View Full Version : Give Away Fans Less Space

Fair_play_boy
16/08/2004, 8:29 AM
It was a shame to see so much of the Donie Forde stand wasted by a minibusful of Shelsea suporters. Why not swap places with the family enclosure, and section off enough of the stand for younger supporters and their parents? That way, if away support is strong, they can fill only as many sections of the Derrynane stand as are necessary.

ccfcgirl
16/08/2004, 9:33 AM
think the club could do this reason been away fans have to be sectioned off

rebel army no1
16/08/2004, 9:57 AM
It was a shame to see so much of the Donie Forde stand wasted by a minibusful of Shelsea suporters. Why not swap places with the family enclosure, and section off enough of the stand for younger supporters and their parents? That way, if away support is strong, they can fill only as many sections of the Derrynane stand as are necessary.
ya your dead right but i was thinking more like sectioning off maybe quater of st. annes road by the donie forde side because that doesnt fill anyway.i remember around 2 yrs ago derry filled half of st.annes road. i think it was in the cup semi-final

ccfcman
16/08/2004, 11:21 AM
a percentage afaik 10% has to be sectioned form away supporters under the uefa licensing scheme!also lads less face it if we did it other clubs may do so also curtailing city away fans :o

16/08/2004, 12:58 PM
I can remember Finn Harps and Derry over filling that section of the ground. Waterford did it at one stage last year if i am right. Leave it the way it is.

Fair_play_boy
22/03/2005, 5:21 PM
From tonights Echo: :)
For this weekend’s game with Bray and for the rest of the season, Cork City have swapped the Family Enclosure area with the away supporters’ section. New steps have been put in at the St. Anne’s Park end to make it easier for away fans to access their section of the ground on the Derrynane Road side.
More space for City fans on nights when tickets are scarce. :)

22/03/2005, 5:57 PM
What stage is the planning permission at on that side of the ground ... there are plans in place to put in extra toilets etc. but the residents have objected so things had been held up.

Will this work be completed soon ??

Partizan
22/03/2005, 6:32 PM
From tonights Echo: :)
For this weekend’s game with Bray and for the rest of the season, Cork City have swapped the Family Enclosure area with the away supporters’ section. New steps have been put in at the St. Anne’s Park end to make it easier for away fans to access their section of the ground on the Derrynane Road side.
More space for City fans on nights when tickets are scarce. :)

Family Enclousure, thats in the smaller Derrynane Stand?

adamcarr
22/03/2005, 6:55 PM
It is!!

adamd164
22/03/2005, 7:15 PM
I wonder if it was FPB's suggestion that was behind the change :confused: have we more power than we think :confused:

Fair_play_boy
22/03/2005, 7:17 PM
Family Enclousure, thats in the smaller Derrynane Stand?I think it will be easy to shift the boundary line to accommodate the Waterford fans if ye arrive in large flocks. But not down as far as the shed, for, ahem, obvious reasons. :)

Fair_play_boy
22/03/2005, 7:18 PM
I wonder if it was FPB's suggestion that was behind the change :confused: have we more power than we think :confused:My own thoughts exactly. :)

22/03/2005, 9:07 PM
wont there be trouble with the likes of rovers supporters etc going over to use the toilets and shop?

There is a shot there already, I think there will be toilets there too.

I've say they'll put a few of those iron barriers in place and it'll work well. The DF was wasted on away fans

22/03/2005, 9:16 PM
Good decision by the club. City are one of the few clubs to dedicate a section of the ground to away fans. Last year 20 away fans were taking up more than 10% of the main stand.

No use wasting lareg area of main stand on handful of away supporters.

I've seen an eL club allocate 10% of their ground to away fans.

22/03/2005, 9:22 PM

no need to worry you're travelling fans so :D

Partizan
22/03/2005, 9:22 PM
We'll bring the usual 200-300 down to the X. The match I presume is on the Bank Holiday Weekend so there could well be an overspill and in the event of one, the surplus will be seated on the St Annes End.

Personally speaking, I'm delighed that we are being moved to the Derrynane side in which we will be closer to the pitch and the action. Some of the lads disliekd being thrown to the back of Donie Forde.

22/03/2005, 9:23 PM
We'll bring the usual 200-300 down to the X.

