View Full Version : ROI house/pub/pre-match/match/post-match/funnies thread...

bullit
07/06/2012, 12:15 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/248153_362034307184224_2116950297_n.jpg

bullit
07/06/2012, 12:16 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/522558_399164873468462_1664972156_n.jpg

Trainee
07/06/2012, 8:01 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qykUdp4qRXE

Nice welcome for England team in Poland by Irish Fans

Dalymountrower
07/06/2012, 8:35 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/522558_399164873468462_1664972156_n.jpg

.....and the best pint of Macardles in the world.

07/06/2012, 8:38 AM
That's almost oxymoronic.

*nb . I have been known to enjoy a pint of macardles in my time.

07/06/2012, 9:58 AM

Were they booing because Rio wasn't picked?

07/06/2012, 10:30 AM
Maybe they're booing because people chose to mess up a decent song with those extra shouty bits. Feckin hate that.

adamd164
07/06/2012, 10:55 AM

Nice welcome for England team in Poland by Irish Fans
Closest most of them will have gotten to their heroes.

07/06/2012, 1:18 PM
*Cough* Oireland Forum *Cough*

Also, while far from a republican, I am of the firm belief that anyone who writes a slogan on the national flag should be ashamed of themselves.

07/06/2012, 1:44 PM
That's funny, cause I always think anyone who gets het up about that should be crucified.

07/06/2012, 2:00 PM
Why??

07/06/2012, 2:06 PM
It just bugs me. I know there are rules there, but I don't see the harm in people using the flag for banners as long as there is nothing offensive in it. And I don't think there's enough crucifixion these days.

07/06/2012, 2:16 PM
I changed put down cos I thought twas a bit strong tbf.

If you're going to get into putting down people for being morons you're getting into eugenics and social engineering and that and it's not really a discussion for foot.ie.

Writing slogans on the national flag is syptomatic of two things rampant in the Oirish support - Ingerlund aping (the writing on the flag in the first place) and mortifying paddywhackery (the writing of "funny" slogans)

"Davy Keogh Says Hello"

"Ah jaysus and begorrah, isn't Davy a gas man with his flag."

Not really no, he's a tosspot.

07/06/2012, 2:56 PM
The Cavern Bar in Letterkenny. Half of the town here is plastered with tricolours and some bars are putting in ridiculous amounts of effort just for the Euros. This I thought was very good though.

https://fbcdn_sphotos_f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/578100_10150859491577759_947268745_n.jpg

07/06/2012, 3:01 PM
Closest most of them will have gotten to their heroes.

Some serious arguments going around t'interweb about this. 'It's completely different when they're playing for England because we're meant to hate them then'. Quite funny really.

07/06/2012, 3:20 PM
Agree on Davy Keogh. Met him once and he was a complete hoorbag.

I was tempted to define what was in my view OK and not OK, but who's to judge? What to me is cool might to others be disrespectful. So I guess the only thing you can really do is a full ban or let people do what they want, and I tend towards the latter.

I know some of them are silly, but I like the way they reflect how support for the team comes from all over the country and diaspora and from many different clubs etc. I'm pretty sure many countries do it other than England, although maybe they started it.

07/06/2012, 3:33 PM
Agree on Davy Keogh. Met him once and he was a complete hoorbag.

He is Ireland's number one supporter dont you know!:p

07/06/2012, 6:21 PM
The pubs in Ravensdale and Letterkenny must have got cheap from across the Border - funny shade of orange/red! and ye think they would have no shortage of good orange paint in N.I.

Mad Moose
07/06/2012, 7:55 PM
The pubs in Ravensdale and Letterkenny must have got cheap from across the Border - funny shade of orange/red! and ye think they would have no shortage of good orange paint in N.I.

Are you serious? I can't see a thing wrong with the orange on either of them?

07/06/2012, 9:40 PM
Not really though they do look more Italian but sure its the thought that counts

07/06/2012, 9:56 PM
9orWsYQf0Nk

bullit
07/06/2012, 11:53 PM
*Cough* Oireland Forum *Cough*

It was meant to go there but hey half a bottle of Morgan spiced & 8 bottles of old speckled hen later it was posted here :D

Keeper Road

https://fbcdn_sphotos_c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252232_4135787801106_712691102_n.jpg

08/06/2012, 12:32 AM
9orWsYQf0Nk

Ah the old home town. Sniff sniff.

Surprised Henry didn't get battered parking on the Parade.

DannyInvincible
08/06/2012, 12:38 AM
Paddy McCourt's bar in Belfast:

https://p.twimg.com/Aus9A5_CMAEtxMl.jpg

We all know where his heart really is. :)

DannyInvincible
08/06/2012, 12:47 AM
It was meant to go there but hey half a bottle of Morgan spiced & 8 bottles of old speckled hen later it was posted here :D

Keeper Road

https://fbcdn_sphotos_c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252232_4135787801106_712691102_n.jpg

Fantastic photo. Is it all like this at home?

bullit
08/06/2012, 1:21 AM
Fantastic photo. Is it all like this at home?
It is certaintly building up,i will take a few photos here in Dundalk and stick them up here later today.

