View Full Version : Leaving Cert results
ccfcman
14/08/2004, 7:53 AM
Sign below if you're well brickin' it!
Graham
14/08/2004, 10:06 AM
ive my final repeat exam for uCC the day after, and ill be going out leaving cert night
im bricking it
Ruairi
14/08/2004, 10:47 AM
Best of luck lads
harpskid
14/08/2004, 11:05 AM
I'm trying not to think about them.
What's done is done at this stage!!
Good luck to my fellow Leaving Cert students awaiting the results.
Chris "Mr C"
liam88
14/08/2004, 12:18 PM
1 week on Wednesday till my GCSE results..........
shame I'll be on holiday for 'em!!!!! :rolleyes:
14/08/2004, 6:27 PM
A Level results out on Thursday. No point in worrying about them, they can't be changed now. And besides, it's not the end of the world. :)
Brendy
14/08/2004, 7:20 PM
Hardest thing I ever did in my life, best of luck in them lads
liam88
14/08/2004, 7:58 PM
Good luck lads :D
15/08/2004, 1:52 AM
whatever the results, such is life, move on and enjoy the night.
ona another subject, i'm gonna miss my annual perv night as i'm on holidays for the junior cert results :( :D
are you pauro in disguise? :p
15/08/2004, 3:58 PM
no i'm a pro......
liam88
15/08/2004, 5:41 PM
A Level results out on Thursday. No point in worrying about them, they can't be changed now. And besides, it's not the end of the world. :)
Brendy
hey ma bro is getting his to-are you hoping to go to uni Brendy?
15/08/2004, 5:44 PM
hey ma bro is getting his to-are you hoping to go to uni Brendy?
Aye, politics at Queens in Belfast hopefully.
liam88
15/08/2004, 8:41 PM
Aye, politics at Queens in Belfast hopefully.
Sounds great :D I'm doing Politics at AS next year; never been to Belfast maself-would love to visit sometime!
Ma bro is doing a medical course to work in the Operating Theatres.
Goo luck to ya Brendy let us know how it goes :)
Best of luck kids...and don't forget: say no to drugs. :eek:
ccfcman
19/08/2004, 11:46 AM
were very positive for me!
good luck to Alevelers today
19/08/2004, 12:05 PM
Hardest thing I ever did in my life
You wont even remember it in a few years.
19/08/2004, 12:17 PM
You wont even remember it in a few years.
Well I'm turning 25 this october, and it still ranks as the hardest thing I ever did in my life.
ccfcman
19/08/2004, 12:20 PM
i did well in the grand old scheme of things but i felt it was an over hyped exam with way too much "pressure"
19/08/2004, 12:22 PM
Well I'm turning 25 this october, and it still ranks as the hardest thing I ever did in my life.
Lazy bastad, go out and get a job :D
19/08/2004, 12:25 PM
Lazy bastad, go out and get a job :D
Hate to tell you but I went through college, and I have a job in the IT industry - office internet connection means I check the boards a few times a day
19/08/2004, 12:29 PM
Hate to tell you but I went through college, and I have a job in the IT industry
When was the last time you were asked how you did in your Leaving Cert?
Hope you don't ever come to me looking for a job, I'll know that since you found the LC so tough you might struggle with some of the contracts we tackle. :p
No comments from you Max. Your place was me taking a break after a year and a half in the UK. ;)
19/08/2004, 12:41 PM
When was the last time you were asked how you did in your Leaving Cert?
Hope you don't ever come to me looking for a job, I'll know that since you found the LC so tough you might struggle with some of the contracts we tackle. :p
Well my results are on my CV (was told to put them there by some friends in employment agencies), and I usually get asked about them in interviews, I've been working in the same place for just over 2 years now, so I guess the last time I was asked was in that interview.
I didn't find the exam itself tough, just all the study and work beforehand took its toll on me.
19/08/2004, 12:44 PM
For most it's the passport to moving away from home and living it up for a few years, and you do more growing up in that time than any other..
Surviving in Dublin was tough going at times for me as a student where one day a meal for me consisted of a tin of sweetcorn.
There were 5 from my family in college/university at the same time.
