimenting while pushing for qualification.

I agree, we want to be pot B for the next qualis so it would be only be making it more difficult for us if we end up 3rd or fourth in the group and get drawn in pot C or D again, allthough this campaign might help prevent that.

backstothewall
11/06/2012, 8:33 PM
We need to find a natural left back. I would go with Marc Tierney on the basis that he's playing at the highest level in the first instance, but (and I don't know a lot about them) it might be worth throwing the likes of Aidan White, Greg Cunningham or Enda Stevens in at the deepend in a friendly.

I would like to see Wilson deployed screening the back 4 in a 4-3-3 system. I am also wary of throwing the baby out with the bathwater. Trap has shown the benefits of letting the squad evolve over time. I would also pick big squads then reduce them over time so as to allow the new guys to find their feet and take leadership from the experienced guys. By the end of the campaign I think we could be moving past even the likes of Hunt

Squad
Given
Westwood
Forde

Kelly
Coleman
O'Shea
Dunne
Duffy
St. Ledger
Clark
Tierney

Wilson
Whelan
Andrews
Gibson
McCarthy
Fahey
McGeady
McClean
Hunt
Duff
Hoolahan

Long
Keane
Cox
Walters
Doyle

--------- Given ----------
Kelly O'Shea Dunne Tierney
--------- Wilson ----------
---- Gibson McCarthy -----
- Duff --------- McGeady -
-------- Walters ---------

The good news is that this Sweden team doesn't look like much.

Crosby87
11/06/2012, 10:27 PM
Poor Leon Best.

Strongbow10
11/06/2012, 11:48 PM
Lads i'm getting the Ireland job after the tournament. And this will be my first squad. Out with the old and in with the new.

Keepers
Shay Given, Kieron Westwood, David Forde

Defenders
Seamus Coleman, Marc Wilson, Greg Cunningham, Aidy White, Richard Dunne, John O'Shea, Sean St.Ledger, Ciaran Clark, Shane Duffy, Alex Pearce

Midfielders
Aiden McGeady, Robbie Brady, Damien Duff, James McClean, David Meyler, Darron Gibson, James McCarthy, Stephen Ireland, Glen Whelan, Jeff Hendrick, Samir Carruthers, Wes Hoolohan

Strikers
Shane Long, Jonathan Walters, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane, Anthony Stokes

Some players would not pull on the green shirt again regardless of excellent attitude. They just don't possess the quality required- Paul McShane, Stephen Ward, Darren O'Dea, Keith Andrews, Stephen Hunt, Andy Keogh, Paul Green.

First XI

------------------------------------------Given

Coleman------------------Dunne----------------------------O'Shea-------------------------White

----------------------------Meyler---------------------------Gibson

-----------Walters---------------------McCarthy---------------------McGeady

------------------------------------------Long

legendz
12/06/2012, 7:53 AM
Meyler's not a bad option but hasn't made much of an impression since coming back from injury. Would've thought he'd have gotten more opportunities under O'Neill but he didn't.

gastric
12/06/2012, 8:21 AM
Had a quick glance above, don't be surprised to see Chris McCann become an option over the next few years. Sean Morrison could possibly be one to watch too.

Zizou
12/06/2012, 1:17 PM
I'd change system to the modern and best formation 4-2-3-1. And at least attempt to bring us up to date with the rest of football. Two holding midfielders with McCarthy the playmaker. Time for new blood all over the park.

GK-Kieran Westwood (Given will surely retire now)
RB-Stephen Kelly (Under rated)
LB-Stephen Ward
CB-Richard Dunne (One campaign left, maybe)
CB-John O Shea (Too slow and negative for full back but a good defender)
CM-Glenn Whelan
CM-Keith Andrews
RW-Aiden McGeady
LW-James Mc Clean (Duff's time is up)
AM-James McCarthy (Our creative future)
CF-Jonathon Walters (Keane has to go)

AlaskaFox
12/06/2012, 5:17 PM
No mentions of Sean Murray yet? Surely he's the new Robbie Brady/Conor Clifford/Conor Henderson/whoever?

