View Full Version : How the rest of the world see us....

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

23/06/2012, 4:54 AM
The IRA is so retro now is it not cool and hipster to sing about it?

23/06/2012, 7:21 AM
I honestly don't think people outside the British Isles understand that we have artificially developed a concept of the good IRA from before 1968, and the bad IRA from after it. And I don't think they care much more about it than the average Irishman cares about whether a Barcelona fan is singing a song about the Spanish Civil War or the more modern Catalan separatist movement. As long as everyone is having a good time it scarcely matters.

Now now:o

23/06/2012, 7:57 AM
youre talking absolute ****** - I been a member on here since 2009, and as I stated at the outset Ive been living away for the past year and a half - Im not a big forum user and you are superman - what a dull ****in life you must lead.I was at the Euro's - most of our fans were brilliant - some were a disgrace ...i was drawn to you tube by other peoples comments, especially mates ...doesnt make nice viewing and confirmed what I saw first hand

Careful now, there are standards of discussion on this forum. Please refrain from abusive language. People might think just because you use abusive and offensive language, that we all use abusive and offensive language, we all get tarred by the same brush.
Don't let the fact that I don't believe you, let you slide into a morass of moral decay.

O'Shea's Boot
23/06/2012, 7:51 PM
Careful now, there are standards of discussion on this forum. Please refrain from abusive language. People might think just because you use abusive and offensive language, that we all use abusive and offensive language, we all get tarred by the same brush.
Don't let the fact that I don't believe you, let you slide into a morass of moral decay.
arse ;) sure it doesnt matter then - all Ireland fans should be sectarian all of the time **** the queen up the RA - great isnt it

ArdeeBhoy
25/06/2012, 10:35 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/schoolreport/18504058
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/polish-media-praises-ireland-fans-16173490.html

ArdeeBhoy
27/06/2012, 12:56 PM
Yeah, those Poles really hated us. And our rabble-rousing.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.238205449630468.50678.186636648120682&type=1

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.238218452962501.50681.186636648120682&type=1

http://demotywatory.pl/3846261/Thank-You-Ireland

THIS EVENING IN POZNAN
http://www.tvn24.pl/wiadomosci-poznan,43/poznan-spiewa-stand-up-for-the-boys-in-green,261338.html

27/06/2012, 3:20 PM
Yeah. They really hated our presence.

I hope the friendly in Poznan idea happens.

27/06/2012, 3:32 PM
Ya, we will bring the flag back if it does :)

In fairness the waiters and waitresses did hate us by the end of it, and rightfully so.

ArdeeBhoy
27/06/2012, 3:38 PM
Speak for yourself...

And Torun would be better than Poznan!

28/06/2012, 10:40 AM
Poznan fan zone for the Spain - Portugal game:
6j8s2NtZWfM

Article with more footage on the above: http://www.tvn24.pl/wiadomosci-poznan,43/poznan-spiewa-stand-up-for-the-boys-in-green,261338.html

ArdeeBhoy
28/06/2012, 11:16 AM
Cheeky!

Erm, see my links above.

28/06/2012, 11:44 AM
Cheeky!

Erm, see my links above.sorry, missed your edit

ArdeeBhoy
28/06/2012, 11:58 AM
No bother...only messing.

Yours was better anyway.

28/06/2012, 1:33 PM
That is cracked. Man. this is deadly all the same.

28/06/2012, 2:39 PM
That footage is amazing. And to think some people are embarrased by how we behaved out there.

I hope the friendly in Poznan idea happens.yeah, but I'm not driving from Berlin next time.

ArdeeBhoy
28/06/2012, 2:59 PM
Aye. Funny though how some selective people are about giving credit though.

And what's wrong with a train (or even bus) from Berlin-Poznan?

28/06/2012, 3:03 PM
You didn't have to share a car with Bonnie.

ArdeeBhoy
28/06/2012, 3:05 PM
Hence the, er, public transport suggestion...