Got through it though and have no regrets.
I really feel for anyone trying to do it now.
However hard it was for me it must be a nightmare now.
Well my results are on my CV (was told to put them there by some friends in employment agencies), .
If you're ever in a technical interview with me please remove your LC results from your CV along with the paragraph about you working in Francos Pizza Parlour. Experience is what counts.
ccfcman
19/08/2004, 12:47 PM
and even better some of us are actually young! :p
19/08/2004, 12:48 PM
that was the Matric.
What was that?
I remember leaving certs talking about in when I was doing my Junior Cert but never heard about it again.
19/08/2004, 1:23 PM
No family planning at all in West Cork... ;)
I'm sure there was a plan somewhere Conor but things don't always go to plan ;)
Surviving in Dublin was tough going at times for me as a student where one day a meal for me consisted of a tin of sweetcorn....
Posh student ;)
Ultimately the LC isn't that important but in the short/medium term it will have a lot more impact on career than any exam/result in 3rd level education. The amount of points dictate what you'll do the following year where as college results rarely have such direct impact.
In the end good LC results could be a curse cos might do that course which you hate later.
If i was doing LC would hate the way the media report the results with those straight A crowd when maybe thinks not gone the way you wanted.
19/08/2004, 1:45 PM
If i was doing LC would hate the way the media report the results with those straight A crowd when maybe thinks not gone the way you wanted.
I hate the way you get ads in the paper the day after from the like of Bruce College with "so-and-so got 6 A's, join us and do the same". An article on the students that dropped out, or did worse than the previous year wouldn't go astray. I hated those grind schools with a passion when I did it
Meant to say its fine media focusing on high achievers but they'd be the same people reporting all the pressures of the LC a few days later.
19/08/2004, 2:22 PM
The Leaving Certificate structure is all wrong anyway.
It should be more project based with continual assessment.
I loved science subjects, especially physics but the way they teach and examine it removes you very much from practical physics.
It's seen as a subject for nerds who can learn off a formula for this that and the other but there's much more to Physics than that.
I think our focus on European languages and European geography shows clearly that our current education system was designed to pander to the EEC.
Ach, that makes it all very UL ish. I heard they've started continuous assessment in UCC too, which I couldn't believe...
Think I was real lucky to escape UCC before continuous assessment. Very nasty that exams in penultimate year count towards grade cos would mean have to work for 2 years :(
19/08/2004, 2:57 PM
Think I was real lucky to escape UCC before continuous assessment :(
Me too, I was of the Conor frame of mind.
Do SFA, panic shortly before the exam...
Waste even more time devising 'study plans'...
Falling behind on those the first day...
Draft a new plan....
Panic... :eek:
Buy Bottles of Jolt Cola and packets of Halls Soothers and study all night before the exam... :D
Repeat in the Autumn... :(
Waste even more time devising 'study plans'...
Falling behind on those the first day...
Draft a new plan....
I loved those plans, coloured coded all laid out...only problem was meant would have to actaully study to implement :o
fosterdollar
19/08/2004, 3:05 PM
Ach, that makes it all very UL ish. I heard they've started continuous assessment in UCC too, which I couldn't believe. There's only one way to approach exams. Spend most of the year drinking and practising smoke rings, and get a panic attack at Easter and do 10 hour days of slogging and photocopying after that...
hehe, i like you're style. Continuous assessment wouldnt have suited me at all but i suppose i can see the benefits it gives.
Personally, i think college was deadly looking back on it. I did the whole tear the @rse out of it thing for the first three years and then pulled it out of the bag with a bit of a slog in final year. Get the impression though that a bit of work along the way would have made the last year a bit easier. Also, at times, the repeats in autumn were soul-destroying. However, i had some of my best college times during them.
Anyone ever wonder how you could go out every single night of the repeats and still do okay but one night during the summers and you're totally screwed???
19/08/2004, 3:15 PM
Anyone ever wonder how you could go out every single night of the repeats and still do okay but one night during the summers and you're totally screwed???
I think I was out every Sunday night of my Leaving Cert year.