Carrigaline
12/06/2012, 6:50 PM
Half that team will be retired from international football. The likes of O'Shea, Dunne and possibly Shay Given will have one tournament left. Don't be surprised to see a return of Stephen Ireland.

Given

Foley O'Shea Dunne Wilson

McCarthy Gibson Whelan McClean

Long Walters

First XI

Coleman------------------Dunne----------------------------O'Shea-------------------------White

I'd change system to the modern and best formation 4-2-3-1. And at least attempt to bring us up to date with the rest of football. Two holding midfielders with McCarthy the playmaker. Time for new blood all over the park.

GK-Kieran Westwood (Given will surely retire now)
RB-Stephen Kelly (Under rated)
LB-Stephen Ward
CB-Richard Dunne (One campaign left, maybe)
CB-John O Shea (Too slow and negative for full back but a good defender)
CM-Glenn Whelan
CM-Keith Andrews
RW-Aiden McGeady
LW-James Mc Clean (Duff's time is up)
AM-James McCarthy (Our creative future)
CF-Jonathon Walters (Keane has to go)
Where are people getting the notion that James McCarthy is a winger or attacking midfielder? I have followed his career very closely since he moved to Wigan and while he did occasionally play on the wing, it has been two whole seasons since he played that position. Even when he did play there, he never looked comfortable. As for being an attacking midfielder? In all the matches where I have watched him, he is not the kind of player who is going to try a through ball, play a ball over defenders for a striker to latch onto, or any elaborate cross to play another player into into space. Sure, he has the engine that can see him make runs into the opposition half, but if you watch him for Wigan, he is generally their most defensive midfielder.

For me, McCarthy's future is as a defensive midfield player who act as the shield infront of our back four. I think we need to play to his strengths which are ideally suited to a defensive role, which are . . .

1. His athleticism and physicality. Out of all our central midfielders, I would say he is probably the strongest, most athletic and probably has the best engine out of all.
2. He is a natural ball winner. If you watch him for Wigan, he is always pressing opposition players and quite often will get a lot of joy winning the ball and starting off a Wigan counter attack.
3. Calmness in possession. He is comfortable on the ball, and it's pretty rare that he will lose it or give it away cheaply.
4. Short direct passing game. Our problem with Glen Whelan is that he is simply not comfortable receiving the ball from defence. McCarthy on the other-hand has enough composure to knock the ball around with simple and direct passing.

In a way, maybe McCarthy can become the deep-lying playmaker for the Irish team like Makelele was for Chelsea a few years back.

13/06/2012, 11:22 AM
Lads i'm getting the Ireland job after the tournament. And this will be my first squad. Out with the old and in with the new.

Keepers
Shay Given, Kieron Westwood, David Forde

Defenders
Seamus Coleman, Marc Wilson, Greg Cunningham, Aidy White, Richard Dunne, John O'Shea, Sean St.Ledger, Ciaran Clark, Shane Duffy, Alex Pearce

Midfielders
Aiden McGeady, Robbie Brady, Damien Duff, James McClean, David Meyler, Darron Gibson, James McCarthy, Stephen Ireland, Glen Whelan, Jeff Hendrick, Samir Carruthers, Wes Hoolohan

Strikers
Shane Long, Jonathan Walters, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane, Anthony Stokes

Some players would not pull on the green shirt again regardless of excellent attitude. They just don't possess the quality required- Paul McShane, Stephen Ward, Darren O'Dea, Keith Andrews, Stephen Hunt, Andy Keogh, Paul Green.

First XI

Therre's definitely something to work with there alright, along with some other names.

liam1289
14/06/2012, 1:30 PM
Ins

Shane Duffy
Marc Wilson
Greg Cunningham
Seamie Coleman
James Mccarthy
Robbie Brady

Out

Stephen Ward
Paul Mcshane
Paul Green
Ken Fahey

15/06/2012, 10:05 AM
Ken Fahey.

the bear
15/06/2012, 10:08 AM
Ken is a good footballer and should be retained

Eminence Grise
15/06/2012, 10:55 AM
D'ye ken Ken?

