View Full Version : Sean Morrison

Yard of Pace
12/05/2012, 1:33 PM
I've mentioned him before but after seeing today's game for Huddersfield against MK Dons I feel he's worth his own thread. Commentator described him as immense and later exclaimed "And Sean Morrison, a player I've not seen before, I have to say he's been really really very good".

This lad is a huge prospect. He has the physique, level-head, skill and positioning sense to be a great centre-half for us someday. Won every ball that came his way. Hopefully Town get promoted and Reading let us buy him!

Good amount of Irish in that game, btw. Gleeson, Potter, Shawn Williams, Jay O'Shea and that big useless lump Alan Lee.

Yard of Pace
15/05/2012, 11:02 PM
At the risk of turning into The Worm on the David Connolly thread....

....Another excellent performance tonight from Morrison, save for a possible penalty incident, but even that was executed with a bit of cleverness.

For MK Dons Shaun Williams was absolutely brilliant, I have to say.

Predator
15/05/2012, 11:04 PM
Has he declared for us?

Yard of Pace
15/05/2012, 11:41 PM
Has he declared for us?

He has an Irish flag beside his name on Wikipedia which is good enough for me.

theworm2345
16/05/2012, 2:41 AM
Has he declared for us?
Think it was in an article where Long or Pearce talks about the Irish lads and lads with Irish heritage (so you know it wasn't Harte :D) at Reading...can't be arsed to find it at the moment as I'm eating.

EDIT: OK here it is http://greenscene.me/2011/04/shane-long-hints-at-possible-reading-converts/

EDIT2: *cough* http://foot.ie/threads/164565-Sean-Morrison

Yard of Pace
16/05/2012, 10:35 AM
EDIT2: *cough* http://foot.ie/threads/164565-Sean-Morrison

Cripes, at least Connolly only has the one thread :D

theworm2345
16/05/2012, 4:31 PM
Cripes, at least Connolly only has the one thread :D
Careful, that can quickly be rectified ;)

Yard of Pace
27/05/2012, 10:57 PM
http://downatthemac.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=69319

he is a MUST buy. An absolute monster at the back, he beasted utd all day long. A very good footballing CB aswell, excellent control and can spot a pass.

Simply awesome.

27/05/2012, 11:54 PM
Just saw him on the Football League show now. He's a big lad and took his penalty well.

17/11/2012, 3:52 PM
Man of the match performance at the Madejski today. Should cap him early before England go sniffing.

DannyInvincible
17/11/2012, 4:09 PM
Might he have played at under-age level for us already were he interested? Surely he's been on someone's radar.

17/11/2012, 4:24 PM
Man of the match performance at the Madejski today. Should cap him early before England go sniffing.

Oh good, that makes me feel better about Everton losing and Coleman giving away a penalty, but there are (I think) more Irish
at Reading so nice to see Reading get a win takes them out of the drop zone (and puts Villa in).

DannyInvincible
17/11/2012, 4:31 PM
Oh good, that makes me feel better about Everton losing and Coleman giving away a penalty, but there are (I think) more Irish
at Reading so nice to see Reading get a win takes them out of the drop zone (and puts Villa in).

Hey, but what about the Villa Irish?!

http://www.avfc.co.uk/javaImages/b9/bf/0,,10265~10403769,00.jpg

(Excepting Robbie, there.)

17/11/2012, 4:35 PM
coleman gave away a penalty?!....

17/11/2012, 5:16 PM
Hey, but what about the Villa Irish?!

http://www.avfc.co.uk/javaImages/b9/bf/0,,10265~10403769,00.jpg

(Excepting Robbie, there.)

Well yes that is the problem down that end of the table, atm with Southampton and QPR, who
are a bit thin on the Irish, in the relegation zone it is fine, but then the next 6 teams all have
significant Irish players. With Villa it is Dunne Clark and Ireland, Dunne is getting on a bit, and
Ireland well, he is Stephen Ireland so it just leaves Clark.
I don't know a lot about Morrison but it seems he is as god as Clark if not better, certainly
better on todays performance I imagine.
However he has not play any international football at all so that's probably not a good sign for us?

So I don't know which would be the best team to get relegated out of the 6 competing for the drop.
You have to go up as far as Newcastle before you get a good option for the drop.

So it's as good as can be expected at the moment and surely there will be some decent Irish getting promoted?
Indeed 3 Irish at Palace who top the Championship

17/11/2012, 5:19 PM
coleman gave away a penalty?!....

Yep barged into the back of a player going for a header. Not very clever really
I expect Moyes is delighted - not!!!
He was doing well apart from that I thought.
He is a dangerous player in either half of the pitch :p
I mean I find his wing play fantastic when he is on his game he causes big problems
when he runs at players, defenders really struggle to handle him, which is nice to see.
I reckon he is worth a few bob now despite the penalty.

TrapAPony
17/11/2012, 5:20 PM
Surely the FAI scouts would be doing their job here??... but they didn't know Ciaran Clark was eligible until Richard Dunne got involved

DannyInvincible
17/11/2012, 6:11 PM
With Villa it is Dunne Clark and Ireland, Dunne is getting on a bit, and
Ireland well, he is Stephen Ireland so it just leaves Clark.

Enda Stevens started today as well.

