View Full Version : Pitch ratings
WoodquayBoy
10/05/2012, 4:22 PM
http://www.pfai.ie/news/296-pitch-rating-table
Well done to the grounds team at the RSC. Surprised to see Terryland at the bottom of the list considering the amount of s***e they've been putting on the pitch for the past 2 and a half years or so
L.T.F.C.
10/05/2012, 5:10 PM
Well done Flancare!
10/05/2012, 5:12 PM
Funny that...Oriel has a FIFA approved pitch. The players are all wrong.
On another note, Harps aren't in the bottom three. Haven't seen that in a while.
Sean South
10/05/2012, 5:41 PM
What happened to Terryland?
L.T.F.C.
10/05/2012, 6:06 PM
Funny that...Oriel has a FIFA approved pitch. The players are all wrong.
On another note, Harps aren't in the bottom three. Haven't seen that in a while.
My back lawn is a FIFA approved pitch. It is FIFA approved because it is artificial.
bullit
10/05/2012, 7:14 PM
The arguments and debate about the OP surface are done to death by this stage.It aint gonna be changed in the very near future unless we can bring in an investor with a shed load of money to throw at the club.(and if we do find such a person,i can tell you that the pitch will still be a long way down the list of 'must do's)
10/05/2012, 9:10 PM
Terryland or Deacy Park as it's now known deserves to be bottom it's a joke! Haven't seen the RSC this season but surprised Jackman isn't higher up, it was impeccable when we played there, easily the best we played on this season. Well done to Flancare!
As for Oriel it's a bit unfair on it the surface is level and obviously theres an even coat on it which is one of the criteria but the players just hate that plastic!
NeverFeltBetter
10/05/2012, 9:27 PM
Jackman is pretty bobbly and uneven though, I imagine thats one of the reasons Limerick love to play hoofball there.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
10/05/2012, 9:33 PM
Congratulations to all the ground staff at the R.S.C.
I am delighted. The pitch is looking great. I think it's a great idea.
Shannonsider
10/05/2012, 9:35 PM
In fairness to Jackman Park, it is in decent condition considering there has been on average 3 games a week on it in the last few weeks. Surprised to see Terryland last, didn't it get an award for the best pitch last season?
10/05/2012, 9:46 PM
Haven't been to Terryland this year but very surprised that it could have fallen into such disrepair already? Finn Park and Athlone were both horrendous when we played there. Weather was horrific on the day in question to give Harps some leeway but Athlone was just a beach, as bad as anything I've ever seen in the league. Jackman has looked fairly uneven the last few weeks for our part.
KevB76
10/05/2012, 9:55 PM
The problem with the pitch at Jacman Park is that its in Jackman Park - its automatically assumed to be a bad pitch because the rest of the place hasnt the best reputation. I would guess players subconciously have it marked down more so because of factors like the small dressing rooms for example. It is in much better shape than at least four pitches we've been at this year. Saying that, its still not great, but it really shouldnt be ranked lower than certain other places we've experienced this year in fairness.
Ezeikial
10/05/2012, 9:56 PM
These are the criteria the players take into account when deciding what mark to give the pitch.
Run of the ball
Stability
General presentation
Grass coverage
Watered or not
Oriel Park will certainly struggle to score any points under the "Grass coverage" criteria!
Shannonsider
10/05/2012, 10:08 PM
Oriel Park will certainly struggle to score any points under the "Grass coverage" criteria!
And whether it is watered or not
Shannonsider
10/05/2012, 10:11 PM
The problem with the pitch at Jacman Park is that its in Jackman Park - its automatically assumed to be a bad pitch because the rest of the place hasnt the best reputation. I would guess players subconciously have it marked down more so because of factors like the small dressing rooms for example. It is in much better shape than at least four pitches we've been at this year. Saying that, its still not great, but it really shouldnt be ranked lower than certain other places we've experienced this year in fairness.
It will be in top notch during the summer aswell. There has been at least 2 Junior cup finals on Jackman for the least couple of weeks which can't help matters but saying that it, with the exception of the RSC, it is the best pitch iv'e seen Limerick play on so far this season. I was expecting Terryland to be in good nick (see what I did there) but obviously not according to the players.
bullit
10/05/2012, 10:50 PM
Believe it or not. the pitch is watered from time to time.