15/06/2012, 10:57 AM
Ken is a good footballer and should be retained

I'm not sure I like the way he drags Barbie along. Sure she brings some much needed glamour to the squad but is it too much of a distraction form serious football matters?

IsMiseSean
16/06/2012, 3:39 PM
Samir Carruthers

Roughly about 20mins for Villa at the end of the season. Does that mean he should be called up right away?

Give the kid a chance, he's 19. Let him get familiar with the U21's and get some proper 1st team action away from Villa first...

Murfinator
16/06/2012, 4:50 PM
I'm at a loss as to how we can improve ourselves, every possibility has such glaring flaws that the only conclusion I can come to is that we're missing vital cogs to be anything but a defensive team who plays off set pieces.

We simply can't play 4-5-1, the modern 4-5-1 is a flexible 4-3-3 dynamically switching between depending on whether you have possession or not. The problem for us playing that is our wide players don't contribute enough goals to be faux forwards. We also don't have any central midfielders who can do this. Any 4-5-1 we could possibly create would be a team with only a single goal threat and so not very threatening. The concession is to drop a striker deep which trap has toyed around with but has we've seen that doesn't really work. So its a dilemma between not enough possession and not enough goal threat.

The problem is essentially that we're about a decade or two behind the rest of the world in terms of the type of player we're producing, same as England which is no coincidence considering the unfortunate circumstance that the majority of our players are developed there. We essentially need all of the below, none of which we have.

-> Ball playing centre backs.
-> Wing Backs
-> Attacking Midfielder
-> Deep Lying Playmaker
-> Wide players who can cut inside and pose a goal threat.
-> A Target Man

The game has move on and almost every successful team in the past 10 years has followed the template of GK - WB - CB - BPD - WB - DM - DLP - AM/B2B - AML/WF - AMR/WF - TM.

We have so few of those kind of players that its alarming and something thats beyond repair by any coach. The problems run deep, we need players in better leagues learning their trade from better academies. We have zero wingbacks, zero ball playing defenders, zero wing forwards and the only playmakers we've had try to emerge are playing in an uncreative league that stifles that kind of thing.
The type of players we do have, the line hugging winger, the full back, the fox in the box 10 or less specialised all rounder centre midfielder are defunct breeds of player in the modern game.

We should be looking at Belgium for an example going forward, at how they a small nation have managed to produce so many brilliant technical young players in a short space of time. You may not have seen them in a tournament yet but with the players they have they'll be there soon enough and they'll achieve big things, mark my words.

Diarmo
16/06/2012, 5:37 PM
The problem is essentially that we're about a decade or two behind the rest of the world in terms of the type of player we're producing, same as England which is no coincidence considering the unfortunate circumstance that the majority of our players are developed there. We essentially need all of the below, none of which we have.

-> Ball playing centre backs.
-> Wing Backs
-> Attacking Midfielder
-> Deep Lying Playmaker
-> Wide players who can cut inside and pose a goal threat.
-> A Target Man

The game has move on and almost every successful team in the past 10 years has followed the template of GK - WB - CB - BPD - WB - DM - DLP - AM/B2B - AML/WF - AMR/WF - TM.

Then again, as we've seen with Swansea and Wigan this season, this type of formation is possible with more limited players.

GK - Westwood, Randolph, Murphy
RWB - Coleman, Foley, Kelly
CB - O'Shea, Pearce,
BPD - Wilson, Clark,
LWB - Cunningham, Ward, Tierney
DM - Meyler, Hendrick
DLP - McCarthy, Gibson
AM/B2B - Hoolahan, Fahey
AML/WF - Brady, McClean
AMR/WF - McGeady, (Walters),
TM - Long, Doyle, Walters,

This presuming that Given, Duff, Dunne and Keane retire.

