View Full Version : New offside rule
adamcarr
12/08/2004, 1:38 AM
I heard on Sky Sports News the other night. "And he took full advantage of the new offside rule to slot the ball past the keeper" Did I miss something, what is this new rule? :confused:
Harry Tipper
13/08/2004, 7:10 PM
This seems to be a reference to the guidelines from last season
http://worldsoccer.about.com/b/a/038626.htm
No new rules concerning offside were introduced this season
http://www.fifa.com/en/regulations/regulation/0,1584,3,00.html
One interesting proposal that we're familiar with from Rugby was rejected though:
"The IFAB chose to reject proposals to increase the maximum length of the half-time interval from 15 to 20 minutes and to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres if a player from the penalised team fails to retreat the required distance or prevents the free kick from being taken."
Might not have been such a bad idea though....?
liam88
13/08/2004, 7:16 PM
and to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres if a player from the penalised team fails to retreat the required distance or prevents the free kick from being taken"
So say the free kick is from about 12 menter out..........
Harry Tipper
13/08/2004, 9:35 PM
'Right! Up in the stands with ye!!'
liam88
13/08/2004, 9:41 PM
:D :D :D
also; .15 what's that all about ya reckon? "Hang on a sec lads i'll just craic out me tape measure"
Good to have you aboard Harry but I have to ask....why Norway? ;)
14/08/2004, 1:31 AM
to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres
So ten yards, so? Damn Europeans!
Harry Tipper
14/08/2004, 7:59 PM
What about video referees then as in rugby? For penalty and other goal decisions (offsides etc)??
Why Norway?
I ask myself the same question everyday between November and March each year. It's a roller-coaster tale of a fair-haired woman, a starry-eyed Paddy and copious amounts of alcohol. And eh.. yes a Volvo. I apologise.
liam88
15/08/2004, 10:17 AM
What about video referees then as in rugby? For penalty and other goal decisions (offsides etc)??
This sounds good but the main worry is slowing down the game-though at the expense of a fair result slowing it down seems mild-we've all heard the 'it's part of the game' but it still sucks getting cheated out of a match especially Cup finals (Celtic) and World Cup knock-out matches (Spain) :(
Why Norway?
I ask myself the same question everyday between November and March each year. It's a roller-coaster tale of a fair-haired woman, a starry-eyed Paddy and copious amounts of alcohol. And eh.. yes a Volvo. I apologise.
lol sounds fun :D no worries mate!
Harry Tipper
15/08/2004, 6:24 PM
The 'experts' on the TV don't waste any time deciding if the refs made a mistake or not! Fair point though. Personally I think that the way it is now 4 'human' officials is an importan characteristic of the game. If you hang around football long enough you're going to come out quits in the end. We've had a few important decisions go our way too through the years.