:D :D :D :D

adamd164
23/03/2005, 6:56 AM
......and we'll bring our usual 900/1000 up there ;)

23/03/2005, 9:23 AM
To be fair Wahhherford usually do bring around 250 fans to the Cross. They bring more than any other club. Still small though considering the short distance and the fact that we usually bring 3 or sometimes even 4 times that amount to their gaff

23/03/2005, 9:44 AM
Is the derrynane side the smaller stand facing the big stand :confused:

23/03/2005, 9:53 AM
Is the derrynane side the smaller stand facing the big stand :confused:

Yeah, away fans will now be situated exactly across the pitch from where they used to be...

(on a side note: I think it's a bit daft doing this as away fans will have to walk in front of the shed to get around there, bound to be a few idiots who'll make this a problem)

23/03/2005, 10:20 AM
Yeah, away fans will now be situated exactly across the pitch from where they used to be...

(on a side note: I think it's a bit daft doing this as away fans will have to walk in front of the shed to get around there, bound to be a few idiots who'll make this a problem)
I think the plan is that away fans enter from the St. Anne's end from now on?

23/03/2005, 10:27 AM
I think the plan is that away fans enter from the St. Anne's end from now on?

Didn't realise that, still think it'll be a problem though

adamd164
23/03/2005, 1:04 PM
quite a few of them went in the st anne's entrance anyway

colblimp
23/03/2005, 11:17 PM
IMO away fans should be segregated from home fans, whatever the game. It's done at every game over the water, so why not here?

Away fans should be directed to the St. Anne's end, under Garda escort if needs be. Their section should be fenced off and all the facilities they need, toilets, hot dogs, programmes etc, should be available to them without them having to walk around the ground. This would then eliminate any problems and make the Cross a really safe place to visit. Yes, there's hardly ever any away fans at City but it should still happen.

adamcarr
23/03/2005, 11:21 PM
IMO away fans should be segregated from home fans, whatever the game. It's done at every game over the water, so why not here?

Away fans should be directed to the St. Anne's end, under Garda escort if needs be. Their section should be fenced off and all the facilities they need, toilets, hot dogs, programmes etc, should be available to them without them having to walk around the ground. This would then eliminate any problems and make the Cross a really safe place to visit. Yes, there's hardly ever any away fans at City but it should still happen.
Thats a bit too much! Theres not that much trouble between fans in our league, Id agree with you otherwise!

23/03/2005, 11:59 PM
Their section should be fenced off and all the facilities they need, toilets, hot dogs, programmes etc, should be available to them without them having to walk around the ground.

I dunno .... i used to hate that in Italy, 10 foot barriers and huge pits in front of stands, .... really off putting, as it is only a game of ball, not a war zone.

In fairness that is one good thing about grounds here, you can mix with the other supporters and there generally isn't any hassle, just friendly banter if anything.

Maybe down the line if there is a need but we should enjoy that fact right now.

24/03/2005, 2:00 PM
I think segregation is the best thing to do. Take last Saturday in Finn Park as an example. Most City fans spent ages before the game in the pub with harps fans, great atmosphere. During the game the atmosphere was grand as well, but then a few kids started messing with CCFC flags, and all of a sudden there's a confrontation between City fans and stewards which COULD have boiled over. After the game, things were grand again. I'd much rather there was no need for segregation, but all it takes is one kid messing and one angry response and you have trouble on your hands. If people want to mix with away fans, they can do so before/after the game. We've never had any really serious incident in this league, and IMO is best to eliminate any chance of hassle before anything happens.

Fair_play_boy
24/03/2005, 9:17 PM
The best safety move by the club in recent seasons is when they tarred over the stony ground around St. Annes end. It proved too tempting for some Rovers "fans" who threw stones into the crowd just after a game the season before last.
I would not agree with a cordon at this stage, since things are reasonable OK still most of the time.
One thing I would do, better than any cordon IMO, is have a minimum standard of stewarding. From what I have read in this forum, some of the stewards around the different clubs sound like thugs who are more likely to inflame a situation than calm it. I wonder if this matter is dealt with under the UEFA licensing process. If it is, I would like to see incidents reported, in order to force clubs to employ professionals, and not gougers.

kevincronin2000
25/03/2005, 9:19 AM
The best safety move by the club in recent seasons is when they tarred over the stony ground around St. Annes end. It proved too tempting for some Rovers "fans" who threw stones into the crowd just after a game the season before last.
I would not agree with a cordon at this stage, since things are reasonable OK still most of the time.
One thing I would do, better than any cordon IMO, is have a minimum standard of stewarding. From what I have read in this forum, some of the stewards around the different clubs sound like thugs who are more likely to inflame a situation than calm it. I wonder if this matter is dealt with under the UEFA licensing process. If it is, I would like to see incidents reported, in order to force clubs to employ professionals, and not gougers.
The older guy at finn harps what a nutter!