The bones of a good team are there, without having to go too far out of players that Trap is already familiar with. I'd almost wonder about putting Wilson in the DM role, that way he could help out as part of a Back 5 when defending set pieces etc.

Murfinator
16/06/2012, 6:58 PM
I would really like to see those selections and that formation tested although given that theres a lot of risks there (some players not playing that role for their clubs, players not playing for their club at all etc) it'd take a brave manager given free reign to try that out.

16/06/2012, 11:09 PM
I've said for the guts of 18 months now, that I couldn't see Duff, Given, Dunne, Keane and O'Shea staying to Wc2014. I even refined that further - not that I wanted them to retire, but that I expected it.
Westwood for SHay is a no-brainer.
We need to have our defence setting an example. We need one of our two centre backs to be able to take the ball out from the back - it makes a massive difference. Ciaran Clark could be this man, but it is still very early for all of our potential centre halves. If Richard Dunne stays on, I would like to see him partnered by John O'Shea. I want my full backs to be full-backs, Kelly at right back, and take a chance on Cunningham at Left back for the moment.

How Gibson hasn't had a run out yet disturbs me. He's been getting game time at Everton, and it's a sham Green has played ahead of him. We need guile in midfield, and a bit of steel if we can. Basically fellas comfortable with the ball at their feet, while mobile at the same time. Unless we can come up with something a bit out of the ordinary formation wise then I'd go for the common three man midfield, but leaving one sitting and two roaming, in tandem with two wingers coming inside.
The trick, as I would see it, is that with two natural competent full-backs, they should offer an outlet on the flank, while the central players all are comfortable giving and receiving the ball.
Fluidity is important, and if we could get some of it, we'd a far trickier proposition.

I'm a McGeady fan and I'd have him as crucial to the team going forward. Long deserves his chance

With the players we have available to us now, I would like to see the following.

--------------------------Westwood-------------------------
Kelly------------O'Shea-----------------Dunne-----------Cunningham

---------------------------McCarthy---------------------------

-----------------Gibson-----------------Fahey---------------------

-----------McGeady------------------------McClean

----------------------------Long-----------------------------------

Subs: Randolph, Clark, Wilson, Andrews, Coleman, Doyle, Walters

That still leaves scope for the likes of Foley, Duffy, O'Dea*, Tierney, Hoolahan, Maguire, Robbie Brady, Mason, etc.
The future isn't as bleak as it seems, it just needs to be viewed differently.

* I really like O'Dea, when he has played for us he has done well, I cannot speak about Pearce.

Noelys Guitar
17/06/2012, 12:44 AM
The problem is the team is going to be Given/Westwood
O'Shea Dunne St Ledger Ward
McGeady Andrews Whelan Duff
Keane/Cox Doyle/Walters

With exactly the same tactics we have just seen fail. The reasons given for not playing a player like McClean at the Euro's will be given again. Who honestly believes Clark, McCarthy, Cunningham, Coleman, Hoolahan etc are going to start this year in the Qualifying games? Not going to happen.

the bear
17/06/2012, 1:07 AM
I've said for the guts of 18 months now, that I couldn't see Duff, Given, Dunne, Keane and O'Shea staying to Wc2014. I even refined that further - not that I wanted them to retire, but that I expected it.
Westwood for SHay is a no-brainer.
We need to have our defence setting an example. We need one of our two centre backs to be able to take the ball out from the back - it makes a massive difference. Ciaran Clark could be this man, but it is still very early for all of our potential centre halves. If Richard Dunne stays on, I would like to see him partnered by John O'Shea. I want my full backs to be full-backs, Kelly at right back, and take a chance on Cunningham at Left back for the moment.