Meanwhile in Dolphin House some oul wans washing gets mixed in with the flag's & bunting :D

https://fbcdn_sphotos_f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/292222_4132997491350_1136963433_n.jpg

08/06/2012, 1:54 AM
Well... we are slowly but surely pinpointing where you're living now...

DannyInvincible
08/06/2012, 3:13 AM
Well... we are slowly but surely pinpointing where you're living now...

This one?:

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/bunting.png

:p

bullit
08/06/2012, 4:55 AM
best one yet.http://cf.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/Screen-shot-2012-06-05-at-14.57.45.jpg

08/06/2012, 8:12 AM
We all know where his heart really is. :)

Why the hell didnt he play for us then?:)

athloneman
08/06/2012, 11:10 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwSL-IUym08&sns=tw

08/06/2012, 1:47 PM
Celtic jersies, Indian flags. They supporting Scotland or India? ;) Hate that song but that is actually good.

Thankfully I've seen no houses in Sligo with Ireland stuff up.

adamd164
08/06/2012, 1:51 PM
Walking around Cork earlier, spotted a house with tricolours draped out every window and bunting from the walls... the house was called 'Old Trafford' and located about 10 mins walk from Turner's Cross stadium.

juan
09/06/2012, 2:18 AM
That's funny, cause I always think anyone who gets het up about that should be crucified.

Crucifixion's a doddle!

bullit
09/06/2012, 3:17 AM
This one is doing the rounds on Faceybook book atm.Tasty couple of burds <>:love:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/205263_10150859506983251_962301625_n.jpg

Sean South
09/06/2012, 12:58 PM
Celtic jersies, Indian flags. They supporting Scotland or India? ;) Hate that song but that is actually good.

Thankfully I've seen no houses in Sligo with Ireland stuff up.
One or two in my estate but very little around town compared to Rovers stuff when we were in finals

MeathDrog
09/06/2012, 2:43 PM
No excuses not to get a few buntings. Only 3 quid in Centra.

10/06/2012, 3:52 PM
3 Rovers fans arrested in Gdansk last night for rioting.
Well, it HAD to be Rovers fans, no OIrish fans would let the country down and Rovers are the usual LOI suspects.

bullit
10/06/2012, 11:05 PM
I see tounges :rainbow::kissing:

http://cache2.asset-cache.net/gc/146123542-pitch-invader-kisses-head-coach-slaven-bilic-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=GkZZ8bf5zL1ZiijUmxa7QbsVJX4YvYs%2fp%2f0MqlCRW5eH W5NwlzlLWB%2bzKJNMRbbnW89IjlmC8h2NhDns0wPNBg%3d%3d

adamd164
11/06/2012, 12:40 AM
Only 12 days til footy starts again! :cool:

11/06/2012, 8:24 AM
Crying on the tele. A new low.

PartySaint
11/06/2012, 10:06 AM
Only 12 days til footy starts again! :cool:

Europa League draw this day 2 weeks :)

horton
11/06/2012, 1:42 PM
3 Rovers fans arrested in Gdansk last night for rioting.
Well, it HAD to be Rovers fans, no OIrish fans would let the country down and Rovers are the usual LOI suspects.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=3TmkT-r9LlA

11/06/2012, 3:01 PM
Following on from my earlier faux outrage -

http://s1.jrnl.ie/media/2012/05/Social-Welfare-390x285.jpg

That's a Clare GAA crest in the middle of that biting piece of social commentary.

You know, those well known friends of Irish football in the Clare GAA.

Also:

http://i4.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article869593.ece/ALTERNATES/s510/Irish+Banners+-+Euro+2012

Is it for this the wild geese spread the grey wing upon every tide?? :rolleyes:

11/06/2012, 3:02 PM
And Finally:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253355_408634779179196_59614188_n.jpg

:bulgy:

Let's all hope they get cornered by a group of Polish skinheads down a dark alley and get the ride they're after.

11/06/2012, 3:35 PM
Also don't agree with jibberish like that on the Irish flag.

I don't mind certain things, a simple Finn Harps FC, Limerick FC or St. Patricks Athletic Fc or whatever you have on it is grand for me.

Silly phrases like the one above are ridiculous and disrespectful.

Hibs4Ever
11/06/2012, 4:00 PM
Also don't agree with jibberish like that on the Irish flag.

I don't mind certain things, a simple Finn Harps FC, Limerick FC or St. Patricks Athletic Fc or whatever you have on it is grand for me.

Silly phrases like the one above are ridiculous and disrespectful.

Anything put on an Irish flag is a disgrace

bluewhitearmy
11/06/2012, 4:55 PM

What if they just write "Anything" with out underlining it would that be ok?:p

11/06/2012, 5:08 PM

I disagree. Over-patriotic if you ask me. A sense of identity and pride in your hometown or club can be shown.

11/06/2012, 6:00 PM
Isn't it actually illegal too?

Not that I particularly care what people choose to deface...