NeverFeltBetter
10/05/2012, 10:57 PM
Maybe Terryland, with the criminally small attendance figures, is suffering from a bit of this as well.
Guitd
11/05/2012, 11:26 AM
What happened to Terryland?
this is a monthly rating Terryland is always bad in march/April as there is a game every second night on it with local finals etc as the league own the ground its will improve as soon as the local season is over
El-Pietro
11/05/2012, 12:35 PM
In fairness to Jackman Park, it is in decent condition considering there has been on average 3 games a week on it in the last few weeks. Surprised to see Terryland last, didn't it get an award for the best pitch last season?
two years ago, TX won it in 2011
11/05/2012, 12:59 PM
It should be watered.
Looking forward to the Groundsman's union posting their survey results on players. Its only fair...
11/05/2012, 9:03 PM
Terryland looked well tonight but as soon as the ball got rolling on the pitch you could see why it is one of the worst pitches. It's a pity cause its usually top quality. Probably suffering the same fate as jackman currently, junior soccer finals on it most weeks along with underage and loi.
12/05/2012, 10:12 AM
A lot of you seem to be surprised with the playing surface in Terryland being ranked so low but let me tell you it is without doubt the worse in the league. When we played there you could actually see the sand flying up when the players were running on it and as soon as the ball was kicked huge lupms of sand would fly up. Also if you stand behind the goal nearest to the entrance you will see huge dips in the ground, it has to be the most uneven pitch I have ever seen.
12/05/2012, 10:55 AM
A lot of you seem to be surprised with the playing surface in Terryland being ranked so low but let me tell you it is without doubt the worse in the league. When we played there you could actually see the sand flying up when the players were running on it and as soon as the ball was kicked huge lupms of sand would fly up. Also if you stand behind the goal nearest to the entrance you will see huge dips in the ground, it has to be the most uneven pitch I have ever seen.
Remember the old Moyne CS pitch, no? :D
thomas72
12/05/2012, 11:39 AM
Terryland was in poor nick last night but it was like wembley compared to athlones beach shocking pitch might as well of played in kilkee
fc hammer
12/05/2012, 11:53 PM
Thats a bit harsh on Kilkee Thommo. Kilkee beach is way better than lisseywollen.
El-Pietro
13/05/2012, 8:32 AM
Richmond Park wasn't great. Grass was very long, which I found strange given that they have been playing a bit of ball this year.
Town Legend
13/05/2012, 11:22 AM
Was down at the RSC Friday night and the pitch looked well from the stand. But when the game kicked off there seemed to be no life in the pitch. Everytime the ball was played through it seemed to stop dead and stick and there was no bounce in it. It seemed as if the grass was too long. But its a problem easily rectified...just a pity about that running track!!
wonder88
14/05/2012, 10:34 AM
I also noticed the long grass in Richmond Park, but it didn't look bumpy. The standard of the Terryland pitch has been in decline for the last few years and it looked bad enough who Atlone played there. However I don't think the players on the pitch that night could play much soccer apart from a few, so it made little difference.
placid casual
14/05/2012, 11:53 AM
The pitchy up at the showgrounds looked in great nick on saturday.
Fair play to all involved there
14/05/2012, 12:34 PM
Richmond Park wasn't great. Grass was very long, which I found strange given that they have been playing a bit of ball this year.
Its actually improved as it wasn't great at the start of the year (hadn't recovered from floods). Looked slow on Friday though. Long grass and slighly soggy (from my vatage point anyway).
El-Pietro
14/05/2012, 2:04 PM
Its actually improved as it wasn't great at the start of the year (hadn't recovered from floods). Looked slow on Friday though. Long grass and slighly soggy (from my vatage point anyway).
any idea why it was so long? We've gotten used to pitches being long for us in the past year or so, but that was from the likes of Salthill, we were surprised to see it on Friday. I haven't seen much of Pats since 2009 but I did understand they were playing some good football this season? Wouldnt the manager want a nicely trimmed pitch to aid that?
I'm not complaining or making excuses or anything, just curious as shorter grass would have aided St. Pats more in theory.
14/05/2012, 2:22 PM
If this rain keeps up like it has been all weekend and today, Finn Park will be submerged in water.