How Gibson hasn't had a run out yet disturbs me. He's been getting game time at Everton, and it's a sham Green has played ahead of him. We need guile in midfield, and a bit of steel if we can. Basically fellas comfortable with the ball at their feet, while mobile at the same time. Unless we can come up with something a bit out of the ordinary formation wise then I'd go for the common three man midfield, but leaving one sitting and two roaming, in tandem with two wingers coming inside.
The trick, as I would see it, is that with two natural competent full-backs, they should offer an outlet on the flank, while the central players all are comfortable giving and receiving the ball.
Fluidity is important, and if we could get some of it, we'd a far trickier proposition.

I'm a McGeady fan and I'd have him as crucial to the team going forward. Long deserves his chance

With the players we have available to us now, I would like to see the following.

--------------------------Westwood-------------------------
Kelly------------O'Shea-----------------Dunne-----------Cunningham

---------------------------McCarthy---------------------------

-----------------Gibson-----------------Fahey---------------------

-----------McGeady------------------------McClean

----------------------------Long-----------------------------------

Subs: Randolph, Clark, Wilson, Andrews, Coleman, Doyle, Walters

That still leaves scope for the likes of Foley, Duffy, O'Dea*, Tierney, Hoolahan, Maguire, Robbie Brady, Mason, etc.
The future isn't as bleak as it seems, it just needs to be viewed differently.

* I really like O'Dea, when he has played for us he has done well, I cannot speak about Pearce.

considering your bringing cunnigham into the team, how can you have kelly ahead of coleman at RB.

personally i wouldn't have oshea in the team at all anymore. defo sledge ahead of him, if not duffy, clark, wilson, pearce etc.

i like the look of your front 6

17/06/2012, 4:30 AM
Joey o' Brien could be in with a shout now that he seems to be a bit less injury prone, pretty versatile player, Sam obviously rates him anyway.. Between him and Wilson I think there is a lot of wiggle room to improve the defence and midfield before even mentioning the likes of McCarthy, Myler and Gibson and even McCann at CM. I'd love to see Wes get a chance but I can't see it happening hes a tad old too..

I hope Duffy at Everton can make a breakthrough because St. Ledger is grand but not the quality we need to compete at the highest level. Whats his face Clarke looks a decent prospect too as well as Cunningham. Theres plenty young lads knocking around who I think all have the potential to be far superior to the team we currently have. Would love to see Robbie Brady in a senior friendly too.

Shall be interesting to see if Pilkington can kick on from last season. I wouldn't mind seeing something like the below for the next 2 years but maybe I'm a bit mad...

Westwood

O' Brien - O' Shea - Dunne/Duffy/St. Ledger - Wilson

McClean - McCarthy - Gibson - McGeady

Long - Walters

All depends on if Duffy turns out to be any good thou, but I really don't think Dunne has the legs for another two years he was pretty woeful for Villa at times. I still have a lot of reservations about McClean too he looked totally lost (like everyone else) against Spain. He has time on his side thou, like most of the squad. Its time to start shedding the old guard, Given has been crap in the two games so far and Robbie non existent, and I like Duff but he hasn't got the speed he needs to be effective enough any more.

bullit
17/06/2012, 6:49 AM
:rolleyes:Jaysus lads,get it right - MCCLEAN NOT mclean.
Yeah i'm hard to please!!

17/06/2012, 9:00 AM
Given/Westwood
Kelly Dunne O'Shea/Clark Wilson
Duff/McGeady Gibson McCarthy McClean
Walters Long

18/06/2012, 10:46 AM
no, 442 is dead as Glenn Whelan says this morning.

-------------------------Westwood---------------
------------------Kelly--Sledge--AN Other--Clark-------------
Coleman--any 3 of Whelan, Andrews, McCarthy or Gibson--McClean
--------------------------------Doyle------------------------

No wholesale change required despite the current furore.

I've said all along that any 3 of those 4 in midfield would work well together. Whelan hasn't impressed me lately and on another thread I suggested his time is up, but I fully sympathise with his view in today's papers that 442 leaves him and Andrews overrun and I think, especially given that he has more reason than anyone to be loyal to Trap so needn't have said it, he deserves consideration.