Bray Head
25/03/2005, 10:09 AM
Most away fans do congregate together as it gives a better athmosphere. Cork's idea of a dedicated away section is good and hopefully some of the other clubs might follow. I think putting up barriers is going too far as there is little trouble. Leaving for Cork at 12.00 and looking forward to a good game.

25/03/2005, 11:25 AM
The older guy at finn harps what a nutter!
I can agree totally with that, and can tell you that quite a few of the stewards at Harps don't have a very high opinion of him either!

31/03/2005, 7:52 AM
Lads whats the story with entering the ground now with this new sh*te?

Can you enter the normal way and just walk around the big stand?

Or do you HAVE to enter through the St. annes end? (btw where the f**k is that entrance - at a guess I presume its turn right when you come out of the horseshoe, around the corner?) If you HAVE to enter the St. Annes end can you buy tickets there or do you still have to buy them at the main entrance?

Cheers!!

adamd164
31/03/2005, 9:20 AM
On Monday, Sheliban Fans Went Out Past The Shed

kevincronin2000
31/03/2005, 11:10 AM
:eek: :eek: :eek:

seems to defeat the purpose of the steps at the st annes end

31/03/2005, 12:40 PM
Lads whats the story with entering the ground now with this new sh*te?

Can you enter the normal way and just walk around the big stand?

Or do you HAVE to enter through the St. annes end? (btw where the f**k is that entrance - at a guess I presume its turn right when you come out of the horseshoe, around the corner?) If you HAVE to enter the St. Annes end can you buy tickets there or do you still have to buy them at the main entrance?

Cheers!!

I think large groups of away fans will be directed to go in the St. Anne's end.

One or two away fans not wearing colours would get in the main entrance I'd say.

You're spot on with directions to St. Anne's end. Come out of Horseshoe, turn right up the hill and right again at the top. There is a ticket outlet at the St. Anne's end.

31/03/2005, 12:44 PM

Yeah, I walked past them at the back of the Derrynane. No stewards around to keep them in their seats for a while or direct them away from the Shed.

No trouble on Monday but organisation didn't seem the best.

By the way the view from the new away section must be terrible! I was further down the Derrynane stand on Monday and had to stand up to see the corner.

31/03/2005, 3:12 PM
Cheers Paudie

adamd164
31/03/2005, 3:17 PM
Yeah, I walked past them at the back of the Derrynane. No stewards around to keep them in their seats for a while or direct them away from the Shed.

No trouble on Monday but organisation didn't seem the best.

It's a joke, we're always saying how professional the stewards at the cross are, but that was ridiculas.................imagine if it was Rovers fans after losing 1-0 walking out past the shed :eek:

:mad:

31/03/2005, 3:22 PM
It's a joke, we're always saying how professional the stewards at the cross are, but that was ridiculas.................imagine if it was Rovers fans after losing 1-0 walking out past the shed :eek:

:mad:
Maybe it was a case of just letting them out that way to their bus as it was a wettish night, $hels fans are not known for causing any trouble at games.....or for even too many of them being there!....(had to get that in.....:D)

adamd164
31/03/2005, 4:40 PM
not the piont, patsh. in a professional setup, there's one rule for all.

Fair_play_boy
03/04/2005, 3:59 PM
Maybe it was a case of just letting them out that way to their bus as it was a wettish night . . . Come to think of it, we are pretty decent giving them shelter during the game. Up in Flancare Park they let you standing out in the rain and the cold for the whole game.

03/04/2005, 4:00 PM
Come to think of it, we are pretty decent giving them shelter during the game. Up in Flancare Park they let you standing out in the rain and the cold for the whole game.
There was nothing stopping youse from going into the stand :rolleyes:

Fair_play_boy
03/04/2005, 4:03 PM
There was nothing stopping youse from going into the stand :rolleyes:And there is nothing that would have pleased you more than see the City support split up like that. :rolleyes:

03/04/2005, 4:04 PM
And there is nothing that would have pleased you more than see the City support split up like that. :rolleyes:
What bullsh1t. I couldnt care less weather ye were all together or not, you were just giving out about getting wet and I told you that you could have went to the stand :rolleyes:

03/04/2005, 4:05 PM
And there is nothing that would have pleased you more than see the City support split up like that. :rolleyes:
The City support was split, and I don't think it was the Longford fans who enjoyed seeing it