Anyway, how was he so 'terrible'?

28/06/2012, 3:13 PM
He talks a lot. Really, a lot.

I'm all on for visiting nice places but a 3+ hour transfer for a friendly is a bit much.

28/06/2012, 3:49 PM
you can fly directly to poznan, but i gather you are on about torun.

28/06/2012, 4:12 PM
That footage is amazing. And to think some people are embarrased by how we behaved out there.People who weren't there.

28/06/2012, 4:21 PM
I'd agree with that generally Tets, but a fella in our group, who I think you met before actually, came out of the stadium after the spain game saying it was embarassing how we were singing with 10 minutes to go.

28/06/2012, 4:44 PM
Just had an email from a journalist from the daily paper in gdasnk and she said there was talk on the main gdasnk radio station last night, describing the Irish and their behaviour, she said that it was all very positive, and that they had removed 23tonnes of rubbish the week we were there, and most of it supposedly was pint glasses, everyone taking them and walking around the main square/old street -which they werent meant to do. But we were very civilised because none of it was broken on the streets like other countries, but deposited safely into rubbish bins.....they obviously didn't speak with the cleaners of Poznan!!

Noelys Guitar
28/06/2012, 5:19 PM
From the Uefa site
@adi7anand: Who has the most passionate fans at Euro 2012?

Tardelli: The Irish. I was very impressed by their behaviour and how they always supported their team. It's not normal what they did and there aren't many Italian fans who would have done that. But our fans have been very close to our team as well. They know about our strengths, and that we've tried our best, and they have represented our flag well

ArdeeBhoy
29/06/2012, 7:45 AM
http://theinsideleft.com/ireland-at-euro-2012/?fb_action_ids=10151891485280121&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=other_multiline

29/06/2012, 8:13 AM
Very good. Any chance you can add a simple narrative to the links you post instead of just sticking a link up in isolation?

ArdeeBhoy
29/06/2012, 8:22 AM
I think I say quite enough already...

Leave it up to people to make up their own minds.

29/06/2012, 9:32 AM
From the Uefa site
@adi7anand: Who has the most passionate fans at Euro 2012?

Tardelli: The Irish. I was very impressed by their behaviour and how they always supported their team. It's not normal what they did and there aren't many Italian fans who would have done that. But our fans have been very close to our team as well. They know about our strengths, and that we've tried our best, and they have represented our flag well

Interesting at UEFA website, not Italian. THe use of "our" and "their".....

29/06/2012, 9:41 AM
Oh, Tardelli
He used to be Italian
And he still is

29/06/2012, 10:00 AM
No as we started the day of the italy game, oh trapatoni he used to be irish, he's italian now. Funny the italians came up with the same chant.

ArdeeBhoy
29/06/2012, 11:14 AM
Yeah, had made up that chant before we even left....

Of course my prophetic words were ignored!

29/06/2012, 1:33 PM
Electronic Arts (EA) are running polls on twitter today for various "best of Euro 2012" categories, here's the feed for the best fans: https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23Euro2012Fans?q=%23Euro2012Fans

29/06/2012, 1:35 PM
I'd agree with that generally Tets, but a fella in our group, who I think you met before actually, came out of the stadium after the spain game saying it was embarassing how we were singing with 10 minutes to go.I've heard a few people say that, and they are entitled to their opinion, but I'd rather be singing than booing or sitting on my hands, or (and I've never done this) leaving early

gaf1983
29/06/2012, 4:54 PM
http://theinsideleft.com/ireland-at-euro-2012/?fb_action_ids=10151891485280121&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=other_multiline

it's a piece of great writing explaining why the Irish felt they had to sing that night against Spain, sets it against the wider backdrop of the economic malaise and another generation lost to emigration.

Bottle of Tonic
29/06/2012, 5:35 PM
Sensational Jeff.