Coleman (if he returns to fitness & form) and McClean would add much needed pace.

McCarthy and Gibson use the ball well. I'd play both - leaving one spot for Andrews or Whelan, or a newbie like Wilson or Meyler.

Doyle (or Walters) is well suited to the no. 9 role the system requires, assuming he starts getting his sh1t together again.

Kelly and Clark are natural full backs, though I'm taking a bit of a leap of faith in Clark. Coleman and MacClean will offer protection.

AN Other at CB because I don't know which of Dunne and /or O'Shea will hang around, and Duffy and Pearce are about to step up soon.

Clark might not start this campaign at LB (Wilson might?), but he might well play himself into it.

There are no square pegs in round holes above, everyone is a natural to the role demanded of him.

I don't necessarily think a DLP is essential. What's more essential is that the midfield can both tackle and play the ball.

There, I'm feeling more optimistic now!

brine3
18/06/2012, 11:20 AM
No mention yet of the forgotten man Joey O'Brien. Back to full fitness and with a season under his belt at West Ham. And now back in the Premier League as well.

And nobody has mentioned Leon Best(oh wait, somebody did)

James McCarthy is the future of our team. I reckon a midfield trio of him, Gibson and possibly Stephen Ireland? Trap keeps mentioning Stephen Ireland so maybe there are plans afoot to bring him in for the next campaign. New campaign, clean slate and all that.

18/06/2012, 11:47 AM
Acornvilla mentioned JO'B above. I had thought of him but he's not obviously better than Stephen Kelly for example.

Even though the starting XI may not need radical change (i.e., > 4 or 5 changes) I can see a thorough rejuvenation of the squad to introduce names like theose below - some immediately, some over the campaign when their club form warrants it

This would be over and above the names I selected above, where the likes of Long, Keane, Walters, Cox, McGeady and Foley perhaps would be the obvious first line of subs.

Joey O'B
Duffy
Pearce
Clark
Wilson (if he answers the texts)
Hendrick
Mason
Brady
Sean Murray
Hoolahan
Ireland
Pilkington

CraftyToePoke
18/06/2012, 12:14 PM
Acornvilla mentioned JO'B above. I had thought of him but he's not obviously better than Stephen Kelly for example.

I think where O'Brien would nudge Kelly, is his distribution/passing, generally being comfortable on the ball, Kelly is weak there and the FB being able to play is so vital. That said I would still like to see stay JO'B fit this season again before reintegrating him.

Duggie
20/06/2012, 2:05 PM
ok i will start it off. depending on each game the formation can change. what about this for starters 4-1-3-2

--------------------Westwood---------------------

Coleman--------Dunne------O'Shea---------Kelly/Cunningham
----------------------Andrews------------------------------
McGeady--------------McCarthy------------------McClean
--------------------Keane----------------------------------
----------------------------Long---------------------------

Andrews protecting the back 4 with 3 attacking midfielders. Duffer looks like he will retire so hes not included. I have O'Shea in at center back as he is in the PL over St Ledger but its close. Cunningham could come in, i seen him with the u21's recently and he looks good. Keane always plays better with a good front man so hes up top with Long. Keane is far from finished yet IMO. Doyle or Walters wont score near enough goals. Lets see how this thread develops...

20/06/2012, 2:16 PM
I'd have thought you'd switch McCarthy and Andrews since those are the roles they play for their clubs.

Adrock
20/06/2012, 2:32 PM
Id agree with that team pretty much except swap Andrews and Mccarthy as noted and Kelly at right back. Mcgeady isnt the most natural right winger but seeing him in UEFA for Spartak playing him there seems to bring him in to the game more , which is what we nee,d as he cuts in to the centre of the pitch more.
The forward partnership is a tricky one...Keane probably will continue but theres noone scoring prolifically in England to really be a shoe in to partner him. Maybe if Long stays fit at least he can improve on last season's showing, otherwise I'd probably stick with Doyle for now or maybe Leon Best, again fitness permitting. Doyle's a better compliment to Keane than Long is I'd say.