I'll be struggling to get to work now if I stay out after 22:00 on a Sunday. :D
LC results are relative anyways. I got 320 in my leaving, and was quite happy with it. A buddy of mone got 440 same year, was gutted and repeated.
The entire structure of the LC is totally wrong. Firstly, why does it take 2 months to get the results out there? Secondly, why isnt there a repeat exam structure like 3rd level?
My sister for example did her LC this year. The day before it started, our uncle died suddenly, and just before her last exam she got an absess in her gum, so was taking a load of meds to dull the apin for the exam. Now she still topped 400, but was dissapointed in a few exams, namely those around the times of the above unforeseen problems.
Surely there should be a facility to accomadate this. Not to mention a person could just have a bad day, and have a blank. Why should a person have to repeat a very strrssful year of their life because of a bad day??
Anyway, its not the be all and end all. If a person is willing to work hard, he/she will do well in life regardless of acedemia.
19/08/2004, 9:28 PM
Have to agree with Gary
There was a lad in my school who worked hard right through and then got chickenpox a couple of days before the start of the Leaving, they wouldn't let him anywhere near the school for obvious reasons but (not sure if it was down to the school or the dept. of educ.) couldn't organise a separate examiner for him in time for some reason so the only option left to him was to repeat the entire year.
In the year ahead of me a lad broke his arm, and they organised a separate exam set up where he dictated his exam papers, which turned out to be a nightmare for him, and he ended up repeating into my year too though he'd worked hartd, well at least that's what he told us. ;)
20/08/2004, 8:12 PM
Sounds great :D I'm doing Politics at AS next year; never been to Belfast maself-would love to visit sometime!
Ma bro is doing a medical course to work in the Operating Theatres.
Goo luck to ya Brendy let us know how it goes :)
Politics is great, well, it was for us, you'll be doing a different syllabus obviously.
Going to Queen's next month so, I done class in the A Levels. I'm pure lurd with meself, did no work for them at all. :D
Exams are a crap way of measuring a person's intelligence. School is a joke. I've come out of it with cracker results, but I have **** all idea how to survive in the real world. Education my hole!
harpskid
20/08/2004, 8:58 PM
What did ye get Brendy?
I did good in the leaving without doing much work so it's all good!!
20/08/2004, 10:38 PM
What did ye get Brendy?
I did good in the leaving without doing much work so it's all good!!
2 As and a B. What'd ye get yerself? Where ye heading next month?
ccfcman
21/08/2004, 9:34 AM
um judging by every1 who did exam's regularity on these boards nobody did a tap of work and including moyself we did alright
Fair_play_boy
21/08/2004, 9:55 AM
I'm 45 this October. Leaving Cert was nearly as hard as Leaving Da Cross after losing to Shels last Saturday.
Enda M
21/08/2004, 5:05 PM
none of you have actually asked us how we all got on :)
harpskid
21/08/2004, 8:26 PM
2 As and a B. What'd ye get yerself? Where ye heading next month?
Got 370!! Heading to Dundalk :eek: to do accountancy
21/08/2004, 11:10 PM
Handy for the Harps games there next season so. :D
harpskid
22/08/2004, 12:07 PM
It'll be handy for the ones in Drogheda aye :p
dortie
22/08/2004, 2:55 PM
Going to Queen's next month so, I done class in the A Levels. I'm pure lurd with meself, did no work for them at all. :D
Hi Brendy, dont want to take away all your glory lad but didnt 95% of A level students pass the things this year ;)
Tell yee what there getting easier from when I done them ;) Only little nerds with jam jar glasses and no life got A's and B's in those days. :D Or as we call them in Derry 'wee stews'
23/08/2004, 1:38 PM
Tell yee what there getting easier from when I done them ;) Only little nerds with jam jar glasses and no life got A's and B's in those days. :D Or as we call them in Derry 'wee stews'
I think ye'll find the stews nowadays are the ones with 4 As in the A Levels. As for me, I'm just naturally intelligent or pure jammy. You decide. :D
macdermesser
23/08/2004, 1:47 PM
you'd be better off getting in as a trainee accountant somwhere in Dublin and doing the exams at night time, and supporting St Pats at the weekend :)