I have to admit the bad mouthing of the Irish fans in Poland from some of the Irish media and more disappointingly from football fans who stayed at home kinda got to me when I landed home a week ago. The buzz, camaraderie and feel good nature of my 10 days in Poland will live long in the memory and I was saddened to see the cheap shots flying in the minute I began to read some of the reaction to the fans presence in Poland. When I had my own not-a-clue-about-football mother on the phone to me going on about the eejits singing 'You'll never beat the Irish' when "sure didn't they get hammered in every game" I knew good old Irish bregrudgery was alive and kicking.

The 30,000 odd partied like hell, made friends and had the craic like only the Irish can so what can we do to keep the national whingefest going? Sure they drank like there was no tomorrow ( fecking Irish can't enjoy themselves without alcohol), were rowdy and puked all over the place and sang like goons when we were getting beaten. Its not the way to do it lads - Keano said so.

Then I spent the week looking at pictures and videos like those above and realised those whingers and detracters were simply jealous

Credit to all the lads who were out there. I don't live in the country anymore and it was great to spend 2 weeks having solid 24/7 craic with the inventors and masters of it!

29/06/2012, 10:12 PM
That footage is amazing. And to think some people are embarrased by how we behaved out there.

yeah, but I'm not driving from Berlin next time.

You didn't drive last time. :-P

30/06/2012, 12:29 AM
it's a piece of great writing explaining why the Irish felt they had to sing that night against Spain, sets it against the wider backdrop of the economic malaise and another generation lost to emigration.

It's a nonsense article that tries to create the most tenuous link between the singing and Ireland's other woes.

I've already said on here that the singing was great to watch, but to link it to economic problems and emigration is silly.

A vast percentage of the supporters who travelled to this tournament had arrived in Poland from places such as Cagliari, Toronto, Sydney, Singapore, San Francisco and New York.
No figures for this, but the word 'vast' is ridiculous.

The true Irish supporters decided to come together in unison, to express pride in themselves and their culture at a time when being Irish and what that means has become increasingly confusing. Perhaps a sing-song was our last refuge.

To suggest those who sang were the 'true' Irish supporters and those who didn't sing aren't is nonsense.

If you ask any of the Irish fans in Poland in 20 years time what their recollection of the year 2012 was, you can be sure they will not tell you about mortgage arrears, being unemployed, longing for home or trying to find their way in the world. They will not tell you about John Delaney or Roy Keane. Instead they will tell you about two weeks in June, when it was a joy to be Irish, and when a citizenry divided by economics and geography united, and sang together as one.

Sounds emotional, but nonsense.

ArdeeBhoy
30/06/2012, 12:53 AM
Hmm. Pedantry aside, for those of us lucky enough to be there, I'd say Bottle of Tonic got it just about right in his reply above...

And for what it's worth very similar went out in the other 4 Finals we reached too, albeit with more satisfying results!!

30/06/2012, 3:33 AM
Very good. Any chance you can add a simple narrative to the links you post instead of just sticking a link up in isolation?

Maybe make a new thread with a title on it????

(perhaps not ;) :rofl: )

30/06/2012, 11:18 AM
Stories coming out today that Platini will deliver an award to the FAI for the behaviour of the Irish fans
Usual comments from LOI fans, which help nobody including themselves, have already begun

30/06/2012, 11:22 AM
Are you not a LOI fan yourself?:D

ArdeeBhoy
30/06/2012, 11:27 AM
Stories coming out today that Platini will deliver an award to the FAI for the behaviour of the Irish fans
Usual comments from LOI fans, which help nobody including themselves, have already begun

Like where?

On other sites but worth a mention.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqSX52Hd0wo&feature=youtu.be

30/06/2012, 11:46 AM
Are you not a LOI fan yourself?http://foot.ie/images/smilies/biggrin.gifI make it to Limerick games when I can, but I've never complained about Irish fans watching English, Scottish, or whatever clubs. Phrases like "real football for real fans" only serve to widen the gap between the two groups.

Like where?