20/06/2012, 2:37 PM
Goalkeeper; Given (poor Euros but still our best keeper by far)
RB; Stephen Kelly (Coleman in reserve)
CBs; Dunne and O'Shea. (Clark and Duffy as reserves)
LB; Cunningham (Wilson in reserve)
2 DMs; Gibson, Andrews, McCarthy, Whelan (take your pick which two)
AM; Hoolahan (Fahey in reserve)
RM; McGeady (Coleman in reserve)
LM; Duff (McClean in reserve)
CF; Long (Doyle and Walters in reserve)

No place for the doc (donkey), Green (useless) or Ward (Bohs reject) in my squad. Bobby Keane may do with a place on the bench. I'd also have the U21s playing the same tactics and formation as the seniors.

barney
20/06/2012, 2:42 PM
GK: Given
RB: Coleman/Kelly
LB: Wilson/Clark
CB: Dunne and O'Shea
CM: Whelan, McCarthy, Gibson
RM: McGeady
LM: Duff/McLean
CF: Keane/Long/Doyle

Wouldn't be against having Fahey in the middle of the park either.

20/06/2012, 2:45 PM
Goalkeeper; Given (poor Euros but still our best keeper by far)
RB; Stephen Kelly (Coleman in reserve)
CBs; Dunne and O'Shea. (Clark and Duffy as reserves)
LB; Cunningham (Wilson in reserve)
2 DMs; Gibson, Andrews, McCarthy, Whelan (take your pick which two)
AM; Hoolahan (Fahey in reserve)
RM; McGeady (Coleman in reserve)
LM; Duff (McClean in reserve)
CF; Long (Doyle and Walters in reserve)

No place for the doc (donkey), Green (useless) or Ward (Bohs reject) in my squad. Bobby Keane may do with a place on the bench. I'd also have the U21s playing the same tactics and formation as the seniors.
Bohs reject?

Murfinator
20/06/2012, 3:08 PM
-----------Given
--------Dunne O'Shea------
Kelly-------------------Hunt
------Andrews--Gibson-------
-----Ireland-------Duff------
-----------Keane--------
--------Long----------

Bench: Westwood, Coleman, St Ledger, McCarthy, McGeady, Walters, Brady

No more wingers, we get our width from fullbacks now. Duff playing centrally, Keane in a withdrawn role and JOS pushed back into the centre.

Time should be called on the careers of Ward, Green, Cox, McShane, Foley and Fahey. Doyle dropped until he recovers club form.

20/06/2012, 3:30 PM
-------------Westwood--------
Kelly----Dunne----Sledge----Clark
----------McCarthy--Gibson----
Coleman----Hoolahan-----McClean
------------------Doyle-----------

Alternatives:
Wilson for either full back
O'Shea for Sledge
Long for Doyle - I assume above Doyle is back to his spritely self
Long for Hoolahan, but more advanced.
Andrews still has a near term role - better bench option than Green!

I wholly agree that Duff is always our most reliable go-to man or out ball but McCarthy, Gibson and Hoolahan are all happy to take a pass. Our main width comes from Coleman and McClean but they're both able to put a tackle in and can allow their full back get ahead of them if necessary.

I've gone back in favour of Doyle again, though I could easily be persuaded that there must be a role for Long in the team.

I can see Dunne being crucial for the first 3 or 4 games before being phased out, but Duffy, Pearce, Clark could all emerge and Sledge and JOSH are fine anyway.

seanfhear
20/06/2012, 4:50 PM
My thoughts on he players that might retire

Given.

A bad tournament. Westwood is a good goalkeeper but we could do with him getting first team football at as high as level as possible.

John O'Shea.

We really cannot afford a player of Johns ability to retire especially as he is a defender and our options are not gret in this position. Should John be moved to centreback where he is playing his club football.

Richard Dunne.

We just cannot afford to lose a centre back of Richards ability as we do not have any alternative that comes any where near his standard.