Should make Fridays game of water-polo great craic.
any idea why it was so long?
Only theory I have is that it was in transition from no growth over the easter to some growth recently and they were leaving it slightly long this week to ensure it wasn't damaged before the summer (as it ****ed rain all week).
Only a theory, of course. Like I said the pitch looked in better nick, but it seemed long.
Mr_Parker
14/05/2012, 7:40 PM
Given the criteria that is supposed to be applied by the players, it shows they aint got a clue about how to score the pitches. eg roll of the ball- Oriel would be top on that point. Stability - again, no other pitch would be ability to give consistent stability - Basically it is the players just voicing an opinion if they like a surface or not and it is a poor measurement by which to judge apitch.
You clearly haven't seen Oriel if you believe it would rank first on "roll of the ball"
redobit
14/05/2012, 7:59 PM
Given the criteria that is supposed to be applied by the players, it shows they aint got a clue about how to score the pitches. eg roll of the ball- Oriel would be top on that point. Stability - again, no other pitch would be ability to give consistent stability - Basically it is the players just voicing an opinion if they like a surface or not and it is a poor measurement by which to judge apitch.
Who elses opinion counts really ...
NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2012, 11:42 AM
Another round of this is up at the PFAI website: http://www.pfai.ie/news/305-pitch-rating-table
UCD, Dalymount, Ferrycarrig and Terryland taking jumps up, Flancare, Turner's Cross and Finn Park falling. Top remains mostly the same. Oriel dead last now.
GCdfc
01/08/2012, 12:23 PM
It means nothing. Oriel is the only properly tested pitch in the country and it passed those tests. In other words, it could be considered the best pitch in the country because it is the only one up to standard. :p
As for the rest. Surely they should be subjected to the same tests as Oriel.
It is actually a very unfair test. Oriel loses 20% instantly because of grass coverage. Also, how the hell can a bunch of players know if a pitch is watered. Surely they all are due to the weather in Ireland.
01/08/2012, 2:53 PM
Christ sake, there's no way in hell that Finn Park is the 2nd worst pitch in the league. Was in fantastic conditition for Wexford game. Seriously can't believe it after seeing some other grounds this season.
I haven't seen it but I did see the UCD Bowl when Dundalk played there. It was very poor. The four above it don't have to try hard.
01/08/2012, 4:51 PM
Jackman Park pitch wise has looked in very good nick recently. Athlone Town Stadium was very patchy last week. I get the feeling the take into consideration the surroundings as much as anything.
NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2012, 11:50 PM
Yeah, no way is that being decided purely on pitch quality. I don't think Jackman measures up in terms of pitch or the actual stadium regardless. Will be interesting to see, whenever it happens, how Markets's Field measures up.
The only other pitch I've had the chance to see this year has been Carlisle, and that was a great surface and a great stadium. Suprised it isn't highter.
gufcfan
02/08/2012, 1:58 AM
I dunno what period of time this was done over, but I thought that Terryland was immaculate on Saturday.
02/08/2012, 2:15 AM
I dunno what period of time this was done over, but I thought that Terryland was immaculate on Saturday.
Well then the pitch rating is one figure SD Galway can't inflate.
gufcfan
02/08/2012, 2:40 AM
A bit of cop on all round is called for at this stage.
02/08/2012, 6:05 PM
I've been following these ratings since they were first introduced there's no doubt they are taking in the stadia around them as well.....Some very strange ratings at times.
think the ratings are taken from the captain of each team after each game on a 1-5 marking ,but from what i heard its not always done so these ratings are not accurate realy
04/08/2012, 2:02 PM
Was at Jackman last night and it was in absolutely fantastic nick the best I've seen this season anywhere......However Jackman will always be marked down because of the actual ground itself.
04/08/2012, 2:49 PM
Finn Park was in superb condition last night. Apart from the town end goalmouth, the whole pitch is in fantastic condition. A real credit to turn it around so much after how bad it was at the start of the season.
Youths4Ever
04/08/2012, 3:17 PM
I am thinking you are correct as Athlone are 10th yet the pitch seems to be very poor and unable to hold much water which in Ireland is not ideal. I know yesterday afternoon a lot of rain fell in a short time period but the pitch was also very poor on our first visit earlier in the year the pitch was sand with a layer of grass on top