On other sites but worth a mention.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqSX52Hd0wo&feature=youtu.be
from http://thescore.thejournal.ie/uefa-ireland-fans-award-505198-Jun2012/#comment-477328

So Ireland’s Premier League supporters win an award from UEFA. Platini could either go to Richmond Park, Dalymount or any League of Ireland ground and present it to the real Irish fan or he could go to any Premier League ground and award it to any of the thousands of ‘Irish Fans’ there on a Saturday.
from https://twitter.com/TheLOIBLOG/statuses/219009758261280769

UEFA to present Irish fans with award for their support at EURO 2012. He should present it at HT at a LOI game to see how good they are!
and in reply to the above https://twitter.com/7_tom/statuses/219012939527630848

@TheLOIBLOG (https://twitter.com/TheLOIBLOG) agree UEFA award an absolute farce. Ole Ole Ole Ole we don't support when Irish clubs play
I've seen similar comments to the above on private forums, but I can't link them here

my point is (and has been for some time) that LOI fans need to change their attitude towards fans of non-LOI clubs if they want to get these fans in the gates at LOI games

ArdeeBhoy
30/06/2012, 12:03 PM
Totally agree re. certain LOI fans. And EPL/SPL fans also.

My club is no longer in the LOI, but with 3-4 exceptions really don't care what other club sides they follow.

It is a 'free' world. Of sorts.

30/06/2012, 12:22 PM
my point is (and has been for some time) that LOI fans need to change their attitude towards fans of non-LOI clubs if they want to get these fans in the gates at LOI gamesWell said. If the LOI does become a success many would complain about all the johnny-come-latelys who have hoppped on board. Football is a broad church and attracts many different ranges of interest. It's about time some of the cranks realised this.

30/06/2012, 12:28 PM
I can understand their frustration. Simply put, people who don't go to football matches cannot possibly be the best fans in the world and to say otherwise is just downright silly. I can see why people consider LOI fans to be hostile and unwelcoming but it's asking a lot of people to expect them to be ambassadors for the league 24/7. LOI fans might be derisive of non-LOI fans in public forums, but anybody who shows up to a game is treated exactly the same way whether it's their first game or their 10,000th.

30/06/2012, 12:29 PM
Yeah but how can someone say they love football then totally ignore the game that is on their doorstep while going off to the bar to watch a game on the tele. With the amount of good ex LOI players now in the Irish team, its now more than ever that the LOI need the "best fans in the world" to come out and show their support. Its very easy to follow ireland, not so easy to attend a game in a damp Carlisle grounds for instance. No problem with the irish fans singing, as i would be singing and enjoying the craic myself if i was out there, but its the total lack of respect thats shown towards our league that gets on my nerves

30/06/2012, 12:36 PM
Well said. If the LOI does become a success many would complain about all the johnny-come-latelys who have hoppped on board.

This is absolutely 100% not the case.

30/06/2012, 12:38 PM
Well said. If the LOI does become a success many would complain about all the johnny-come-latelys who have hoppped on board. Football is a broad church and attracts many different ranges of interest. It's about time some of the cranks realised this.

That's ridiculous

30/06/2012, 1:12 PM
I don't think it is but hopefully events will prove me wrong someday. I fully accept that the Polish RoI support contained many "temporary" fans but it's just a simple fact that big events attract more people than small ones. I don't think many RoI fans will claim to be one of the "best all-encompassing fan of all levels of footbal" on the planet but that's not what the supposed award is for. "Best fans at the tournament and a role model for all fans of the international game and probably all levels of the game", yes.

I think anyone who doesn't recognise this nuance is probably choosing not to recognise it and just has the hump.

I also think that the LOI is just one tier of Irish football. There were many flags and banners of local clubs and junior clubs who people play and volunteer for. These people are every bit of the support fabric of Irish football as LOI fans.

Just to set the record straight: I have only disdain for people who ridicule the standard of the LOI - either enjoy it or shut up about it I say - but I have no major gripe with people who don't think it's worth paying to see.