Damian Duff.

Damians loss of pace became more noticable at the euros. Would Damian be willing to be in squads if he was not a guaranteed starter ?

Robbie Keane.

For the first time in our history we have 4 quality forwards. I believe that any two from Doyle/Long/Walters could produce results as good as Robbie has produced at the euros. Would Robbie be willing to be a squad member if not guaranteed a starting place.

Not that I want them to retire but of the 5 possibles then I believe that we would be extremely badly hit if Dunne and O'Shea call it a day. We just don't have replacements of the necessary quality.

It would be some ask to hope that McClean could replace Duffer but at least there is a possibility.There is at least the possibility of replacing Robbie and Shay as I have outlined above.

Re our midfield;

There is no way that Glenn Whelan and Keith Andrews are capable of doing the job Trap requires from our midfielders To be honest they would have to be TWO ROY KEANES or else we have to find two Irish Christiano Ronaldos to play on the wings. Trap expected two midfielders to do more than was possible considering the quality of the two wide men in his 442.

His system was brutally shown up against the better quality teams (3 times at the euros and also in the Russian match.

Re;Trappatoni.

I think the old dog is too old to learn new tricks. Also proclaiming that your players are not very good and can only play " his system " does'nt feel like a great motivational modus operandus.

Trappatoni did a good job (boring and unispiring football though) in the qualification grops for the euros/world cup but he has had two bad tournaments with Italy and one with Ireland.

The ideal scenario would be to get Trap to get us qualified and then ...........

To be honest though I think that the Trap magic will have worn off and I fear an uninspiring and unsucessful world cup qualifying campaign.

Trappatonis first big test will be if;

He wipes the slate clean with players that for whatever reason have not been part of the Irish setup.

His attitude up to this point suugests that he will go on in the same old way. Hopefully he will not continue with his "The Irish players are not very good and must play in this very limited manner"

I hope the Old Boy is not just intent on proving this theory.

Managers that do not have a belief and confidence in their players rarely get the best out of them !

CraftyToePoke
20/06/2012, 5:59 PM
The new era we are entering and its attendant formations, selections. Some great posts here lads, and a bright spot in an otherwise fairly ropey couple of weeks.

While not wishing to deflect from the need for the Irish game to get its house in order, it also got me to wondering if there will be any 2G or 3G recruits we aren't aware of yet primed to come in? Beyond the usual suspects which have been discussed on here previously. Do I remember mention of Trap meeting with a center forward potential recruit before the tournament who's identity was speculated on but not really established?

Is Naughton at RB better than Foley/Kelly/O'Shea.
Is Tierney worth a run out at LB in a friendly.

IsMiseSean
20/06/2012, 6:19 PM
Is Naughton at RB better than Foley/Kelly/O'Shea..

Has Naughton even declared for us??

tommy_c12000
20/06/2012, 6:33 PM
Management has to be changed before a new team/formation discussion is worthwhile

Irish_Praha
20/06/2012, 6:45 PM
I still think we have a decent pool of players to choose from and from what I have read here and other places the vast majority of people agree that we need to develop a system to get the best out of them.
I'd be a big fan of the 4-1-2-1-1-1 system but it's difficult for me to say who would be best to play in each position beacuse we don't know the staus with retirements yet.
However plays we will never be defensively sound enough to play any less than 4 at the back and we need once defensive midfielder to help them out.
The 2 would be two wingers of which we have more then enough of :)
Then 1 attacking midfielder that does his bit in MF but doesn't have to play so deep lke both CMF players in traps system. Then a withdrawn striker and more advanced forward.

Something like

------------Given----------
Kelly--O'Shea-Dunne--Wilson(Cunningham)
----------McCarthy---------
McClean----------------McGeady
------------Gibson(Andrews)------------
------------Keane(Walters)--------------
-----------------Long(Cox)----------------

This would be a very flexible system than could quickly become 4-5-1, 4-3-3, or the dreded 4-4-2 :p