Predator
17/11/2012, 10:45 PM
As far as I understand, Morrison has been on the FAI's radar for a while. He is either not eligible, or not interested, because I am almost certain that King was going to include him in an U21 squad last year.

greendeiseboy
17/11/2012, 11:18 PM
As far as I understand, Morrison has been on the FAI's radar for a while. He is either not eligible, or not interested, because I am almost certain that King was going to include him in an U21 squad last year.

He had a q&a on twitter a while back and stated that he's not eligible

18/11/2012, 12:30 AM
Surely the FAI scouts would be doing their job here??... but they didn't know Ciaran Clark was eligible until Richard Dunne got involvedto be fair, he had captained England underage sides at that time. It took Dunne's intervention before he declared for Ireland.

18/11/2012, 12:55 AM
Well that was a bit of a waste of time then!!

bwagner
26/11/2012, 1:14 PM
There is a piece the the Star today about Sean, He is eligible to play for us, he just didnt get his paperwork in order in time for the last under 21 campaign

Predator
26/11/2012, 2:35 PM
There is a piece the the Star today about Sean, He is eligible to play for us, he just didnt get his paperwork in order in time for the last under 21 campaignWho wrote the piece? I think that the author is wrong. You wouldn't be able to transcribe it?

bwagner
26/11/2012, 3:13 PM
I left the paper at home sorry, that was all it said on the matter, it quoted him on getting into the reading team and how he is keeping Pearce's place, (Pearce having contract issues at present)

bwagner
26/11/2012, 5:16 PM
He has 2 irish grand parents

theworm2345
26/11/2012, 5:33 PM
This should erase any doubts of whether or not he Irish :D
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4528281/.html

In all seriousness though he's been the lone bright spot in Reading's woeful defence over the past few games.

gastric
27/11/2012, 1:22 AM
Seems like an intelligent and interesting character! :D

http://footballburp.com/updates/readings-sean-morrison-starts-his-cereal-quest/

Yard of Pace
27/11/2012, 1:18 PM
How do these things work? Am I allowed say "I told you so"
Lad was good enough to play for Ireland as of about a year ago. He was just gigantic for Huddersfield.

Olé Olé
27/11/2012, 4:09 PM
Eligible for the England under-21's so Stuart Pearce will definitely come calling for the next round of games. Brian McDermott being the Reading manager is a big help to Ireland.

And yes, YOP, you marked this lad out a long, long time ago. Fair play.

P.S. I can't believe he's 21. He doesn't look less than 30!

Carrigaline
27/11/2012, 8:38 PM
Cost Reading a goal tonight when he lost Benteke while defending a corner.

SwanVsDalton
27/11/2012, 8:53 PM
Cost Reading a goal tonight when he lost Benteke while defending a corner.

He didn't lose him so much as get dominated by him.

In fairness he didn't have a bad game, in a Reading defence that looks very unorganised.

gastric
27/11/2012, 10:51 PM
Because he has become the 'flavour of the month', I worry he will start to believe in the hype and play for the English U21s, believing he will be a future England star.

http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/england-u21-coach-pearce-monitoring-reading-defender-morrison-3659421

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/284711/Arsenal-tracking-Reading-starlet-Sean-Morrison/

27/11/2012, 11:04 PM
Good luck to him if he does. At least he'd be making his true allegiances known.

gastric
27/11/2012, 11:13 PM
Good luck to him if he does. At least he'd be making his true allegiances known.

Fair point Charlie! But I would love to see Clark, Duffy and him competing for the CB spots in the future. What I have noticed about all three is they have shown an ablilty to lead the defence, something we presently lack when Dunne is out injured.

TrapAPony
28/11/2012, 6:00 PM
I would love to see Clark, Duffy and him competing for the CB spots in the future.

Tommie Hoban of Watford also. Good player in the making.

Predator
28/11/2012, 6:55 PM
Tommie Hoban of Watford also. Good player in the making.20-year-old Kevin Feely too, who just signed for Charlton.

28/11/2012, 7:33 PM

thats grrrreat!

29/11/2012, 8:42 PM

thats grrrreat!

Explains his goal celebration against Wigan too which I've just seen. Nice goal!

theworm2345
01/12/2012, 4:53 PM
Another goal for "our Sean" against Manchester United

01/12/2012, 5:57 PM
Sign him up Trap!!

theworm2345
12/01/2013, 3:15 PM
Not eligible according to him https://twitter.com/seanmorrison_91/status/289811461746876416

12/01/2013, 3:21 PM
This guy isn't taking the news well: https://twitter.com/donie_ked/status/289833663158423553

Yard of Pace
12/01/2013, 5:13 PM
Ah, feck it anyway :-(

Colbert Report
12/01/2013, 5:23 PM
Lock the thread please.

CraftyToePoke
12/01/2013, 5:28 PM
Ah, feck it anyway :-(

You were fairly sure of that one Y.o.P. ?

Yard of Pace
13/01/2013, 2:16 AM
You were fairly sure of that one Y.o.P. ?

Yeah, I can't remember exactly why. Probably mentioned somewhere else and as I'm a Huddersfield supporter I was aware of him since he came to us on loan and was superb. Probably should've researched it better before starting a thread but...Sean Joseph Morrison...and I deffo read somewhere he was eligible (possibly the journo took it from this thread!)...so I think I should be forgiven. He probably he is eligible but he's a big thick centre half who doesn't realise it. :D